Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Questions?

Call (888) 651-9785

ATTRACTIONS See all

Marrakech Souks

The souks (covered markets) of Marrakech form the teeming, bewildering sub-conscious of the city, a vast network of alleyways pierced periodically by shafts of sunlight. Each souk has a different specialty, be it rugs, leather goods, spices, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 63 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Susan H USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This is an excellent way to see most of the sites of Marrakech in one day. We spent the entire day in the Medina, including a delicious lunch. The guide provided interesting insights and facts, and kept us from being lost in the winding roads of the souks.

Doing what: Marrakech Full-Immersion Day Tour with Lunch

Michelle C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour gives you a very good feel for Merrekech. Palaces, tombs, museums, Souk, schools, herbal pharmacy and includes lunch. Really good price for all the things you get to see. Be prepared for a lot of walking! It was about 7 house long and we were walking almost the whole time. Guide was great.

Doing what: Marrakech Full-Immersion Day Tour with Lunch

John C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Very informative but bit whistle stop especially through the souks, all the major must see buildings were included along with clear info re the history of the place with a heavy leaning to the religious sights.The lunch was taken in a very atmospheric restaurant complete with belly dancer and Moroccan musicians, we then walked briskly through the souks before being taken to a shop which our guide informed us was authentic goods not bought in from China but as we had glanced many interesting artisans on the way and there were no prices shown few people purchased anything.The tour finished with free time in the square which was just getting going at 3pm, lots to see from monkeys and snakes to hawkers of dodgy gear, all quite exciting and finally returning to the hotel late afternoon.

Doing what: Marrakech Full-Immersion Day Tour with Lunch

lilia s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was perfect for my first day in Marrakesh! The guide was amazing, he took us through the souks and the Djemaa El Fna square. Lunch was at this beautiful restaurant in the middle of the Medina, the food and service was amazing.
I highly recommend this tour, it will help you ease into the Medina experience.

Doing what: Marrakech Full-Immersion Day Tour with Lunch

Lise H

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

This tour allows you to see most of the main sights of Marrakech, as promised. Some sights places of worship you can only see from outside: Kasbah Mosque, Koutoubia Mosque, Royal Palace of Marrakech, and the Lesama Synagogue. However, the Bahia, El Badi palaces, Saadian Tombs and Ben Youssef Madrasa are allocated enough free time to enjoy and take photos. Free time is provided in the souk. This would have been a very good tour, but our guide Abdoul only provided superficial information about the various sights, leaving many of the visitors frustrated with the lack of content. The Jardin Majorelle was not included in this tour, unfortunately.
The lunch was in a reknowned restaurant Dar Essalam, where a scene from the Hitchcock movie The Man Who Knew Too much with James Stewart and Doris Day was filmed. Very nice ambiance, however, the tour fare served was not on par with the a la carte menu offered other clients.

Doing what: Marrakech Full-Immersion Day Tour with Lunch

Gabriela G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

This tour was at best okay. The guide was nice enough. His idea of souk shopping was going to 3 expensive places and bypassing the cheaper ones. I had to force him to stop at a little shop to get a tagine and some art. Be prepared: everyone will start negotiating at 3 times the reasonable price.

Doing what: Shopping in the Souks of Marrakech Private Tour

Sarah A

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

I really enjoyed this tour. Reda is engaging and told me about everyday life here too. It was nice to be able to wander the souks without being harrassed - if you are with a guide you aren't hassled. Reda took me to a few places to learn about how things are made and I didn't feel under any pressure to buy. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Shopping in the Souks of Marrakech Private Tour

Travelista

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was very helpful as a solo female traveler the souk can be overwhelming. The guide was helpful and he takes u to places your interested in. I do agree with the previous post about felling pressured to buying a rug. I mentioned it to the guide. It and #39;s your money don and #39;t get anything u don and #39;t wan

Doing what: Shopping in the Souks of Marrakech Private Tour

Joanne S

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

This was a good introduction to Marrakech and the sights. Luckily our group was only 4 so we could spend more time looking and enjoying the places we visited. As it was 45 0 c the day we went it was very hot and sweaty!! I felt we were a little rushed through the Souk- more time to look and observe would have been good and it is very off putting to be taken somewhere - dying place, leather shop and have pressure put on you to buy. I do not like being rude to people but in the end it felt you had to be to get away without buying items you didn't want.

Doing what: Marrakech Full-Immersion Day Tour with Lunch

Margaret S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

It was great to see all the main points, but our tour guide was either uninterested in explaining them/didn and #39;t really know the history. More interested in hustling us from 1 location to another including to his friends souks! Tour supposed to be 9.5hrs but we and #39;re done in under 7. Don and #39;t waste your time

Doing what: Marrakech Full-Immersion Day Tour with Lunch

Mememenot

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Started well. Guide was informative but we were guided to a 'Herboriste' for an hour. It was interesting as I am a Medic but was a 'this is good for this, try this' ended up spending 120. We were then in tour around the Souks 'guided' to 2 areas. Very slick, centred around selling. Jewellery shop made my wife very uncomfortable so we walked out, and were followed out of the shop even after we said no many, many times. Would have been a good tour and 'we could have gone to other areas I.e. The Majorelle Gardens instead of being 'guided' to shops where we didn't want to go, or ask to go to.' I did ask about 2 things and I ask told we would be shown these things but it appeared to be forgotten later. The guide has his own ideas where and for how long he wanted to take us and and our wishes/questions were ignored. I understand that this can happen with unofficial guides but did not expect it with an offically recognised guide. Knowing what I know now I would not recommend this trip with this guide and Viator need to act on this feedback to avoid other customers being guided to areas/shops for a hard sell approach. This approach spoiled the day.

