Melbourne ATTRACTIONS See all

Healesville Sanctuary

Healesville Sanctuary is the best place in Victoria to see and interact with native Australian wildlife. Set in natural bushland, the Sanctuary offers the unique opportunity to get up close to Australian animals in an environment that mirrors their ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 52 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

karilyn k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A fun day! Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary is an amazing place. Add optional encounters - check which animals are available the day you are there-lots of fun being with animals up close! Workers and volunteers have the best attitude - they love what they do!! AAT Kings tour gives you ample time yo see it all.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Lennard P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great experience feeding the wild cuckatoos but make sure to wear long sleeves or be prepared to get your arms clawed! Kids had a lot of fun on Puffing Billy. Guide Paul was very knowledgeable about the area and entertained us during the bus ride. Enjoyed seeing all the animals from Oz at Healesville. Plenty of time to walk around and lots of food choices. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

ava_bentley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour guide, great sights. Puffing Billy and Healesville Sanctuary are a must. If you get the chance use a guide at HS, it makes a difference!

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Carole G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Fully enjoyed the steam train ride, ride not long enough by far. Enjoyed the guided tour of Healesville wildfile santuary.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

ChambeWA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Lots of fun. Really enjoyed the train ride. The Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary was well worth the visit. We had an excellent guided tour. Super tour.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Cheruthon N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is a good tour as the bus takes you to a station where you can get into this narrow guage railway which will take you around the countryside to the next station. The journey is great and you can actually sit in a peculian manner where you feet are outside the window. The journey was great. The best was Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary. This is a sanctuary which everyone should visit. You can enter into nets where endangered birds fly by and you can feed birds. The guide is great and you will enjoy the same. Worth every penny you spend on this tour.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

ScoutMidwest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We took the full day Puffing Billy/Yarra Valley Healesville Sanctuary trip. The coach was clean and comfortable, and the driver was well informed and interesting. We had a nice stop for morning tea/coffee price included and a grand ride in a reserved car on Puffing Billy.

We opted to visit the Healesville Animal Sanctuary rather than the wineries, in the afternoon. If you are traveling with children, this is s good opportunity to see Australian animals with a trained docent. The bird show was amazing.

We had a last minute stop at a chocolate shop, and then home.

For those who have only seen cities in Australia - this trip is a great opportunity to see country and forest.

Tips:

Hotel Pick Up - nice and easy but also caused us to he ready over an hour before tour actually started. If you are staying anywhere near Federation Square, where the actual tour bus originates, grab a coffee and brekkie and enjoy the walk.

Sun Lotion - if you are doing the Healesville Sanctuary, you might need some for the bird show.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Amanda K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

A lovely way to spend the day! Tour guide provided interesting information during bus ride, and the tour guide at Healesville was awesome.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Jennifer E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Fun ride on the Puffing Billy but a little short. Feeding the cockatoos and rosellas in the Dandenong Ranges was really neat. Healesville Sanctuary was definitely worth seeing.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Catherine.france

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very we'll organised trip with knowledgable driver/guide. Could relax and let someone else do the organising! The Healesville wildlife sanctuary was great fun with two very enthusiastic, very funny volunteer guides, we all left with huge smiles on our faces. Great day.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Stephanie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great trip with lovely views along the way. An excellent trip for all age groups with an interesting stop at the Healesville wildlife sanctuary with knowledgeable staff and a good selection of animals on display.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Susanne V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

had a wonderful day,particularly the wildlife park at Healesville. The coach trip with the driver
commentary was most informative

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Paul B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Tour was excellent and very professionally handled. Driver (Edward) was informative, friendly and a good driver.

Amazing experience feeding cockatoos, travelling on old narrow gauge train and visiting Healesville animal sactuary. Our objective was to get close to a full set of Australian wildlife - checked that list off! Kangaroos, wallabies, koalas, echidna, platypus, wombat etc with a guide who walked us through the sanctuary explaining about the habits of the wildlife. Bird exhibit was amazing!

Understood from web site that winery visit was included - found it was Healesville Sanctuary OR wine tour - bit more clarity would have been helpful, but didn't detract from the day.

All in all a really good day - amazing experience, I'd really recommend it.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Marsha T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Tour was great! Left on time, had a very witty driver (Wil). The lunch option is a good value for a nice meal with a glass of wine. The train ride was fun and Healesville is a must. I recommend this trip to all ages.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Ghislaine T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

I enjoyed the tour very much with my visitor from France. He loved it very much; the winery and Healesville Sanctuary. Overall, it was a magnifique tour.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Queen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Covered a great deal on this day tour. Enjoyed the quaint train ride. Pity it was raining so couldn't enjoy Healesville Sanctuary as much as we would have otherwise. Lunch at the restaurant on the vineyard was of very decent quality considering it is part of a package.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Kathleen J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My 4 year old and I had a great time on this day tour. He loved Puffing Billy and Healesville Sanctuary. The tour bus driver was very helpful and friendly. Loved it!

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Carol S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We were not sure going on a bus day tour was for us, but gave it a go anyway, and we thoroughly enjoyed it. An awesome day trip that we would recommend to all. A beautiful place. Loved the Steam Train, Yarra Valley lunch and Healesville wildlife Sanctuary. Fantastic tour bus driver-Bill who told us about the area, history e.t.c. and had a wonderful sense of humour. Highly recommended. If we new it was going to be that good we would have booked another tour in advance as well!!!!!

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Jennifer W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Yes, I enjoyed this tour very much. The Tour Leader - Colin - was a very good driver, and interesting and informative. Really liked the Puffing Billy Steam Train ride through the forest, also enjoyed the Yarra Valley and drive through the Dandenongs. The lunch was very nice at the Rochford Winery. The bird show at Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary was good.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Katie B New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

I am from Melbourne and took a freind over to show them the sights. The trip was fantastic, extreamly well organised and hassle free. It would of been even better if we could of stayed at Healesville Santuary a little longer but no complaints.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Karen D USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2008

We had a fabulous day on this tour. Our driver was very knowledgeable and informative. He even found kangaroo grazing in a field and stopped for us to have a look!! The Healesville Sanctuary was terrific. I would definitely recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Kejia Q

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Healesville Wildlife sanctuary is the by far the best zoo i have been in Australia.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

James E

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Great day out, especially the ride on Puffing Billy and Healesville.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Janice0603

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Puffing Billy was a must-see destination. Healesville Sanctuary was some how a wildlife hospital. You can't touch the animals in there and the trip was very rush, due to long journey from the city. I would not recommend to add lunch in your package, just do a-la-carte, won't spend you $20 there.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Andrea D

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We had a great day out. Feeding the birds at Grant's, hanging our legs out of Puffing Billy (which is almost mandatory, what ever age) and a great time around the Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary. Our bus driver, Roger, was a real hoot, as well as being a fountain of knowledge about the areas we visited. Well worth the day out. This is the second tour we have booked with Viator. Thanks Andrea and Kathleen.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message