Melbourne ATTRACTIONS See all

Great Ocean Road

Victoria's Great Ocean Road is great in every sense of the word and is known for its long, empty beaches and crashing surf. Those who opt to drive down this stretch of Victoria's coast will discover one of the most famous and scenic roads in the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 394 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

jmcarlson4

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

One of the best tours to take, The Mornington Peninsula and Phillip Island was pretty good but the
Great Ocean Drive and specially the Twelve Apostles is worth the entire trip.
The guide was friendly and kept us on time at all times
The anticipated Penguins at the end of the tour was a big let down. They make you believe that you will see a lot of them and they were probably 50 or 60 that night. But I still give it a 5 star rating.

Doing what: 2-Day Great Ocean Road, Mornington Peninsula and Phillip Island Tour from Melbourne

Lee Lian T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent package, we enjoyed our 2 Days Great Ocean Road trip to the max :-. We especially love the closed encountered with Moonlit Sanctuary kangaroos and wallabies. Queenscliff resort is an excellent resort, we will be back.

We have a great tour guide, Jeremy, he is very helpful, knowledgeable and funny too. Small group Bunyip tour is very good, we recommend this to all :-

Doing what: 2-Day Great Ocean Road, Mornington Peninsula and Phillip Island Tour from Melbourne

Colyn K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide Rob is a EXCELLENT tour guide, he kept us entertained and we could see his passion for his job and making sure that we really enjoy ourselves. Great Ocean Road is a definite must go place and the scenery is really beautiful. Glad that I took the Sunset view as the weather was great even though there were far too much clouds but the breeze and view was stunning. Lunch was pizza which were too salty, but it was a big portion though. Love the ice cream that Rob recommended, with different flavours.

Doing what: Full-Day Great Ocean Road Sunset Tour from Melbourne

ROSARIO IRIS G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

it was an awesome experience...beautiful natural sceneries. Twelve Apostles and the Gibson Steps followed by the Loch Ard Gorge were just amazing. Our tour guide Leo was very patient and really looked after everyone of us.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Linda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Lots of breathtaking scenery culminating in the 12 Apostles. Plenty of opportunities to take photos. Phil was our knowledgeable and entertaining guide. There is a good menu selection for lunch and the food was good. It is a very long day so delighted that we were picked up and dropped off outside our hotel. Very efficient pre-tour organisation and communication by the company. An excellent trip.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Alice Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is the best tour I have ever had! It's really a nice getaway and Go West Tours did a great job! Kath, the tour guide, was friendly, organized and caring. Everyone in the tour loved her! We saw 7 koalas, 2 kangaroos, many birds, great ocean scenes, interesting homes and of course the 12 Apostles. Not all tours are the same unfortunately. My coworker actually signed up with some tour company from Chinatown to see the Great Ocean Road on the same day. She started her tour 2 hours later and couldn't see any koalas, kangaroos or Apostles because it was too dark and rainy. She came back to our hotel an hour later completely exhausted and disappointed.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

sweethoneybee85

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was hands-down one of the BEST days of my life! I can't say enough about how amazing this tour was! Our guide, Steve, was so awesome! He was very personable, charismatic, and knowledgeable and had such entertaining commentary and music throughout the tour. We couldn't stop smiling! Each stop was breathtaking despite some less-than-ideal weather and memorable, from holding and feeding wild birds and seeing a wild sleeping koala, to hiking through the rainforest, to visiting famous surfing and shipwreck beaches, to soaring over the 12 Apostles in a helicopter it is 100 worth the extra cost!!! Trust me, you won't regret it!!!. This tour was a once-in-a-lifetime experience that I would do again in a heartbeat, especially if Steve were the guide! As a side note, we took along our 21-month-old toddler yes, it IS doable! who also had a blast and loved every minute of it, including the helicopter ride! This was one of the most memorable experiences my family had during our time in Australia and we absolutely loved it and would highly recommend it to anyone. Now go book this tour! :D

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

pumpkinyu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The trip was amazing. It was a rainy day, once we got onboard, Richard, the driver/guide told us that the weather would become clear after lunch when was the time we should arrive Twelve Apostles. Richards's explanation is very clear and interesting which made the trip very enjoyable.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

Winnie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Awesome tour. The Pengiuns were too cute! It was a little cold, we had beach seats, but well worth it. Wish we could have taken pictures, but I understand why we couldn't. Sometimes you just have to sit back and enjoy the experience. The Great Ocean Road had some beautiful views of the coast.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Susan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I loved everything about this day trip. The 12 Apostles, the rainforest, the coastline were all incredible. Matty L was a most entertaining driver/guide and made the day most enjoyable. It was a long day but so worth it.

