Maui ATTRACTIONS See all

Lanai Island

Lanai Island may be dwarfed by Maui, but it’s the sixth largest of the Hawaiian islands. Pineapples rule on Lanai, but resort hotels are springing up to make the most of the island’s beachfront. You’ll find a golf course and a hotel built by ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 35 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Travis D

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

The crew was nice. The trip over was not relaxing because the boat was moving quickly and hitting the waves to get to our destination. Trying to get meals and even just moving around the boat was a difficult balancing act. We didn't see any dolphins. We did see some colorful fish and a sea turtle at the first snorkel stop in Lanai. The water was cold and murky at the second stop in Lahaina so I didn't stay in long enough to explore. Many others also cut their snorkeling short at the second stop.One beer was offered after snorkeling. Lunch was hot dogs, hamburgers and a potato/macaroni salad mix and the crew came around offering cookies later. Breakfast was muffins, fresh fruit granola bars, coffee and juice. There was plenty of food, sodas and water. The price was right.

Doing what: Lanai Island Dolphin and Snorkel Cruise from Maui

Harry L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fabulous experience with breathtaking views of island coast. Sunset that evening was somewhat disappointing due to clouds, but we saw double rainbows over the island which made up for the sunset! Good food, drinks, and a friendly helpful crew made this a highly recommended experience for us.

Doing what: Teralani Sunset Maui Cocktail Sail

Krn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We totally loved the Snorkeling experience. It was our first time and we had the best crew to help us non swimmers experience snorkeling without any hiccups. We called them a day prior to check for a good parking spot nearby and Blossom was very helpful in letting us know about a parking lot nearby where we could get full day parking at a reasonable cost. The captain was a very nice lady, she gave non swimmers a special lesson and tips on how to snorkel. Sorry can't recollect her name. Since my husband was buddying my son and I was too afraid to go all by myself another crew member who was from Alaska and it was his first day volunteered to help me and asked me to hold on to the boogie board so I cud experience snorkeling. Had it not been for him I wud have never got a chance to experience the beautiful marine life below.We gotta see almost a dozen Dolphins swim past out boat and a bunch of Turtles too. It was truly a breathtaking experience.Not to forget the warm suit they let us rent for 10 as well as the warm BBQ burgers we relished post snorkeling. We were so glad to have choosen Viator for this once in a lifetime experience. Highly recommend this cruise.

Doing what: Lanai Island Dolphin and Snorkel Cruise from Maui

Nancy P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Aside from the weather days before, this was a wonderful end to a fabulous trip. The cruise was great, we loved the food, the drink and the people we met. We would definitely recommend to everyone, the staff was FANTASTIC

Doing what: Teralani Sunset Maui Cocktail Sail

Laurie C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

Long ride to snorkel site as they had issues with their mooring in the first 2 places. Spent less time in the water.

Doing what: Lanai Snorkel and Dolphin Watch

stephanie b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Awesome day!! Super relaxing. The captain and crew were excellent. The snorkeling was amazing. Our 9 and 10 year old absolutely loved snorkeling and then jumping off the dock and sliding off the slide. Great way to explore Hawaii and get a little exercise to boot!! One tip: feel free to bring clothing to change into. We went on board with as little as possible including towels, and there was totally enough space to stash things change clothes.

Doing what: Lanai Island Dolphin and Snorkel Cruise from Maui

Kenda

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Crew did a great job. They kept the ride out interesting with stories of the islands. They kept us hydrated and safe throughout the trip. Good snacks and bbq. We saw a whole pod of dolphins and sea turtles! Only reason for 4 star was merky water conditions at one of the stops. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Lanai Island Dolphin and Snorkel Cruise from Maui

Laura D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

The staff and the food were great, but we didn't realize it was going to be an almost 2-hour boat trip each way, which didn't allow for a lot of snorkel/ in the water time. Not to mention the water was very choppy due to the wind( nobody's fault) so people were getting seasick left and right on boat

Doing what: Lanai Snorkel and Dolphin Watch

Beth R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

The snorkeling spots had little to see. I saw more on my own behind our hotel.

Doing what: Lanai Island Dolphin and Snorkel Cruise from Maui

Tracy D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

We met on the beach near Whaler's Village at 4:30 for the 5pm sail. After seeing the number of people and the size of the boat, we opted not to go on our sunset sail after all.

