Melbourne ATTRACTIONS See all

Twelve Apostles

Washed by crashing waves just off the craggy shoreline of western Victoria, the dramatic Twelve Apostles stand sentinel off the Great Ocean Road. Once joined to the surrounding mainland, the limestone outcrops are a Victorian icon and an enduring ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 212 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Martin D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Some incredible scenery. Our guide, Raphael, was a lot of fun and knowledgeable about what we were visiting and he was able to maximize our time at the various stops lots of unplanned stops for photos - Raphael was helpful in taking pics of couples. Often it is the guide that determines the overall quality of the tour and he was one of the best we had come across. I would recommend this tour to anyone. I also appreciated the 'small group' atmosphere as we were able to connect with some of the other passengers on the tour. If you have not driven the Great Ocean Road or seen the 12 Apostles, I would say this is one of the top tours to take out of the city. We simply had a terrific day and this was one of the highlights of our visit to Australia.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

micheal s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our guide was wonderful. The trip was unforgettable. We travelled in comfortable coach bus and the driver knew all kinds of interesting facts about the city of Melbourne and the surrounding area. When we got to the first stop we helped ourselves to some great sweets and hot drinks. At the second stop I realised that i had left my purse and 100. dollars of camera equipment on the table at the last stop. We hurried back 45 km and there was my purse sitting on the table undisturbed! The sight of the 12 apostles was worth the price of the trip. We had a leisurely lunch and made new friends from around the world. I would take the trip again just to have someone look after us the way Scott did and to just be able to sit back and enjoy the ride and view. Amazing!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Teresa Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was my favorite tour in Australia! The beauty of the Great Ocean Road is indescribable, absolutely majestic! I am thankful this was a smaller group and not a full sized tour bus. Our tour guide, Rafael, was knowledgeable and entertaining. We enjoyed the rainforest and the Kafe Koala for lunch and seeing the koalas in the trees but the main attraction of this tour was the Twelve Apostles and Loch Ard Gorge. Take the time to walk down the steps to the ocean and view these two magnificent sights from the sandy beaches. It's worth the effort! Be prepared for a full day tour, we started early in the morning and finished late in the evening, close to 9pm. This is a must see sight on the Australia bucket list, loved it!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Nicholas D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is a full day tour and worth it. Our driver, Peter, has been doing this for years and made the trip very enjoyable w/ his commentary.
The rainforest walk was wonderful! 12 Apostles - the flies killed us - be prepared. A head net would not be a bad idea. Peter had insect repellent available and it worked.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Gail P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had a wonderful time on this tour. Great to get out of the city and see the southern coastline. Several stops along the way. Got some great pictures in Torquay and at the 12 Apostles. Stick your toes in the Southern Ocean at some point - a must do!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Jennifer T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great Ocean Road tour: My guide was really knowledgeable about Melbourne and the areas which we stopped. It is a really compacted trip as you get to see many sights. Good amount of time at the beaches and to enjoy the 12 Apostles and surrounding view. Bring a bathing suit to swim and tan.

Phillip Island tour: This was a larger group tour, so you do a lot of the sight-seeing on your own. The Penguin Parade is the cutest thing. I would recommend watching the first few groups come up the beach and then walk along the boardwalk for a closer look. Seeing the penguins pop out of the water and run up the beach is truly an amazing sight.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Dibakar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A bit hectic but that's because the amount of places that they try to cover in a day. But I will suggest skipping couple of places like the one at Torquay and putting that extra time into Apollo bay 12 apostles or Loch de Gorge.
However the best part of the trip is the guide. Ours was Paul. A very lively fellow with a substantial knowledge about the places i guess that's part of his job. But he is friendly with a great taste in music and made sure everyone on the tour was comfy. I will recommend the tour.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Dibakar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A bit hectic but that's because the amount of places that they try to cover in a day. But I will suggest skipping couple of places like the one at Torquay and putting that extra time into Apollo bay 12 apostles or Loch de Gorge.
However the best part of the trip is the guide. Ours was Paul. A very lively fellow with a substantial knowledge about the places i guess that's part of his job. But he is friendly with a great taste in music and made sure everyone on the tour was comfy. I will recommend the tour.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Hardy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was the best tour I've done in Australia and it has mostly to do with the great sights but also because Bec, our tour guide, was one of the best tour guides I've had anywhere in the world. She's informative, entertaining and very engaging. The medium-sized tour was perfect and it allowed travellers to get to know each other while learning about the great ocean road and 12 apostles. I did the 15-minute helicopter ride and that was well worth it as once-in-a-lifetime experience.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Fariha A Pakistan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

