Maui ATTRACTIONS See all

Molokini Crater

Creating a perfect crescent shape in the sea, the sunken Molokini Crater is a snorkeling wonderland just offshore from Maui. Dubbed among the world’s top 10 diving locations, Molokini is prized by underwater enthusiasts for its protected reef, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 316 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Laird N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Tim and Kelly were great! They did a great job giving us a mix of info about the islands, wildlife, history, etc. and were generally really friendly. We lucked out and saw several humpback whales less than 50 ft from the boat, including when they swam underneath us. Unfortunately it was a bit windy and not the best snorkeling conditions, but the whales made up for it!

Doing what: Small-Group Molokini Snorkel and Green Sea Turtle Adventure from Maui

Phyllis D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great value and a great experience. The staff goes out of heir way to be hospitable and involved with passengers. I would definitely go on a future tour with this group.

Doing what: Molokini Snorkeling Adventure

Kevin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

A great day of snorkeling. Well organized, great helpful crew and good equipment. Took time to make sure each person had the right size and explained everything.

Doing what: Molokini Snorkeling Adventure

Daniel E

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2017

My wife and I scheduled 5 excursions for our trip to Maui. All met or exceeded our expectations with the lone exception of this one. In many ways, the trip put on by the Pacific Whale Foundation was superb. They had great equipment including optical a mask for my wife you need to know your prescription You could rent wet suit tops for 10, a nice thing for Feb. The problem arose that they failed to mention until 10 minutes after we left that the water was too choppy to go to either Molocini or Turtle Arch. They went on to assure use that the two alternative were as good if not better. What a crock. I have seen much better fish off the Black Rocks next to the Sheraton Resort. For such a first class operation and a great organization, to withhold the information until after we left fell short of the Pacific Wake Foundation's high standards. Later on , we found from others, that this happens often.

This was the most expensive tour we did. The food and staff were great, with the exception of the honesty part. If you want to snorkel Malocini in the winter months, be aware that it often does not happen. Just snorkel the Black Rocks for free.

Doing what: Molokini And Turtle Arches Snorkeling Trip

Paul kwang ho K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Kind crew, and wonderful breakfest, and lunch.
We are satisfied all the activities including snorkling.

Doing what: Molokini and Turtle Town Snorkeling Adventure

Tao L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

loved it! The best part for me is that Seth and Alex made 4 stops so that we could see the fish, turtles, also the different rock, coral formations in the area.

Doing what: Small-Group Molokini Snorkel and Green Sea Turtle Adventure from Maui

Phillip B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Best tour of our trip to Hawaii. This was the first time snorkeling for my wife and she was a little nervous. But the captain's Snorkeling 101 talk put her more at ease. The crew was friendly and helpful. The boat was fantastic. All the gear you need and more. Excellent lunch. Snorkeling in the crater was awesome. We saw lots of different fish and the coral reef. On a reef tour with one of the crew we even saw an eel. Cool stuff! Before leaving we saw a monk seal sleeping on the shore of the crater. And although the water was too murky at Turtle Town to go see turtles, the captain compensated by letting us swim a little longer in the crater, and we had more time on the way back to the harbor to watch for whales. Which worked out great because we spotted a group of whales and stopped, and the whales swam right towards us and under the boat. Wow!!

Doing what: Molokini Snorkeling Adventure

Paul M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic! Great time on a questionable weather day. Captain and crew were helpful, friendly and extremely competent in 30 mph winds. Can't say enough. Food was excellent and the boat is something to see. Recommend highly. Worth every cent!

Doing what: Luxury Molokini Deluxe Snorkel Sail

Annie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had the best time. Our two guides never saw this. We ended up snorkeling on top of a whale right off Molokini. The whale made its way under our boat back and forth several times in a playful way. Amazing. We will never forget. This tour is for experienced snorkelers. No help provided to beginners or anyone with concerns about safety in the big ocean!

