In Hawaiian mythology, it was from the summit of towering Haleakala volcano that the great demigod Maui famously snared the sun. According to legend, the sun would race across the sky so quickly that there wasn’t enough time for the people to plant ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 334 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

joel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Had a great time with Kevin and Tom and the rest of the Mountain Bike Riders staff! We saw an amazing sunrise and we were well positioned thanks to the advice of the crew to stake out spots early along the rail otherwise you will have lots of heads in your sunrise pictures. The early pickup 2.15 am was well worth it because we beat the crowds into the park and had a clear view of the sunrise over the clouds and crater.

The ride down the mountain was amazing, very safe and a lot of fun with appropriate equipment brakes on the bikes as well as breaks for food and pictures along the way. We also enjoyed the amount of information, local history and anecdotal stories that each and every member of the crew was willing to share with the group along the way.

Overall and outstanding experience on Maui and one we would recommend to all!

Doing what: Maui Haleakala Sunrise Bike Tour

Mae K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great experience, great tour guides. They were very good with my mom who went on the trip and she is 76 years old! An experience of a life time. Great job guys!

Doing what: Maui Haleakala Sunrise Bike Tour

Juana S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a great time! Glenn was very knowledgeable and funny! We had lightning on the way up Haleakala very rare and saw the most beautiful sunrise! Nice having a safe driver too!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Julie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This sunrise was gorgeous. I've never experienced such magnificent beauty before. I must say it DOES get cold. As NYer's we thought we would be fine but we totally regretted not bringing warmer clothes. Don't be dumb. Bring warm clothes. Our driver... NETTIE was the best! She was so entertaining and took such beautiful pictures of us. Nettie made getting up at 2 AM completely worth it. It does make for a long day but this memory will last a life time.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

jerrymalkowski United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great experience for our 40th anniversary. Nettie was a fantastic guide. The tour is the only way to enjoy the experience.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Cezary J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Nie zapomniany widok, jedna z lepszych atrakcji na Maui. Na prawde warto.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

kkunkel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Most unique way to see the sunrise above the clouds and a volcano. The tour guides were great and took great care with us. We had a safe trip down the volcano going up to 25 mph.

Doing what: Maui Haleakala Sunrise Bike Tour

James S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Love Netty! She was Fabulous! For having to catch the bus at 2:10 am she sure knew how to wake us up! You will never see a more Glorious Sunrise ever. This is a must do at least once in your life!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Mary C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What an amazing experience. This was worth waking up early for. The crew was so nice and funny. The bike ride was really cool. It is an easy ride and the views were breath taking.

Doing what: Maui Haleakala Sunrise Bike Tour

Rita S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I want to thank you so much for a day that will always be remembered. The sunrise was more spectacular than I would have ever imagined and the bike ride was amazing. The tour guide was well informed and added to the full experience.

Doing what: Maui Haleakala Sunrise Bike Tour

Adam R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Rory, our guide, was fantastic. The trip was comfortable and his knowledge about the island was fascinating. He also made it a priority for his clients to see as much as possible. My family loved it

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Luz M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was amazing! Totally worth the 235 AM pick. Nettie our tour guide was the best. All the reviews said she was great and she was. To see the sunrise above the clouds was breathtaking. Nettie even took amazing pictures for you to capture the memories. Dress warmly it does get cold.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Melinda F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It's as close as you can get to God! Despite having to get my teenagers awake for the bus to pick us up at 2:30, and the 35 degree temp at the top, it was an absolutely spectacular morning. Our tour guide, Nettie was the best. She made it an adventure warning us of car sickness and kept us entertained. Totally worth it and my kids will agree years from now

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Kenneth L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Unbelievable! You must do at least once but be aware that you may see nothing if it's cloudy. We were lucky - we saw a full range of colors in the sky and the clouds were below us. Rory is a great tour guide - informative and enthusiastic. He kept us on a tight schedule to ensure we arrived in time to get a viewing spot upfront.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

hmscher

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour guide and sunrise was spectacular. The ride down on the bicycle was 26 miles and exhilarating. We loved the tour.

Doing what: Maui Haleakala Sunrise Bike Tour

Patrick k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My family although Hating the very early out of bed throughly enjoyed the sunrise and the beautiful views!!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Patrick L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The best tour on Maui!

Aaron was an awesome and fun tour guide and kept us all awake and laughing.

This tour gets you a front row seat to the most amazing view and you get tonsee many other sites on the crater.Breakfast at the end was awesome too.

If you and #39;re going to see a sunrise take this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Luxury Haleakala Sunrise Experience

Keith W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Pack warm clothes but definitely don't miss this experience! Scott was not only a fabulous guide but he helped us capture so many beautiful pictures!! Added bonus was the delicious breakfast afterwards!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Luxury Haleakala Sunrise Experience

Wanda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very spiritual. Our guide Rory was a kick. He gave us more history than the people in Lahaina knew. Never did a tour bus and have been to the volcano 6-7 times. Will definitely continue to take the tour.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Gillian R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a great time. The sunrise views were breathtaking. Bike ride down was a blast. Request Bobby and JoJo as guides. They are what truly made the excursion memorable.

Doing what: Maui Haleakala Sunrise Bike Tour

Sally M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Nettie is the best of the best tour guides! she made the early morning trip to Mt Haleakala so much fun! She was very knowledge, a great personality, and our family of 9 thoroughly enjoyed the 4:50am sunrise!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Jeff W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

So happy we had this experience. Definitely worth the 2am pickup. Our driver Rory was fabulous, so knowledgeable, friendly and funny!
Would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Maui.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Bruce R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great trip- the view was spectacular, the guides informative, and the ride down the mountain a real thrill-
no one tells you this, but they supply jackets and over pants so you don't have to bring your own

Doing what: Maui Haleakala Sunrise Bike Tour

Andre B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour guide was knowledgeable it was one of my favorite experience

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Marylou A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Years ago I did the bicycle ride down Haleakala. So this trip I opted for the sunrise. Good choice. The pickup at the hotel was early-middle if the night early, The sunrise was spectacular. It had me singing it was so beautiful. Well worth the cost and the early rise. Highly recommend

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message