Melbourne ATTRACTIONS See all

Great Ocean Road

Victoria's Great Ocean Road is great in every sense of the word and is known for its long, empty beaches and crashing surf. Those who opt to drive down this stretch of Victoria's coast will discover one of the most famous and scenic roads in the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 429 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jennifer T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great Ocean Road tour: My guide was really knowledgeable about Melbourne and the areas which we stopped. It is a really compacted trip as you get to see many sights. Good amount of time at the beaches and to enjoy the 12 Apostles and surrounding view. Bring a bathing suit to swim and tan.

Phillip Island tour: This was a larger group tour, so you do a lot of the sight-seeing on your own. The Penguin Parade is the cutest thing. I would recommend watching the first few groups come up the beach and then walk along the boardwalk for a closer look. Seeing the penguins pop out of the water and run up the beach is truly an amazing sight.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

RUPERT O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

great FULL day outing in a cosy coach with like mindeds. the pace was good, the driver knowledgeable and entertaining the vistas of the Great Ocean Road a must see. A safe trip and wonderful trip in good hands! And we had free wifi onboard!!!! Way to go!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road and 12 Apostles Day Trip from Melbourne

Keith K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is a must do tour while in Melbourne, The first day on the Great Ocean Road is as spectacular as you will get, day 2 drags a little bit but well worth the wait for when the penguin parade starts, Alex the guide was funny, informative, helpful, patient and very good at what he does. Highly recommend this trip

Doing what: 2-Day Great Ocean Road, Mornington Peninsula and Phillip Island Tour from Melbourne

johanib Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I highly recommend this tour if you want to visit both Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island. The itinerary was very well planned and we had a wonderful time with our tour guide and driver, Kyle. He was very helpful and knowledgeable. We visited many places and learned a lot from Kyle. The accommodation could be better, I think... Other than that, it was all great!

Doing what: 2-Day Great Ocean Road, Mornington Peninsula and Phillip Island Tour from Melbourne

Dibakar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A bit hectic but that's because the amount of places that they try to cover in a day. But I will suggest skipping couple of places like the one at Torquay and putting that extra time into Apollo bay 12 apostles or Loch de Gorge.
However the best part of the trip is the guide. Ours was Paul. A very lively fellow with a substantial knowledge about the places i guess that's part of his job. But he is friendly with a great taste in music and made sure everyone on the tour was comfy. I will recommend the tour.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Dibakar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A bit hectic but that's because the amount of places that they try to cover in a day. But I will suggest skipping couple of places like the one at Torquay and putting that extra time into Apollo bay 12 apostles or Loch de Gorge.
However the best part of the trip is the guide. Ours was Paul. A very lively fellow with a substantial knowledge about the places i guess that's part of his job. But he is friendly with a great taste in music and made sure everyone on the tour was comfy. I will recommend the tour.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

elizabethwingate

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

My two girlfriends and I had a great time on this daytrip. We booked it last minute and were so happy with our decision. It was also really nice to be able to get out to the 12 apostles before the crowds so we had more opportunities for pictures with less people in the background. Our small group size made it easy to be flexible with our plan also and our driver, John, snuck in some extra surprises like Kangaroos on the golf course. We even got to see some Koalas in the wild which was a huge plus! I'd highly recommend this trip to anyone wanting to do the great ocean road.

Doing what: Reverse Great Ocean Road and 12 Apostles Day Trip from Melbourne

Julie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I took this a few years ago and thought that I had left a review. The tour was great! It is a long day, but our driver was outstanding! We stopped along the way and saw wildlife, we traveled down the great ocean road, and we took a hike near the end of the day in a lovely fern filled area. Towards the end of the trip, our driver shared local music. Well worth it!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Hardy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was the best tour I've done in Australia and it has mostly to do with the great sights but also because Bec, our tour guide, was one of the best tour guides I've had anywhere in the world. She's informative, entertaining and very engaging. The medium-sized tour was perfect and it allowed travellers to get to know each other while learning about the great ocean road and 12 apostles. I did the 15-minute helicopter ride and that was well worth it as once-in-a-lifetime experience.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Frank P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A convenient way to experience the Great Ocean Road without worrying about watching the road

