Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

ATTRACTIONS See all

Atlas Mountains

Sprawling along the frontier of the Sahara, Morocco’s mighty Atlas Mountains run all the way from the Atlantic coast to the northern Rif Mountains, separating the cities from the desert. Capped with snow throughout the winter months and cloaked ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 38 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

cleve66

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is a long but worthy trip when you have only a couple of days for the Atlas mountains and the Zagora desert. There are numerous stops to keep you comfortable and spend meaningful time with locals, who are warm and welcoming without pressure. The scenery is beautiful and Mohamed, the driver and guide, is a class act and much fun to be with. He works extremely hard to make this experience a wonderful thing for all who go. It does take your heart and mind and turn them a little in the best way.

The camp is very comfortable and set up to do all that you want, and you can take a hot shower in privacy. The food is delicious the beds are comfortable. There are nice mattresses for lying down and taking in the amazing experience of the Milky Way and shooting stars. Also a nice fire pit for enjoying the music of drums and singing by your hosts. The camel tenders, Hasan and Mohamed, are excellent and make sure you enjoy your trip to and stay at the camp.

After the people in your group settle into riding the camels and chat a bit, everyone tends to get quiet and just take in the beauty and serenity of the area. It is a bit of magic to be remembered for a life time. Just do it! Or take a longer tour, if you have the time. Viator makes this a very easy thing to do no problems at all.

Doing what: 2-Day Zagora Tour from Marrakech Including the Atlas Mountains, Camel Trek and Desert Camp

Anna A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fantastic experience!!! The pilot and all the staff that service the experience are incredible. Sunrise over the Atlas mountains is also breathtaking.... you will never feel peace and quiet like you do up there!!!

Doing what: Atlas Mountains Hot Air Balloon Ride from Marrakech with Berber Breakfast and Desert Camel Experience

Anand U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Abdul the guide was fantastic, very honest, good English and held a great knowledge of Marrakesh and the Atlas Mountains. The tour itself was great, only part i found disappointing was the waterfall but that was mostly our fault for confusing it with the Ouzoud Falls. Minibus was clean and well kept with lots of photo opportunities as Abdul stopped regularly and took photos of the group. The stop for food was brilliant view and the food quality, Abdul also gave advice on how to deal with the annoying people who try to sell you rubbish on the mountain. Brilliant for the price and would definitely recommend. Bring a good camera and zoom lens and you will be able to get some fantastic shots of the lake and mountain

Doing what: Day Trip to Atlas Mountains from Marrakech with Optional Visit to Takerkoust Lake and Kik Plateau

Gail B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic tour, the driver Hossein was a superb host - he was full of interesting information about the country, the people, the history and geology of Morocco which made it all come alive. The tents were very comfortable, we felt we ewe treated very well, the evening meal was delicious and the Sahara was mind blowing - especially the stars at night. The drive over the Atlas Mountains was wonderful despite the rain! The only negative was that we were very rushed in the morning by the camp Berbers - had to jump on the camel within minutes of finishing breakfast which felt very rushed.
Overall a great experience, particular thanks to Hossein for making it special.

Doing what: 2-Day Zagora Tour from Marrakech Including the Atlas Mountains, Camel Trek and Desert Camp

Erwin d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We really enjoyed this trip. Ouricha valley and waterfalls are a bit touristy but nice to see. The other two valleys and Kik plateau are more quiet and authentic. The Atlas mountains are beautiful, amazingly green and the Berber people are very friendly. We enjoyed the lunch at at the house of a Berber family. Our guide Mostafa was very friendly and told us a lot about the Berber way of live. We can recommend it to anybody who wants to see something else than Marrakech. We did it with two children 9 and 11 who also enjoyed it and we didn't have any stomach problems after the lunch.

Doing what: Day Trip to Atlas Mountains from Marrakech with Optional Visit to Takerkoust Lake and Kik Plateau

Catherine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Amazing, perfect, and professional. My day in the Atlas Mountains was the highlight of my trip to Morocco. Prior to my day trip of the three valleys i was emailed by Sara to confirm my pick-up time and location, which I really appreciated. Our guide, Chakib, arrived right on time and took us to the three valleys where he provided us with plenty of facts and figures about each of the valleys we'd be visiting. Chakib was so kind to everyone, and always made sure we were comfortable and accommodated everyone on the tour really well he's also a great photographer, too!.

