In Hawaiian mythology, it was from the summit of towering Haleakala volcano that the great demigod Maui famously snared the sun. According to legend, the sun would race across the sky so quickly that there wasn’t enough time for the people to plant ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 352 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jodie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had a wonderful experience on our sunrise tour. Sean picked us up right on time, and knew excately what time we needed to arrive in order to have a viewing spot. He was prepared with extra blankets and gloves. The sunrise it self was amazing! Then Sean lead us to a couple of other viewing spots, followed by breakfast. Our guide was extremely knowledgable and made the ride home very enjoyable. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Luxury Haleakala Sunrise Experience

Nadia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Everyone says this is a must do and they are so right. Scotty was our guide and he was great. Now this is an early wake up like 3 am early but it's necessary. Scotty was prompt and got us there ahead of the rush to secure the best viewing spots. It is super cold up there so layering is a must- he had additional layers if needed. He stayed out there with us from start to finish and was able to tell us about constellations while it was dark and we were waiting for the sun. He took great pics and videos for us. The sunrise is gorgeous and you would be hard pressed to find a more beautiful view of it than there. After the sunrise we went down for a tasty breakfast and we're back at our hotel for a nap by 1030. Temptation tours did a great job here!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Luxury Haleakala Sunrise Experience

Lori L United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This is a must do experience. It literally feel like you are sitting on top of the world. The stars in the sky before the sun starts to come up are breathtaking, and then the colors are amazing. The day starts very early - our pick up was at 2:40am but is worth it. The driver from Mountain Riders Kay was on time and nice as could be. Very important - DRESS WARM! Seriously, it is crazy windy on top of the volcano and very cold! Do not underestimate the temperature! The van follows your bikes down the mountain during the ride, so you can easily take off layers once you get off the top. When you get to the crater, they tell you to stand by the guardrail, but if you walk up the path to the right use your cell phone flashlight!, you can get up even further and find a rock to sit with an unobstructed view due east. And wait for the sun to actually come up! Once sunrise is done, they pile you back in the van and drive you down past the entrance to the park - you can't ride bikes in the park and don't book with anyone who says they will! The bikes used here are heavier than mountain bikes, but they are easy to control. I am the most risk averse person but I loved the ride down - even the multiple curves and switchbacks were doable! The whole ride is just over 26 miles and very little it requires peddling. We stopped once just before cowboy town to get some food - there was only one place open as it was Christmas Day - and they actually stopped us a mile before that because there was a steep uphill, with strong headwinds and coming rain. But after food, in a light rain, we rode the rest of the way all the way to the beach! A really great ride! The folks at Mountain Riders are extremely nice and attentive. They are very concerned for your safety and your comfort the entire way down. If you are uncomfortable with the ride for any reason, you can simply ride in the van. Oh, and they take cool pictures of you and your family on the bikes!

Doing what: Maui Haleakala Sunrise Bike Tour

Gio United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

amazing!!!!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Karina J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic - highly recommended. We had so much fun, and the views are amazing!

Doing what: Maui Haleakala Sunrise Bike Tour

Heidi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent and our tour guide was amazing!

Doing what: Maui Haleakala Sunrise Bike Tour

Sarah M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was absolutely worth waking up in the middle of the night to see the sun rise over the volcano. Biking down the volcano was so exhilarating and exciting, and Elvin was so nice and knowledgeable during the entire experience. Both guides went out of their ways to make sure we were completely happy and comfortable. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Maui Haleakala Sunrise Bike Tour

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Amazing trip! Spectacular sunrise! Our tour driver Nettie was very knowledgeable and went beyond the expected in taking photographs for clients and telling us where to get the best shots. Her interest in photography was very evident and much appreciated. We were all suitably Nettified!!. Remember to have warm clothes, beanies and gloves, even a blanket to keep warm in the dark before that beautiful sunrise breaks through. Absolutely fabulous!!!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Timothy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was a great excursion! the staff was amazing and the bike ride was so much fun!

