Melbourne ATTRACTIONS See all

Royal Botanic Gardens

The lovely landscaped grounds of Melbourne's Royal Botanic Gardens spread for almost 100 acres south of the city center, providing Melbourne with the much-appreciated foliage of more than 50,000 plants. The gardens were established in 1846, and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Barry K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

An excellent experience with great commentaries from knowledgeable coach and cruise boat drivers. The sights of Melbourne, with its' wonderful architecture and beautiful parks and gardens can be appreciated so much more when viewed from the comfort of the coach with no distractions from other traffic. As with the river cruise, one sees Melbourne from another perspective. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Melbourne City Sights Morning Tour with Optional Yarra Cruise

wendy j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Des and I had a lovely trip around Melbourne and Mt Dandenong and the Ranges this was a gift for hubby's birthday the only thing that was disappointing was the weather on a clear day you can see the whole of Melbourne and the Bay unfortunately there was a haze across the city and the bay not a good day for photos at Sky Hi Lookout but the gardens up there and the native birds were lovely. I can't show photos at this time as we are still downloading, Thanks to Viator for helping to make our holiday enjoyable

Doing what: Melbourne City Afternoon Tour


5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Late in the morning on a glorious Melbourne day, my husband and I did the port and Docklands then the Scenic River Gardens trips. We both had an awesome trip enjoying not only the scenery but the friendliness and knowledge of both the crew on the boat. We are coming back with family later in the year and yes, you've guessed it, one of the first things we will be doing is taking them on your cruise. A trip up the Yarra with you is an absolute must for any visitor to Melbourne.

Doing what: River Gardens Melbourne Sightseeing Cruise

Monica L

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The driver Edward was very informative giving us a good amount of information as we went along the streets explaining about the buildings themselves had a good look around the gardens etc I would thoroughly recommend this tour

Doing what: Melbourne City Sights Morning Tour with Optional Yarra Cruise

Norbert W Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Great tour. Picked up from my hotel exactly when they said they would and transferred to Federation Square where we boarded a smaller bus. Tour took in all the city sights, the Shrine of Remembrance, The Botanical Gardens and out to St Kilda and Brighton Beach to see the beach huts. Tour was just long enough with just the right number of stops and return to the hotel. Definitely worth it.

Doing what: Melbourne City Afternoon Tour

Malathi T USA

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

This is a half day tour and it was OK. Visited some botanical grdens that were very nice. Tour bus driver was very informative.

Doing what: Melbourne City Sights Morning Tour with Optional Yarra Cruise

Glenn J

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Our tour began at 12pm, the Yarra River Cruise was good, might be a bit too long on the river and maybe the cruise could be shortened a bit and its place a short stop at the Southbank. The cruise downriver on its conclusion gives the voyagers a glimpse of the Southbank riverside restaurants and the Crown Casino complex. It would've been nice to go landside for say 15 mins or so. Coming back to the cruise, the information that the skipper passed on is all good however he should minimize the ladies and gents and just get on with his presentation. The cruise is worth doing as it gives you an opportunity to learn about the Yarra River. The 2nd part of the tour was the City Tour and this is definitely worth doing. One place missed was the Queen Vic Market. I especially enjoyed the short stopovers at the Botonical Gardens, St.Kilda and Brighton Beach. The weather that day was good and our driver I think his name was Geoff did an outstanding job of driving safe and giving a lot of good information for each site. For the 1st time visitor, definitely worth your while to take this tour.

Doing what: Half-Day Melbourne City Tour Including Yarra River Cruise From Melbourne

Mark K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

The tour guide was great and my rating isn't reflective on his performance. Overall I wouldn't recommend the tour to active young 35 travelers.

First off, if you're staying at the Westin don't choose the hotel pickup. The tour leaves from Federation Square, which is literally a 5-minute walk from the hotel. The hotel pickup drives you around for an hour to all of the other hotels then drops you back off right at Federation Square. 1-hour driving around versus a 5-minute walk, come on. It was my first day and I didn't know better.

On to the bus tour. It was hard to get a good feel of the different neighborhoods by passing them on the bus. The traffic conditions in Melbourne aren't fantastic and we spent a lot of time waiting in traffic. It would have been nice to have more time at to botanical gardens.

Doing what: Melbourne City Sights Morning Tour with Optional Yarra Cruise

Stephanie M USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2010

I hate to give this only a two, but having done other city tours, this one was really just so-so. The guide was really nice and showed us great things, but it was bogged down with a lot of information that's really not that relevant to seeing the sites. Also, it would have been nice to have slightly longern in the places you stop which are only two - Fitzroy Gardens and the Botanical Gardens. Beautiful city though!

Doing what: Melbourne City Sights Morning Tour with Optional Yarra Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message