What I appreciated most was the thought that went into the design of our itinerary. We started the day a bit early, and it was worth it. By the time we had finished our hike to the waterfall we saw the hoards of tourists piling in to experience the beauty of the region, but because we had gone earlier in the day everything was quiet and just absolutely perfect, giving us what felt like a truly unique and personalised experience. Chakib informed us that other tour companies start later in the day, which means one's experience isn't as great.

The lunch with the Berber family was absolutely delicious, and the views as we ate were spectacular! I was hoping for more interaction with the family, who did their own thing while we ate maybe there was a language barrier?. We would've liked more of an in-depth explanation of how the tajine was prepared and more about their culture. Chakib did a good job of talking to us about their lifestyle, so that was good!

Overall, the Three Valleys Tour was perfect, and I wish I had booked more excursions! And I encourage everyone going to Morocco to book this tour for an escape from the hustle and bustle or Marrakech.

Doing what: Day Trip to Atlas Mountains from Marrakech with Optional Visit to Takerkoust Lake and Kik Plateau

Lorri F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

For three women and one teenage girl, this tour was our favorite day on our Marrakech visit. It started a little shakily because I hadn't thoroughly read the voucher where I was supposed to set the pick up time and location 24 hours in advance but I was able to call the company and set things up the night before. My bad for not reading the small print but it also seems like Viator could make those terms more prominent and/or send a reminder email. Anyhoo, the person I spoke to on the phone couldn't have been nicer and we set up a pick up location.

Although they were a little late, they called to let me know and were super courteous. Abdul was our driver and guide. Not only was he excellent at both, he really impressed me as he is passionate about the community of people who live in the Atlas Mountains. He is from the Atlas Mountains and has family that lives there now.

Everyone enjoyed the hike to the waterfalls including me although I didn't go quite to the end- there was a place where I would have to jump over rushing water between two boulders and I'm a terrible jumper, so I opted not to go but the view was great even from there. You definitely need good footwear and not mind climbing some rocks. The Argan Oil collective was very interesting and the views became more spectacular as we climbed. We had lunch at a Berber family house on a terrace with a breathtaking view. The food was delicious and plentiful, well worth the extra cost. Everyone agreed that lunch was fantastic. After lunch we continued to climb and saw another valley, then started down. During the drive, Abdul gave us a window into life in these mountains and that was probably my favorite thing. If you get a chance to take this tour, do it!

Doing what: Day Trip to Atlas Mountains from Marrakech with Optional Visit to Takerkoust Lake and Kik Plateau

Graham G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Collected at 8.30 from our hotel by 4x4, the driver introduced us to 3 others - Boris from Germany,
Giselle and son Luca from Brazil in such a warm way we were immediately at ease and made a happy group.
Mustapha was the driver with a lovely personality and sense of humour giving great info as we went into the Atlas Mountains following a river towards Ourika. A stop to experience crossing the river on a very rickety bridge was quite an experience. Arriving at Ourika we met a local guide for our trek onwards and upwards to the waterfall, hard going in places but a rewarding experience.
The tour continued by road with wonderful scenery of snow covered peaks and green foothills, several photo stops were made before stopping at a berber house for lunch in a beautiful setting with nice tagines served on an outside terrace with views to die for.
The tour continued on narrow roads through picturesque settings to a plateau and lake. We seemed to arrive back to the city from a much flatter route which was deceptive in time.
A very good day was had with Mustapha being the perfect host.

graham

Doing what: Day Trip to Atlas Mountains from Marrakech with Optional Visit to Takerkoust Lake and Kik Plateau

Freida M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing experience. Our driver collected us right on time and we arrived at the separture point in good time. All staff were friendly and our balloon 'pilot' was great. He made everyone feel at ease. Although there it felt like a really early start, we were in the air to see the sunrise over ththe Atlas Mountains - and good to see that the other balloon operators were still on the ground filling their balloons so would have missed this spectacular sight. A decent breakfast which gave us a chance to sample a range of local dishes. Then off for a camel ride around a small grove. This wasn't long, but long enough to get a feel for it. All in all, def worth it.

