Rolling hills, manicured vineyards, tranquil towns and a renowned gourmet trail – welcome to the Yarra Valley! This scenic slice of rural Victoria is an easy drive from central Melbourne, and a popular spot for hot-air balloon rides, winery ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 147 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Olalekan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were up before the crack of dawn. Fortunately for us it didn and #39;t rain. The view from Yarra was stunning. I highly recommend the winery tour that comes with the package. You and #39;ll have a swell time.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Balloon Flight and Winery Tour

Joy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a lovely day in the Yarra with our knowledgeable driver, Mike aka Spud. The wine tasting was great and we had a nice lunch too.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

Susy C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Max our driver arrived on time, was informative and very knowledgeable about the Yarra Valley. Visiting 4 wineries was a bit rushed though, definitely think a bit less time where there is no food, and perhaps 3 wineries is plenty. Would be nice if visited crafts and local delicacies as well with this tour. But was a lovely day with a lovely group, my favourite was Chandon winery but a love sparkling winechampagne.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

Klawa L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had an excellent day with this tour. Our tour guide was very friendly and informative and made us feel very welcome to Melbourne and it was a very memorable day. The way that we were introduced to the wineries from the bigger one to the small family one was a very clever way of showing us the production of wine in the Yarra Valley and how different they all taste. The Puffing Billy Steam train was a wonderful experience. Every experience on the day was done with utmost professionalism and very informative. Visiting the park and seeing the birds and feeding them, was an incredible experience. It was also lovely to be able to sit in the lovely cafe and have our tea and lamington in a relaxed atmosphere with incredible views, rather than the other tour group where they just had a table set up with some lamingtons in a packet and tea in a polystyrene cup outside. Overall we highly recommend this tour if you want excellent organisation and comfortable surroundings/travel combined with wonderful experiences. Thank you!

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

Rakhee N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Wow! This is great experience for any one looking for a day trip or getaway from thr busy city scene. You have an amazing driver who is also a very knowledgable tour guide and history guide and will also tell you relevant facts about the present Victoria and the Yarra valley vineries and the wine making processes. You will have a great time seeing the beutiful scenic yarra valley and a scumpious lunch awaits you at one of the wineries. Will go again when I get a chance for sure

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

Roger F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had a wonderful day tour with Brett. He was not only fun, but was also very informative about the wine, the Yarra Valley and the city. Would highly recommend this.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

CECILIA S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great morning to have balloon flight in Yarra Valley. Pilot Grega and Belinda is a very nice it's will be my lovely experience in Melbourne and will introduce the balloon flight to friends.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Balloon Flight at Sunrise

Michelle B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

If you enjoy wine, you must take a tour to the Yarra Valley with Epicurean. Our small tour group of seven people was expertly led by the very friendly and generous Bill. First stop was De Bortoli vineyard where we sampled a range of delicious wines expertly matched with various cheeses. This was followed by a real treat to meet and sample wines from Graham Miller, a wine making pioneer and legend in the Yarra Valley. Lunch at Tokar Vineyard was completely superb, and was followed by a visit to two more boutique wineries. Don't go with the big tour bus groups - Epicurean's personalised attention and service together with the great company of a small group made for a perfect day! We'll be back!

Doing what: Yarra Valley Food and Wine Small Group Tour

Lucy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very enjoyable tour. Nick our tour guide was friendly and very knowledgeable about the Yarra Valley wine region. Excellent wineries and a wide range of wines to try. Great tour and great value for money. Thanks for a great day Nick.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

Jennifer L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Good day trip the scenery was lovely a nice day getting to know the Yarra valley and puffing billy train ride was delightful!

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

dawnmackinnon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was a fantastic variety of the Yarra Valley and the tour guide was awesome. One of the best tours I have done. Completely recommend this tour to all.

Doing what: Experience Yarra Valley: Beer, Cider, Wine and Food from Melbourne

Gigi O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Only one word to describe it - amazing! Made possible by Joe! All-rounder driver, tour guide and planner. He is very nice, friendly and knowledgable. He also went through the extra mile to send most of us home! And we got a bonus pleasant surprise from Joe, he took us to Yarra Valley new Chocolaterie which was not included in our itinerary as there was still ample time for my tour group to do so. Overall, this tour is fantastic! I did not regret my decision to take this tour with Viator. Thanks Viator and Joe! :

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

Jacoba W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a really great day. At first I thought it would drag since it was 9-5 however the day went amazingly quick. Our tour guide John had a wealth of knowledge not just around wine but the history of the Yarra Valley which made for a really nice bus ride. Highly recommend this trip, worth every .