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

Fariha A Pakistan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

If you have time for only one thing to do in Australia, select this tour! Heaven on Earth!.Absolutely spectacular! We got some great photos of the sunset. The tour is timed in such a way that we reach the twelve apostles at sunset. The weather is unpredictable but we were lucky and it was sunny that day. The hotel pickup was just a block from our hotel. After that we were transferred to another bus. Everything started on time. Found the tour stops a bit rushed, but since there was so much to cover its understandable. Our guide 'Ollie' was friendly and cooperative throughout. Lunch was a choice of burgers and sandwiches. They were pre-ordered about half an hour earlier so as to save time. Well organised trip and a bit tiring but well worth it. There was a stop for tea and biscuits early on which was a nice touch.Tip: Keep some soap with you, some of the public toilets where we stopped did not have soap. Also its very windy and cold so don't forget your woollies. They give you time to get a take away dinner afterwards which you can eat on the bus.

Doing what: Full-Day Great Ocean Road and 12 Apostles Sunset Tour from Melbourne

MARK Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

First let me say the Attraction pass is nice to have. The aquarium was great fun for a rain shower break. It has some spectacular things to see. The free tram takes you right to it. The tower gave us something to do on a cool evening. The great ocean road tour is a little long7am -- 8:30pm but the 12 apostle area certainly is not to be missed. Seeing some koala's along the way was interesting. A lunch visit to a lighthouse was nice. Our Phillip Island tour was one of our favorite tours in Australia. John our guide was outstanding. The day was chocked full of activities, highlighted with our picture taken with a koala. Then the main event, the penguin paradewhich I thought would be a little hokie. I chose to see the penguins with a park ranger. I highly recommend this. You get a private viewing area and someone to tell you what is happening. We would have missed a lot without him. It was very interesting. All in all Bunyip tours does a great job.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Kristina R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was definitely the longest tour we'd be on but it was so worth it! You get to see some incredible views of the Australian coastline. Even though it was a bit cold and rainy, we were still amazed at the sight of the Twelve Apostles and Loch Ard Gorge. It was incredible. There were quite a few stops along the way, where we had the opportunity to get out and take pictures and grab a cup of coffee or a snack. Lunch was included -- you got your choice of entrees from a dine-in restaurant and the food was quite good. The highlight of the tour, for my wife and I, was stopping at this roadside holiday park where we saw wild koalas napping in trees and got to feed some of the wild birds. It was such a blast!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road and 12 Apostles Day Trip from Melbourne

annie Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A fun, beautiful and scenic road trip. The tour guide driver made few stops at different point along the ocean road for us to take snapshots. The journey was long but he made it fun and interesting by telling stories and about the great ocean road. The 12 apostles was spectacular! It was really a totally different feeling and expereince between looking at pictures and when you are physically there yourself. Great experience! highly recommended.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Kerri J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

As a local Aussie who has visited the Great Ocean road several times accompanying two Italian visitors I can highly recommend this tour. The Italians thought it was the best value and most enjoyable and informative tour they'd been on during their whole trip through several Australian states. Difficult to single out the highlights as all were equally valued, from the Twelve Apostles, Loch Ard Gorge, Otway rainforest walk, Apollo Bay ice-creams, Kennett River koalas and birdlife up close and personal and Cath. It takes a special person to be the tour guide/cleaner/morning tea lady/driver/ and who manages to make the tour memorable and Cath did this easily, from remembering ALL our names, her friendly rivalry with the other GoWest drivers to her casual Aussie humour. Don't be put off by the seemingly long day as it goes very fast, with plenty of stops to see/do things...I barely got time for a nap!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Lisa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing way to avoid the crowds to see the Great Ocean Road and the 12 apostles. Our guide was great, entertaining and full of knowledge! It was great seeing koalas in the wild too.