Doing what: Atlas Mountains Hot Air Balloon Ride from Marrakech with Berber Breakfast and Desert Camel Experience

Ryan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic Tour! Hamid and Halid were excellent hosts, as well as the rest of the staff!

Hamid was full of dad jokes that made us feel at ease or incredibly nervous when he pretended to drop a rope from the balloon! It was funny though!

It was serene and breath-taking to watch the sun over the Atlas mountains. Well worth the time and money!

Doing what: Atlas Mountains Hot Air Balloon Ride from Marrakech with Berber Breakfast and Desert Camel Experience

Rima M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Would recommend this tour to anyone! The staff on the tour are very friendly and helpful! We really enjoyed our time camping in the desert and riding the camels. The time riding camels was just enough without being too much. The dinner in the desert was very good and the accommodation was simple but clean and great for one night. The tour includes quite a bit of driving time but it was well worth it to get into the desert and see the incredible views best stargazing there is. The Atlas Mountains are very beautiful and the Ouarzazate visit was great for getting a feel for the culture of the area. Great tour!

Doing what: 2-Day Zagora Tour from Marrakech Including the Atlas Mountains, Camel Trek and Desert Camp

Lacey L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I cannot recommend this tour highly enough, everyone we met along the way, both our drivers and the balloon pilot had the best sense of humour, we were laughing the whole time. They were extremely considerate and made sure we got some great photos by slowing down along the way at picturesque points in the car goats! and taking group photos for us on the balloon to get all the scenery in. We felt very safe, excited and the views from the balloon were unbelievable. The berber breakfast was delicious, you HAVE to try the cactus fruit, it will become your new favourite thing. The camel ride was great fun, not long 20 mins ish but its at the hottest part of the day and you'd get a sore bum doing it for much longer! Mostafa our wonderful guide then gave us his number and offered himself at our disposal for the rest of our stay, so we went into the Atlas Mountains with him on a private tour the next day, and climbed a waterfall with someone who had lived in that village his whole life. It was an incredible experience. The men running these tours are all fantastic people, and Mostafa has become a real friend! Can't wait to go back!

Doing what: Atlas Mountains Hot Air Balloon Ride from Marrakech with Berber Breakfast and Desert Camel Experience

Nikolaos C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We had a great day visiting the valleys in the Atlas mountains. Our guide, Abdul, was very friendly and went to great lengths to show us the best places in the area. He was happy to stop along the way for us to take in the views and take photos. An amazing experience that we would highly recommend! One thing that could be improved is the communication with the agent, who only informed us a day before the tour about the pick-up place and time after I had to contact them and enquire about it. It would be much better, if they were a bit more proactive...

Doing what: Day Trip to Atlas Mountains from Marrakech with Optional Visit to Takerkoust Lake and Kik Plateau

Chris P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A thoroughly entertaining experience from from start to finish with break taking views of the sunrise over the Atlas Mountains. There was very little hanging around as the team were very efficient and had the balloon set up and ready to go very quickly. For memorable views and an entertaining crew and pilot then this is the trip for you! Chris and Jess

Doing what: Atlas Mountains Hot Air Balloon Ride from Marrakech with Berber Breakfast and Desert Camel Experience

sue

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Absolute highlight of our trip - Hamid and Mustafa were great guides and made the early morning start on my birthday a very happy one! We were joined by some lovely people on the trip too. Thanks guys for a fantastic time :
Tip would be to definitely go for the early morning ballon ride - watching the sun come up over the Atlas Mountains is quite something.

Doing what: Atlas Mountains Hot Air Balloon Ride from Marrakech with Berber Breakfast and Desert Camel Experience

Penny C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a wonderful day. It was worth the long trip through the Atlas Mountains in order to see the terrain on the other side. The guide was very knowledgeable and considerate and stopped when we asked and suggested photo opportunities that we might have missed. I loved this tour and this company. I would travel with them again.

