Maui ATTRACTIONS See all

Road to Hana

Hawaii is made for road trips, and one of the best is the Road to Hana, a relatively short drive that should take all day (if you're doing it right). Technically called the Hana Highway, the Road to Hana is 52 miles of winding two-lane road ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 307 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sandra B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Wayne our driver was very pleasant and a wealth of information throughout the trip. He stopped and provided opportunities for photos and the lunch he provided was very good. The helicopter ride was a bit of a disappointment but only because we expected to see more of the waterfalls and we didn't and the pilot wasn't as talkative or informative as Wayne, the bus driver.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour and Helicopter Flight

Holly S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was one of the best tours we have taken. Our Tour guide was AMAZING!!! He knowledge about Hawaii's history and culture was fascinating. She also knew where to stop where it was not crowded and the best banana bread!

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

Heidi D

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The tour guide was very friendly and knowledgeable. There were only 4 of us total on the tour so he let us take extra time at various stops. The van was very nice and comfortable. The only criticism I have is of the picnic lunch. It consisted of a bland pasta salad, fruit and blah chk wrap.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

Judy H

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The tour guide was great, the bus was comfortable and fabulous, but the tour was entirely too long. We were exhausted and could not wait to get back to the hotel by the end of the trip. Once again, the tour was great....guide was great, but way to long.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

J55504 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Good tour, very good scenery. Should take this tour if you are first time in Maui.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

Cynthia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great guide, beautiful water falls, wonderful education about local laws, customs, fruit, and flowers! Posco was the best!!! Will take the hike again and I highly recommend it!

Doing what: East Maui Waterfalls and Rainforest Hike

Coach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful trip. Glad I didn't have to drive it!

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

Christopher C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Thanks to our tour guide Melany Anderson

Doing what: Small-Group Luxury Tour: Road to Hana and Ka'eleku Cavern Day Trip

Walter A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Couldn't have been better.

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

angiatk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was our first time to Maui and we really enjoyed the tour. Les our tour guide was very informative and entertaining. We had a great day. We were glad we took the tour instead of driving our rental car so we both could take pictures and enjoy the view. Lunch was good and we loved all the stops!

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

Kellianne K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had the BEST time on our hike. Our guide, Dawn, was GREAT! Friendly, patient, and knowledgeable about the local plants and history of the island. She allowed us to try local fruits off the trees, eat edible plants, and jumped off waterfall cliffs with us! We would definitely do this hike again! ♡

Doing what: East Maui Waterfalls and Rainforest Hike

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful day, spectacular scenery, good food and good company. Michael D very knowledgeable, wonderful guide

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

acowling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was the highlight of my trip to Hawaii. Our driver Larry made this a truly memorable day.
He has extensive knowledge of the areas we passed through, also about the plants and wildlife we saw.
Larry also made this an entertaining day, passing on his enthusiasm for this subject.
I'm glad that someone else was doing the driving - I would have missed out on so much otherwise!

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

Eric C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We took the afternoon Viator and started by flying out with Blue Hawaiian Helicopter Tours - Maui located at 1 Kahului Airport Road, Hangar 105, Kahului, Maui. Essentially this flight eastward by pilot/guide Katie took us over sugar cane fields near Kahului while slowly gaining altitude it is a helicopter, after all to approximately 10,000 feet, all the time informing us of attractions below. We passed by the Haleakala astronomical observatory, the chain link fence which was erected to try to keep out feral goats, pigs and axis deer, and of course the main and subsidiary craters of Haleakala. As we headed further east into Haleakala National Park we noted the changing terrain and evidence of lava pipes from previous eruptions, some of which are now channels for rain water. Even further on we noted the tall trees over 100 feet of the Hana Forest Preserve and some spectacular waterfalls, one of which is nearly 1,600 feet high. We landed after about 35 minutes and were greeted by our driver/guide Wayne who drove us from the airport to Hanas black sand beach where we were treated to a tasty picnic lunch, and then the second part of our adventure began.
        Wayne was a treasure trove of information regarding the scenic and historical attractions of the area, even including the burned out auto and appliance remnants along the highway. We saw the weeping wall, Keanae Peninsula across from which Steve McQueen jumped over the cliff in the movie Papillon, had the opportunity to take short hikes to various attractions, enjoyed ice cream at a roadside stand and saw the resting green sea turtles at Hookipa Beach Park. This combo fly/drive tour was the best! We saw things we never would have noticed if driving ourselves, and of course the helicopter tour showed us things it would have taken days of hiking to get to.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour and Helicopter Flight

