Melbourne ATTRACTIONS See all

Colonial Tramcar

A must-do experience while you're in Melbourne, a meal at the Colonial Tramcar Restaurant is guaranteed to be a highlight of your visit. Offering both sightseeing and high-class dining, the Colonial Tramcar Restaurant is one of Melbourne's star ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 373 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

ila s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Another great lunch outing on tramcar, such pleasant and obliging wait staff who add a lot of humour and good spirit to the day. Lots of well presented food and a generous supply of bubbly. A great way to spend an afternoon.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

hornster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is my third time on the Tramcar Restaurant and the service and food is great. It is a great way to see the city by night whilst enjoying lovely food and drinks. It is suitable for couples or group of four onto one table.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

On time, pleasant, better than expected food, easily accommodated Gluten Free.
Really enjoyed this dinner experience and highly recommend it.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Anita F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The experience was fabulous. Really enjoyed seeing Melbourne from this point. The staff, food and service were gold and I have recommended this experience to others. The only thing I would have liked to see was a history/story for this particular car maybe written on the lovely postcard we got at the end. The age of the tramcar, years this model was in service etc. Just a couple of lines on the postcard would be good. Thanks again.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Dorothy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fabulous!! The Tramcar was very authentic and yet spacious. The food was wonderful. The service was the BEST. I'm glad we participated, even after a long day of touring and a late reservation time we had a wonderful experience. We will do it again if we are in Melbourne.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Jddunn23

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Me and my wife both loved this dinner, it was a great way to see a different part of Melbourne as well as have an awesome dinner. The food and service was incredible.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Susan G B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was my second time on the Tramcar Restaurant and once again the only word I can use to describe it was Brilliant. from start to finish this is a must do while you are in Melbourne....

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

MargieP

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very professional - food choices perfect - steak just melted in your mouth - could not fault the whole trip - we did the early evening dinner plenty of time to enjoy The Casino afterwards and just wandering around Southwalk side of Melbourne full of vibe great night

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Paul C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a great night. The food was excellent and the staff were wonderful. We had a 3 course meal which was more then enough and was very tasty. In case you wish to experience wonderful and romantic meal during you holiday I would strongly recommend to try Colonial tramcar.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Paul C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really enjoyed the experience. We had the early dinner of 3 courses which was more than enough. The staff were very nice and the food was excellent. It is a great way to spend the night in Melbourne. Can not recommend this enough.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Kim L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We were a party of 9 and we all thoroughly enjoyed this tour. The tramcar was lovely, the staff could not have done more for us and the food was outstanding. Highly recommended and I am sure we will book again when we are next visiting Melbourne

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

John G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was a fantastic introduction to Melbourne. The content of the tour covered almost everything we wanted to do and objects of interest pointed out by the guides on the tour set our list of must dos for the remainder of the time we were in Melbourne. another two full days after the tour All guides and staff were very friendly, had great senses of humour and their knowledge was comprehensive.
We would recommend this tour to everyone.

The tramcar restaurant was also fantastic - from the service, to the sights, to the meal and the atmosphere and vibe - all exceeded our expectations manyfold. It was a wonderful experience and adventure and one we would recommend to everyone. The night was made even more perfect by the exceptional service of Chef John and waiters Ryan and Angela. Their sense of humour and professionalism really topped off a fantastic day.

Doing what: Best of Melbourne City Tour with Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Dinner

D Gosney G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent evening. Great food and service, lovely ambience travelling through the city streets of Melbourne whilst dining on fine food, and being served with plenty of wine/soft drinks and after dinner drinks. Excellent value. Great service in our tram from Liam, Angela and Emina. Definitely recommend this trip - you won't be disappointed.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Maureen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our party of three totally enjoyed our Lunch on Colonial Tramcar Restaurant the atmosphere, the food and the staff were all excellent, thank you for the pleasure will be recommending.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Adrienne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour was everything I thought it would be. We both had the beef for dinner and it was excellent, I have travelled with Viator in many countries and I have never been disappointed,

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Deb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

OMG - The tram was so beautiful and surreal! One minute you're standing in the open air on the dirt and the next - luxury! The staff were fun, friendly and professional, seeing to our every need. The food was wonderful - way better than we expected. The chef was so lovely. We all 9 of us had a wonderful dinner/trip. Thank you - would highly recommend this for a different thing to do in Melbourne.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Louise B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

My daughter and I recently took this tramcar tour and thought it was fantastic! Lovely food and plenty of drinks. Pete our waiter was so friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience!!

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Mrs J T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was an excellent tour and totally value for money. We did the late dinner tour and the meal was excellent with plenty of drinks in offer. Staff couldn't be more helpful. Would recommend this to everyone.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Pedropete

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I would highly recommend this trip, we did the early dinner option. The food is fantastic and it is a lovely relaxing atmosphere on board as you tootle around the streets of Melbourne and St. Kilda. Staff on board the tram are excellent and we were looked after very well indeed. The tram stop is just a short walk from the casino which was a good way to finish off the evening.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Diane F United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

What a great way to start our trip in Melbourne. The tramcar was an interesting way to have an enjoyable dinner. Service was excellent and the food and wine was very enjoyable.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Wendy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We did the late dinner, such a fantastic set up, run by lovely professional people. Forgot to look out the tram window the tramcar was just so cosy. Very good value for money more than my expectations.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Lynette Anne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wow how good was this. We were shown to our seats at the front of the tram. There was only 6 of us in the front section so we had plenty of room and it was easy to talk to the other couples. It was a cold wet day outside, warm and comfortable inside. Food was excellent and so was the service. We had such a fabulous time touring around melbourne. Our only complaint was it wasn't long enough, we were just getting settled and then it was time to get off, we wanted to stay longer. We did the lunch time tour 2 hours. Next time we will do the 3 hour dinner trip. It would be a sight in the night with all the city lights.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Denise R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Wonderful dinner on the tram. Excellent food and drink and magnificent staff Tim Angela Rohan outstanding service. Would highly recommend. Denise Rees

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

susan g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

What a fantastic evening we had on the tramcar. The food was amazing, the views around the city was great and service was surperb loved it!

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Evelyn H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Highly recommend this for an evening out- we did the early evening dinner . The wait staff were really lovely and welcoming , the atmosphere was great and the food and wine really good. Our only complaint - the night went too fast. We would highly recommend this if you are in Melbourne and the price is very comparable to any restaurant considering it includes all food, drinks and service and a ride on the tram. People in our tram who were celebrating birthdays, engagements and anniversaries were all acknowledged and that added to the occasion.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message