Doing what: Reverse Great Ocean Road and 12 Apostles Day Trip from Melbourne

Carrie O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour. The reverse great ocean road tour is extremely beautiful and breath taking.

Doing what: Reverse Great Ocean Road and 12 Apostles Day Trip from Melbourne

Pang-yuan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing day on Philip Island tour -- many stops to interact with wildlife and then finished off with great viewing point to see the penguins, back to Melbourne by 8 pm. Rainy weather on Great Ocean Road, but guide made the best of it.
Very worthwhile

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Kenneth Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide and the tours themselves were excellent. The weather is quite uncontrollable, so this was despite periods of heavy downpours and cold as it is winter. The great ocean road is beautiful as are the rock formations. We were fortunate to have booked the VIP penguin tour because during the parade, there was a veritable monsoon, and those in the grandstand were drenched, while we were warm and dry in the tower. I recommend both tours, but bring a raincoat or poncho.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Ana I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

great day tour of the great ocean road!

Doing what: Reverse Great Ocean Road and 12 Apostles Day Trip from Melbourne

Alla Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Apart from the provided lunch which is thai i feel its better if its fish n chips. Other than that, great ocean road was amazing!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

tpv1666

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Both trips were wonderful - long drives, but really beautiful. The Phillip Island is very beautiful and the penguins are to die for! The cutest thing on Earth! Both tours were well organized, lunches were very good grilled meats or vegetarian and the guides were knowledgeable and fun. I loved that we got to feed the kangaroos and wallabies Phillip Island tour. The 12 Apostles on the Great Ocean Road are spectacular as well. I would recommend the tours. We also received passes to the aquarium in Melbourne and their emblematic tower which alone were a pretty good deal which was included in the price of the bundle.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Debbie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a very good tour. The driver/guide was very knowledgable and had a great sense of humour. Seeing the 12 apostles was awesome. A must for anyone with a limited timeframe.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

Fon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I Love this trip. Our tour guide is very active, helpful and friendly. The great ocean road itself is really spectacular. Moreover seeing koala at Kenneth river is really new experience for me I just knew how the koala really live in the wild while I could not imagine when I watched them in the zoo.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road and 12 Apostles Day Trip from Melbourne

Coleen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a great time on this tour. Though the weather was not quite nice, it was raining and very windy and the temperature is dropping, our tour guide Rob was very friendly , informative and knowledgeable to show us which spots is worth seeing for. I found it very educational too, thanks Rob. My highlight for this trip was in Kenneth River when we were feeding the colourful and friendly birds hopping on my shoulders and on my head, such a pleasant experience. The koalas on the trees along the road. I thought koalas found only in zoos. But along the road! Wow. I was amazed of the Twelve Apostles such a magnificent view and the Loch and Gorge, such an incredible rock formation.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road and 12 Apostles Day Trip from Melbourne

Jessica M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a great experience at the great ocean road.. Will recommend this tour.. Our tour guide was very accomodating and good in interacting with the guests. #

Doing what: Great Ocean Road and 12 Apostles Day Trip from Melbourne

NURATHIRAH H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Great Ocean Road was good, the tour guide was very informative but it was a bit packed and i might have missed out few important background of places visited. Philip island (+ churchill island) trip was fantastic! Amy, the tour guide was very helpful and we got to feed kangaroo and tap a koala.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

amy_french

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was great! Our tour guide Leo was the best I have ever had.
I would have liked a little more time at the twelve apostles only because there was a long queue for the helicopter ride during our visit, which meant we rode the helicopter and then left straight after, but apart from that the timing everywhere was perfect. This is a really well organised tour and I would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Simon G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour. If you want to see the Great Ocean Road in a day I would recommend this tour. The tour guide (Phil) was full of information on all aspects of the trip and generally created a relaxed and comfortable experience for everyone.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Fay58

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a windy and raining but just seemed to give the 12 Apostles more atmosphere . It was a long but wonderful day. Not even the weather could spoil it. Wasn't able to go down Gibson steps because of weather which means it was shut off to the public
At times felt rushed but that's was because they was so much to do and see within the day. Highly recommend the small group tour. More personal and enjoyable

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Chi Ching H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour has provided an excellent experience for anyone who would like to explore The Great Ocean Road. The tour-guide Daniel is highly responsible and professional. Aside from baking cakes for us, Daniel gave detailed explanation on the background information and stories of respective places.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message