Marrakech ATTRACTIONS See all

Koutoubia Mosque and Minaret

Built in the 12th century, the Koutoubia Mosque is not only the largest in Marrakech, it is also one of the most influential buildings in the Muslim world. Throughout Spain and beyond you’ll see echoes of its intricate geometric stone work, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 269 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Salena L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The tour guide was very knowledgable, providing great information with a sense of humor and able to answer the questions from the group. In the shops he helped negotiate on everyone's behalf and was overall very likable and professional. A great experience both for solo travelers and groups!

Doing what: Marrakech Full-Immersion Day Tour with Lunch

robert g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Very interesting trip round the city seeing things we would have never of known or seen.
Our guide was very good and didn't rush us
Would recommend to anyone that's want to mix tourism with history and culture

Doing what: Marrakech Full-Immersion Day Tour with Lunch

Natasha B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2017

The tour was really good. However it and #39;s a lot of walking. I would of preferred half a day. Still worth doing though.

Doing what: Marrakech Full-Immersion Day Tour with Lunch

ck

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

My experience of this tour was not a positive one unfortunately. It started at the pickup where as we were waiting at different side of the lobby when we did find each other we were greeted with 'Hi why are you late?'. I didn't find this welcoming however I would let this pass. The tour itself consists of all of the main tourist attractions however each stop lasted between 5-20mins. They would give some brief information of a few sentences about the stop and then allow some free time. Information that you can find on a plaque or in a guide book. They would then disappear during the free time so even if you did have further questions they were not available. Lunch is at an restaurant called Dar Essalam which is a nice venue however I have to say the food was very average. It consisted of soup, chicken tagine and fruit. The chicken was overcooked and very dry. As the room you are seated in consists of just large groups of tourists my guess this they cook in large batches at the beginning of the day, hold and serve all day. You do not get to pick the food as it is fixed dishes.

The tour is not flexible and very rushed, never once did they offer to take photos and on 2 occasions they answered their mobile mid sentence when giving information about a site. Very unprofessional when calls can be taken/made in the free time after.

The nail in the coffin for me was when I asked the question are shops open tomorrow to which the reply was no everywhere is called closed, at the end of the tour I will take you to a place to buy at high prices so I can get my commission. This gave me the impression that his intentions where not genuine.

This may sound like because of the negative start it went downhill from there unfortunately that is the truth of my experience. The only positive is that you are chauffeured around to most the main spots which can be convenient for some. The tour offers those who are looking to be herded around from spot to spot and then taken to an tourist trap at the end where the end game is to take advantage of unsuspecting tourists that don't know any better. The following day I actually found that all shops were open so one shouldn't always believe everything a tour guide says just because they are a tour guide and you are a tourist.

Do I recommend this tour? Yes if you are looking for a tour that visits most of the main sites and pushed for time or too lazy to explore however not looking to learn much more that you can read in a guide book of the internet and content to be herded around like cattle. I suggest your time and money is best served exploring yourself where you are not rushed and can really appreciate the beautiful city of Marrakesh.

Doing what: Marrakech Full-Immersion Day Tour with Lunch

Michelle C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour gives you a very good feel for Merrekech. Palaces, tombs, museums, Souk, schools, herbal pharmacy and includes lunch. Really good price for all the things you get to see. Be prepared for a lot of walking! It was about 7 house long and we were walking almost the whole time. Guide was great.

Doing what: Marrakech Full-Immersion Day Tour with Lunch

Andrew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The day lasted from our 8.10 pick up to our 5.30 drop off.
Small group tour which as OK.
Our guide Abdul is very experienced and knowledgeable and took us to all the places promised and a few more besides.
A few more minutes at each location would have been nice.
Lunch in the Dar-es-Salaam restaurant was good and fun with the entertainment.
Beware the end when you end up in a shop selling everything - you are promised a good price but it's difficult to tell as no prices are marked to start with. Beware!!!!

Doing what: Marrakech Full-Immersion Day Tour with Lunch

kedwards01 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour provided great insight of the city of Marrackech. The guide was very helpful and informative. The lunch at Dar Essalam was delicious and authentic. This tour was a great experience and I would definitely recommend it to others.