Doing what: Reverse Great Ocean Road and 12 Apostles Day Trip from Melbourne

Scott K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was a fantastic trip and well worth it. Our driver and guide, Richard, did a great job of explaining the sites and the history of the Great Ocean Road, and made the trip seem shorter than it was. I originally thought riding in a motor coach for about 11 hours was going to be tough, but the time seemed like it went by quickly. The motor coach was clean and comfortable, and had a bathroom. The motor coach ride provided high views. I do not think the views and experience would have been the same if I was riding in a car or van. The highlight was seeing the 12 Apostles and the other sites of Port Campbell National Park, but the scenery of the Great Ocean Road made the first half of the trip go by quickly. Overall, a great experience even though it was a long day.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

Jody S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was amazing to see all the sites along the Great Ocean Road I wish it was closer to Melbourne, but worth the trip. A worthwhile way to spend the day.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

Shishu Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide Dave is a very funny guy. I enjoyed the tour very much. Great Ocean Road is a must tour for travelling in Melbourne. It was so great!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Wayne A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A long but well paced trip along Great Ocean Road. The tour guide Leah was friendly and very informative. I'm not so sure that those two Koalas at the Koala Cafe were truly wild, because they are the only ones that we saw in Victoria. Make sure you are well wrapped up and have a good pair of shoes

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

John C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We was great education by Raphael who we found very laid back and friendly, after picking up the rest of the guest we set off through Melbourne and Raphael gave us the history of the city. Our first stop was Torquay where we had a welcoming cup of coffee and cake. We then set off towards Lorne beach and the ocean road arch for some photos.
We drove some more and saw the very house in the opening scene from mad max .the next stop was Kennet were we saw koalas, kookaburras and cockatoos. We stopped for lunch at apollo beach where the weather started to warm up.
We reached the 12 apostles after a brief rainforest stop. The views was magnificent and you also get a reverse view opportunity. I would recommend this tour although really long Raphael was a great guide and integrated all the guests.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Corazon Grace A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I had a very memorable and enjoyable trip to Great Ocean Road. Tara is very energetic and fun! Thanks for making this tour flawless.

Doing what: Reverse Great Ocean Road and 12 Apostles Day Trip from Melbourne

Isabelle M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Had an unexpected private tour to the Great Ocean Road as the other guests could not make it due to the weather conditions. Liam from Oceania Tours and Safari is a great guide, very knowledgeable. He had to switch the program as part of the Great Ocean Road was closed due to floodings, nevertheless showed me this beautiful ocean and I was able to see the famous 12 apostles. We looked for koalas and kangoroos. I really enjoyed the day and would highly recommend them for this tour. Thanks Liam!

Doing what: Small-Group Great Ocean Road Day Trip from Melbourne

jmcarlson4

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

One of the best tours to take, The Mornington Peninsula and Phillip Island was pretty good but the
Great Ocean Drive and specially the Twelve Apostles is worth the entire trip.
The guide was friendly and kept us on time at all times
The anticipated Penguins at the end of the tour was a big let down. They make you believe that you will see a lot of them and they were probably 50 or 60 that night. But I still give it a 5 star rating.

Doing what: 2-Day Great Ocean Road, Mornington Peninsula and Phillip Island Tour from Melbourne

Lee Lian T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent package, we enjoyed our 2 Days Great Ocean Road trip to the max :-. We especially love the closed encountered with Moonlit Sanctuary kangaroos and wallabies. Queenscliff resort is an excellent resort, we will be back.

We have a great tour guide, Jeremy, he is very helpful, knowledgeable and funny too. Small group Bunyip tour is very good, we recommend this to all :-

Doing what: 2-Day Great Ocean Road, Mornington Peninsula and Phillip Island Tour from Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message