Maui ATTRACTIONS See all

Road to Hana

Hawaii is made for road trips, and one of the best is the Road to Hana, a relatively short drive that should take all day (if you're doing it right). Technically called the Hana Highway, the Road to Hana is 52 miles of winding two-lane road ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 273 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lorena D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

it was an awesome experience! Sue the van driver was incredible. We had a lot of fun!
Fue una experiencia increible. La conductora Sue de la van fue genial. Nos divertimos mucho. Recomendable.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour and Helicopter Flight

Glenn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A wonderful trip despite the rain. Wonderful, very well informed guide. Old Hawaii at its best. Too much rain prevented swimming in the pool below the waterfall, as the water was brown coming over the falls.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

Shara M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide, Dawn, was very knowledgable and made the whole experience enjoyable. The highlight for our family was jumping off the waterfall cliffs into the beautiful pools of refreshingly, cool water. We highly recommend!

Doing what: East Maui Waterfalls and Rainforest Hike

JOHN H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a very rewarding experience for us. We conquered the Road to Hana!

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

cheryl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great tour, we had talked about driving ourselves but are so glad we did not. The road has alot of constant turns and would have been hard to pay attention to what we were seeing. Our driver had lots of experience driving the Road to Hana and lots of good information.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

qunjie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent one day of beautiful scenery and cool spring experience, really worth it, highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

Rosalie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Do this tour!! Our guide Dan was awesome. He really knew his stuff about what nature had to offer on this hike. We tasted fruits and edible parts of plants along the way. What's really great about him is that he was attentive to everyone's needs: pace, bathroom breaks, need for sunblock, alternate routes for different mobility level and everything else. Of course, the Waterfalls and swim is amazing in itself. The company books small groups at different times throughout the day so that you can get a semi-private enjoyable swim unlike immensely crowded waterfall pools along Hana HWY or Kipahulu and great pictures without photo-bombers. Make sure you wear good water-sport sandals or shoes that you don't care if they get soaked or muddy. WEAR LOTS and LOTS of mosquito repellant! They supply you with spray but I would double spray if you're like me and bugs love to bite you.

Doing what: East Maui Waterfalls and Rainforest Hike

Jacquelyn M I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is the only way to do Hana! The bus was very comfortable and it was wonderful to do this tour with a small group. Our driver provided us with lots of stories along the way and pointed out lots of interesting things along the way. The stops were awesome and he also acted as our photographer. Can't say enough good things about this trip!

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

Halbert C

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Driver was a bit wild through the turns and accelerated uphill trying to get air. Not always but enough to be of concern. Trip was longer than expected but still worth it.

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

Anne-Luise W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

We spent quite a bit of time at two restaurants for breakfast and lunch to the point it impacted the amount of time we had for the actual drive to Hana. Several times we pulled over the side of the road and did not get out of the van and handed our cameras to the driver so he could take pictures out of his open window. There were other tourists and tour groups that had stopped to see waterfalls and other sites, for the most part we did not. We got off the bus twice and were promised an opportunity to take a short swim we brought towels and bathing suits but this too never happened and we were never told why. Really wished we have travelled with one of the other companies,

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

Diane H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great trip! Our driver and guide, Ed was very good.

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

Susan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful. We had very wet weather - but it really didn't matter at all. A fantastic day and the group size is ideal. A definite must do.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

Kenda

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had an unexpected private tour with Melanie. She became a friend for the day! She did a great job keeping us interested and entertained! The drive was very comfortable and the sights were incredible. She even shared some personal favorite spots and some hidden caves! Excellent tour!!

Doing what: Small-Group Luxury Tour: Road to Hana and Ka'eleku Cavern Day Trip

Keith N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Driver was great, lunch was awesome, comfortable vehicle. We had a great time.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

Richard M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a small group. Only 5 of us. MelissaMel was our guide. She was great. I would do this trip for sure if you are reading this. To me it was so much more fun and entertaining that the Haleakala tour. Lots of pretty sights and swimming in a waterfall. Cold but not too bad. I did it so anyone can. Learned lots and found future places for us to go next trip to Hawaii. Saw some beaches I want to check out for sure. Otherwise would not have known about them. Some beaches where turtles sleep. Black sand beach with 2 caves and a 40 ft lava structure to jump off of in the ocean. Super clear water there. On and on. Do the trip. You will likey. RMoore--7/10/16

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

Bonnie O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a fabulous trip and our guide, Jay, was great. He was extremely informational, engaging, and courteous. He provided a very nice breakfast and lunch. This was a great way to visit both Haleakala and see the Hana Coast Rainforest. I definitely recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: Small-Group Luxury Day Trip to Haleakala National Park and Hana Coast Rainforest

Jonathan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour guide was exceptional. She was very knowledgeable about the history of the island and about flora and fauna that we encountered during the hike.

Doing what: East Maui Waterfalls and Rainforest Hike

Jodi H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our driver Sam was extremely knowledgeable and funny as well! He was very accomodating when it came to length of stops, especially for photos. It's such a beautiful drive, but definitely let a professional do it and just enjoy the scenery!

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

Carol P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I wrestled with booking a tour or driving the Road to Hana...this tour was the right decision. This is more than getting to Hana...it's about the journey and all the views. This tour allowed me see the views instead of worry about the road. Our guide, Surfer Sue, was in a word, EPIC! She offered increadible information about Hawaiian culture and history, botany and of course, surfing. We stopped in Paia for breakfast before heading out on the Hana Highway. We stopped at Ho'okioa beach to check out the view and the surfers. Lunch at the Hana Hotel was great and fueled us for our return trip. We stopped along the way for photo ops and just took in the specatular views. Even go the chance to swim in one of the waterfall pools...what an amazing experience. Definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

Michele C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fabulous. I would highly recommend it!

Doing what: East Maui 45-minute Helicopter Tour over Haleakala Crater

Catherine K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a fabulous tour! We knew we had to do the Road to Hana, but letting someone else take the wheel is the way to go. We saw all the sites, learned a ton from our awesome guide Michael, and topped it off with the most breathtaking views I have ever seen in my life in the helicopter. This is the way to see Maui. We loved it!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour and Helicopter Flight

Catherine K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Talk about breathtaking - you haven't seen Maui until you've seen it from the air. It was truly magical.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour and Helicopter Flight

MICHAEL D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

IT STARTED OUT WITH THE TOUR GUIDE WAS ALREADY THERE AND WE WERE 10 MINUTES EARLY!!! IT WAS A WONDERFUL TRIP AND WE TRULY ENJOYED THE WHOLE EXPERIENCE THE WEATHER WAS WONDERFUL AND SO WAS OUR DRIVER/TOUR GUIDE. WOULD LOVE TO GO BACK AGAIN

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

Michael C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Nice hiking tour to waterfalls. Very muddy so wear good hiking sandals. About a 3-4 mile hike through rain forest trails. It'd be good to be in decent shape and fairly comfortable in the outdoors. Jumping into the waterfall pools was awesome!

Doing what: East Maui Waterfalls and Rainforest Hike

Linda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We were the only 2 booked for this day. Les, our driver, made this very good. He took us up to the crater for great views. Then because we had alreadt done the Hana Coast trip, he took us around places we had not been to. We saw various homes of famous people and many of the major hotels. Les, was very informative about lots of places and things around our tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Luxury Day Trip to Haleakala National Park and Hana Coast Rainforest

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message