Melbourne ATTRACTIONS See all

Great Ocean Road

One of the world’s most famous driving routes, Victoria’s Great Ocean Road is a sensual banquet that offers scenic surprises at every fork in the road. In signature Australian style, endless stretches of white sandy beaches are flanked by dense ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 281 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sarah S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This is a wonderful tour! It is a very long day, about 12 hours, but I cannot imagine a better way to do the Great Ocean Road. The tour guide was very sweet and knowledgable and took us to some really cool lookouts that the tour doesn't always do. I would recommend this trip.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road and 12 Apostles Day Trip from Melbourne

MaryGreg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Long day but well worth it. Our tour guide, Beck was knowledgeable and enthusiastic. We really got to appreciate the magnificence of the Great Ocean Road.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Teresa Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was my favorite tour in Australia! The beauty of the Great Ocean Road is indescribable, absolutely majestic! I am thankful this was a smaller group and not a full sized tour bus. Our tour guide, Rafael, was knowledgeable and entertaining. We enjoyed the rainforest and the Kafe Koala for lunch and seeing the koalas in the trees but the main attraction of this tour was the Twelve Apostles and Loch Ard Gorge. Take the time to walk down the steps to the ocean and view these two magnificent sights from the sandy beaches. It's worth the effort! Be prepared for a full day tour, we started early in the morning and finished late in the evening, close to 9pm. This is a must see sight on the Australia bucket list, loved it!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Niels B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The Great Ocean Road day tour really is a must when visiting the area! The reversed version was great. In a lot of places it wasn't really crowded apart from the 12 apostles. Our wonderful guide Lizzy really gave a lot of useful information, took us to the nice and calm areas. We were even the only group of tourists when we visited a rain forest and we spotted some wild koala's on our way. Big admiration for Lizzy who was so enthusiastic, had amazing stories and she was super funny. If you have her ask for the shipwreck story and stay alert on the songs she plays in the bus/coach, you will laugh your butt off! Wonderful day!

Doing what: Reverse Great Ocean Road and 12 Apostles Day Trip from Melbourne

Burton W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had a great day. The great ocean road was well worth the time in travel. Besides the stunning views we were up close and personal with birds eating out of our hands, kangaroos, and a great encounter with a koala on the side of the ride. Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Private Tour: Great Ocean Road from Melbourne

Howard K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was a great day. The variety of sights was incredible. Phil was a fabulous guide. We liked the group who shared our travels on the Great Ocean Road.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Herm K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Websites, procures and locals from Melbourne will all recommend the Great Ocean Road Tour - and everything they tell you about it is spot on. It is a must-see excursion for anyone visiting the area. Our tour guide Adina did a fantastic job getting us to all important destinations on the tour and explaining the little details about the cities, sites and history of the area.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Jennifer T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great Ocean Road tour: My guide was really knowledgeable about Melbourne and the areas which we stopped. It is a really compacted trip as you get to see many sights. Good amount of time at the beaches and to enjoy the 12 Apostles and surrounding view. Bring a bathing suit to swim and tan.

Phillip Island tour: This was a larger group tour, so you do a lot of the sight-seeing on your own. The Penguin Parade is the cutest thing. I would recommend watching the first few groups come up the beach and then walk along the boardwalk for a closer look. Seeing the penguins pop out of the water and run up the beach is truly an amazing sight.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

RUPERT O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

great FULL day outing in a cosy coach with like mindeds. the pace was good, the driver knowledgeable and entertaining the vistas of the Great Ocean Road a must see. A safe trip and wonderful trip in good hands! And we had free wifi onboard!!!! Way to go!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road and 12 Apostles Day Trip from Melbourne

Keith K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is a must do tour while in Melbourne, The first day on the Great Ocean Road is as spectacular as you will get, day 2 drags a little bit but well worth the wait for when the penguin parade starts, Alex the guide was funny, informative, helpful, patient and very good at what he does. Highly recommend this trip

Doing what: 2-Day Great Ocean Road, Mornington Peninsula and Phillip Island Tour from Melbourne

johanib Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I highly recommend this tour if you want to visit both Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island. The itinerary was very well planned and we had a wonderful time with our tour guide and driver, Kyle. He was very helpful and knowledgeable. We visited many places and learned a lot from Kyle. The accommodation could be better, I think... Other than that, it was all great!

Doing what: 2-Day Great Ocean Road, Mornington Peninsula and Phillip Island Tour from Melbourne

elizabethwingate

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

My two girlfriends and I had a great time on this daytrip. We booked it last minute and were so happy with our decision. It was also really nice to be able to get out to the 12 apostles before the crowds so we had more opportunities for pictures with less people in the background. Our small group size made it easy to be flexible with our plan also and our driver, John, snuck in some extra surprises like Kangaroos on the golf course. We even got to see some Koalas in the wild which was a huge plus! I'd highly recommend this trip to anyone wanting to do the great ocean road.