If you have time for only one thing to do in Australia, select this tour! Heaven on Earth!.Absolutely spectacular! We got some great photos of the sunset. The tour is timed in such a way that we reach the twelve apostles at sunset. The weather is unpredictable but we were lucky and it was sunny that day. The hotel pickup was just a block from our hotel. After that we were transferred to another bus. Everything started on time. Found the tour stops a bit rushed, but since there was so much to cover its understandable. Our guide 'Ollie' was friendly and cooperative throughout. Lunch was a choice of burgers and sandwiches. They were pre-ordered about half an hour earlier so as to save time. Well organised trip and a bit tiring but well worth it. There was a stop for tea and biscuits early on which was a nice touch.Tip: Keep some soap with you, some of the public toilets where we stopped did not have soap. Also its very windy and cold so don't forget your woollies. They give you time to get a take away dinner afterwards which you can eat on the bus.

Doing what: Full-Day Great Ocean Road and 12 Apostles Sunset Tour from Melbourne

annie Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A fun, beautiful and scenic road trip. The tour guide driver made few stops at different point along the ocean road for us to take snapshots. The journey was long but he made it fun and interesting by telling stories and about the great ocean road. The 12 apostles was spectacular! It was really a totally different feeling and expereince between looking at pictures and when you are physically there yourself. Great experience! highly recommended.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Kerri J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

As a local Aussie who has visited the Great Ocean road several times accompanying two Italian visitors I can highly recommend this tour. The Italians thought it was the best value and most enjoyable and informative tour they'd been on during their whole trip through several Australian states. Difficult to single out the highlights as all were equally valued, from the Twelve Apostles, Loch Ard Gorge, Otway rainforest walk, Apollo Bay ice-creams, Kennett River koalas and birdlife up close and personal and Cath. It takes a special person to be the tour guide/cleaner/morning tea lady/driver/ and who manages to make the tour memorable and Cath did this easily, from remembering ALL our names, her friendly rivalry with the other GoWest drivers to her casual Aussie humour. Don't be put off by the seemingly long day as it goes very fast, with plenty of stops to see/do things...I barely got time for a nap!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Scott K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was a fantastic trip and well worth it. Our driver and guide, Richard, did a great job of explaining the sites and the history of the Great Ocean Road, and made the trip seem shorter than it was. I originally thought riding in a motor coach for about 11 hours was going to be tough, but the time seemed like it went by quickly. The motor coach was clean and comfortable, and had a bathroom. The motor coach ride provided high views. I do not think the views and experience would have been the same if I was riding in a car or van. The highlight was seeing the 12 Apostles and the other sites of Port Campbell National Park, but the scenery of the Great Ocean Road made the first half of the trip go by quickly. Overall, a great experience even though it was a long day.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

John C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We was great education by Raphael who we found very laid back and friendly, after picking up the rest of the guest we set off through Melbourne and Raphael gave us the history of the city. Our first stop was Torquay where we had a welcoming cup of coffee and cake. We then set off towards Lorne beach and the ocean road arch for some photos.
We drove some more and saw the very house in the opening scene from mad max .the next stop was Kennet were we saw koalas, kookaburras and cockatoos. We stopped for lunch at apollo beach where the weather started to warm up.
We reached the 12 apostles after a brief rainforest stop. The views was magnificent and you also get a reverse view opportunity. I would recommend this tour although really long Raphael was a great guide and integrated all the guests.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

jmcarlson4

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

One of the best tours to take, The Mornington Peninsula and Phillip Island was pretty good but the
Great Ocean Drive and specially the Twelve Apostles is worth the entire trip.
The guide was friendly and kept us on time at all times
The anticipated Penguins at the end of the tour was a big let down. They make you believe that you will see a lot of them and they were probably 50 or 60 that night. But I still give it a 5 star rating.

