There are few winter activities more iconic to the Hawaiian Islands than getting out on the water and whale watching from Maui . Home to the greatest concentration of humpback whales in the northern Pacific, it’s estimated that somewhere between ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 85 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

chevytoyboy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

it was a well organized well ran tour right off the batt they took advantage of smooth seas and great weather and reversed the order of the tour so we basically had no other tour boats they went out of there way to find a nearby reported whale sighting. I will be back with this tour guide again

Doing what: Molokini and Turtle Town Snorkeling Adventure

Daren T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a fabulous tour. Excellent value for the dollar. We walked from our resort and avoided parking our rental car. The catamaran run by SEA MAUI was beautiful.It carried smaller groups of people which is what we were looking for as the tour was far more personal. We were greeted by a very friendly staff. Great ratio of staff to patrons. We had great seats on bean bag pillows right in the front of the catamaran. Excellent breakfast and wow what a lunch. Once we arrived at the snorkelling spot Molly was showing us a pencil sea urchin she located and allowing us to hold it. She took us to find sea turtles which we did locate. Once we were back on board someone saw a whale and the captain actually tried to take us to find the whale. Very personal, professional tour. We would return for another tour.

Doing what: West Maui Snorkeling Adventure

Susan L USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was the best snorkel trip I have ever gone on. The masks that they provided were so much better that the rest we have used DeepSea. They were clear and water did not get in. The snorkel trip took us to Honolua Bay and Cliff House Bay. These sites were amazing. We saw tons of fish, sea turtles, eels and even a few octopus. We had about an hour at Honolua Bay and an hour and a half at Cliff House Bay. Both sites were amazing. The water was calm and clear. They served a nice bento box style breakfast with eggs, bacon, sausage and rice. Lunch was buffet style with roasted chicken, beef, macaroni salad, and a green salad. They had coffee, juice, soft drinks, beer, and alcoholic beverages to drink. Everything was quite tasty. We booked via Viator and saved 35 per ticket. The boat picks you up right behind Whaler's Village. This was very convenient for us as we were staying at the Whaler. I can't say enough goods things about the crew, they really made the trip special. Loved them so much we went on the Sunset Cruise with them later in the trip.

Doing what: West Maui Snorkeling Adventure

Michael C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved it! This was done in tandem with the Pacific Whale Foundation. It was well-done and quite enjoyable. Would recommend it and would definitely do it again.

Doing what: Molokini And Turtle Arches Snorkeling Trip

Pat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a really great experience and the skipper Capt. John and his crew were great and informative as well as very helpful. Well organised, good food and plenty of drinks. We would highly recommend this trip. We spotted a Humpback Whale quite some distance away even though it was late in the season. Capt John diverted the boat to have a closer look but kept his distance not to disturb the whale and her calf. We saw the beautiful coastline of Maui and Mt Haleakala from the sea. Awesome.

Doing what: Molokini Sail and Snorkel Adventure

Leslie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great experience! We went in January and saw lots of whales on the rides to and from. Friendly crew. Unfortunately, the water was too murky at Turtle Town, so we only got to snorkel at the crater, but it was still a great time.

Doing what: Molokini and Turtle Town Snorkeling Adventure

Jill B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Saw lots of whales, Good trip.

Doing what: Whale Watching from Lahaina Harbor

Charles L M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic tour. There are cheaper whale watch excursions but this one is definitely worth every penny. Boat, guides and service were are all top notch! Recommend to all.

Doing what: Whalewatch Sail Lahaina

Adam K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Snorkelling was fun and we got to see whales and dolphins along the way. The crew was top knotch and efficient. Tons of food that was delicious, more than we anticipated. There are a lot of people on the boat so it isn and #39;t intimate, but the 2 snorkel sites and the beauty surrounding made a great day.

Doing what: Lanai Island Dolphin and Snorkel Cruise from Maui

Patricia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Wonderful! Great crew, food was good...wish we could have gotten closer to the whales.

Doing what: Luxury Whale Watch

Tom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour. Food was very good as was the crew. Very informative if about the whales.

Doing what: Whalewatch Sail Deluxe Lahaina

Lee H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Fantastic. Perfect weather knowledgeable guides ... and lots of whales!

Doing what: Whalewatch Sail Lahaina

Jayne G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our guides were friendly, knowledgeable and professional. Within our first 20 minutes we were lucky enough to see two hump back whales, had a wonderful time snorkeling. We saw beautiful fish, coral and two sea turtles. Kelly and Keki always kept an eye on everyone and made sure we had a great trip.