Doing what: Reverse Great Ocean Road and 12 Apostles Day Trip from Melbourne

Julie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I took this a few years ago and thought that I had left a review. The tour was great! It is a long day, but our driver was outstanding! We stopped along the way and saw wildlife, we traveled down the great ocean road, and we took a hike near the end of the day in a lovely fern filled area. Towards the end of the trip, our driver shared local music. Well worth it!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Hardy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was the best tour I've done in Australia and it has mostly to do with the great sights but also because Bec, our tour guide, was one of the best tour guides I've had anywhere in the world. She's informative, entertaining and very engaging. The medium-sized tour was perfect and it allowed travellers to get to know each other while learning about the great ocean road and 12 apostles. I did the 15-minute helicopter ride and that was well worth it as once-in-a-lifetime experience.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Frank P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A convenient way to experience the Great Ocean Road without worrying about watching the road

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

MARK Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

First let me say the Attraction pass is nice to have. The aquarium was great fun for a rain shower break. It has some spectacular things to see. The free tram takes you right to it. The tower gave us something to do on a cool evening. The great ocean road tour is a little long7am -- 8:30pm but the 12 apostle area certainly is not to be missed. Seeing some koala's along the way was interesting. A lunch visit to a lighthouse was nice. Our Phillip Island tour was one of our favorite tours in Australia. John our guide was outstanding. The day was chocked full of activities, highlighted with our picture taken with a koala. Then the main event, the penguin paradewhich I thought would be a little hokie. I chose to see the penguins with a park ranger. I highly recommend this. You get a private viewing area and someone to tell you what is happening. We would have missed a lot without him. It was very interesting. All in all Bunyip tours does a great job.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

annie Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A fun, beautiful and scenic road trip. The tour guide driver made few stops at different point along the ocean road for us to take snapshots. The journey was long but he made it fun and interesting by telling stories and about the great ocean road. The 12 apostles was spectacular! It was really a totally different feeling and expereince between looking at pictures and when you are physically there yourself. Great experience! highly recommended.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Kerri J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

As a local Aussie who has visited the Great Ocean road several times accompanying two Italian visitors I can highly recommend this tour. The Italians thought it was the best value and most enjoyable and informative tour they'd been on during their whole trip through several Australian states. Difficult to single out the highlights as all were equally valued, from the Twelve Apostles, Loch Ard Gorge, Otway rainforest walk, Apollo Bay ice-creams, Kennett River koalas and birdlife up close and personal and Cath. It takes a special person to be the tour guide/cleaner/morning tea lady/driver/ and who manages to make the tour memorable and Cath did this easily, from remembering ALL our names, her friendly rivalry with the other GoWest drivers to her casual Aussie humour. Don't be put off by the seemingly long day as it goes very fast, with plenty of stops to see/do things...I barely got time for a nap!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Lisa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing way to avoid the crowds to see the Great Ocean Road and the 12 apostles. Our guide was great, entertaining and full of knowledge! It was great seeing koalas in the wild too.

Doing what: Reverse Great Ocean Road and 12 Apostles Day Trip from Melbourne

Scott K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was a fantastic trip and well worth it. Our driver and guide, Richard, did a great job of explaining the sites and the history of the Great Ocean Road, and made the trip seem shorter than it was. I originally thought riding in a motor coach for about 11 hours was going to be tough, but the time seemed like it went by quickly. The motor coach was clean and comfortable, and had a bathroom. The motor coach ride provided high views. I do not think the views and experience would have been the same if I was riding in a car or van. The highlight was seeing the 12 Apostles and the other sites of Port Campbell National Park, but the scenery of the Great Ocean Road made the first half of the trip go by quickly. Overall, a great experience even though it was a long day.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

Jody S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was amazing to see all the sites along the Great Ocean Road I wish it was closer to Melbourne, but worth the trip. A worthwhile way to spend the day.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

Shishu Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide Dave is a very funny guy. I enjoyed the tour very much. Great Ocean Road is a must tour for travelling in Melbourne. It was so great!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Wayne A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A long but well paced trip along Great Ocean Road. The tour guide Leah was friendly and very informative. I'm not so sure that those two Koalas at the Koala Cafe were truly wild, because they are the only ones that we saw in Victoria. Make sure you are well wrapped up and have a good pair of shoes

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Corazon Grace A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I had a very memorable and enjoyable trip to Great Ocean Road. Tara is very energetic and fun! Thanks for making this tour flawless.

Doing what: Reverse Great Ocean Road and 12 Apostles Day Trip from Melbourne

Isabelle M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Had an unexpected private tour to the Great Ocean Road as the other guests could not make it due to the weather conditions. Liam from Oceania Tours and Safari is a great guide, very knowledgeable. He had to switch the program as part of the Great Ocean Road was closed due to floodings, nevertheless showed me this beautiful ocean and I was able to see the famous 12 apostles. We looked for koalas and kangoroos. I really enjoyed the day and would highly recommend them for this tour. Thanks Liam!

Doing what: Small-Group Great Ocean Road Day Trip from Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message