There are few winter activities more iconic to the Hawaiian Islands than getting out on the water and whale watching from Maui . Home to the greatest concentration of humpback whales in the northern Pacific, it’s estimated that somewhere between ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 242 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

michael f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

awesome adventure!! Just being 128 ft. underwater was cool and the fish we saw just made it great. The crew was funny and very informative. My wife does not like confined spaces but was very comfortable and really enjoyed the ride. On way to sub we saw many whales and that just made it greater.

Doing what: Maui Atlantis Submarine Adventure

Tom R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We booked this trip due to the perception of more value than the other kayak trips we had seen. We're we ever right. Matt took us out and was extremely knowledgable, fun, and kept safety in mind whenever necessary. We swam with numerous turtles, and were able to get a great view of some whales. Matt even gave us a dinner recommendation, which we tried, and was also awesome. 10/10, these guys are great.

Doing what: Makena Turtle Town Eco Adventure in Maui

Richard H K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We had a wonderful dinner cruise. The weather was very accommodating, staff was very helpful and friendly, food was good, and we had the pleasure of viewing several whales leaping out of the ocean.

Doing what: Sunset Dinner Cruise: Four Course Dining Experience

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We saw number of whales. They were breaching the water. The staff is very knowledgeable. We were booked on two tours that were both canceled before we actually got on the boat so be flexible. The whales playing in the water is an amazing site.

Doing what: Whale Watching from Lahaina Harbor

Steven M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our trip was great. January is a good time to do this one since the whales are there giving birth and breeding. We were barely 5 minutes into the trip and we spotted whales!

Doing what: Whale Watching from Ma'alaea Harbor

Robert S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

What a fantastic experience! Our boat was not out of the harbor 5 minutes before we started to see the blows of the humpback whales. Our crew was great and the commentary from CJ was extremely informative. Best part was having 3 whales swim right up to our boat! I was so excited that I didn't get a picture with my camera, but lucky for me, my husband did! Great trip...well worth the money spent.Thank You!

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

Laird N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Tim and Kelly were great! They did a great job giving us a mix of info about the islands, wildlife, history, etc. and were generally really friendly. We lucked out and saw several humpback whales less than 50 ft from the boat, including when they swam underneath us. Unfortunately it was a bit windy and not the best snorkeling conditions, but the whales made up for it!

Doing what: Small-Group Molokini Snorkel and Green Sea Turtle Adventure from Maui

Fran United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Old Lahaina Luau Maui was a bit expensive but worth the cost. The food was well prepared and tasty. The show was excellent. Parking is a problem especially for handicapped. All places we went needs to be more handicapped friendly.

We went on a whale watch and saw a wonderful show from a mother whale and the babies. It was amazing seeing the babies playing. Loved the trip but couldn't hear the lady giving history of whales due to bad PA and noisy motor.

We went on dinner cruise. The food was tasty and the singer was great. Not handicapped friendly and expensive.

We live in Florida and didn't go to Maui for sandy beaches. We loved seeing God's Creations and Island Culture. We enjoyed our trip and loved the Island. We did find everything to be VERY EXPENSIVE.

Doing what: Old Lahaina Luau Maui

Annie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had the best time. Our two guides never saw this. We ended up snorkeling on top of a whale right off Molokini. The whale made its way under our boat back and forth several times in a playful way. Amazing. We will never forget. This tour is for experienced snorkelers. No help provided to beginners or anyone with concerns about safety in the big ocean!

Doing what: Small-Group Molokini Snorkel and Green Sea Turtle Adventure from Maui

William K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was windy with a choppy sea the day we went but still enjoyed seeing the whales. Also had two sightings of dolphins swimming near the whales which according to the guide annoy the whales and is uncommon to see this even once.

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

Lisa F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great food and beautiful boat. Small group and very friendly, awesome female crew except captain. Saw a couple of whales. Too early in season.

Doing what: Whalewatch Sail Deluxe Lahaina

David K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic trip, heard whale sounds, and several several whales. Very good guides

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

Phillip B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Best tour of our trip to Hawaii. This was the first time snorkeling for my wife and she was a little nervous. But the captain's Snorkeling 101 talk put her more at ease. The crew was friendly and helpful. The boat was fantastic. All the gear you need and more. Excellent lunch. Snorkeling in the crater was awesome. We saw lots of different fish and the coral reef. On a reef tour with one of the crew we even saw an eel. Cool stuff! Before leaving we saw a monk seal sleeping on the shore of the crater. And although the water was too murky at Turtle Town to go see turtles, the captain compensated by letting us swim a little longer in the crater, and we had more time on the way back to the harbor to watch for whales. Which worked out great because we spotted a group of whales and stopped, and the whales swam right towards us and under the boat. Wow!!