Doing what: Small-Group Molokini Snorkel and Green Sea Turtle Adventure from Maui

Nadia S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This was our first excursion in Maui. Snorkeling was cool and the staff on the boat were all very accommodating. They have wet suits as well as underwater cameras for rent. There is also snuba available. Breakfast is standard muffins and juice. BBQ lunch was pretty tasty as well. We were able to see whales as well as turtles on the trip as well. This is in decent snorkel spot although the variety of fish was a bit limited. Ended up being the only snorkeling we were able to do due to weather so all in all gladness we went!

Doing what: Molokini Sail and Snorkel Adventure

John D

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

It was good. Crew and captain very good and helpful. Snorkeling was also very good at both locations. Lunch was filling and the cookies were delicious. Only thing below expectation was the whale-watching but I guess that's something you can't control.

Doing what: Molokini Snorkeling Adventure

chevytoyboy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

it was a well organized well ran tour right off the batt they took advantage of smooth seas and great weather and reversed the order of the tour so we basically had no other tour boats they went out of there way to find a nearby reported whale sighting. I will be back with this tour guide again

Doing what: Molokini and Turtle Town Snorkeling Adventure

Dan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was easily the highlight of our trip. We both opted to pay the extra fee to due Snuba, which turned out to be the best choice. Great staff, very helpful, and the food that was provided was surprisingly good. Highly, highly recommend this!

Doing what: Molokini Sail and Snorkel Adventure

Michael A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour...awesome crew and had lots of fun...seen some incredible fish...highly recommended!

Doing what: Molokini and Turtle Town Snorkeling Adventure

Jim M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent adventure!! The captain and crew were educational, friendly and humorous all at the same time. The lunch was also delicious especially having to prepare for so many people in a relatively small environment!! As for the excursion itself, I would say in general way too many boats and snorkelers in the same area. Kept getting run into, kicked, etc., however this isn't necessarily this tour operator and others fault, just got to be a better way.

Doing what: Molokini and Turtle Town Snorkeling Adventure

delawrence32

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Overall, this was a great experience. I did get a little seasick due to unusually choppy waters but this was no fault to the staff. In fact, they were very helpful with Dramamine and ginger ale.

Doing what: Molokini and Turtle Town Snorkeling Adventure

Erik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was awesome. They gave us the option to upgrade to snuba, which I highly recommend. You are able to get down further and closer to the sealife. There is so much to see under the water at Molokini. It's absolutely beautiful.

Doing what: Molokini Sail and Snorkel Adventure

Heidi D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The boat staff were funny, great and very helpful. The food and drinks were yummy. The snorkeling was neat by Molokini but the biggest highlight was seeing green sea turtles. It was magical and amazing!

Doing what: Molokini Snorkeling Adventure

Linda Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I love to snorkel and this trip did not disappoint. The boat was amazing. The crew was super!! Saw lots of fish and different varieties!! At the turtle stop I did not see any turtles,but other folks did. We have done tours with Viator before and they are the only company I will go with!!

Doing what: Molokini And Turtle Arches Snorkeling Trip

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

From the minutes we stepped on the boat, we had a good time. The crew was friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. It wasn't anything fancy, but we thoroughly enjoyed every minute! My family says it was the best part of our trip! The photographer caught my all time favorite picture of my family, ever!

Doing what: Molokini Sail and Snorkel Adventure

Dana M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was absolutely incredible. It was so well run and so luxurious. Don't hesitate, just book it!

Doing what: Luxury Molokini Deluxe Snorkel Sail

ann t

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

4.5
Outstanding boat and crew, food was good, equipment on board very helpful. Would have been useful to include details about exactly where slip 80 was and parking, perhaps a map to help navigate the operational aspects of getting on board.

Doing what: Molokini Sail and Snorkel Adventure

Jimberley Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Sean and Alex were great and took excellent care of all of us. The tour was fantastic

Doing what: Small-Group Molokini Snorkel and Green Sea Turtle Adventure from Maui

Coach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

the water was a little rougher than advertised. Not as many fish and no turtles.

Doing what: Molokini Snorkeling Adventure

Jeff B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was an excellent adventure. We had a great time, the dive sites were wonderful, especially swimming with the turtles. The food for breakfast and lunch was great too!
Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Molokini Snorkeling Adventure

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message