Made famous by Alexandre Dumas' classic 1840s' novel Le Comte de Monte Cristo (The Count of Monte Cristo), the 16th-century fortress-turned-prison Château d'If sits on a 12 sq mile (30 sq km) island, 2 miles (3.5km) west of the Vieux Port. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 34 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

firitchie

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

We ran out of time so didn't get to use it but on paper this looked great.

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

Alan E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a nice experience. We were able to get our Le Petit tour train tickets with this pass. I would recommend using this if you're in the area at least the whole day to maximize the pass. We were only there for a few hours from our Cruise and the cruise port is 20mins away.

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

Kathleen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We were able to use a 49 hour pass for public transportation as well as the Little Train and some museums. The best one was the Museum of the Mediterranean and Marseille.

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

nicwhitworth

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Good value. Boat trip to If is v good. Mucem v good. Handy to inc travel.

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

Niranjan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was a wonderful tour and covered all the important sites. Sami was very helpful and a good guide.

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

Matthew R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This city tour was perfect. We got more than our money's worth and we only did the Mini-Train ride and took the ferry to Chateau D'If. There is plenty of time in the day to do more, but we got a lazy start that morning. I would definitely recommend this even if it's just for one day.

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

jody p

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

We did not use it enough to justify the cost. The City Tour people told us they were hop on hop off but were not. The Mucem was confusing to get into and had very poor signage directing you to the various exhibitions.

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

Stanton M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

City Pass is the Best Way to See the Area

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

Jonathan P

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Potentially very good value with a plethora of activities and transport options included. However, more information should have been provided outlining how utterly useless such a pass would be for May Day one of the days we had it for as literally everything transport too was closed.

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

Michael D

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Guide rearranged her schedule to accommodate our change in plans. She was wonderful and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Private Tour: Marseille City Sightseeing and Chateau d'If

Alan H

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Hop On Hop Off tour: 9 of 10 experience. Good circuit in general. Audio was a bit difficult to follow due to ambient traffic noise. Driver: attentive and competent. Over all a good experience. Recommend it? Yes, with reservations. Best part: good overview in a reasonable time. Thanks!

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

Elayne S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

This tour was very good. The guide knew the places of interest around Marseille like the back of his hand. We were not able to go out to Chateau d'if as the seas were too rough for the ferry and this was cancelled however, every attempt was made to make up for not being able to visit the Island. We found our guide to be very professional and knowledgeable. He wanted to make our tour experience as pleasant as possible. We wished he could have shown us more.

Doing what: Private Tour: Marseille City Sightseeing and Chateau d'If

Susan H

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

I was able to see a lot of Marseille but there were times that seemed rushed and others too long. The tour ended abruptly when, due to traffic, the guide dropped me off at the port instead of parking and taking me to the boat for the ride to Chateau d'If. As a result, I went to the wrong area and missed the boat ride. Very disappointing.

Doing what: Private Tour: Marseille City Sightseeing and Chateau d'If

artmama

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

We bought a 24 hour pass but on the day to validate our pass, it was a national holiday, Bastille Day and everything was either closed or closed early. As a result, we didn't use any of the transportation. Everything was within walking distance of what we wanted to see. If you are planning on spending more time there, then the pass allows free access to many museums so it might be worth it, according to your itinerary.

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

John S

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

We never used the passes. We found that walking and the Metro was much more fun.

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

Gabriella F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very efficient and worth the money

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

Jeff B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Definately get the city pass. Worth every cent. Buses and metro are on time and take you all over the city. Certain buses get more crowded than others, but best way around. Also, visit the museums. I did not have time to hit them all, but the museum at Palais de Longchamp had some wonderful sculptures and paintings.
My trip time was limited but a good week here should allow plenty of time to see the sights in a leisurely mannar.

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

Evelyn21

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A must to have if you want to discover all the places in Marseille. Totally worth it!!

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

Phoebe T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a great deal! It gives you access to everything you want to do and see, lots of parks, museums and cool activities! And the all the public transportation which was a HUGE lifesaver! Marseille is a big town!

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

Cynthia T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Very easy to use and very friendly and helpful staff at the Tourist Info office. Thank you!

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

Mrs D S W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

There wasn't enough time to make good use of the opportunities presented by the pass. Most of our time was spent having a wonderful lunch at the Old Port, and buying various soaps, for which Marseille is famous. We wanted to see the Roman docks museum, but did not succeed in finding it! A two -or-three day pass for an extended stay in Marseille would be used more.

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

Shelley L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

Didn't get on as bus was full at one stop and blew by us empty at another stop we went to to try and get on. We were frustrated and never did use it.
Shelley

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

Hala A

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

it kept us organized and the best thing is we had access to all the transportation during our stay. the if island and frioul island are.amazing. it will.save a lot of.time and money.

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

DR PAUL A S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2013

Probably not good value when cruise ship shuttle from distant cruise ship terminal ran only 8.30-3.45. By the time we had located and visited tourist office near Vieux Port there were chaotic and lengthy queues for the 10.30 boat to Chateau D'If, the voucher had to be exchanged after one long queue for a boat ticket, then we just squeezed on the 11.05 boat. There was then no time to go ashore at the chateau and guarantee an early enough return boat to allow time to do anything else! So just did the 1 hour round trip without getting off the boat, then similarly did the little train trip up to the cathedral, again without getting off. This just allowed time for lunch by the Vieux port. Would have been cheaper just to buy the boat and little train tickets at normal rates. This ticket I would only recommend to those staying at least 9-5 pm in Marseille city itself.

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

Dainis K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Marseille , wonderful city and have a good time.

Doing what: Marseille City Pass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message