Maui ATTRACTIONS See all

Haleakala Crater

The lunar landscape of Haleakala Crater covers an enormous expanse – so big that Manhattan could squeeze inside. The world’s largest dormant volcano, the crater is protected by the Haleakala National Park. This is the place for stunning views ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 436 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sandor B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The excursion was the best tour guide!
Jenny! Thank you very much!
You're a fairy woman: helpful, knowledgeable and patient.
Eva and Sandor from Hungary

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

Bret S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

What can I say, this is the best excursion I have ever been on and I travel a good bit. Even my 13 year old said it was the best thing we did all week in Maui. Our tour guide, Henry, was the best. Very knowledgeable, friendly and funny!

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

Bello Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

Our wonderful tour guide Nettie was fabulous! Be prepared as you may not see the sunrise, and rug up with extra clothing as it was absolutely freezing the morning we went.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Darsol C United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The best way to experience Maui..

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

Elouise L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful Experience. Driver was on time, courteous, informative. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Amazing trip! Spectacular sunrise! Our tour driver Nettie was very knowledgeable and went beyond the expected in taking photographs for clients and telling us where to get the best shots. Her interest in photography was very evident and much appreciated. We were all suitably Nettified!!. Remember to have warm clothes, beanies and gloves, even a blanket to keep warm in the dark before that beautiful sunrise breaks through. Absolutely fabulous!!!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Jeffrey Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

great story teller :

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

Coach

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Beautiful trip to an amazing site! Unfortunately, there is limited space along the railing to see the sunrise, and the spaces were filled with people by the time we arrived.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Lynda B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

A once-in-a-lifetime experience for us. If you are visiting Maui and want a great memory, this may be just what you are looking for. The sunrise was spectacular however, it was definitely cold up there!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

acowling

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

The visit to Haleakala was very good, but unfortunately the Iao Valley had been flooded so we missed out on that.
A lot of time was wasted by having a restaurant lunch stop. I would have preferred to bring my own lunch, or been taken somewhere to just buy a sandwich. Then more time could have been spent looking at the sights.

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

nancyw311

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

I'm not interested in just shopping, an we didn't get to go out on the dirt trails. I would not recommend this tour

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

Judith S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

We were supposed to go on this tour at 2AM the morning of the 14th. We had spent the day of the 13th in Pa'ia, ending with dinner there. On the way back to our hotel in Napili, we were flooded out. The road became impassable, finally closing from mud slides. We spent the next few hours in a Red Cross emergency shelter. Finally, around midnight, we were allowed on the road. When we arrived at the hotel, we knew the conditions on the road which the tour would be taking were treacherous at best. We called the company and reported we could not go on the scheduled trip. I was charged anyway. Not only did we get flooded out, spent hours in a shelter, missed our trip, but I even got charged. Not happy.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

James S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Love Netty! She was Fabulous! For having to catch the bus at 2:10 am she sure knew how to wake us up! You will never see a more Glorious Sunrise ever. This is a must do at least once in your life!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Cezary J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Nie zapomniany widok, jedna z lepszych atrakcji na Maui. Na prawde warto.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

jerrymalkowski United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great experience for our 40th anniversary. Nettie was a fantastic guide. The tour is the only way to enjoy the experience.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Julie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This sunrise was gorgeous. I've never experienced such magnificent beauty before. I must say it DOES get cold. As NYer's we thought we would be fine but we totally regretted not bringing warmer clothes. Don't be dumb. Bring warm clothes. Our driver... NETTIE was the best! She was so entertaining and took such beautiful pictures of us. Nettie made getting up at 2 AM completely worth it. It does make for a long day but this memory will last a life time.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Juana S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a great time! Glenn was very knowledgeable and funny! We had lightning on the way up Haleakala very rare and saw the most beautiful sunrise! Nice having a safe driver too!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

J55504 United States of ... 

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

We can't make it to this tour, one of us was sick. Call in, no help...

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

Kenneth L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Unbelievable! You must do at least once but be aware that you may see nothing if it's cloudy. We were lucky - we saw a full range of colors in the sky and the clouds were below us. Rory is a great tour guide - informative and enthusiastic. He kept us on a tight schedule to ensure we arrived in time to get a viewing spot upfront.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Melinda F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It's as close as you can get to God! Despite having to get my teenagers awake for the bus to pick us up at 2:30, and the 35 degree temp at the top, it was an absolutely spectacular morning. Our tour guide, Nettie was the best. She made it an adventure warning us of car sickness and kept us entertained. Totally worth it and my kids will agree years from now

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Luz M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was amazing! Totally worth the 235 AM pick. Nettie our tour guide was the best. All the reviews said she was great and she was. To see the sunrise above the clouds was breathtaking. Nettie even took amazing pictures for you to capture the memories. Dress warmly it does get cold.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

qunjie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The view is breath taking and the driver is also very nice and told us a lot of the history along the way.

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

George D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The guide was awesome! Is a wonderful trip, great views, 10K ft! :

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

Adam R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Rory, our guide, was fantastic. The trip was comfortable and his knowledge about the island was fascinating. He also made it a priority for his clients to see as much as possible. My family loved it

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Kristene S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We didn't see much because of the weather but Scott our tour guide still made it great. He was very enthusiastic, took great care of us and we learned a lot.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Luxury Haleakala Sunrise Experience

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message