Gisele

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

OMG! Amazing and beautiful! Our guide Gail was super! She had a great vibe about her, great energy, great personality, she was just greater than great!

The very first waterfall was the best and where we got the best pictures so make sure you break out that camera on the first waterfall, we got some amazing shots!

There is a little bit of everything, hiking, climbing, swimming, jumping off cliffs, going thru a dark tunnel to get to the other side in water up to your waist! Amazing fun!

Make sure you rent the water shoes with them only 2.00 because I wouldn't even want to get my old shoes muddy or wet because you do get mega-muddy and wet!

Highly, highly recommend this tour!

Hi Gail, we miss you, thank you for taking care of us by being the best tour guide ever!

Doing what: East Maui Waterfalls and Rainforest Hike

Debbie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful trip. Great pilot and driver was so informative. Both had great personalities. The drive one way and fly the other way for road to Hana was an amazing trip. I would highly recommend this company. Best way to d o road to Hana and not make it a 12 hour excursion.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour and Helicopter Flight

Judith S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Fabulous helicopter ride to Hana. Gave such an incredible overview. Loved that our pilot was a female. The van return trip was great in most ways. Highly skilled driver, knew a lot about the plants and places we visited. Lunch....not so good. That's the only reason this didn't get 5 stars.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour and Helicopter Flight

Blake D

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

If you want to experience the Road to Hana without taking a full day, this trip 1/2 driving with guide and 1/2 flying with narration, this is the ONLY WAY TO GO.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour and Helicopter Flight

Kathy K USA

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The weather, it was raining quite a bit of the time. Very good driver/guide. Tried to pull over when he could to let us take pictures.

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

Austin Gal United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed this tour. Letting someone else do all the driving was indeed a luxury. Our guide Gayle was friendly and very knowledgeable. Breakfast and lunch restaurants were both great.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

Annie H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

The places we went to were beautiful, but it was all ruined by our tour guide/driver, Ed. He was very grouchy and rude to everyone. He had a very negative attitude and complained about everything on the intercom the people he drove past, the other drivers, etc. He would scold people for talking quietly among themselves and ruined the entire experience! At the end of our tour, we had to switch drivers to drop us off at our hotels. The new driver was George and he was so pleasant! He introduced himself, spoke to us nicely, and told us interesting facts about local places/history. He made recommendations about visiting places and was just wonderful. It is such a shame we were stuck with Ed. If you get Ed as a driver, you will definitely be disappointed too!

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

Christopher C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

Thanks to our tour guide Melany Anderson

Doing what: Small-Group Luxury Tour: Road to Hana and Ka'eleku Cavern Day Trip

Minnie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My driver was the best. He made everything so enjoyable. He told us a lot about all the foliage and water falls, also plants and towns. He was very attentive to all our needs even patient when some of us was a few minutes late to come back to the van. The trip itself was worth every penny we spent on the trip. AWESOME.,

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

Terri W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour of Hana. Sue was fun, really knowledgeable, really takes extra time with her guests to make sure we are all enjoying ourselves. Breakfast and lunch were great. This is the only way to really enjoy the road to Hana. Worth every bit of the cost.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

Ghazaleh F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

AMAZING EXPERIENCE!! WHAT A VIEW! BEST PART OF OUR TRIP

Doing what: East Maui 45-minute Helicopter Tour over Haleakala Crater

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message