Doing what: 2-Day Great Ocean Road, Mornington Peninsula and Phillip Island Tour from Melbourne

ROSARIO IRIS G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

it was an awesome experience...beautiful natural sceneries. Twelve Apostles and the Gibson Steps followed by the Loch Ard Gorge were just amazing. Our tour guide Leo was very patient and really looked after everyone of us.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Linda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Lots of breathtaking scenery culminating in the 12 Apostles. Plenty of opportunities to take photos. Phil was our knowledgeable and entertaining guide. There is a good menu selection for lunch and the food was good. It is a very long day so delighted that we were picked up and dropped off outside our hotel. Very efficient pre-tour organisation and communication by the company. An excellent trip.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Alice Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is the best tour I have ever had! It's really a nice getaway and Go West Tours did a great job! Kath, the tour guide, was friendly, organized and caring. Everyone in the tour loved her! We saw 7 koalas, 2 kangaroos, many birds, great ocean scenes, interesting homes and of course the 12 Apostles. Not all tours are the same unfortunately. My coworker actually signed up with some tour company from Chinatown to see the Great Ocean Road on the same day. She started her tour 2 hours later and couldn't see any koalas, kangaroos or Apostles because it was too dark and rainy. She came back to our hotel an hour later completely exhausted and disappointed.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

sweethoneybee85

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was hands-down one of the BEST days of my life! I can't say enough about how amazing this tour was! Our guide, Steve, was so awesome! He was very personable, charismatic, and knowledgeable and had such entertaining commentary and music throughout the tour. We couldn't stop smiling! Each stop was breathtaking despite some less-than-ideal weather and memorable, from holding and feeding wild birds and seeing a wild sleeping koala, to hiking through the rainforest, to visiting famous surfing and shipwreck beaches, to soaring over the 12 Apostles in a helicopter it is 100 worth the extra cost!!! Trust me, you won't regret it!!!. This tour was a once-in-a-lifetime experience that I would do again in a heartbeat, especially if Steve were the guide! As a side note, we took along our 21-month-old toddler yes, it IS doable! who also had a blast and loved every minute of it, including the helicopter ride! This was one of the most memorable experiences my family had during our time in Australia and we absolutely loved it and would highly recommend it to anyone. Now go book this tour! :D

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

pumpkinyu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The trip was amazing. It was a rainy day, once we got onboard, Richard, the driver/guide told us that the weather would become clear after lunch when was the time we should arrive Twelve Apostles. Richards's explanation is very clear and interesting which made the trip very enjoyable.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

tpv1666

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Both trips were wonderful - long drives, but really beautiful. The Phillip Island is very beautiful and the penguins are to die for! The cutest thing on Earth! Both tours were well organized, lunches were very good grilled meats or vegetarian and the guides were knowledgeable and fun. I loved that we got to feed the kangaroos and wallabies Phillip Island tour. The 12 Apostles on the Great Ocean Road are spectacular as well. I would recommend the tours. We also received passes to the aquarium in Melbourne and their emblematic tower which alone were a pretty good deal which was included in the price of the bundle.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Debbie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a very good tour. The driver/guide was very knowledgable and had a great sense of humour. Seeing the 12 apostles was awesome. A must for anyone with a limited timeframe.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

amy_french

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was great! Our tour guide Leo was the best I have ever had.
I would have liked a little more time at the twelve apostles only because there was a long queue for the helicopter ride during our visit, which meant we rode the helicopter and then left straight after, but apart from that the timing everywhere was perfect. This is a really well organised tour and I would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Fay58

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a windy and raining but just seemed to give the 12 Apostles more atmosphere . It was a long but wonderful day. Not even the weather could spoil it. Wasn't able to go down Gibson steps because of weather which means it was shut off to the public
At times felt rushed but that's was because they was so much to do and see within the day. Highly recommend the small group tour. More personal and enjoyable

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

KIN YIP L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

it is an awesome tour. we got on the bus on 7 am but we needed to wait for others so we actually start our trip at 8 am. 1st day we went to Great Ocean Road, the guide Rod is a super funny man and explicitly guide me to every stop on the way. He took care of us and tried to make our trip perfect in every part. Though the trip was bit tightly scheduled, it wasnt the fault of the tour guide. you can only expect 20 to 45 each stop. When you have to walk to the spot, you wont have enough time to get back. Anyway, the 12 apostles were simply awesome. one of our best trips in MEL.

2nd day, it was alan to lead our tour to Phillip Island. However Alan was not as funny as Rod. the trip wasnt so tight and we could really enjoy the trip. It was great to visit the moonlit sanctuary and we had fun there. And for the phillip island, i suggest upgrade to penguin plus by just spend extra of 15 USD maybe to get a better view. Really a lot of little penguins there!

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message