Once a little sugarcane town, tiny Paia was brought to world notice by the windsurfers who discovered its first-class waves. It’s now known as the windsurfing capital of the world. The town’s old plantation-style wooden buildings are now home to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 273 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Leigh P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour! Bobby was an excellent guide! Weather was perfect which made the scenery even better!! Definitely worth the time and effort!

Doing what: Maui Haleakala Day Bike Tour

Leigh P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great experience! Bobby was a great guide! Weather was perfect which made the scenery even better! Definitely worth the time to take this tour!

Doing what: Maui Haleakala Day Bike Tour

tamy I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great day riding down the volcano. Mountain Riders was just great! Fun and never felt nervous. The ride is fast no peddling necessary. Dress in layers as it is chilly at 7000 feet but warms up ending st the beach.
Great family fun

Doing what: Maui Haleakala Day Bike Tour

DENISE L S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great trip! So glad we had a driver so we could BOTH enjoy the scenery. We loved our guide, who tailored the day to our interests. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

nick c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent tour ,Al the tour guide was superb and breathtaking scenering a must to do in Maui

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

FRANK B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

GREAT time, the most memorable time of our trip!

Doing what: Maui Downhill Bike Ride

Lori L United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This is a must do experience. It literally feel like you are sitting on top of the world. The stars in the sky before the sun starts to come up are breathtaking, and then the colors are amazing. The day starts very early - our pick up was at 2:40am but is worth it. The driver from Mountain Riders Kay was on time and nice as could be. Very important - DRESS WARM! Seriously, it is crazy windy on top of the volcano and very cold! Do not underestimate the temperature! The van follows your bikes down the mountain during the ride, so you can easily take off layers once you get off the top. When you get to the crater, they tell you to stand by the guardrail, but if you walk up the path to the right use your cell phone flashlight!, you can get up even further and find a rock to sit with an unobstructed view due east. And wait for the sun to actually come up! Once sunrise is done, they pile you back in the van and drive you down past the entrance to the park - you can't ride bikes in the park and don't book with anyone who says they will! The bikes used here are heavier than mountain bikes, but they are easy to control. I am the most risk averse person but I loved the ride down - even the multiple curves and switchbacks were doable! The whole ride is just over 26 miles and very little it requires peddling. We stopped once just before cowboy town to get some food - there was only one place open as it was Christmas Day - and they actually stopped us a mile before that because there was a steep uphill, with strong headwinds and coming rain. But after food, in a light rain, we rode the rest of the way all the way to the beach! A really great ride! The folks at Mountain Riders are extremely nice and attentive. They are very concerned for your safety and your comfort the entire way down. If you are uncomfortable with the ride for any reason, you can simply ride in the van. Oh, and they take cool pictures of you and your family on the bikes!

Doing what: Maui Haleakala Sunrise Bike Tour

Karina J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic - highly recommended. We had so much fun, and the views are amazing!

Doing what: Maui Haleakala Sunrise Bike Tour

Ines A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a very pleasant day with a knowledgeable tour guide and good driver. When asked a question he couldn't answer, he researched it and came back to us with an answer! Lunch was very tasty.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

Dan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Steve was a phenomenal guide that was well informed and had a good sense of humor. The tour was interesting and we had a lot of fun. I highly recommend the small group option as this made it far more personal!

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

Linda L D United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Two for the price of one. Our tour guides - Surfing Sue and Toronto Ted - did an excellent job. They had so much information to share. They were careful drivers and very attentive when I became queasy. I have driven myself to Hana before, but this time wanted the full tour experience. They really delivered.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

Heidi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent and our tour guide was amazing!

Doing what: Maui Haleakala Sunrise Bike Tour

Holly S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was one of the best tours we have taken. Our Tour guide was AMAZING!!! He knowledge about Hawaii's history and culture was fascinating. She also knew where to stop where it was not crowded and the best banana bread!

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

Roblyn United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

What an awesome experience. Our tour guides were great fun. Kudos to our group for being experienced cyclists and didn't have any mishaps or slowed down the group.

Doing what: Maui Downhill Bike Ride

Sarah M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was absolutely worth waking up in the middle of the night to see the sun rise over the volcano. Biking down the volcano was so exhilarating and exciting, and Elvin was so nice and knowledgeable during the entire experience. Both guides went out of their ways to make sure we were completely happy and comfortable. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Maui Haleakala Sunrise Bike Tour

acowling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was the highlight of my trip to Hawaii. Our driver Larry made this a truly memorable day.
He has extensive knowledge of the areas we passed through, also about the plants and wildlife we saw.
Larry also made this an entertaining day, passing on his enthusiasm for this subject.
I'm glad that someone else was doing the driving - I would have missed out on so much otherwise!

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful day, spectacular scenery, good food and good company. Michael D very knowledgeable, wonderful guide

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

angiatk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was our first time to Maui and we really enjoyed the tour. Les our tour guide was very informative and entertaining. We had a great day. We were glad we took the tour instead of driving our rental car so we both could take pictures and enjoy the view. Lunch was good and we loved all the stops!

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

Timothy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was a great excursion! the staff was amazing and the bike ride was so much fun!

Doing what: Maui Haleakala Sunrise Bike Tour

J55504 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Good tour, very good scenery. Should take this tour if you are first time in Maui.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

Walter A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Couldn't have been better.

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

Regina M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was so awesome! The guides Kay and Kevin are great!! We got there early enough for a front row view of the gorgeous sunrise. The ride down on the bikes was exhilarating and so much fun! When we go back, this will be something we will definitely do again!

Doing what: Maui Haleakala Sunrise Bike Tour

Coach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful trip. Glad I didn't have to drive it!

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

RLK

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was super and it was interesting that she had grown up in the Hana area and learned to drive from her grandmother! It was nice to be able to watch the scenery instead of the road, especially when it was one-way.

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

joel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Had a great time with Kevin and Tom and the rest of the Mountain Bike Riders staff! We saw an amazing sunrise and we were well positioned thanks to the advice of the crew to stake out spots early along the rail otherwise you will have lots of heads in your sunrise pictures. The early pickup 2.15 am was well worth it because we beat the crowds into the park and had a clear view of the sunrise over the clouds and crater.

The ride down the mountain was amazing, very safe and a lot of fun with appropriate equipment brakes on the bikes as well as breaks for food and pictures along the way. We also enjoyed the amount of information, local history and anecdotal stories that each and every member of the crew was willing to share with the group along the way.

Overall and outstanding experience on Maui and one we would recommend to all!

Doing what: Maui Haleakala Sunrise Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message