Maui ATTRACTIONS See all

Road to Hana

With 64 miles of black sand beaches, waterfalls, and bamboo jungles, the Road to Hana is a must-see for any Maui visitor. The two-lane route, also known as Hāna Highway, connects Kahului with the tiny town of Hana in east Maui, offering scenic ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 325 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mark G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great tour and best way to do Hana...Les was best driver/guide and took time to show us all the best spots along the way.....his experience really paid off...favorites were Hana hotel views, the state park beach, the large water falls with pool and the painted eucalyptus trees.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

michael f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

wow!!!! what an amazing adventure. Was not sure if we would like being in a helicopter but it was nothing like I thought. It was a smooth and very nice ride. The view was amazing. Maui air staff was the very, very best I have had the pleasure to work with.

Doing what: East Maui 45-minute Helicopter Tour over Haleakala Crater

Jackie R

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

We saw many waterfalls along the way and the guide was lovely. However, the day ended up going for 13 hours, which was far too long. They were also quite disorganised with the pick up times. We ended up waiting for 20 minutes in the cold dark morning. We highly recommend taking nausea tablets beforehand, as the roads are very winding.

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

nick c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent tour ,Al the tour guide was superb and breathtaking scenering a must to do in Maui

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

DENISE L S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great trip! So glad we had a driver so we could BOTH enjoy the scenery. We loved our guide, who tailored the day to our interests. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

Betty L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The guide was very knowledgeable and the trip unhurried. We had the opportunity to stop at sights along the way and swim under a waterfall at one of them. The winding road climbs to dizzying heights and the views are amazing! It was so nice to have someone else do the driving.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

Ryan.larson.inaz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Terrific guide, very knowledgeable and informative. Hike was of moderate difficulty, but scene was outstanding. We enjoyed the descriptions of the various flora and how they got to Hawaii. The waterfalls were a plus. The tour operator rents water shoes for 2, a deal, but they don't offer much support scrambling over rocks. A better choice I think would be some old running shoes that you don't mind getting wet and muddy.

Doing what: East Maui Waterfalls and Rainforest Hike

children

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What a great experience!!!!! We would recommend this private tour as the best way to really learn about the history of the many beautiful and great places to see on Maui. Trevor, a local from The Maui Adventure, showed us the best time!!! He picked us up at our hotel and our tour began! We took the Road To Hana as we circled Haleakalā high above us and made many off the beaten path stops along the way, including a wonderful swimming hole stop that we had fun jumping into that was right by the ocean. You would never know where this swimming hole was located as there are no signs on the road and only the locals know where it is. We thought that was very cool !!! That experience, to say the least, was memorable!!! We also enjoyed a wonderful beach served lunch at a barbecue chicken and ribs place .... a local's only spot with the ocean as our view. Another incredible stop!! He was considerate of what we wanted to eat and since my daughter has a nut allergy, he picked a place that fit our food taste and safety to avoid nuts. Trevor was never out of information to tell us as we passed and stopped at the many many gorgeous waterfalls and other beautiful displays of nature that Maui has to offer. Being with a local resident of Maui made the biggest difference because there wasn't a question that Trevor couldn't answer. He was personable and fun to be with and yet not intrusive of our privacy as a family. Trevor will customize your private tour with anything you want to do on Maui. He will ask you what you really want to see prior to your tour date and make a 10-hour incredible private tour of the island for you. His jeep was very comfortable and allowed us to go off road to the most incredible beach stops that most people would never be able to find on their own. Trevor had some very good restaurant and scuba recommendations too. He has given tours to all different types of people, families with young children or with teenagers, couples, adults to even senior citizens. He will then personalize your tour of Maui to fit what your likes are and also take into consideration your physical level of activities. I think he can even customize a half day or full day tour like we did. I would personally do the full day tour 10-hours because once you get started you just don't want to stop seeing all that Maui has to offer!! We highly recommend Trevor as your private tour guide for your Maui Adventure :

Doing what: Maui Private Tour: Adventure With A Local

Maria P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What an amazing hike. Waterfalls were breath taking. Only our youngest son took the challenge to jump from the waterfalls and he made us proud. Muddy tracks added to the thrill .Our shoes covered with mud, only to walk into fresh streams to wash them off was truly a great experience.

Doing what: East Maui Waterfalls and Rainforest Hike

usha_chaudhary

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Great drive and sites but Hana itself was quite underwhelming. Our tour guide was full of interesting info.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

CY Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Beautiful sights and stops. Only downside is that it is a very long day and everything felt rushed. Tour guide has so much knowledge about local culture, flora and fauna and history. Loved it.

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

jksevier

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Our driver was very knowledgable, professional, and well respected at the stops we made. The van was so comfortable.

