In Hawaiian mythology, it was from the summit of towering Haleakala volcano that the great demigod Maui famously snared the sun. According to legend, the sun would race across the sky so quickly that there wasn’t enough time for the people to plant ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 325 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mary C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What an amazing experience. This was worth waking up early for. The crew was so nice and funny. The bike ride was really cool. It is an easy ride and the views were breath taking.

Doing what: Maui Haleakala Sunrise Bike Tour

Rita S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I want to thank you so much for a day that will always be remembered. The sunrise was more spectacular than I would have ever imagined and the bike ride was amazing. The tour guide was well informed and added to the full experience.

Doing what: Maui Haleakala Sunrise Bike Tour

Adam R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Rory, our guide, was fantastic. The trip was comfortable and his knowledge about the island was fascinating. He also made it a priority for his clients to see as much as possible. My family loved it

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Luz M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was amazing! Totally worth the 235 AM pick. Nettie our tour guide was the best. All the reviews said she was great and she was. To see the sunrise above the clouds was breathtaking. Nettie even took amazing pictures for you to capture the memories. Dress warmly it does get cold.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Melinda F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It's as close as you can get to God! Despite having to get my teenagers awake for the bus to pick us up at 2:30, and the 35 degree temp at the top, it was an absolutely spectacular morning. Our tour guide, Nettie was the best. She made it an adventure warning us of car sickness and kept us entertained. Totally worth it and my kids will agree years from now

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Kenneth L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Unbelievable! You must do at least once but be aware that you may see nothing if it's cloudy. We were lucky - we saw a full range of colors in the sky and the clouds were below us. Rory is a great tour guide - informative and enthusiastic. He kept us on a tight schedule to ensure we arrived in time to get a viewing spot upfront.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

hmscher

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour guide and sunrise was spectacular. The ride down on the bicycle was 26 miles and exhilarating. We loved the tour.

Doing what: Maui Haleakala Sunrise Bike Tour

Patrick k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My family although Hating the very early out of bed throughly enjoyed the sunrise and the beautiful views!!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Patrick L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The best tour on Maui!

Aaron was an awesome and fun tour guide and kept us all awake and laughing.

This tour gets you a front row seat to the most amazing view and you get tonsee many other sites on the crater.Breakfast at the end was awesome too.

If you and #39;re going to see a sunrise take this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Luxury Haleakala Sunrise Experience

Keith W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Pack warm clothes but definitely don't miss this experience! Scott was not only a fabulous guide but he helped us capture so many beautiful pictures!! Added bonus was the delicious breakfast afterwards!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Luxury Haleakala Sunrise Experience

Wanda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very spiritual. Our guide Rory was a kick. He gave us more history than the people in Lahaina knew. Never did a tour bus and have been to the volcano 6-7 times. Will definitely continue to take the tour.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Gillian R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a great time. The sunrise views were breathtaking. Bike ride down was a blast. Request Bobby and JoJo as guides. They are what truly made the excursion memorable.

Doing what: Maui Haleakala Sunrise Bike Tour

Sally M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Nettie is the best of the best tour guides! she made the early morning trip to Mt Haleakala so much fun! She was very knowledge, a great personality, and our family of 9 thoroughly enjoyed the 4:50am sunrise!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Jeff W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

So happy we had this experience. Definitely worth the 2am pickup. Our driver Rory was fabulous, so knowledgeable, friendly and funny!
Would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Maui.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Bruce R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great trip- the view was spectacular, the guides informative, and the ride down the mountain a real thrill-
no one tells you this, but they supply jackets and over pants so you don't have to bring your own

Doing what: Maui Haleakala Sunrise Bike Tour

Andre B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour guide was knowledgeable it was one of my favorite experience

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Marylou A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Years ago I did the bicycle ride down Haleakala. So this trip I opted for the sunrise. Good choice. The pickup at the hotel was early-middle if the night early, The sunrise was spectacular. It had me singing it was so beautiful. Well worth the cost and the early rise. Highly recommend

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

E J H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I forgot to star rate this adventure and it was 5 stars!!!!
Maui Downhill with Doug, Steve, Tony and Mark were awesome
Eco-Adventures with Preston and Pono were top notch!

Doing what: Haleakala Bike and Zipline Adventure on Maui

Aoife R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a wonderful tour on our honeymoon. Though we had a rental car, neither of us fancied driving winding roads in the middle of the night with other tourists and tour buses going the same direction.

Amazing sunrise but make sure you wrap up warm!! It and #39;s freezing!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Carol P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide, Sean, was great...lots of knowledge and always had an answer to our groups many questions. He got us up there before any other group which afforded us the best spot for viewing the sunrise. He was also well prepared with blankets for anyone who didn't realize how cold it could be. There are no words to adequately describe the sunrise...to say spectacular would be an understatement. After the sunrise, many left to head back down, but we stayed to see the magnificent views from the Summit. What a treat. Breakfast at the Kula Lodge was delicious and a walk through their beautiful garden was a great end to our tour

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Luxury Haleakala Sunrise Experience

Mary D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Though the word 'awesome' has gotten overused over the years, this was a genuinely awesome tour to go on. I recommend dressing warm, for it can be 20 to 40 degrees on Haleakala early in the morning. The view form the summit is breathtaking, but it's watching the dramatic sunrise that is the climax of this tour.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Emily O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Sunrise Tour to Haleakala was excellent! Nettie was our guide and she did an excellent job. She was very informative and entertaining. Make sure you take a warm jacket on this tour as it is very chilly at the top! And go to bed early as you will be picked up at your hotel around 2 am. It is a very fun experience! I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

John T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour guide Rory was great. Very knowledgeable and new the road up to the top very well. We really enjoyed the trip.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Larry B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Sean was our tour guide and was on time for our early morning pickup and got us to the front of the line for a great view. The breakfast at the Kula Lodge was nice and their gardens are beautiful. Sean was friendly and informative throughout the trip.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Luxury Haleakala Sunrise Experience

Richard H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Glen was our tour guide. He was very knowledgeable and interesting. He made the trip extremely enjoyable. He was prompt and very courteous. I would recommend this tour to anyone visiting Maui as a must see. We had a blast. Spectacular.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message