Melbourne ATTRACTIONS See all

Colonial Tramcar

A must-do experience while you're in Melbourne, a meal at the Colonial Tramcar Restaurant is guaranteed to be a highlight of your visit. Offering both sightseeing and high-class dining, the Colonial Tramcar Restaurant is one of Melbourne's star ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 381 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

claire W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We had beautiful weather the cruise and lunch on the Yarra was excellent, high tide and a entertaining captain made the cruise a joy, the coach tour around sights of Melbourne was good, the Botanic Gardens are spectacular, and to top it off our dinner on the Colonial Tramcar Restaurant was amazing, the food we had the Beef was so yummy, and of course can't ignore the lovely deserts and very lovely wines, all in all we had a very enjoyable tour and would highly recommend it to anyone who visits Melbourne.

Doing what: Best of Melbourne City Tour with Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Dinner

Gail W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Enjoyed the Tramcar Restaurant immensely. We were a group of 4 ladies, everything was provided, food, wine, whatever you desired.
Staff were excellent, travel was great, travelling down to St. Kilda and back. We were on the early booking. This was great being able to view the scenery, even the gliders on the St. Kilda beach. A great time to do this.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

margaret.smith93

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We were warmly met at the tram stop by greeters from the Colonial Tramcar staff. The tram arrived on time we were shown to our table which was adorned with a white table cloth and flowers. There were curtains at the window and it all looked quite romantic. Our servers were smartly dressed. The chef was Liam, the food server was Angela and the drinks server was Sally. We were served efficiantly and the food was excellent. It was a happy atmosphere. The tram drove around Melbourne going as far as St Kilda whilst we ate our evening meal. It was a lovely experiance and one we are pleased to have experienced.. It was very good value for money and we would recommend the tour to anyone.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

margaret.smith93

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We were warmly met at the tram stop by greeters from the Colonial Tramcar staff. The tram arrived on time we were shown to our table which was adorned with a white table cloth and flowers. There were curtains at the window and it all looked quite romantic. Our servers were smartly dressed. The chef was Liam, the food server was Angela and the drinks server was Sally. We were served efficiantly and the food was excellent. It was a happy atmosphere. The tram drove around Melbourne going as far as St Kilda whilst we ate our evening meal. It was a lovely experiance and one we are pleased to have experienced.. It was very good value for money and we would recommend the tour to anyone.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Robert M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A very entertaining way to view Melbourne! The tramcar was beautifully redone and our dinner was delicious. The staff was delightful especially our server Emaline! A beautiful and charming young lady! We will definitely recommend the Colonial Tram Car!!!

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Sarah W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Highly recommend this fabulous experience. The food is amazing and you get to see the sights of Melbourne down to St Kilda. Staff are very attentive and the tramcar itself is beautiful. A must do!

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

ila s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Another great lunch outing on tramcar, such pleasant and obliging wait staff who add a lot of humour and good spirit to the day. Lots of well presented food and a generous supply of bubbly. A great way to spend an afternoon.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

hornster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is my third time on the Tramcar Restaurant and the service and food is great. It is a great way to see the city by night whilst enjoying lovely food and drinks. It is suitable for couples or group of four onto one table.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

On time, pleasant, better than expected food, easily accommodated Gluten Free.
Really enjoyed this dinner experience and highly recommend it.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Anita F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The experience was fabulous. Really enjoyed seeing Melbourne from this point. The staff, food and service were gold and I have recommended this experience to others. The only thing I would have liked to see was a history/story for this particular car maybe written on the lovely postcard we got at the end. The age of the tramcar, years this model was in service etc. Just a couple of lines on the postcard would be good. Thanks again.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Dorothy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fabulous!! The Tramcar was very authentic and yet spacious. The food was wonderful. The service was the BEST. I'm glad we participated, even after a long day of touring and a late reservation time we had a wonderful experience. We will do it again if we are in Melbourne.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Jddunn23

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Me and my wife both loved this dinner, it was a great way to see a different part of Melbourne as well as have an awesome dinner. The food and service was incredible.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Susan G B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was my second time on the Tramcar Restaurant and once again the only word I can use to describe it was Brilliant. from start to finish this is a must do while you are in Melbourne....

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

MargieP

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very professional - food choices perfect - steak just melted in your mouth - could not fault the whole trip - we did the early evening dinner plenty of time to enjoy The Casino afterwards and just wandering around Southwalk side of Melbourne full of vibe great night

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Paul C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a great night. The food was excellent and the staff were wonderful. We had a 3 course meal which was more then enough and was very tasty. In case you wish to experience wonderful and romantic meal during you holiday I would strongly recommend to try Colonial tramcar.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Paul C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really enjoyed the experience. We had the early dinner of 3 courses which was more than enough. The staff were very nice and the food was excellent. It is a great way to spend the night in Melbourne. Can not recommend this enough.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Kim L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We were a party of 9 and we all thoroughly enjoyed this tour. The tramcar was lovely, the staff could not have done more for us and the food was outstanding. Highly recommended and I am sure we will book again when we are next visiting Melbourne

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

John G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was a fantastic introduction to Melbourne. The content of the tour covered almost everything we wanted to do and objects of interest pointed out by the guides on the tour set our list of must dos for the remainder of the time we were in Melbourne. another two full days after the tour All guides and staff were very friendly, had great senses of humour and their knowledge was comprehensive.
We would recommend this tour to everyone.

The tramcar restaurant was also fantastic - from the service, to the sights, to the meal and the atmosphere and vibe - all exceeded our expectations manyfold. It was a wonderful experience and adventure and one we would recommend to everyone. The night was made even more perfect by the exceptional service of Chef John and waiters Ryan and Angela. Their sense of humour and professionalism really topped off a fantastic day.

Doing what: Best of Melbourne City Tour with Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Dinner

Daisy Gos

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent evening. Great food and service, lovely ambience travelling through the city streets of Melbourne whilst dining on fine food, and being served with plenty of wine/soft drinks and after dinner drinks. Excellent value. Great service in our tram from Liam, Angela and Emina. Definitely recommend this trip - you won't be disappointed.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Maureen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our party of three totally enjoyed our Lunch on Colonial Tramcar Restaurant the atmosphere, the food and the staff were all excellent, thank you for the pleasure will be recommending.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Adrienne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour was everything I thought it would be. We both had the beef for dinner and it was excellent, I have travelled with Viator in many countries and I have never been disappointed,

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Deb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

OMG - The tram was so beautiful and surreal! One minute you're standing in the open air on the dirt and the next - luxury! The staff were fun, friendly and professional, seeing to our every need. The food was wonderful - way better than we expected. The chef was so lovely. We all 9 of us had a wonderful dinner/trip. Thank you - would highly recommend this for a different thing to do in Melbourne.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Louise B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

My daughter and I recently took this tramcar tour and thought it was fantastic! Lovely food and plenty of drinks. Pete our waiter was so friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience!!

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Mrs J T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was an excellent tour and totally value for money. We did the late dinner tour and the meal was excellent with plenty of drinks in offer. Staff couldn't be more helpful. Would recommend this to everyone.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Pedropete

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I would highly recommend this trip, we did the early dinner option. The food is fantastic and it is a lovely relaxing atmosphere on board as you tootle around the streets of Melbourne and St. Kilda. Staff on board the tram are excellent and we were looked after very well indeed. The tram stop is just a short walk from the casino which was a good way to finish off the evening.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message