Melbourne ATTRACTIONS See all

Twelve Apostles

Washed by crashing waves just off the craggy shoreline of western Victoria, the dramatic Twelve Apostles stand sentinel off the Great Ocean Road. Once joined to the surrounding mainland, the limestone outcrops are a Victorian icon and an enduring ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 183 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

tpv1666

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Both trips were wonderful - long drives, but really beautiful. The Phillip Island is very beautiful and the penguins are to die for! The cutest thing on Earth! Both tours were well organized, lunches were very good grilled meats or vegetarian and the guides were knowledgeable and fun. I loved that we got to feed the kangaroos and wallabies Phillip Island tour. The 12 Apostles on the Great Ocean Road are spectacular as well. I would recommend the tours. We also received passes to the aquarium in Melbourne and their emblematic tower which alone were a pretty good deal which was included in the price of the bundle.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Debbie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a very good tour. The driver/guide was very knowledgable and had a great sense of humour. Seeing the 12 apostles was awesome. A must for anyone with a limited timeframe.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

amy_french

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was great! Our tour guide Leo was the best I have ever had.
I would have liked a little more time at the twelve apostles only because there was a long queue for the helicopter ride during our visit, which meant we rode the helicopter and then left straight after, but apart from that the timing everywhere was perfect. This is a really well organised tour and I would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Fay58

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a windy and raining but just seemed to give the 12 Apostles more atmosphere . It was a long but wonderful day. Not even the weather could spoil it. Wasn't able to go down Gibson steps because of weather which means it was shut off to the public
At times felt rushed but that's was because they was so much to do and see within the day. Highly recommend the small group tour. More personal and enjoyable

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

KIN YIP L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

it is an awesome tour. we got on the bus on 7 am but we needed to wait for others so we actually start our trip at 8 am. 1st day we went to Great Ocean Road, the guide Rod is a super funny man and explicitly guide me to every stop on the way. He took care of us and tried to make our trip perfect in every part. Though the trip was bit tightly scheduled, it wasnt the fault of the tour guide. you can only expect 20 to 45 each stop. When you have to walk to the spot, you wont have enough time to get back. Anyway, the 12 apostles were simply awesome. one of our best trips in MEL.

2nd day, it was alan to lead our tour to Phillip Island. However Alan was not as funny as Rod. the trip wasnt so tight and we could really enjoy the trip. It was great to visit the moonlit sanctuary and we had fun there. And for the phillip island, i suggest upgrade to penguin plus by just spend extra of 15 USD maybe to get a better view. Really a lot of little penguins there!

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Shi Ming Jayne N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was really enjoyable. Though the ride to 12 apostles was rather long, but the guide made the trip so much more enjoyable and fun for all of us. He was engaging and uses all sorts of ways to keep us interested. For example, he plays interesting music that was synced to his introduction of certain scenic places and he tells great stories too. Most importantly, he ensures that our safety is not compromised at all times.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Ekta R United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Katie who was our tour guide for the day was absolutely brilliant! She was not only incredibly informative, but highly entertaining throughout the day! She got us to the 12 apostles in time to watch the sunset, meaning that we got some spectacular views! Katie also made a few extra photo stops for us along the way. We also managed to catch sightings of a couple of wild koalas at the place we stopped for lunch and some wild kangaroos on the way back from the 12 apostles. I would highly recommend GoWest Tours for the Great Ocean Road tour to everyone! :

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Melissa N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide, Lee, was exceptionally upbeat, funny, and involved all the passengers. It was well worth taking a smaller tour. He was available to answer questions/talk with, take photos, tell stories, etc. Great job! The tour itself, though very long, was worth the day. Our family really enjoyed trekking through the Otago Rainforest you could just imagine a dinosaur staring at you through the foliage, seeing koalas in the wild, feeding cockatoos and other parrots, seeing the 12 apostles and gorge, looking for fur seals from the bus along the beautiful coastline. The tour enabled us to see just a tiny very tiny bit of Australia outside of the big city.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Lindsay M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Had the best time, great views, wish I could stay longer at each stop-which is a good sign!
Would recommend having a better place to stop for dinner, or maybe simple sandwiches on the bus, but no complaints! Amazing tour guide and drive, loved seeing the wildlife and the 12 apostles.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Randall H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was our first trip to Australia and first trip outside cities of Sydney and Melbourne. Seeing the Twelve Apostles and climbing Gibson and #39;s Steps were the highlight. Our guide, Leo, was a perfect Aussie host! Would highly recommend this trip. It and #39;s a superb value for the dollar.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Elliot R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is the best way to see the 12 Apostles. Very dramatic view from the air, 1st class service.

Doing what: Private Tour: Great Ocean Road Helicopter Tour from Melbourne

Maciej G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Perfectly organised tour with great guide - Stephen! Great amount of information and time to enjoy the spectacular views! I totally recommend it to anyone who's coming to Great Ocean Road! It was also worth picking the helicopter flight over Twelve Apostles - different perspective and you can see all of them!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

david b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This trip was fantastic! Watching the waves crash in from the southern ocean, and seeing the sunset over the 12 apostles was truly amazing. Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable. We saw koalas and kangaroos int the wild. If you are traveling to Australia, you should look into visiting Melbourne, and booking this trip!