Doing what: Small-Group Luxury Day Trip to Haleakala National Park and Hana Coast Rainforest

Matthew H

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The drive was very nice, but I felt rushed a bit. The Helicopter wasn't as much sightseeing as it was just a quick flight back. It was nice to avoid the long drive back. I'd recommend the trip, but try and get moving right away. Some of the people we went with were late and slow so it delayed our start. Then we were rushed to see things, and it was caused by people we didn't know. It was a fun trip and I'm glad we went.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour and Helicopter Flight

Shari T

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Let me start by saying that there were several things to enjoy about this tour. The helicopter ride was FANTASTIC and our pilot was wonderful. He was funny and had great information about the things that we were seeing from the helicopter. The drive itself is quite beautiful, and I think we would have missed something if we had not visited this part of Maui.

However, the tour was very rushed at the end. We were not able to stop at the waterfall because of rain which obviously the tour could not help. But there was no mention at all- let alone a stop- at the Hana Tropical Gardens. We were not able to eat our lunch beachside where the tour apparently usually eats lunch because our driver was very anxious about time by that point. So we ate lunch at a picnic table beside a parking lot. We did have one stop for swimming- but even that was rushed. We had 15 minutes to swim. Our driver drove incredibly slowly all the way to Hana- which I appreciate for safety- but he caused us to miss some things and be terribly rushed with others things by the time we got there.

I had enjoyed our driver, Wayne, at the beginning of the tour. He is very informative and his passion for the island is contagious. But when we stopped for lunch, Wayne said that he would lock the doors of the van so we should feel free to leave our valuables behind. But he didn't. The van was left unlocked and unattended. After returning to the van to find it unlocked and everyone from our group gone, I couldn't find the cell phones my teenagers had left in the van. Wayne was incredibly rude to me when I was trying to find the phones- not only showing no remorse for having left the van unlocked he repeatedly and defensively said no one will get in the van and steal anything, but he was incredibly rude to me when I was looking for the phones and very curtly ordered me to sit down and eat lunch. We had about 10 minutes to eat lunch before he ordered us to leave the table so that he could clean up and we would make the helicopter. Thankfully, I did find my sons phones, but I was angry about his rudeness and the fact that it was entirely clear he'd never had any intention of locking the van, despite what he had promised. Do not believe that man when he reassuringly tells you he will lock the van and you should feel free to leave valuables behind. His rudeness and the phone scare tarnished the trip for me, as did the feeling of it being very rushed once we actually got near Hana and not getting to see two of the things promised in the description.

This tour has potential, but it wasn't realized that day and I'm not sure if I could recommend it. Definitely take a helicopter ride though and find some way to get to breathtaking Hana!

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour and Helicopter Flight

Linda L D United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Two for the price of one. Our tour guides - Surfing Sue and Toronto Ted - did an excellent job. They had so much information to share. They were careful drivers and very attentive when I became queasy. I have driven myself to Hana before, but this time wanted the full tour experience. They really delivered.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

Dan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Steve was a phenomenal guide that was well informed and had a good sense of humor. The tour was interesting and we had a lot of fun. I highly recommend the small group option as this made it far more personal!

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

Ines A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a very pleasant day with a knowledgeable tour guide and good driver. When asked a question he couldn't answer, he researched it and came back to us with an answer! Lunch was very tasty.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

Sandra B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Wayne our driver was very pleasant and a wealth of information throughout the trip. He stopped and provided opportunities for photos and the lunch he provided was very good. The helicopter ride was a bit of a disappointment but only because we expected to see more of the waterfalls and we didn't and the pilot wasn't as talkative or informative as Wayne, the bus driver.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour and Helicopter Flight

Holly S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was one of the best tours we have taken. Our Tour guide was AMAZING!!! He knowledge about Hawaii's history and culture was fascinating. She also knew where to stop where it was not crowded and the best banana bread!

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

Heidi D

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The tour guide was very friendly and knowledgeable. There were only 4 of us total on the tour so he let us take extra time at various stops. The van was very nice and comfortable. The only criticism I have is of the picnic lunch. It consisted of a bland pasta salad, fruit and blah chk wrap.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

Judy H

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The tour guide was great, the bus was comfortable and fabulous, but the tour was entirely too long. We were exhausted and could not wait to get back to the hotel by the end of the trip. Once again, the tour was great....guide was great, but way to long.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

J55504 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Good tour, very good scenery. Should take this tour if you are first time in Maui.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

Cynthia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great guide, beautiful water falls, wonderful education about local laws, customs, fruit, and flowers! Posco was the best!!! Will take the hike again and I highly recommend it!

Doing what: East Maui Waterfalls and Rainforest Hike

Coach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful trip. Glad I didn't have to drive it!

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message