Doing what: Maui Haleakala Sunrise Bike Tour

Regina M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was so awesome! The guides Kay and Kevin are great!! We got there early enough for a front row view of the gorgeous sunrise. The ride down on the bikes was exhilarating and so much fun! When we go back, this will be something we will definitely do again!

Doing what: Maui Haleakala Sunrise Bike Tour

Elouise L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful Experience. Driver was on time, courteous, informative. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

joel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Had a great time with Kevin and Tom and the rest of the Mountain Bike Riders staff! We saw an amazing sunrise and we were well positioned thanks to the advice of the crew to stake out spots early along the rail otherwise you will have lots of heads in your sunrise pictures. The early pickup 2.15 am was well worth it because we beat the crowds into the park and had a clear view of the sunrise over the clouds and crater.

The ride down the mountain was amazing, very safe and a lot of fun with appropriate equipment brakes on the bikes as well as breaks for food and pictures along the way. We also enjoyed the amount of information, local history and anecdotal stories that each and every member of the crew was willing to share with the group along the way.

Overall and outstanding experience on Maui and one we would recommend to all!

Doing what: Maui Haleakala Sunrise Bike Tour

Mae K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great experience, great tour guides. They were very good with my mom who went on the trip and she is 76 years old! An experience of a life time. Great job guys!

Doing what: Maui Haleakala Sunrise Bike Tour

Juana S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a great time! Glenn was very knowledgeable and funny! We had lightning on the way up Haleakala very rare and saw the most beautiful sunrise! Nice having a safe driver too!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Julie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This sunrise was gorgeous. I've never experienced such magnificent beauty before. I must say it DOES get cold. As NYer's we thought we would be fine but we totally regretted not bringing warmer clothes. Don't be dumb. Bring warm clothes. Our driver... NETTIE was the best! She was so entertaining and took such beautiful pictures of us. Nettie made getting up at 2 AM completely worth it. It does make for a long day but this memory will last a life time.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

jerrymalkowski United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great experience for our 40th anniversary. Nettie was a fantastic guide. The tour is the only way to enjoy the experience.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Cezary J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Nie zapomniany widok, jedna z lepszych atrakcji na Maui. Na prawde warto.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

kkunkel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Most unique way to see the sunrise above the clouds and a volcano. The tour guides were great and took great care with us. We had a safe trip down the volcano going up to 25 mph.

Doing what: Maui Haleakala Sunrise Bike Tour

James S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Love Netty! She was Fabulous! For having to catch the bus at 2:10 am she sure knew how to wake us up! You will never see a more Glorious Sunrise ever. This is a must do at least once in your life!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Mary C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What an amazing experience. This was worth waking up early for. The crew was so nice and funny. The bike ride was really cool. It is an easy ride and the views were breath taking.

Doing what: Maui Haleakala Sunrise Bike Tour

Rita S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I want to thank you so much for a day that will always be remembered. The sunrise was more spectacular than I would have ever imagined and the bike ride was amazing. The tour guide was well informed and added to the full experience.

Doing what: Maui Haleakala Sunrise Bike Tour

Adam R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Rory, our guide, was fantastic. The trip was comfortable and his knowledge about the island was fascinating. He also made it a priority for his clients to see as much as possible. My family loved it

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Luz M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was amazing! Totally worth the 235 AM pick. Nettie our tour guide was the best. All the reviews said she was great and she was. To see the sunrise above the clouds was breathtaking. Nettie even took amazing pictures for you to capture the memories. Dress warmly it does get cold.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Melinda F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It's as close as you can get to God! Despite having to get my teenagers awake for the bus to pick us up at 2:30, and the 35 degree temp at the top, it was an absolutely spectacular morning. Our tour guide, Nettie was the best. She made it an adventure warning us of car sickness and kept us entertained. Totally worth it and my kids will agree years from now

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Kenneth L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Unbelievable! You must do at least once but be aware that you may see nothing if it's cloudy. We were lucky - we saw a full range of colors in the sky and the clouds were below us. Rory is a great tour guide - informative and enthusiastic. He kept us on a tight schedule to ensure we arrived in time to get a viewing spot upfront.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message