Doing what: Marrakech Full-Immersion Day Tour with Lunch

Chia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great Tour. The guide walked us through the Kasbah, Medina and Souk. We had a great lunch which was included and we saw all the important historical sites in a timely manner. I highly recommended tour if you only have a day or two to enjoy Marrakech.

Doing what: Marrakech Full-Immersion Day Tour with Lunch

Sara L

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Absolutely loved the tour around the souks but felt a lot of pressure to buy a carpet / rug. As a first time visitor to Marrakech I wanted to go with a guide to feel more secure but I felt cornered in the carpet place and ended up buying a rug to get back out :(

Doing what: Shopping in the Souks of Marrakech Private Tour

Navneet S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was great! We got a slightly late pickup from our location specially arranged at no extra charge. The palace was beautiful and the lunch was great. Walking through the market was really fun, and Mickey took us to see many artisan souks. He even asked if we wanted to see or do something specific, then took me to a shop to buy what I was looking for. Mickey was very friendly and full of great information about the sights on the walking tour.

Doing what: Marrakech Full-Immersion Day Tour with Lunch

Wibke B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I had a fabulous day. It was my first time visiting Marrakech and as a single female traveller who only speaks little French and no Arabic I found the thought of visiting the Souks on my own extremely daunting. The tour gave me confidence to explore on my own, showed me what and #39;s where and what and #39;s what.

Doing what: Marrakech Full-Immersion Day Tour with Lunch

Anna S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

The group was to big, the guide didn't speak english very well, and it was a very hurried tour. We spent most of our time at a shop for aragan oil and spices, which none of us were interested in we had paid for a tour of the Medina and Souks, which we felt we got a very mini and extremly quick version of.

Doing what: Souks and Medinas of Marrakech Tour

Avik C

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

The tour was OK.
Positives:
- exploring the souks with a local and not getting lost
- getting historical context of the many features, etc from the tour guide
Negatives:
- did not last the full day as was expected
- the tour guide didnt speak very good english
- the location of the lunch was great, but the food was terrible

Doing what: Marrakech Full-Immersion Day Tour with Lunch

Marc B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Fantastic friendly guides who looked after everyone. Having the bus to jump onto between visits was handy, and worked very well. Good to have all entrance fees covered in the price, so we could just walk straight in to everything. My only slight qualm is I felt we were a little rushed through the souks - but it would be hard to stop and huddle around our guide in such a dense and busy place. Lunch was chicken tagine - of course - in a restaurant that seems to cater for large tour groups.

Doing what: Marrakech Full-Immersion Day Tour with Lunch

Roy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

What an amazing day around Marrakech with our guide Aziz, He showed us as much as he could pack into a day and a superb lunch in a beautiful restaurant included in the price. Saw the Medina, Bahia, Mosque, Souks, College museum, Berber museum and the Royal cemetery as well as stopping at a herb and spice specialist and given time to explore the main square. Absolute bargain and a must do for anyone travelling to Morroco. Superb value for money and much better than wondering around alone getting hassled of the locals, who are a nightmare, especially in the square.

Doing what: Marrakech Full-Immersion Day Tour with Lunch

Linnette K

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Our tour guide had a good working knowledge of the city, but was unable to respond to questions that were not a part of the tour. Be prepared to walk for most of the day. the lunch in the Souk was excellent.

Doing what: Marrakech Full-Immersion Day Tour with Lunch

Sally S

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

Great tour with a good pace. Our tour guide was good, although his responses to questions were selective and often questions were ignored. Good lunch and a good overview of the old city and the souks. Good way to get to know the city.

Doing what: Marrakech Full-Immersion Day Tour with Lunch

Milensu S

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

A good way to get an overview of the souks. Better to do this as the first thing when you arrive. I would recommend it.

Doing what: Souks and Medinas of Marrakech Tour

Trisha C

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

The tour was interesting and comprehensive. However we were guided to a shop in the souk that I had been taken to previously by another guide. It is obviously an arrangement between guides and the shop. Prices were higher than other resellers and I felt pressured into buying by their tactics. Altogether it left a bad taste in my mouth. I was disappointed in the integrity of the guides. I also did not receive the balance of my overpayment for the previous day's tour.

Doing what: Marrakech Full-Immersion Day Tour with Lunch

Kirsty B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

After reading all the reviews we were really excited but in the end were left a bit disappointed. Although we got to see a lot of beautiful places that we wouldn't have necessarily seen if we were to do it ourselves our guide was pretty poor. We didn't feel that we leant an awful lot and after a pretty good lunch and tour or the souks we ended up in his 'friends' shop which took quite a bit of time. Following that we didn't have a lot of free time at the end to try and find the things we had spotted on our foetus time round as we didn't feel that we could stop and haggle! I think that if it was a different guide it would've been a much better experience as we found the guide a bit rude and when approached by a very rude man he just laughed.

Doing what: Marrakech Full-Immersion Day Tour with Lunch

Tracy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Highly recommend. Covers all the highlights of Marrakesh at a leisurely pace. Visited the Souk and had lots of free time to shop, sit down, eat ice cream and recharge. FACINATING place. Brilliant tour guides, very well knowledged. Amazing lunch - entertaining waiters.

Doing what: Marrakech Full-Immersion Day Tour with Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message