Doing what: Full-Day Great Ocean Road Sunset Tour from Melbourne

MargieP

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Best Viator Trip by far - coach driver excellent - views amazing could certainly limit the HOUR spent at the botanical gardens and spend more time at Brighton Bathing Boxes and St Kilda - only had time to order a coffee n cake at St Kilda and barely had time to eat or drink purchases - limit Gardens to 20mis Max other than that fantastic. First time along Great Ocean Road and seeing the Twelve Apostles just incredible thank you

Doing what: 2-Day Combo: Melbourne City Tour, Yarra River Cruise and Great Ocean Road Day Trip

Ana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Ocean Road tour is not to be missed. We drove miles over quiet farmland, forest, sea-side villages and sights, and ended up at the amazing 12 Apostles also known as the Sow and her piglets. We had a delicious scone with morning tea at a neat little outdoor shop by a historic lighthouse. Our driver/guide, Ricarda, was a delightful, knowledgeable, and professional person and it was truly a joy to share the day with her.

Doing what: Private Tour: Great Ocean Road from Melbourne

Ana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Great Ocean Road is a once-in-a-lifetime drive, ending with the spectacular Sow and her piglets The 12 Apostles formations. Our driver/guide, Ricarda, is a great, professionally excellent person. It was wonderful to spend the day with her.

Doing what: Private Tour: Great Ocean Road from Melbourne

Liezl F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was an amazing experience. The sunset over the beach and the 12 Apostles was truly a bucket list item that everyone should endeavour to tick off! Seeing the Koalas in their natural habitat and the parrots eating from your hand was amazing.

Doing what: Full-Day Great Ocean Road Sunset Tour from Melbourne

Jan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent tour!! I was a bit concerned as it's a long day, but others had said it's well worth it - and it is. Paul, our driver and tour guide the person with the REALLY long day! was brilliant: informative, funny and made the trip a delight. It was a real 'United Nations' group of passengers too, which made it even more interesting.
There are plenty of stops along the way to stretch your legs, including a walk through a temperate rainforest Otway as well as steps down to the beach at the 12 Apostles and Loch Ard Gorge. You don't have to take the walks if you don't want to, however I'd recommend them.
I had opted to take the helicopter tour to see the 12 Apostles 6 actually, as explained by Paul! and it's well worth it. The only thing is that by doing this, you don't have time to take the walk to the land viewing point as you may have to wait for the helicopter flight - but what a great way to see the coastline!
This really is an excellent trip.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Korina Ana Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The weather was not on our side during this trip as it was really cold, but nevertheless, we enjoyed the sites. Bec, our guide and driver, was upbeat and very patient.

If you find yourself in Melbourne, this tour is a must. The beaches are beautiful. The Twelve Apostles and Loch Ard Gorce are breathtaking. We enjoyed koala-spotting by the Kennett River, and walking through the rainforest at Otway Park.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

vbellanti United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was an incredible way to see the Great Ocean Road! I enjoyed the small-group aspect because it felt very personal and I was happy to not be on a large tour bus. The timing was perfect at every stop, giving us enough time to enjoy the sights and take lots of pictures. Our group was lucky to see a wild koala awake (usually they are seen sleeping!) and we had plenty of time to take pictures and enjoy watching him be active. I also did the optional helicopter ride over the 12 Apostles, and that was an incredible experience. Although a short ride, it was a beautiful post card sight to see. I highly recommend this tour to those who are in Melbourne for a short time and want the best way to see and enjoy the Great Ocean Road.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

D Gosney G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Stunning views on this day trip which got better and better as the day went on. First stop was at a lake for cake and coffee whilst our driver went off to pick up the Subway lunch of rolls, cookies and drinks - for our picnic on the beach. Very informative drive along the Great Ocean Road, and plenty of long stories from our tour guide Steve. The Twelve Apostles and Loch Ard Gorge are simply stunning. We had lunch on the beach at Loch Ard Gorge - and the Subway rolls and cookies were just perfect with plenty to go round between the group, and some left over. A great way to see a little more of Melbourne other than the city. A fair bit of walking up and down steps to the beaches in both cases, but you have the choice to stay at the top and take in the views.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Christine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a great tour with our very knowledgeable guide Leo. We enjoyed it all and the 12 Apostles were amazing.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

pauljames1978

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great tour, well worth doing. Fantastic scenery and the sunset at the twelve apostles was amazing.

My tour guide, Shane, was great. He gave his all throughout the day making it as interactive and enjoyable as possible. From a personal perspective he added a huge amount to the day as I was travelling alone on the day trip so was very much my travel buddy for the day.

Doing what: Full-Day Great Ocean Road Sunset Tour from Melbourne

Leeling Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Absolutely fantastic day trip. Even though the bus had mechanical problems, which delayed us by almost 2 hours, Paul, our guide and driver had a positive approach and sense of humor that made the day fun and enjoyable. He had a great music track to amuse us and was knowledgeable about all aspects of the tour. Every single stop was scenic and breathtaking so it's hard to pick just one. Only word of caution is that you can't do the ground and helicopter tour of the 12 apostles as its either or given the time constraint. Thanks Paul for making our trip so enjoyable, I can tell you love doing what you do! And I will also stop calling a koala a bear thanks to that song!!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

stella

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour, worth to join. The driver the same person as guide is experienced and fun. Both the Twelve Apostles and the Loch Ard Gorge are very attractive places to visit and really worth to take many pictures. The rock formations are really fantastic and magical! However, the tour took quite a long time from early morning up to late night. We arrived hotel at about eleven o'clock!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message