Doing what: Ouarzazate and Ait Benhaddou Day Trip Through the Atlas Mountains from Marrakech

Kiana A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Without a doubt the highlight of our trip so far. The tour exceeded our expectations and was well worth the price.
The day was long albeit interesting throughout thanks to our fantastic tour guide Mustafa who was funny and informative during our trip.
The three valleys are beautiful with the landscape changing through each one with amazing views of the Atlas mountains. Mustafa was only too willing to stop when we requested to take photos at points along the way.
The argan oil visit was interesting; we did not feel pressured at all to buy anything.
The trip to the waterfalls was a extremely fun experience; without a doubt you need a guide as the route is very tricky and involves some level of fitness and courage.
Our meal in the berber house had an incredible setting of the mountains; our group could not believe how beautiful it was. And for the price you get a lot of food!
We completed our trip with a visit to plateu kiki which was a beautiful clear blue.
I'm not usually one to write reviews but this was such a good tour. Even when my friend left her coat in the 4x4 the company kindly dropped it off the next day.

Doing what: Day Trip to Atlas Mountains from Marrakech with Optional Visit to Takerkoust Lake and Kik Plateau

Maria S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a long trip but the views going over the Atlas Mountains are breathtaking, Ait Benhaddou is brilliant and well worth the visit. This was a fantastic excursion

Doing what: Ouarzazate and Ait Benhaddou Day Trip Through the Atlas Mountains from Marrakech

Luke Jackson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A truly magical experience watching the sun rise over the atlas mountains. The balloon was piloted by a very entertaining captain who was very attentive throughout the day. Strongly recommend.

Doing what: Atlas Mountains Hot Air Balloon Ride from Marrakech with Berber Breakfast and Desert Camel Experience

Monkeywrench

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Absolutely incredible. It's an early start but from start to finish it was just amazing. I must admit I was terrified when I saw the balloon being inflated but once you're up it's perfectly silent and peaceful and get to watch the sun coming up over the Atlas Mountains. Our pilot was so funny too.

Doing what: Atlas Mountains Hot Air Balloon Ride from Marrakech with Berber Breakfast and Desert Camel Experience

Peter D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great day out, away from the bustle of Marrakech, seeing some of the beautiful Atlas mountains and enjoying a delicious lunch in a local home. Interesting stop off points, a very informative guide, comfortable vehicle, fantastic scenery, all very enjoyable and good value. Just the right duration too.

Doing what: Day Trip to Atlas Mountains from Marrakech with Optional Visit to Takerkoust Lake and Kik Plateau

sabrina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Trip was cancelled due to bad weather.. But they recommended another day trip of the 4 valleys..
Had an amazing day in the Atlas Mountains.. Seeing snow, greenery..
The best was eating lunch in a local Berbers house! An absolute amazing experience

Doing what: Ouarzazate and Ait Benhaddou Day Trip Through the Atlas Mountains from Marrakech

Peter L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was our first trip to Morocco and our first full day there. The tour was a day well spent learning something as to the history and cultures of the country. The three valleys are very different to plain that Marrakech sits on; the scenery is excellent, especially with the snow on the Atlas Mountains. If you do the waterfall walk, make sure that you take some substantial footwear with you and be aware that the Argan oil products offered can be bought for a fraction of the price in the souks or Marrakech. Our guide was helpful and informative. It was a full day and we would recommend it.

Doing what: Day Trip to Atlas Mountains from Marrakech with Optional Visit to Takerkoust Lake and Kik Plateau

Emily

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This was a brilliant trip out of Marrakech and into the beautiful Atlas mountains. It was great to have a break from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech and each valley we visited felt very different. The walk up to the waterfall at Ourika Valley was definitely worth the climb and the views from the top are great. The highlight was the delicious lunch in a Berber village. It was lovely to be away from other tourists and the view was spectacular. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Day Trip to Atlas Mountains from Marrakech with Optional Visit to Takerkoust Lake and Kik Plateau

Michelle S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Abdul was an amazing tour guide and great driver! He was very knowlegable about Moroccan history and culture. Driving through the Atlas Mountains was amazing and Abdul knew all the great spots to take for pictures. Walking up the kasbah was a great expirence. Be prepared for a very long day!

Doing what: Ouarzazate and Ait Benhaddou Day Trip Through the Atlas Mountains from Marrakech

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message