Maui ATTRACTIONS See all

Haleakala Crater

The lunar landscape of Haleakala Crater covers an enormous expanse – so big that Manhattan could squeeze inside. The world’s largest dormant volcano, the crater is protected by the Haleakala National Park. This is the place for stunning views ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 417 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kenneth L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Unbelievable! You must do at least once but be aware that you may see nothing if it's cloudy. We were lucky - we saw a full range of colors in the sky and the clouds were below us. Rory is a great tour guide - informative and enthusiastic. He kept us on a tight schedule to ensure we arrived in time to get a viewing spot upfront.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Melinda F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It's as close as you can get to God! Despite having to get my teenagers awake for the bus to pick us up at 2:30, and the 35 degree temp at the top, it was an absolutely spectacular morning. Our tour guide, Nettie was the best. She made it an adventure warning us of car sickness and kept us entertained. Totally worth it and my kids will agree years from now

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Luz M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was amazing! Totally worth the 235 AM pick. Nettie our tour guide was the best. All the reviews said she was great and she was. To see the sunrise above the clouds was breathtaking. Nettie even took amazing pictures for you to capture the memories. Dress warmly it does get cold.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

qunjie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The view is breath taking and the driver is also very nice and told us a lot of the history along the way.

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

George D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The guide was awesome! Is a wonderful trip, great views, 10K ft! :

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

Adam R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Rory, our guide, was fantastic. The trip was comfortable and his knowledge about the island was fascinating. He also made it a priority for his clients to see as much as possible. My family loved it

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Kristene S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We didn't see much because of the weather but Scott our tour guide still made it great. He was very enthusiastic, took great care of us and we learned a lot.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Luxury Haleakala Sunrise Experience

Patrick L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The best tour on Maui!

Aaron was an awesome and fun tour guide and kept us all awake and laughing.

This tour gets you a front row seat to the most amazing view and you get tonsee many other sites on the crater.Breakfast at the end was awesome too.

If you and #39;re going to see a sunrise take this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Luxury Haleakala Sunrise Experience

Keith W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Pack warm clothes but definitely don't miss this experience! Scott was not only a fabulous guide but he helped us capture so many beautiful pictures!! Added bonus was the delicious breakfast afterwards!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Luxury Haleakala Sunrise Experience

Kimberly L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wow! Great tour along with tour guide!! Beautiful to see and experience.

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

Wanda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very spiritual. Our guide Rory was a kick. He gave us more history than the people in Lahaina knew. Never did a tour bus and have been to the volcano 6-7 times. Will definitely continue to take the tour.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

paul.kirwan66

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

An excellent tour, well narrated and driven thank you! The views from 10,023 feet up Haleakala were amazing! Lunch was disappointing, I recommend grabbing a sandwich out of one of the local shops.

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

Patrick k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My family although Hating the very early out of bed throughly enjoyed the sunrise and the beautiful views!!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Bonnie O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a fabulous trip and our guide, Jay, was great. He was extremely informational, engaging, and courteous. He provided a very nice breakfast and lunch. This was a great way to visit both Haleakala and see the Hana Coast Rainforest. I definitely recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: Small-Group Luxury Day Trip to Haleakala National Park and Hana Coast Rainforest

Barbara J K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The guide/driver Judy was fantastic! She was a native Hawaiian who told stories about old Maui and changes going on with new Maui. She knew the names of every exotic tree and plant along the way too. This tour is for anyone who wants to get away from the beach for a day. i got pictures of lush green peaks, moonlike craters, an old cowboy town, sugar cane fields. i don't think I could have found all those places in a rental car.

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

Woo C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Wished that I was notified the weather conditions up there.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Anne Katharina B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Die Tour an sich war atemberaubend. Das Frühstück am Ende war gut, hätte man sich aber sparen können, weil alle müde waren und ins Hotel zurück wollten. Der Guide wirkte etwas überfordert. Grundsätzlich sollte man diese Tour aber unbedingt buchen, wenn man auf Maui ist!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Richard G

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Stephen G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Heavy clouds and misty rain prevented us from seeing a sunrise, very disappointing. Hoards of tour vans created a pretty big crowd at the site. We wish we had drove up later in the day to enjoy the sights along the way.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Mary D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Though the word 'awesome' has gotten overused over the years, this was a genuinely awesome tour to go on. I recommend dressing warm, for it can be 20 to 40 degrees on Haleakala early in the morning. The view form the summit is breathtaking, but it's watching the dramatic sunrise that is the climax of this tour.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Emily O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Sunrise Tour to Haleakala was excellent! Nettie was our guide and she did an excellent job. She was very informative and entertaining. Make sure you take a warm jacket on this tour as it is very chilly at the top! And go to bed early as you will be picked up at your hotel around 2 am. It is a very fun experience! I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

John T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour guide Rory was great. Very knowledgeable and new the road up to the top very well. We really enjoyed the trip.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Carol P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide, Sean, was great...lots of knowledge and always had an answer to our groups many questions. He got us up there before any other group which afforded us the best spot for viewing the sunrise. He was also well prepared with blankets for anyone who didn't realize how cold it could be. There are no words to adequately describe the sunrise...to say spectacular would be an understatement. After the sunrise, many left to head back down, but we stayed to see the magnificent views from the Summit. What a treat. Breakfast at the Kula Lodge was delicious and a walk through their beautiful garden was a great end to our tour

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Luxury Haleakala Sunrise Experience

Aoife R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a wonderful tour on our honeymoon. Though we had a rental car, neither of us fancied driving winding roads in the middle of the night with other tourists and tour buses going the same direction.

Amazing sunrise but make sure you wrap up warm!! It and #39;s freezing!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Andre B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour guide was knowledgeable it was one of my favorite experience

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message