For most visitors to Victoria, Phillip Island means one thing – penguins! People have been coming here for decades to watch the little penguins return from their day at sea as dusk falls over Summerland Beach during what is known as the Penguin ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 763 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Laura Jayne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Really well organised tour. Alex was a great guide, very knowledgeable with a good sense of humour. Moonlit animal sanctuary was very hands on with the animals especially the Wallabies. Winery very relaxing with great views. The Penguin Parade was why we were the ultimately- amazing. We did the guided ranger tour. Louise our ranger, was again passionate about Penguins and vey knowledgeable. Would not have missed this trip for the world! J and L

Doing what: Phillip Island Penguin Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

Allen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We enjoyed both tours provided by Bunyip immensely. Our tour guides were really into their jobs. Phillip Island was an especially nice day with stops at a wildlife conservation park and an island farm before the penguin island. I would guess the average age of tourists was around 30 years old in December 2016. Our Melbourne Attraction Pass only included 2 attractions: the Seaport Aquarium and Eureka Skydeck. Do not think you are getting the full attraction pass as I did. It is misleading.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Ellen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The penguins were not originally on our must-see list, but they were incredible to watch. The only down-side were the people that were trying to video and take pictures after the park rangers requested that everyone put their phones and cameras away. We saw a family of penguins reunited a long day in the water - very cute to watch!

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

R P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our driver was excellent. He was very informative, friendly, and entertaining. The little penguins were worth the trip.

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

Jennifer T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great Ocean Road tour: My guide was really knowledgeable about Melbourne and the areas which we stopped. It is a really compacted trip as you get to see many sights. Good amount of time at the beaches and to enjoy the 12 Apostles and surrounding view. Bring a bathing suit to swim and tan.

Phillip Island tour: This was a larger group tour, so you do a lot of the sight-seeing on your own. The Penguin Parade is the cutest thing. I would recommend watching the first few groups come up the beach and then walk along the boardwalk for a closer look. Seeing the penguins pop out of the water and run up the beach is truly an amazing sight.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Audrey T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic tour! The narration by bus driver added so much insight to the trip. The Little Penguins were a delight to see, can't wait to watch Oddball the movie, about their plight on a nearby island. Trip extremely worthwhile, do go if you have a chance!

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

Thor E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We went to the Phillip Island around 16:00, and arrived there around 18:00.The visitor center there is quite nice with a restaurant, and other facilities, and has a small cinema which was closed, showing videos and mutlimedia. Then we wnt on to the beach, where there are platforms for viewing, and at about 21:00 the penguins started coming out of the sea and onto the beach towards us. There were rangers who explained what was going on, and photography was then strictly forbidden and firmly enforced, because the animals get confused in their direction finding by flash photography. So, to simplify things, the Australians just ban all photography while the penguins are coming on shore. Seeing the animals come on shore was an amazing experience, and just has to be experienced, rather than described here. There is clearly a control of how many people can be in the area at the same time, and all the management of the area appears to be excellent. Very impressive work by the Australians involved.

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

Hao Xiang Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We signed up for the Penguin Plus for Phillip Island which really worth it. Highly recommended. Overall a very pleasant journey.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Kaye C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

There was so much to this tour than I thought. There were extra stops along way, included in price, this tour gave me seat in Peguin Plus at Phillip Island which is a bit better than General seats on the beach.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Phillip Island Penguin Parade

Keith K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is a must do tour while in Melbourne, The first day on the Great Ocean Road is as spectacular as you will get, day 2 drags a little bit but well worth the wait for when the penguin parade starts, Alex the guide was funny, informative, helpful, patient and very good at what he does. Highly recommend this trip

Doing what: 2-Day Great Ocean Road, Mornington Peninsula and Phillip Island Tour from Melbourne

johanib Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I highly recommend this tour if you want to visit both Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island. The itinerary was very well planned and we had a wonderful time with our tour guide and driver, Kyle. He was very helpful and knowledgeable. We visited many places and learned a lot from Kyle. The accommodation could be better, I think... Other than that, it was all great!

Doing what: 2-Day Great Ocean Road, Mornington Peninsula and Phillip Island Tour from Melbourne

eric m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos. What else could you asked for? It came with a super smooth pickup, relatively good sized group not too packed and amazing sights and sounds. Definitely recommend the upgraded packages for the Penguins the alternative vantage points and guides really helped me understand what I was looking at.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

Angela M Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Nothing compares to the Fairy Penguins...We all had a blast watching these endearing creatures!