Doing what: Marrakech Full-Immersion Day Tour with Lunch

Ellyn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had a very positive experience on our tour. We were worried that it would be too long but it was perfect. Our guide was wonderful and so knowledgeable about the history of Marrakech and Morocco. He was also so interesting and blended the world today with the culture of Marrakech/Morocco. As we visited sites, other groups and tourists would stop to listen. The pick-up was a bit uncertain, so read the fine print of the confirmation, but it all worked out beautifully. The lunch was wonderful and was a good break from all of the walking. We would recommend this tour to anyone that visits.

Doing what: Marrakech Full-Immersion Day Tour with Lunch

Eireann V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Guide was lovely and spoke in several languages, definitely knew his stuff as well. Learnt a lot and saw some beautiful places, would highly recommend!

Doing what: Marrakech Palaces and Monuments Tour

Anthony M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This was a slow-paced walking tour hitting the highlights of the Medina. At most stops we were given time to explore on our own - this was a good idea. The only criticism of the tour was lunch in a mass production tourist oriented restaurant. Very disappointing. As an introduction to the Medina for first-time visitors this tour can be recommended.

Doing what: Marrakech Full-Immersion Day Tour with Lunch

Ekaterina B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

I did this tour on my first day in Marrakech. It provided a fairly good introduction to the city as we got to see quite a few places. It was not very informative though, as what the guide, Abdullah, was telling us did not go beyond my travel guide and, furthermore, he had a peculiar manner to repeat the same things over and over again. Overall, I saw quite a lot, learned not that much, but what I did learn I learned by heart!

Doing what: Marrakech Full-Immersion Day Tour with Lunch

John C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Very informative but bit whistle stop especially through the souks, all the major must see buildings were included along with clear info re the history of the place with a heavy leaning to the religious sights.The lunch was taken in a very atmospheric restaurant complete with belly dancer and Moroccan musicians, we then walked briskly through the souks before being taken to a shop which our guide informed us was authentic goods not bought in from China but as we had glanced many interesting artisans on the way and there were no prices shown few people purchased anything.The tour finished with free time in the square which was just getting going at 3pm, lots to see from monkeys and snakes to hawkers of dodgy gear, all quite exciting and finally returning to the hotel late afternoon.

Doing what: Marrakech Full-Immersion Day Tour with Lunch

Mark S

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Didn't visit the majorelle gardens and the guide lost us in the market area. Not impressed

Doing what: Marrakech Full-Immersion Day Tour with Lunch

sveskemus

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

While we did enjoy our Marrakesh Immersion Full Day a few things did somewhat diminish the experience
Pick up point was very unclear and despite several emails to Viator we only received a reply to this a few days prior to our departure. Some of the other people on the tour had similar experiences. One couple nearly missed the tour as they couldn't find the pick up point.
We realised at the start of the tour that most of the group was French we had booked an English speaking tour and all commentary by the guide was first given in French and then in English. This in itself was a little bit annoying but the English speaking group soon noticed that the guide seemed to give much more information in French than in English. On commenting on this the guide explained that the French were only doing a half day tour so he was giving them more information and would concentrate more on the English group after lunch !?. This was not really helpful as we wanted more information while visiting a specific site, not later. After midday the French group was dropped off and the guide took us to the restaurant included in the price. While the restaurant 'Dar Essalam' features in the Hitchcock film The man who knew too much looks amazing it was clear that it was solely aimed at tourists and the food was dreadful.
On the positive side we were taken to places we would not have otherwise visited and it was a packed day and good value.
In short more specific information about the tour, especially pick up points please. More authentic Morrocan restaurants with good food and a guide that spends time explaining what you are seeing and answering questions in your language!

