Melbourne ATTRACTIONS See all

Puffing Billy Railway

All aboard Puffing Billy – Australia's most popular steam train ride! Running daily from the foothills at Belgrave to the mountain town of Gembrook, Puffing Billy is the most fun way to tour the Dandenong Ranges. Puffing Billy's rattling red ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 255 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Deepthi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Let and #39;s face it, with AAT kings, it and #39;s a big bus full of people. Yet, I enjoyed this tour. Very comfortable seats. Edward was quirky, very informative and gave individual attention. Puffing billy is a right of passage, cockatoo feeding is an added perk. Loved our zoo volunteer, Margot, at the sanctuary.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Claudio P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a very enjoyable trip and we saw a lot of beautiful countryside and villages. The steam train was a fun experience and the Sanctuary was a good way to see the fascinating animals of Australia. It did involve a lot of walking, and since my husband has limited mobility, they provided a golf cart for us to see everything we wanted to see. The naturalists and volunteers were just great. Also our bus driver/guide on the main day tour was very helpful and we enjoyed his narrative on the bus. All in all, it was a trip we are very glad we booked!

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

jazzy_lass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Absolutely loved everything about this day tour. It was everything we had hoped to experience - especially on our 26th Wedding Anniversary. Penny from Gray Line tours looked after us while we were waiting to board and was such a lovely young lady. Then we were lucky enough to have the most amazing tour guide - Geoff. We had a very mixed tour of nationalities but his Aussie humour and friendly personality made everyone very comfortable. He was informative, a very good driver and happy to answer questions and chat. Having never been to Melbourne born and raised in Queensland we had a wonderful time. The drive into the Dandenong Ranges was beautiful, with so many small towns and interesting things to see. Although we could have used the time to take a walk we chose to stay and enjoy our billy tea and lamingtons which were great on a chilly morning. Sassafras was a real surprise! Unusual little shops which we spent way too much money in, surrounded by beautiful forestry. We would recommend both the Viator tour booking process which we have used in the past and hope that they continue with the excellent service - and their fantastic choice of Tour Operators. Thanks for a memorable anniversary!!!!! Rob and Lisa

Doing what: Puffing Billy Train With Optional Penguin Parade or Melbourne City Tour

Elizabeth D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very enjoyable tour, coach driver was very informative about the local area. Puffing Billy train was amaising took me back to my child hood.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Train With Optional Penguin Parade or Melbourne City Tour

evilenecarvalho

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Amazing day out at this tour , the train is fantastic and the sanctuary park natives animals so beautiful.
The bus driver has a lot of knowledge and a great sense of humor ...

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

joyceklp

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

To start off- we had an amazing driver/ tour leader- Roger from AAT Kings who was pleasant, informative, friendly and entertaining. He was calm and patient throughout the trip and had a big smile to start up a groggy morning amazingly.

We went to have tea and scones, and headed to the puffing billy which was one of a kind and oh so fun! Visited 3 wineries and had lunch at one of them- all three were different and had a great wine tasting session at each.

Thoroughly enjoyable and one experience to treasure.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

Lyndon W United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Puffing Billy was an excellent half-day trip with excellent information given by the coach driver on our journey of the local area and a great ride on the steam train with open carriages

Doing what: Puffing Billy Train With Optional Penguin Parade or Melbourne City Tour

Derek M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

After an early start we were picked up at our appointed place and taken to Federation Square where we transferred to the coach for the winery tour.

Our driver / guide Mark was very good, both in being a careful driver and a knowledgeable and entertaining guide. The tour went off on schedule and kept to the schedule throughout.

Our first stop was for morning tea at Grants Picnic Ground café where we had a cup of tea or coffee with warm scones with cream and jam really nice, after an early start on a cold day.

We then went to Belgrave to take the Puffing Billy steam train to Menzies Creek. The train experience was really very interesting with several steam engines to see and then a 25-minute trip through the forest behind 2 steam engines.

From Menzies Creek we went to the first of the three wineries we were to visit. This was the Rochford winery a very small producer. The tasting was well done with the hostess giving a good introduction to each of the 4 wines.

Lunch was included in our tour and this was taken at Rochford. It comprised a main course a choice of 1 out of 4 dishes on the menu with a glass of red or white wine. I chose the lamb shank while my wife had swordfish. The lamb was very nice, tasty and tender. The fish however was mushy and not very good at all. A small piece of cheesecake and coffee or tea rounded out the meal. If I were to go again I would not take the lunch inclusive option, instead selecting from the quite extensive la carte menu.

After lunch we went to the Dominique Portet winery, the only French owned one in the area. It was a very small operation and here the tasting was quite brusque with the hostess rather rushing through the process of introducing the 4 wines.

The third and final winery was the Yering Farm. This too was an individually owned boutique place and the gentleman introducing the wines was very entertaining, knowledgeable and just plain fun. The tasting was very informal and those who wished could

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

Danilo T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I love this trip... :

The Dandenong Ranges....awesome...excellent tour guide...excellent train ride...I would do it again...

