Melbourne ATTRACTIONS See all

Great Ocean Road

Victoria's Great Ocean Road is great in every sense of the word and is known for its long, empty beaches and crashing surf. Those who opt to drive down this stretch of Victoria's coast will discover one of the most famous and scenic roads in the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 414 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

MARK Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

First let me say the Attraction pass is nice to have. The aquarium was great fun for a rain shower break. It has some spectacular things to see. The free tram takes you right to it. The tower gave us something to do on a cool evening. The great ocean road tour is a little long7am -- 8:30pm but the 12 apostle area certainly is not to be missed. Seeing some koala's along the way was interesting. A lunch visit to a lighthouse was nice. Our Phillip Island tour was one of our favorite tours in Australia. John our guide was outstanding. The day was chocked full of activities, highlighted with our picture taken with a koala. Then the main event, the penguin paradewhich I thought would be a little hokie. I chose to see the penguins with a park ranger. I highly recommend this. You get a private viewing area and someone to tell you what is happening. We would have missed a lot without him. It was very interesting. All in all Bunyip tours does a great job.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Kristina R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was definitely the longest tour we'd be on but it was so worth it! You get to see some incredible views of the Australian coastline. Even though it was a bit cold and rainy, we were still amazed at the sight of the Twelve Apostles and Loch Ard Gorge. It was incredible. There were quite a few stops along the way, where we had the opportunity to get out and take pictures and grab a cup of coffee or a snack. Lunch was included -- you got your choice of entrees from a dine-in restaurant and the food was quite good. The highlight of the tour, for my wife and I, was stopping at this roadside holiday park where we saw wild koalas napping in trees and got to feed some of the wild birds. It was such a blast!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road and 12 Apostles Day Trip from Melbourne

annie Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A fun, beautiful and scenic road trip. The tour guide driver made few stops at different point along the ocean road for us to take snapshots. The journey was long but he made it fun and interesting by telling stories and about the great ocean road. The 12 apostles was spectacular! It was really a totally different feeling and expereince between looking at pictures and when you are physically there yourself. Great experience! highly recommended.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Kerri J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

As a local Aussie who has visited the Great Ocean road several times accompanying two Italian visitors I can highly recommend this tour. The Italians thought it was the best value and most enjoyable and informative tour they'd been on during their whole trip through several Australian states. Difficult to single out the highlights as all were equally valued, from the Twelve Apostles, Loch Ard Gorge, Otway rainforest walk, Apollo Bay ice-creams, Kennett River koalas and birdlife up close and personal and Cath. It takes a special person to be the tour guide/cleaner/morning tea lady/driver/ and who manages to make the tour memorable and Cath did this easily, from remembering ALL our names, her friendly rivalry with the other GoWest drivers to her casual Aussie humour. Don't be put off by the seemingly long day as it goes very fast, with plenty of stops to see/do things...I barely got time for a nap!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Lisa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing way to avoid the crowds to see the Great Ocean Road and the 12 apostles. Our guide was great, entertaining and full of knowledge! It was great seeing koalas in the wild too.

Doing what: Reverse Great Ocean Road and 12 Apostles Day Trip from Melbourne

Scott K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was a fantastic trip and well worth it. Our driver and guide, Richard, did a great job of explaining the sites and the history of the Great Ocean Road, and made the trip seem shorter than it was. I originally thought riding in a motor coach for about 11 hours was going to be tough, but the time seemed like it went by quickly. The motor coach was clean and comfortable, and had a bathroom. The motor coach ride provided high views. I do not think the views and experience would have been the same if I was riding in a car or van. The highlight was seeing the 12 Apostles and the other sites of Port Campbell National Park, but the scenery of the Great Ocean Road made the first half of the trip go by quickly. Overall, a great experience even though it was a long day.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

Jody S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was amazing to see all the sites along the Great Ocean Road I wish it was closer to Melbourne, but worth the trip. A worthwhile way to spend the day.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

Shishu Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide Dave is a very funny guy. I enjoyed the tour very much. Great Ocean Road is a must tour for travelling in Melbourne. It was so great!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Wayne A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A long but well paced trip along Great Ocean Road. The tour guide Leah was friendly and very informative. I'm not so sure that those two Koalas at the Koala Cafe were truly wild, because they are the only ones that we saw in Victoria. Make sure you are well wrapped up and have a good pair of shoes

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

John C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We was great education by Raphael who we found very laid back and friendly, after picking up the rest of the guest we set off through Melbourne and Raphael gave us the history of the city. Our first stop was Torquay where we had a welcoming cup of coffee and cake. We then set off towards Lorne beach and the ocean road arch for some photos.
We drove some more and saw the very house in the opening scene from mad max .the next stop was Kennet were we saw koalas, kookaburras and cockatoos. We stopped for lunch at apollo beach where the weather started to warm up.
We reached the 12 apostles after a brief rainforest stop. The views was magnificent and you also get a reverse view opportunity. I would recommend this tour although really long Raphael was a great guide and integrated all the guests.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Corazon Grace A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I had a very memorable and enjoyable trip to Great Ocean Road. Tara is very energetic and fun! Thanks for making this tour flawless.

Doing what: Reverse Great Ocean Road and 12 Apostles Day Trip from Melbourne

Isabelle M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Had an unexpected private tour to the Great Ocean Road as the other guests could not make it due to the weather conditions. Liam from Oceania Tours and Safari is a great guide, very knowledgeable. He had to switch the program as part of the Great Ocean Road was closed due to floodings, nevertheless showed me this beautiful ocean and I was able to see the famous 12 apostles. We looked for koalas and kangoroos. I really enjoyed the day and would highly recommend them for this tour. Thanks Liam!