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

Paul B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour with a fabulous guide Scott, thoroughly enjoyed the day out and trip to Phillip Island. The smaller group was so much more relaxing and organised. The penguin viewing was an amazing experience. I would highly recommend

Doing what: Phillip Island Penguin Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

YSL Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

There was no words to describe the experience. It is a pity we were not allowed to take pictures of the little fellow but we noted the point - we don't want to scare the Penguins.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

Doris H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Relaxed and highly interesting tour with very nice and knowledgeable guide. We had the opportunity to get close to the native animals and take our time to watch them and take cute photos. The wine tasting was excellent, with a nice lady from Scotland explaining their wines. Finally the highlight was visiting the penguin parade. There were lots of tourists, but we had booked the ranger tour, which was a small group, so we got a lot of information from the ranger and sat even closer to the penguins when they finally appeared from the sea - a fantastic sight ! So cute these little fellows ! A real must-do and-see when in Melbourne !

Doing what: Phillip Island Penguin Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

thomas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Done the 2 day tour and would consider it to be very good value for money .Small group makes it so easy getting on off bus. Guides are very informed and friendly. Amazing scenery good stops to take it all in .Lovely overnight accommodation at Queenscliff. The Penguin parade was a wonderful sight overall an unforgettable 2 days. The food included was good. Its quite a lot of traveling but well worth it.

Doing what: 2-Day Great Ocean Road, Mornington Peninsula and Phillip Island Tour from Melbourne

Fariha A Pakistan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a once in a lifetime experience. To actually witness a natural phenomenon in the wild. The Penguins were a few minutes late in coming, but once they did, they came in hordes. We took the Penguin Plus option which was well worth it. You had a great view from all the seats and the platform was right by them. There was more than enough time to see them. Unfortunately no photos were allowed but it will stay in our memory forever. I would recommend taking the evening tour if you are tight on time and want to cover other areas in Melbourne during the day. The Penguins come around sunset so this part can only be done in the evenings. Our guide was very nice and kept us entertained during the drive down. There was free wifi and even a bathroom on our bus. Also we had about an hour to have dinner at the cafe and souvenir shop before the Penguins were due. Nice relaxing tour.

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

Joel R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Watching the little Penguins come out of the ocean and march right past us, was definitely a highlight. It was chilly at night with the ocean breeze so dress warmly that time of year. It was fascinating to see the penguins stop and start and the climb the hillside to go to their borrows in the bushes. I would highly recommend paying the small extra amount to sit in the close up area. The penguins were in the thousands that night and marched about 10 feet away from us.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

Michele.Parsonsut

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

what a great tour. Spent just enough time at the wildlife reserve on the way to see everything and move on. The penguin parade was terrific and I highly recommend the ranger tour as it permitted us to get away from the large crowds. We loved having the headset on so the ranger could talk to us throughout the evening. Tim was FANTASTIC and was a logistical genius and made everything run so smoothly.

Doing what: Phillip Island Penguin Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

Paul O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

It wasn't just the trip to the penguins, but the trip from start to finish that was made fantastic by the driver of our bus. He was a true gentleman and both of us were entertained from start to finish. We had plenty of time to wander around and do our own thing but not so much that we were waiting around. Highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

barbschreiner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

With everything we saw over many days, this experience rates the highest. We took the sky box tour -- didn't last long enough for me. These tiny penguins stole my heart! AU has realized protection is needed to ensure they survive.
Barbara, Arizona

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

MARK Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

First let me say the Attraction pass is nice to have. The aquarium was great fun for a rain shower break. It has some spectacular things to see. The free tram takes you right to it. The tower gave us something to do on a cool evening. The great ocean road tour is a little long7am -- 8:30pm but the 12 apostle area certainly is not to be missed. Seeing some koala's along the way was interesting. A lunch visit to a lighthouse was nice. Our Phillip Island tour was one of our favorite tours in Australia. John our guide was outstanding. The day was chocked full of activities, highlighted with our picture taken with a koala. Then the main event, the penguin paradewhich I thought would be a little hokie. I chose to see the penguins with a park ranger. I highly recommend this. You get a private viewing area and someone to tell you what is happening. We would have missed a lot without him. It was very interesting. All in all Bunyip tours does a great job.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Lauren S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour definitely exceeded my expectations! Our guide, Roger, was so knowledgeable and made the entire trip exciting. I actually learned some interesting Australian history and appreciated his commentary. The Penguin Parade awesome - I definitely recommend upgrading to the Penguin Plus package to sit on the platform - you get a much better view of the penguins!

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

Wayne M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

An excellent tour! The animal park visit was enjoyable, the Nobbies visit was awesome, dinner in Cowes followed by a walk on the waterfront was fun and the Penguin Parade is NOT to be missed. Our guide, Will, was knowledgeable, informative and fun! The spectacle of thousands of penguins emerging from the sea, crossing the beach and climbing the dunes will forever be etched in our memories. The upgrade to the penguin plus viewing was clearly worth the cost. Make sure you dress warmly-- even in November the evenings can be quite cool.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message