Doing what: Marrakech Full-Immersion Day Tour with Lunch

Valina C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

The tour guide kept repeating himself. He told at least 5 times the schedule of the day and all the stories he at least repeated twice. I guess he likes to hear himself talk. When we got at the places he didn't tell anything interesting. We could all read his repeated stories on the writing near or on the area. There was another guide and what he told is 3 minutes to his group was more interesting, fun and enlightening than the whole day with our tour guide. The others of the group also started to walk away when he started to talk and take pictures. When we got after the lunch at a shop where he would help us to get special prices, I left together with half of the group. We were done.

Doing what: Marrakech Full-Immersion Day Tour with Lunch

Marcelo João A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

Unbelievable disrespect company name Holiday Services They booked pick up point at 8:30 after one hour they did not answer the phone or called me, ridiculous, If you want have a problem and stress book tour with them. But, If you would like really enjoy nice tours book some tour book with this company Morocco Attractive that is really good company and I did not have any problem with 2 tour that i booked with them.

Doing what: Marrakech Full-Immersion Day Tour with Lunch

lilia s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was perfect for my first day in Marrakesh! The guide was amazing, he took us through the souks and the Djemaa El Fna square. Lunch was at this beautiful restaurant in the middle of the Medina, the food and service was amazing.
I highly recommend this tour, it will help you ease into the Medina experience.

Doing what: Marrakech Full-Immersion Day Tour with Lunch

Omonigho U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I loved this and what a great way to see the city. My guide, Abdul was AMAZING and knew the history plus all the spots for a great picture. I'm really glad I did this tour because Marrakech isn't easy to navigate. Having an expert guide who knows the history is the best thing. I highly recommend it, ask for Abdul.

Doing what: Marrakech Full-Immersion Day Tour with Lunch

Prakash K

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

A good tour. Was a whole day seeing the major sites. Our guide was very pleasant, funny and spoke clear English. Picked up from hotel on time. Fast confirmation when booked.

Doing what: Marrakech Full-Immersion Day Tour with Lunch

Tom B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

A great collection of monuments

Doing what: Marrakech Palaces and Monuments Tour

Lise H

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

This tour allows you to see most of the main sights of Marrakech, as promised. Some sights places of worship you can only see from outside: Kasbah Mosque, Koutoubia Mosque, Royal Palace of Marrakech, and the Lesama Synagogue. However, the Bahia, El Badi palaces, Saadian Tombs and Ben Youssef Madrasa are allocated enough free time to enjoy and take photos. Free time is provided in the souk. This would have been a very good tour, but our guide Abdoul only provided superficial information about the various sights, leaving many of the visitors frustrated with the lack of content. The Jardin Majorelle was not included in this tour, unfortunately.
The lunch was in a reknowned restaurant Dar Essalam, where a scene from the Hitchcock movie The Man Who Knew Too much with James Stewart and Doris Day was filmed. Very nice ambiance, however, the tour fare served was not on par with the a la carte menu offered other clients.

Doing what: Marrakech Full-Immersion Day Tour with Lunch

Joanne G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

Don't bother!!!
The tour guide is arrogant, rude and kept having a go at everyone! Patronising unnecessarily and preached about Islam and attempted to sell other tours rather than actually telling us anything about where we were!? Pointless and really unenjoyable.

Doing what: Marrakech Palaces and Monuments Tour

KH

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

Worst tour I have been on. Do not go. Advertised as a 3.5 hour half day tour but done in less than two hours! Total crooks. Avoids many main attractions in Marrakech with tour guide dismissing the Bedi palace as nothing but bricks presumably as it has a higher entrance fee compared to other attractions. AVOID AT ALL COSTS.

Doing what: Marrakech Palaces and Monuments Tour

Mark H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great little tour. It managed to pack in most of the main sights into the day without it feeling like we were rushed or exhausted by the end of the day. The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable about a variety of issues from history, to archaeology, to horticulture and all his commentary was delivered in a well planned out manner and was fun and funny at the same time. The thing I was especially impressed about with this tour was the small group size, there were only five of us on the tour compared to very large groups on other tours that were visiting the same sights. The lunch spot was an especially interesting place.

Doing what: Marrakech Full-Immersion Day Tour with Lunch

christel s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was a good way to get familiar with the city

Doing what: Marrakech Palaces and Monuments Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message