For most visitors to Victoria, Phillip Island means one thing – penguins! People have been coming here for decades to watch the little penguins return from their day at sea as dusk falls over Summerland Beach during what is known as the Penguin ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 715 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Peter J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great experience and well worth it - amazing to see these small penguins on their daily return and so close by

Doing what: Phillip Island Penguin Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

Fanny A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful tour! The Penguins were so cute and adorable. Our guides for both tours were informative and friendly. They made all the instructions and infiamruin very clear, and they were both helpful to make sure we got the most of the tour. Enjoyable and worth every penny!

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Phillip Island Penguin Parade

Bill

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

only PROBLEM WAS THE WEATHER, VERY COLD WAITING FOR THE PENGUINS TO COME OUT OF THE WATER

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

junegsj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Easy, relaxing and unrushed. Perfect if you and #39;re travelling with children or elderly. I went alone and still enjoyed it since I didn and #39;t expect it to be action-packed. Moonlit Sanctuary is smaller than many other bigger places to see animals, but good enough. Penguins are cute and worth seeing.

Doing what: Phillip Island Penguin Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

Natalie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful experience and the guide was good. Just frustrated at other guests that don't listen to the absolutely no photo rule. This is to protect the eyesight of the penguins. Tip, pay the extra for the best views and stand along the walkways, you will see the little penguins walk right by you.

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

Sunita C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Loved it ...you are not allowed to click pics but it is okay as it is in the health interest of little penguins..they are damn cute!

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

Pang-yuan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing day on Philip Island tour -- many stops to interact with wildlife and then finished off with great viewing point to see the penguins, back to Melbourne by 8 pm. Rainy weather on Great Ocean Road, but guide made the best of it.
Very worthwhile

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Kenneth Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide and the tours themselves were excellent. The weather is quite uncontrollable, so this was despite periods of heavy downpours and cold as it is winter. The great ocean road is beautiful as are the rock formations. We were fortunate to have booked the VIP penguin tour because during the parade, there was a veritable monsoon, and those in the grandstand were drenched, while we were warm and dry in the tower. I recommend both tours, but bring a raincoat or poncho.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Linda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely loved this tour. The stopover to see the animals prior to the penguin parade was fun. The parade itself was AMAZING!

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

Karen P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Peter was a great tour guide. We arrived in plenty of time to get a good seat on the viewing platform. We upgraded to the Preferred viewing and it was worth it. Dress warmly as it gets chilly. Please respect the rule of No Pictures of the penguins.

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

David O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

March of the Penguins! What experience could possibly exceed having 1000 penguins marching up the beach 3 to 4 ft. away from where you are seated? I got to hand feed a koala at our stop at the Maru sanctuary. Adrian was a great guide, and the tour was an excellent value. A memorable bucket list experience! I also liked the convenient pickup at my hotel.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

EKTA S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very knowledgeable bus driver and plenty of time watching the penguins on the beach and then back to their homes.

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

tpv1666

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Both trips were wonderful - long drives, but really beautiful. The Phillip Island is very beautiful and the penguins are to die for! The cutest thing on Earth! Both tours were well organized, lunches were very good grilled meats or vegetarian and the guides were knowledgeable and fun. I loved that we got to feed the kangaroos and wallabies Phillip Island tour. The 12 Apostles on the Great Ocean Road are spectacular as well. I would recommend the tours. We also received passes to the aquarium in Melbourne and their emblematic tower which alone were a pretty good deal which was included in the price of the bundle.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Amanda K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a very well-paced and worthwhile tour. Visiting the Moonlit Sanctuary park provided some nice opportunities for getting close to well-fed kangaroos and other Australian animals. The winery offered a nice break before the penguin parade at sunset. And of course, the penguins: they took their time appearing, but were a delight when they did. The guide, Daniel, clearly loves Melbourne and enjoys his job, and he made sure to address everyone's needs. Overall, a good day out, and a good value.

Doing what: Phillip Island Penguin Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

Jessica R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a great tour! We loved the Moonlight Sanctuary. I could have spent all day there, but the best part of the day was the Penguin Parade. We must have seen close to 800 penguins in that evening! They're so tiny and hilarious 3 I highly recommend GoWest and any of their wonderful tours. This was an experience I will never forget.

Doing what: Phillip Island Penguin Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

Sarah S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Lovely tour! The drive down was very scenic and the guide was not only knowledgeable about the penguins, he was able to tell us a lot about the things that we passed on the way. The bus was also very comfortable.

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

Jillian R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great trip!
weather not good on the day but we had lucky breaks when needed.
Penguins lived up to their reputation and gave a good show for all

Doing what: Phillip Island Penguin Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

Thomas D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was good. It rained and was cold, but we enjoyed seeing the little penguins. A long trip for about 20 minutes viewing the penguins

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

rzc2801

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Gret Ocean road was amazing and our tour guide for this day was also great and made the day fun and interesting. The Phillip Island was also good but the weather was not a great help for watching the little pinguins that day , but is still something i will recomend to anyone who wants to visit Melbourne

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

KIN YIP L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

it is an awesome tour. we got on the bus on 7 am but we needed to wait for others so we actually start our trip at 8 am. 1st day we went to Great Ocean Road, the guide Rod is a super funny man and explicitly guide me to every stop on the way. He took care of us and tried to make our trip perfect in every part. Though the trip was bit tightly scheduled, it wasnt the fault of the tour guide. you can only expect 20 to 45 each stop. When you have to walk to the spot, you wont have enough time to get back. Anyway, the 12 apostles were simply awesome. one of our best trips in MEL.

2nd day, it was alan to lead our tour to Phillip Island. However Alan was not as funny as Rod. the trip wasnt so tight and we could really enjoy the trip. It was great to visit the moonlit sanctuary and we had fun there. And for the phillip island, i suggest upgrade to penguin plus by just spend extra of 15 USD maybe to get a better view. Really a lot of little penguins there!

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Granger Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Although the trip is a long one, it is well worth it to see this amazing event. It is worth the extra fee to have a guided tour, as it allows seating very close to the water and the walk path of the Penguins. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and cheerful, but also allowed us to rest on the return trip. Don't miss this beautiful tour.

Doing what: Phillip Island Penguin Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

Ian M Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic value for money trip. Penguins so cute and the guided option a must if you want to get up close. Guide was very knowledgeable. Dinner in Cowes at the end topped things off nicely. My son loved it.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

tbird

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Highly recommend this package! We loved our day on the Great Ocean Road tour and also had a great time at Phillip Island. Pictures w a koala bear was a highlight. Having Melbourne aquarium and Eureka Skydeck passes were an added bonus that we enjoyed. I would do these tours again for sure. It was convenient getting picked up at our hotel and the guides were a lot of fun.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Ekta R United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour guide was informative and accommodating. Gave us sufficient time to spend on the island to see the penguins and look around the centre itself. Really enjoyed this tour! Watching the penguins come in at dusk was something quite magical! :

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

Faizan Hassan United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The little penguins are just so cute! The whole experience was amazing.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message