Doing what: Molokini Snorkeling Adventure

Tina R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We took the West Maui Snorkeling Adventure and I'm so glad we did!!! This tour was one of the highlights of our trip to Hawaii. The staff was great and the scenery was absolutely beautiful!! We saw several whales and was lucky enough to see a few of them breach!! Mahlo!!

Doing what: West Maui Snorkeling Adventure

Ara United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very friendly and attentive crew. Extremely knowledgeable personnel from the Pacific Whale Foundation. Excellent food and wide selection of drinks during lunch. We saw many single whales and a whale family mom, dad, and calf. Easy access to the store and harbor via shuttle from area hotels/lodging. The store is very well stocked and has merchandise for all ages and tastes.

Doing what: Whalewatch Sail Deluxe Lahaina

vineshbahl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent. Saw a lot of whales. Boat crew very polite.

Doing what: Whale Watch Lahaina Explorer

Oscar R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Can't rate this high enough. On the day we went we happened upon a huge pod of dolphins that swam alongside the boat for awhile and then witnessed a struggle between three male whales trying to win the affection of a female. The males were pushing each other aside while the female wagged her tail above the water occasionally. There is no justice even among whales! Had a great time with a wonderful crew.

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

chevytoyboy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

it was a well organized well ran tour right off the batt they took advantage of smooth seas and great weather and reversed the order of the tour so we basically had no other tour boats they went out of there way to find a nearby reported whale sighting. I will be back with this tour guide again

Doing what: Molokini and Turtle Town Snorkeling Adventure

Daren T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a fabulous tour. Excellent value for the dollar. We walked from our resort and avoided parking our rental car. The catamaran run by SEA MAUI was beautiful.It carried smaller groups of people which is what we were looking for as the tour was far more personal. We were greeted by a very friendly staff. Great ratio of staff to patrons. We had great seats on bean bag pillows right in the front of the catamaran. Excellent breakfast and wow what a lunch. Once we arrived at the snorkelling spot Molly was showing us a pencil sea urchin she located and allowing us to hold it. She took us to find sea turtles which we did locate. Once we were back on board someone saw a whale and the captain actually tried to take us to find the whale. Very personal, professional tour. We would return for another tour.

Doing what: West Maui Snorkeling Adventure

Susan L USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was the best snorkel trip I have ever gone on. The masks that they provided were so much better that the rest we have used DeepSea. They were clear and water did not get in. The snorkel trip took us to Honolua Bay and Cliff House Bay. These sites were amazing. We saw tons of fish, sea turtles, eels and even a few octopus. We had about an hour at Honolua Bay and an hour and a half at Cliff House Bay. Both sites were amazing. The water was calm and clear. They served a nice bento box style breakfast with eggs, bacon, sausage and rice. Lunch was buffet style with roasted chicken, beef, macaroni salad, and a green salad. They had coffee, juice, soft drinks, beer, and alcoholic beverages to drink. Everything was quite tasty. We booked via Viator and saved 35 per ticket. The boat picks you up right behind Whaler's Village. This was very convenient for us as we were staying at the Whaler. I can't say enough goods things about the crew, they really made the trip special. Loved them so much we went on the Sunset Cruise with them later in the trip.

Doing what: West Maui Snorkeling Adventure

Michael C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved it! This was done in tandem with the Pacific Whale Foundation. It was well-done and quite enjoyable. Would recommend it and would definitely do it again.

Doing what: Molokini And Turtle Arches Snorkeling Trip

Pat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a really great experience and the skipper Capt. John and his crew were great and informative as well as very helpful. Well organised, good food and plenty of drinks. We would highly recommend this trip. We spotted a Humpback Whale quite some distance away even though it was late in the season. Capt John diverted the boat to have a closer look but kept his distance not to disturb the whale and her calf. We saw the beautiful coastline of Maui and Mt Haleakala from the sea. Awesome.

Doing what: Molokini Sail and Snorkel Adventure

Mo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We loved it!!! The captain and crew were very professional, informative and funny. We were able to spot and follow a mama, baby and escort whale, I got quite a few great pictures too. I would take this tour again, however, I would take it earlier in the season.

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

Lee F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really great saw loads of whales and their young and even had dolphins swimming alongside the boat for half an hour

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

Leslie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great experience! We went in January and saw lots of whales on the rides to and from. Friendly crew. Unfortunately, the water was too murky at Turtle Town, so we only got to snorkel at the crater, but it was still a great time.

Doing what: Molokini and Turtle Town Snorkeling Adventure

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message