Maui ATTRACTIONS See all

Road to Hana

Hawaii is made for road trips, and one of the best is the Road to Hana, a relatively short drive that should take all day (if you're doing it right). Technically called the Hana Highway, the Road to Hana is 52 miles of winding two-lane road ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 285 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Minnie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My driver was the best. He made everything so enjoyable. He told us a lot about all the foliage and water falls, also plants and towns. He was very attentive to all our needs even patient when some of us was a few minutes late to come back to the van. The trip itself was worth every penny we spent on the trip. AWESOME.,

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

Terri W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour of Hana. Sue was fun, really knowledgeable, really takes extra time with her guests to make sure we are all enjoying ourselves. Breakfast and lunch were great. This is the only way to really enjoy the road to Hana. Worth every bit of the cost.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

Ghazaleh F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

AMAZING EXPERIENCE!! WHAT A VIEW! BEST PART OF OUR TRIP

Doing what: East Maui 45-minute Helicopter Tour over Haleakala Crater

J55504 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very good tour, nice scenery. Should take this tour if you are first time in Maui.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

Johnnie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great trip - highly recommended!
Our guide Larry provided deep insight to what we saw, folklore history, the Aloha way of being all while driving under difficult conditions due to the frequent rainstorms. It was a wonderful experience!

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

Peter C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour, as you see the many varied landscapes to see on Maui. The narrow windy road was part of the adventure. Our driver and guide was excellent, friendly and very informative. I would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

ANNIE C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Awesome tour!!! Pasko was the best guide!!!

Doing what: East Maui Waterfalls and Rainforest Hike

Albert B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This hike was the highlight of our trip to Maui. Learning about the history and nature of Maui, along with climbing and diving off of water falls, this trip gets a 5 out of 5. Our guide Eddie was easy to talk to and shared a wealth of knowledge, interweaving Hawaiian history with interesting agricultural facts. This was also a great photo op! We took so many amazing photographs to share and commemorate our anniversary trip. Thank you for the experience!

Doing what: East Maui Waterfalls and Rainforest Hike

talley_linda_m

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Great way to tour the Road to Hana and not worry about the driving! Our guide was very informative and stopped frequently for us to see the local shops and scenery. It rained a bit during the trip so a few of the locations were hard to see seven pools but overall a great value for the money!

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

Valerie Y

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Unique and exciting adventure. Not for the faint of heart as several of the roads are very narrow with extremely steep drops down to the ocean and/or canyon.. My recommendation is take a tour where the driver knows the twists and turns in the road, Taking a rental car yourself is nerve wracking.
Amazing scenery. Long day starting at 6:30am, and finishing at 7:20pm but worth it.
Our driver was excellent. Very knowlefgeable. Good steady and skillful driver thank goodness!!

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

J55504 United States of ... 

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Good tour, very good scenery. Should take this tour if you are first time in Maui.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

Lorena D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

it was an awesome experience! Sue the van driver was incredible. We had a lot of fun!
Fue una experiencia increible. La conductora Sue de la van fue genial. Nos divertimos mucho. Recomendable.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour and Helicopter Flight

Glenn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A wonderful trip despite the rain. Wonderful, very well informed guide. Old Hawaii at its best. Too much rain prevented swimming in the pool below the waterfall, as the water was brown coming over the falls.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

Shara M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide, Dawn, was very knowledgable and made the whole experience enjoyable. The highlight for our family was jumping off the waterfall cliffs into the beautiful pools of refreshingly, cool water. We highly recommend!

Doing what: East Maui Waterfalls and Rainforest Hike

JOHN H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a very rewarding experience for us. We conquered the Road to Hana!

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

cheryl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great tour, we had talked about driving ourselves but are so glad we did not. The road has alot of constant turns and would have been hard to pay attention to what we were seeing. Our driver had lots of experience driving the Road to Hana and lots of good information.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

qunjie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent one day of beautiful scenery and cool spring experience, really worth it, highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

Rosalie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Do this tour!! Our guide Dan was awesome. He really knew his stuff about what nature had to offer on this hike. We tasted fruits and edible parts of plants along the way. What's really great about him is that he was attentive to everyone's needs: pace, bathroom breaks, need for sunblock, alternate routes for different mobility level and everything else. Of course, the Waterfalls and swim is amazing in itself. The company books small groups at different times throughout the day so that you can get a semi-private enjoyable swim unlike immensely crowded waterfall pools along Hana HWY or Kipahulu and great pictures without photo-bombers. Make sure you wear good water-sport sandals or shoes that you don't care if they get soaked or muddy. WEAR LOTS and LOTS of mosquito repellant! They supply you with spray but I would double spray if you're like me and bugs love to bite you.

Doing what: East Maui Waterfalls and Rainforest Hike

Jacquelyn M I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is the only way to do Hana! The bus was very comfortable and it was wonderful to do this tour with a small group. Our driver provided us with lots of stories along the way and pointed out lots of interesting things along the way. The stops were awesome and he also acted as our photographer. Can't say enough good things about this trip!

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

Maria P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The day trip to Hana was awesome! It deserves 5 stars!

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

Halbert C

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Driver was a bit wild through the turns and accelerated uphill trying to get air. Not always but enough to be of concern. Trip was longer than expected but still worth it.

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

Anne-Luise W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

We spent quite a bit of time at two restaurants for breakfast and lunch to the point it impacted the amount of time we had for the actual drive to Hana. Several times we pulled over the side of the road and did not get out of the van and handed our cameras to the driver so he could take pictures out of his open window. There were other tourists and tour groups that had stopped to see waterfalls and other sites, for the most part we did not. We got off the bus twice and were promised an opportunity to take a short swim we brought towels and bathing suits but this too never happened and we were never told why. Really wished we have travelled with one of the other companies,

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

Diane H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great trip! Our driver and guide, Ed was very good.

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

Susan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful. We had very wet weather - but it really didn't matter at all. A fantastic day and the group size is ideal. A definite must do.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

Kenda

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had an unexpected private tour with Melanie. She became a friend for the day! She did a great job keeping us interested and entertained! The drive was very comfortable and the sights were incredible. She even shared some personal favorite spots and some hidden caves! Excellent tour!!

Doing what: Small-Group Luxury Tour: Road to Hana and Ka'eleku Cavern Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message