Doing what: Puffing Billy Train With Optional Penguin Parade or Melbourne City Tour

Dorla H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Delightful train ride the best part is you can seat on the railing and happily dangle your feet. Wish I had taken a longer ride , highly recommend it

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Tami T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour was amazing! Loved!!! The Puff Billy Steam Train had a great views. The Sancuary was wonderful!!!!
Coach Driver Steve was awesome.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Sue S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Long day doing puffing billy tour followed by penguin parade, but well worth it! We all had a great day.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Train With Optional Penguin Parade or Melbourne City Tour

doodly

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We really enjoyed this train trip - lots of fun for all ages.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Train With Optional Penguin Parade or Melbourne City Tour

Sharon B United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic day out. The commentary was fascinating, the train ride was great and the tour through the Sherbrooke Forest a real treat. As usual, just not enough time to spend in each place to savour everything. It was a bit rushed. I do understand why, but it would be nice to have been able to have spent more time in the forest.
And the Penguin Parade - well they are the cutest little waddling chaps you could imagine. Both tours were well worth the long day. My only complaint is that there was not enough time between the first one getting back to the city and the 2nd one leaving, for me to pop in for a comfort break.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Train With Optional Penguin Parade or Melbourne City Tour

ava_bentley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour guide, great sights. Puffing Billy and Healesville Sanctuary are a must. If you get the chance use a guide at HS, it makes a difference!

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The rotten weather could not spoil our day out here. We loved feeding the wild parrots at our morning coffee stop. The little train was great and went through lovely temperate rain forest. We enjoyed our wine tasting, and eded up at a chocolate factory. Very enjoyable

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

Klawa L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had an excellent day with this tour. Our tour guide was very friendly and informative and made us feel very welcome to Melbourne and it was a very memorable day. The way that we were introduced to the wineries from the bigger one to the small family one was a very clever way of showing us the production of wine in the Yarra Valley and how different they all taste. The Puffing Billy Steam train was a wonderful experience. Every experience on the day was done with utmost professionalism and very informative. Visiting the park and seeing the birds and feeding them, was an incredible experience. It was also lovely to be able to sit in the lovely cafe and have our tea and lamington in a relaxed atmosphere with incredible views, rather than the other tour group where they just had a table set up with some lamingtons in a packet and tea in a polystyrene cup outside. Overall we highly recommend this tour if you want excellent organisation and comfortable surroundings/travel combined with wonderful experiences. Thank you!

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

pteach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a fantastic excursion. Our Bunyip tours guide was great!!. The Puffing Billy train was a lot of fun. Healesvile was amazing with lots of koalas and kangaroos. Our barbecue lunch was delicious.

Doing what: Melbourne Shore Excursion: Healesville Sanctuary and Puffing Billy Steam Train

doodly

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We did the Puffing Billy Steam Train tour with stops at the bird park and a quaint little village. The scenery is absolutely beautiful, our coach driver/guide was excellent and knew so much about every part of the tour. He was happy and friendly and made us all feel special, as if he had designed the tour just for us. The bird park provides lots of laughter as you cannot predict the cockatoos' behaviour, Puffing Billy is fun for all ages and the village visit is a lovely treat. Well worth doing.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Train With Optional Penguin Parade or Melbourne City Tour

Carole G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Fully enjoyed the steam train ride, ride not long enough by far. Enjoyed the guided tour of Healesville wildfile santuary.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Ritsa K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Had an absolutely great experience on this tour. Our guide Mark was fun and enthusiastic, making sure everyone got to enjoy the trip. Morning tea was lovely and riding the steam train was great fun! I thoroughly enjoyed feeding the friendly Cockatoos and Rosellas and our tour guide at Healseville Santuary was knowledgable and friendly. Definitely recommend this tour-thanks again Mark for being such a great tour guide!

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

kennyjhall United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A fantastic day! The ride on the Puffing Billy steam train was a lot of fun and the visit to Healisville Sanctuary. Our bus driver/guide, John, was extremely helpful,funny and shared a wealth of knowledge about the areas we visited.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Michelle A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our Puffing Billy tour was terrific, a very enjoyable experience. Our guide was friendly and very informative and I would recommend this tour to everyone both young and older.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Train With Optional Penguin Parade or Melbourne City Tour

Susan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A fantastic day! The ride on the Puffing Billy steam train was a lot of fun and the visit to the wineries was relaxing. Lunch was delicious. Our bus driver/guide, Adrian, was extremely helpful and shared a wealth of knowledge about the areas we visited.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

travelman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A nice trip to see a historic train, plus you get out into the country away from the city of Melbourne. We visited three wineries, each of different sizes. At one we had an optional lunch, which was very good.The train ride was so nice I would like to have had a longer one!

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message