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

Nam Kin F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Bill is very nice and know the Yarra Valley very well, we had a great day with him and will highly recommend to our friends who will visit the Melbourne!!

Doing what: Yarra Valley Food and Wine Small Group Tour

Saiko A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

excellent tour. Took us th large famous (but not necessarily good) wineries as well as very niche but makes amazingly good wine wineries. Our guy knew what he was talking about and really knew the people, their difficulties and the history behind Yarra Valley and it made our trip special!

Doing what: Yarra Valley Food and Wine Small Group Tour

ScoutMidwest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We took the full day Puffing Billy/Yarra Valley Healesville Sanctuary trip. The coach was clean and comfortable, and the driver was well informed and interesting. We had a nice stop for morning tea/coffee price included and a grand ride in a reserved car on Puffing Billy.

We opted to visit the Healesville Animal Sanctuary rather than the wineries, in the afternoon. If you are traveling with children, this is s good opportunity to see Australian animals with a trained docent. The bird show was amazing.

We had a last minute stop at a chocolate shop, and then home.

For those who have only seen cities in Australia - this trip is a great opportunity to see country and forest.

Tips:

Hotel Pick Up - nice and easy but also caused us to he ready over an hour before tour actually started. If you are staying anywhere near Federation Square, where the actual tour bus originates, grab a coffee and brekkie and enjoy the walk.

Sun Lotion - if you are doing the Healesville Sanctuary, you might need some for the bird show.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Stephen a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very enjoyable, Roger, the driver was informative and humorous, Puffing Billy trip excellent (if a bit short, but then again I'm a train enthusiast), the wineries we visited were marvelous and even squeezed in a trip to the chocolate farm! Well worth it and a good experience of the Yarra and danedongs region too.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

Caroline F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The only way to go on a wine tour. Fantastic car, lovely driver, awesome day out. An absolutely MUST when you are in Yarra Valley.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Beer and Wine Tours from Melbourne by Classic Convertible

irise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The Puffing Billy and Yarra Valley Wineries tour from this company was awesome! The tour guide (driver) was very friendly and very patience on the passengers. And also they are puncture on the timing. By time I reached CBD from the tour, I still manage to go to Brighton Beach for an evening walk. Highly recommended!!! Give 5 stars~~~!!

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

wei jia l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great experience and the pilot did an excellent job. It was first time for my wife and she wasnt scared at all! The scene over Yarra Valley was just too beautiful!

Doing what: Yarra Valley Balloon Flight at Sunrise

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fantastic day out, can highly recommend, the 4 wineries are very interesting as was the driver John who made the day a real learning experience, with his amazing knowledge of the Yarra Valley, Wines in general and Victoria. Really fun day had by all. My only suggestion for improvement would be a little more food along the way, a few more biscuits or some bread would help.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

Jillian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was incredible! Our Tour Guide John certainly made the trip, but I would say this tour is a must do from Melbourne. We got to take a beautiful ride out of the city and into the Yarra Valley - seeing the countryside, Yarra River, and mountains all at once. Then boy are you in a treat when you visit four vineyards and essentially get to taste upwards of 40 wines if you do it right. John and all of the local guides at each of the vineyards were so helpful - making recommendations about the wines and explaining their history and how they're made. I honestly can't say enough incredible things about this trip. Everyone should reserve it!

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

Shaun E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was one of the best we had on the trip. Our guide, Bill, was very knowledgable and the cheese pairing, lunch and tastings were very enjoyable. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone looking to tour the Yarra Valley. We appreciated all of the history/tid bits of the area during the tour. Our guide made a conscious effort not to talk about the wine during the tastings and allowed the vineyard staff to do the talking.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Food and Wine Small Group Tour

WDT

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We recently enjoyed a great day tour of the Yarra Valley with Australian Wine Tour Company. The online booking process was easy and pick-up location very accessible to our hotel. Our driver Brett, was very friendly, welcoming and entertaining. He has great knowledge of the city , the region, wineries and wine making processes, and this was evident throughout the day tour. The tour bus was full, including many international visitors, and Brett made everyone feel comfortable and welcome, while keeping the group on schedule for the whole day. We tasted some great wines, enjoyed lunch in a very pleasant and picturesque setting and purchased some bottles to bring home and enjoy later.
We highly recommend this tour and our guide Brett

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

Christina S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was AMAZING. It had it all when it comes to experiencing the Yarra Valley. A relaxing and great paced tour. Peter our guide was just FANTASTIC and so knowledgeable. He is everything you would want in a tour guide. Thank you. It really made our Melbourne visit. Tina and Ross WA

Doing what: Experience Yarra Valley: Beer, Cider, Wine and Food from Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message