Maui ATTRACTIONS See all

Molokai Island

The island of Molokai may not be as popular with tourists as other Hawaiian islands, but it offers stunning scenery and plenty of opportunities to relax. Molokai's landscape includes two volcanoes, a large white sand beach, and a sacred valley – ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 110 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

steven w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We were lucky and were greeted with a perfectly clear cloudless sky. Our pilot was professional, courteous, knowledgable, and friendly. I would recommend Maui Air to anyone interested in a birds eye view of beautiful Hawaii. The entire staff was fun and helpful in all cases.

Doing what: West Maui and Molokai Exclusive 45-Minute Helicopter Tour

Kathy.kaknes United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

I had a great time on this trip! Everything was exactly as described and the whole process was organized and easy. The flight was terrific I wish my window was a bit clearer, but I think that was the age of the plane, not cleanliness. The pilot was great, doiing everything including check-in and carrying bags! I loved the tiny Kalaupapa airport! We did have to do some waiting at the airport, both at the beginning and end of the tour, but this was explained in advance and I was entertained with information about Kalaupapa and exploring the immediate area on foot.

I loved everything about the tour of Kalaupapa and Kalawao! For me, the best part was our fabulous guide, Norman! He was knowledgeable about every aspect of the area, and he was both respectful and sensitive to our needs and those of the current residents. He shared information with respect and humor, and his personality really enhanced the experience for me. I was also moved by meeting and hearing from one of the sisters who currently serves at Kalaupapa.

Molokai is spectacularly beautiful and the history of Kalaupapa tragic and inspiring. My only criticism is that the cost feels a bit high for me. I appreciated the option of a one-day tour, but may try to stay on Molokai longer in the future. All in all, it was a wonderful experience!

Doing what: Kalaupapa and Molokai Day Trip from Oahu

Margaret Hudson H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2017

Take lunch and water with you. They did not have enough lunches to go around. The tour guide was great. Tour planning was disjointed and inefficient use of time. Great historical experience

Doing what: Kalaupapa and Molokai Day Trip from Oahu

Carol J

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

We had a wonderful experience we went at the peak whale season and were certainly not disappointed in the numerous sitings Not only the number of whales but the upclose and personal experiences we had including the baby whale we watched for some time the burgers were fantastic If we had one complaint it would be that a lot of the guests were a little stingy in letting the rest of us had views of the whales I don't know how you would remedy that Our kids loved the snorkeling That particular tour they voted the best thing they had done on our trip so far Thank you for a great day

Doing what: West Maui and Molokai Exclusive 45-Minute Helicopter Tour

Lee S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

Total rip-off. We spent most of the day waiting for the flight, waiting for the guide and waiting for the flight back. The tour consisted of a short tour around the former leper colony, a church and that was it. There was no tour of Molokai, just Kalapupapa. The box lunch was also horrible.

Doing what: Kalaupapa and Molokai Day Trip from Oahu

Christine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Absolutely amazing! Better than I could ever imagine....this was an unbelievable experience and one that I will never ever forget!! I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: West Maui and Molokai Exclusive 45-Minute Helicopter Tour

Maykel R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Beautiful views, the pilot was wonderful. Loved it! The highlight of our trip!

Doing what: West Maui and Molokai 60-minute Helicopter Tour

Richard E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

So cool. Felt safe throughout and had awesome views.

Doing what: West Maui and Molokai Exclusive 45-Minute Helicopter Tour

Tom L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was spectacular and our pilot Eddy was very courteous and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Molokai and Maui Helicopter Tour

lipskytj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Amazing sights ! Highly recommended

Doing what: West Maui and Molokai Exclusive 45-Minute Helicopter Tour

Andrew C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Very friendly and knowledgeable pilot. Even with hazy conditions we were able to see quite a bit. Helicopter was a bit cramped but that was to be expected. Very smooth ride and fun experience.

Doing what: West Maui and Molokai Exclusive 45-Minute Helicopter Tour

April F United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Worth every penny! Breathtaking views that can be achieved no better way than by air. Highly recommended for locals and tourists alike.

Doing what: West Maui and Molokai Exclusive 45-Minute Helicopter Tour

Keith H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We have never been on a helicopter before, so we were not sure what to expect. We had an excellent pilot who was informative and innteracting with the people on board. It was a beautiful tour, and i would recommend it highly.