Doing what: Teralani Sunset Maui Cocktail Sail

Dell sue H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Terrific crew and delicious breakfast and lunch. Recommend highlt.

Doing what: Lanai Island Dolphin and Snorkel Cruise from Maui

Lmacintyre

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My husband and I enjoyed the trip the staff was great and very informative

Doing what: Lanai Snorkel and Dolphin Watch

Donna F

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour was great, the staff were very friendly and fun.

Doing what: Lanai Island Dolphin and Snorkel Cruise from Maui

Constantino F

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Inexperienced captain that makes us swim 600 yds away from the boat on a rocking ocean. People were in need to grab the surf of the tour guides to get back to the boat. Captain showed lack of judgement endangering the safety of his pass. Snorkel in Kapalua bay from the shore its free, safe and better

Doing what: Lanai Island Dolphin and Snorkel Cruise from Maui

Michael M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Unfortunately the trip was very windy and rough and many guests ended up sick. The crew did their best to accommodate everyone. We did stop in a protected cove that was much calmer to do our snorkeling. I wouldn't say the sights were anything remarkable -- an average time and average sights.

Lunch on the return trip was good. Our only comment is that for the price of the excursion it might have been nice to get a few complimentary drinks on the return trip. We've been on dozens of similar trips in the Caribbean for much less money and enjoyed open bar on the return. On this one it was simply a cash bar and the prices were someone captive.

A nice boat and crew but pretty much average otherwise.

Doing what: Lanai Snorkel and Dolphin Watch

Adam K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Snorkelling was fun and we got to see whales and dolphins along the way. The crew was top knotch and efficient. Tons of food that was delicious, more than we anticipated. There are a lot of people on the boat so it isn and #39;t intimate, but the 2 snorkel sites and the beauty surrounding made a great day.

Doing what: Lanai Island Dolphin and Snorkel Cruise from Maui

jplion

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Definitely recommend this if you are thinking of heading over to Lanai for snorkelling. We saw spinner dolphins and turtles! Loved it.

Doing what: Lanai Island Dolphin and Snorkel Cruise from Maui

mmbuttigieg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The best day ever ! And the captin and the crew were awesome ! Recommend to everyone !

Doing what: Lanai Island Dolphin and Snorkel Cruise from Maui

Debra K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The captain of the boat was awesome with explanations and all, the sailors were very great with the instructions for those of us who hadn't snokeled before or in a long while. The scenery was absolutely gorgeous! Awesome tine.

Doing what: Lanai Island Dolphin and Snorkel Cruise from Maui

Kathi M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This trip was awesome! The crew were young and enthusiastic, and seemed determined to find the perfect spots for us to snorkel! We were taken out to Lanai for a great hour near the cliffs, and then back to a ruined pier outside of Lahaina for some more snorkeling. On our trip out to Lanai were were surrounded by a pod of dolphins, which was a truly magical experience. In the water, we saw many sea turtles and innumerable fish. I saw one crewmember helping two ladies who were having a really hard time with seasickness but were determined to get in the water. He allowed them to hang on to his surfboard and 'snorkel' while hanging on. Really kind and considerate staff, who obviously love their jobs in this beautiful place. The boat was a real workhorse, so don't expect any glamour on this trip! If you want to see some real beauty - even if you have never snorkeled before in your life!

Doing what: Lanai Island Dolphin and Snorkel Cruise from Maui

Stephen F. H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Very fun cruise. Snorkeling in Lanai and Maui. Great service from crew.

Doing what: Lanai Island Dolphin and Snorkel Cruise from Maui

Tammy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Amazing trip and wonderful crew!!!

Doing what: Lanai Island Dolphin and Snorkel Cruise from Maui

Heather P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was great! The crew was awesome made everyone comfortable and had a great time. Our 8 year old loved it and got to swim with a sea turtle. If you love snorkeling then this is definitely for you!

Doing what: Lanai Island Dolphin and Snorkel Cruise from Maui

Amanda

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a great experience this was , I was so lucky that on my tour I got to see dolphins. The team were great always making sure everyone was always safe and happy. The hospitality was fantastic they always made sure everyone had food or drink. Would highly recommend this tour , great value for money

Doing what: Lanai Island Dolphin and Snorkel Cruise from Maui

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message