Doing what: Small-Group Molokini Snorkel and Green Sea Turtle Adventure from Maui

KCO USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I enjoyed this cruise even though my husband had a touch of motion sickness until the captain changed direction. The dinner exceeded our expectations. This cruise was not advertised as a whale watching cruise but we saw tons of whales. I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Sunset Dinner Cruise: Four Course Dining Experience

jeremyguest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Geat tour. Unfortunately windy and Captain Dan made the call I think we all agreed with, which was to not actually go to molokini crater and go to a nice calm spot called coral gardens. Though the air was still moving quick the water was soft and we saw some turtles there too, which the crew said we wouldn't likely have seen at the crater. Food was great, crew excellent and a wonderfull bonus to start. While cruising to get final word on determining how rough the water was at the crater we had a humpack whale swim right near us and then proceeded to tailslap the surface while we were floating near by and then her baby began to copy. Quite the fortunate display but I imagine whale sightings are a fairly common added bonus going this time of year!

Doing what: Molokini Sail and Snorkel Adventure

Ashley J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had a fantastic sailing adventure to Molokini Crater. The highlight was the whale watching - so many around! The crew were very attentive, provided tips on snorkelling to the beginners and kept a close eye on us in the water. The breakfast on arrival and BBQ lunch was delicious, high recommend the marinated chicken, with a nice cold beer to the top deck with magnificent views.

Doing what: Molokini Sail and Snorkel Adventure

ANN TWINAM V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Ok, this costs more than the other tours but it is worth the price. First, you need to get up earlier, but that means when you get to snorkeling the other boats have not arrived! Second, if the weather is right, you hit the other side of Molokini, awesome 140 deep view. Kelly and Seth were awesome. We saw whales, dolphins, turtles as well as the reef fish. There was an amazing boat ride at high rev down the coast. So yes, dig deeper and do this one, it is worth it. Food was great.

Doing what: Small-Group Molokini Snorkel and Green Sea Turtle Adventure from Maui

Joanne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We were picked up at the set time by Nettie. She was wonderful. She talked to us about helpful hints and she brought extra blankets for people who wore shorts!! She was with us and took pictures for us of our group. She was wonderful. Lunch was delicious. On the rider home she talked about where you can see whales. Trip was great and so was Nettie!!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Barbara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We saw several pods of whales, lots of action. The Captain was always trying to follow the whales the guide was so informative and answered all questions with enthusiasm. The boat ride was fun and not too crowded so we old always get a good view.

Doing what: Whalewatch Sail Lahaina

Valerie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Magical. Swam with clouds of fish on the back side of Molokini. Heard whale song. Swam with sea turtles. Felt safe in the hands of captain and crew.

Doing what: Small-Group Molokini Snorkel and Green Sea Turtle Adventure from Maui

Jody A B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

My husband and I were picked up by a shuttle for this event--had a great tour along the way. My husband was on a walker due to surgery and the shuttle driver and staff on the boat were excellent in accommodating him. The food, entertainment, whale watching, servers, were fabulous. We actually saw more whales and closer up on this trip than on the whale watching boat we took the day before. Lastly, the couple we dined with will stay in touch as well--a lovely couple. Thank you for making this so pleasant and keep doing it. We'll be back!!!!!

Doing what: Maui Sunset Dinner Cruise

Alan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had a great time on our Whalewatch Sail. My wife and I could not believe how many whales we saw while out on the boat.

Doing what: Whalewatch Sail Lahaina

fstock6

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great crew.....great food....even saw whales which was a extra bonus.

Doing what: Sunset Dinner Cruise Aboard the Quicksilver

Maureen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a fantastic excursion and well worth the money. Our raft was clean, sturdy and in good shape. There was plenty of space for all the passengers and seating was comfortable. Our staff provided excellent information and showed knowledge about the whales. The highlight was having 2 whales swim under our raft and pop up right next to the side of the raft for a great photo opportunity. I would HIGHLY recommend this whale watching tour.

Doing what: Maui Whale-Watching Tour by Raft

John A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

There are lots of options available for whale watching and this tour given by the whale foundation is as good as it gets and you are helping the conservation efforts of this program. The tour my wife and I took was great ---- lots of whales and quality information from the onboard staff. This is a must do while in Maui during the winter months.

Doing what: Whale Watching from Lahaina Harbor

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message