Doing what: Molokai and Maui Helicopter Tour

johanna s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!! Since the Heliport address could not be found in a GPS, I got lost...so I called in and the staff actually stayed on line with me until I finnalu got there!!! Were so friendly, organized, and tje pilot was superb in explaining while you enjoyed the scenery... Got to see Maui!

Doing what: West Maui and Molokai 60-minute Helicopter Tour

Jorge S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Awesome experience, We were really pleased with the services and the professionalism the staff displays. We will definitely use them again an another tour.

Doing what: West Maui and Molokai Exclusive 45-Minute Helicopter Tour

Reuben B

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The actual Helicopter trip is a 5 star, but they are only getting 3 star because of service, they changed my time twice. They initially called me 1wk before i arrived to changed my time to 9.45am. Then they called me the night before the trip to change again to 12.45pm, with no option to cancel. So I ended up having to change all my travel plans for the Saturday to make the new time. This is not professional at all, they did not even apologize or offer to comp. Great trip... if you don't get messed around by them!

Doing what: West Maui and Molokai Exclusive 45-Minute Helicopter Tour

Christopher B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The experience was incredible and the process was a well-oiled machine. Awesome views and pleasant and knowledgeable pilot.

Doing what: West Maui and Molokai Exclusive 45-Minute Helicopter Tour

Frederick b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The pilot made the flight extremely enjoyable, even though it was an overcast day with drizzling rain. Flight was as he said, a magic carpet ride. I highly recommend Air Maui.

Doing what: West Maui and Molokai Exclusive 45-Minute Helicopter Tour

Carey M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Although expensive, this was a wonderful way to see parts of Maui only seen by helicopter. Dylan was very informative and we loved his music too! Fun activity for our family of 5!

Doing what: West Maui and Molokai Exclusive 45-Minute Helicopter Tour

Michael C

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Amazing and unforgettable views! An experience I won't forget. The only downside was the very loud rock music that was playing the whole time, and the pilot was nice, and gave a few facts here and there, but overall wasn't too engaged with the tourist group. I had the feeling he enjoyed flying helicopters more then giving tours, and this was a way to pursue his passion. Nothing wrong with that, just that felt he was there more for himself then for us.

Doing what: West Maui and Molokai 60-minute Helicopter Tour

James L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic experience. Highly recommended!!!

Doing what: West Maui and Molokai Exclusive 45-Minute Helicopter Tour

Andrea D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our guide spoke very quietly, had a problem making out what he was saying sometimes. But it was still spectacular views. Well worth the cost, although the pic and flash drive you can buy is not worth what they charge. do yourselves a favor and save your money for something else.

Doing what: West Maui and Molokai Exclusive 45-Minute Helicopter Tour

Saket K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

It was our first experience of helicopter tour and must say it was indeed a great one.
Our pilot Cameron was very experienced and was great guide.
The view from the top is simply superb and you get to see the hidden beauty of the island.
You can see the lush green valleys, blue sea, volcanic mountains, sharp edged cliffs, beautiful waterfalls and so much more and feel so close to the nature.
Helicopter tour is must recommended activity for all visiting Maui.
According to my wife it was the best anniversary gift for her.
Thanks Air Maui for making our first wedding anniversary all the more memorable.

Doing what: West Maui and Molokai Exclusive 45-Minute Helicopter Tour

Beth C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

My sister and I booked this day trip having read Moloka'i by Alan Brennert, and falling in love with the island of Molokai and its history. After a beautiful flight from Oahu be prepared for a tiny airplane, we arrived at the Kalaupapa Airport. While there is some downtime waiting for other tour members, we just enjoyed the idyllic setting of the island and the true peace and quiet that can only come from a place like Molokai. Our tour guide, Norman, was the most authentic human being I've ever met. The tour was a little slow off the start, and I was anxious to get to more of the history and story of the island, but that came eventually. If you haven't read the aforementioned book before booking this tour, do so. You will have a greater appreciation for all that you are seeing and experiencing. I re-read the book immediately afterward and fell in love with the history all over again and especially loved having true scenery to connect to what I'd read. A very special experience!

Doing what: Kalaupapa and Molokai Day Trip from Oahu

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message