Doing what: Small-Group Great Ocean Road Day Trip from Melbourne

jmcarlson4

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

One of the best tours to take, The Mornington Peninsula and Phillip Island was pretty good but the
Great Ocean Drive and specially the Twelve Apostles is worth the entire trip.
The guide was friendly and kept us on time at all times
The anticipated Penguins at the end of the tour was a big let down. They make you believe that you will see a lot of them and they were probably 50 or 60 that night. But I still give it a 5 star rating.

Doing what: 2-Day Great Ocean Road, Mornington Peninsula and Phillip Island Tour from Melbourne

Lee Lian T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent package, we enjoyed our 2 Days Great Ocean Road trip to the max :-. We especially love the closed encountered with Moonlit Sanctuary kangaroos and wallabies. Queenscliff resort is an excellent resort, we will be back.

We have a great tour guide, Jeremy, he is very helpful, knowledgeable and funny too. Small group Bunyip tour is very good, we recommend this to all :-

Doing what: 2-Day Great Ocean Road, Mornington Peninsula and Phillip Island Tour from Melbourne

Colyn K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide Rob is a EXCELLENT tour guide, he kept us entertained and we could see his passion for his job and making sure that we really enjoy ourselves. Great Ocean Road is a definite must go place and the scenery is really beautiful. Glad that I took the Sunset view as the weather was great even though there were far too much clouds but the breeze and view was stunning. Lunch was pizza which were too salty, but it was a big portion though. Love the ice cream that Rob recommended, with different flavours.

Doing what: Full-Day Great Ocean Road Sunset Tour from Melbourne

ROSARIO IRIS G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

it was an awesome experience...beautiful natural sceneries. Twelve Apostles and the Gibson Steps followed by the Loch Ard Gorge were just amazing. Our tour guide Leo was very patient and really looked after everyone of us.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Linda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Lots of breathtaking scenery culminating in the 12 Apostles. Plenty of opportunities to take photos. Phil was our knowledgeable and entertaining guide. There is a good menu selection for lunch and the food was good. It is a very long day so delighted that we were picked up and dropped off outside our hotel. Very efficient pre-tour organisation and communication by the company. An excellent trip.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Alice Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is the best tour I have ever had! It's really a nice getaway and Go West Tours did a great job! Kath, the tour guide, was friendly, organized and caring. Everyone in the tour loved her! We saw 7 koalas, 2 kangaroos, many birds, great ocean scenes, interesting homes and of course the 12 Apostles. Not all tours are the same unfortunately. My coworker actually signed up with some tour company from Chinatown to see the Great Ocean Road on the same day. She started her tour 2 hours later and couldn't see any koalas, kangaroos or Apostles because it was too dark and rainy. She came back to our hotel an hour later completely exhausted and disappointed.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

sweethoneybee85

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was hands-down one of the BEST days of my life! I can't say enough about how amazing this tour was! Our guide, Steve, was so awesome! He was very personable, charismatic, and knowledgeable and had such entertaining commentary and music throughout the tour. We couldn't stop smiling! Each stop was breathtaking despite some less-than-ideal weather and memorable, from holding and feeding wild birds and seeing a wild sleeping koala, to hiking through the rainforest, to visiting famous surfing and shipwreck beaches, to soaring over the 12 Apostles in a helicopter it is 100 worth the extra cost!!! Trust me, you won't regret it!!!. This tour was a once-in-a-lifetime experience that I would do again in a heartbeat, especially if Steve were the guide! As a side note, we took along our 21-month-old toddler yes, it IS doable! who also had a blast and loved every minute of it, including the helicopter ride! This was one of the most memorable experiences my family had during our time in Australia and we absolutely loved it and would highly recommend it to anyone. Now go book this tour! :D

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

pumpkinyu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The trip was amazing. It was a rainy day, once we got onboard, Richard, the driver/guide told us that the weather would become clear after lunch when was the time we should arrive Twelve Apostles. Richards's explanation is very clear and interesting which made the trip very enjoyable.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

Winnie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Awesome tour. The Pengiuns were too cute! It was a little cold, we had beach seats, but well worth it. Wish we could have taken pictures, but I understand why we couldn't. Sometimes you just have to sit back and enjoy the experience. The Great Ocean Road had some beautiful views of the coast.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Susan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I loved everything about this day trip. The 12 Apostles, the rainforest, the coastline were all incredible. Matty L was a most entertaining driver/guide and made the day most enjoyable. It was a long day but so worth it.

Doing what: Reverse Great Ocean Road and 12 Apostles Day Trip from Melbourne

Carrie O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour. The reverse great ocean road tour is extremely beautiful and breath taking.

Doing what: Reverse Great Ocean Road and 12 Apostles Day Trip from Melbourne

Pang-yuan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing day on Philip Island tour -- many stops to interact with wildlife and then finished off with great viewing point to see the penguins, back to Melbourne by 8 pm. Rainy weather on Great Ocean Road, but guide made the best of it.
Very worthwhile

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Kenneth Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide and the tours themselves were excellent. The weather is quite uncontrollable, so this was despite periods of heavy downpours and cold as it is winter. The great ocean road is beautiful as are the rock formations. We were fortunate to have booked the VIP penguin tour because during the parade, there was a veritable monsoon, and those in the grandstand were drenched, while we were warm and dry in the tower. I recommend both tours, but bring a raincoat or poncho.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message