Less than two hours outside Melbourne, Phillip Island is an incredibly popular day trip destination for visitors to Victoria's capital city. Phillip Island has one of the world's most accessible penguin colonies. Every evening hundreds of visitors ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 106 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

MaryGreg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Phillip Island Penguin Parade. One of the most amazing experiences ever. Walking on a boardwalk down toward the sea - black volcanic rock, deep tourquoise water, huge waves crashing on the rocks, sun setting over my shoulders. Then to the viewing platform. The sun slowly going down - a few beaks sticking above the water. Oh turn around - a solitary wallaby chewing on some vegetation half-way up the hill behind us. A few minutes later 4-5 kangaroos wallabies maybe, hopping across the top of the hill. Back to the beach.

About a dozen or so of the little penguins aka fairy or blue penguins emerge from the waves and congregate on the sand. They're coming.... no wait- with the next big wave, they go back under. Getting darker and harder to see the beach. Waves come in and the group of penguins gets bigger with each wave. Finally as the sun fades for good, a group of at least 100 of the little birds form a group and start waddling they don't have knees up the beach and over the rocks right toward the viewing platform. They weigh about 1kg each and are about 8-10 tall. They are used to the humans, seemingly. They are so close. We walk back along the boardwalk and they are within inches of us, making cooing, purring sounds calling their mate tending a nest back at the burrow. The hills are dark and in the silence when people shut up all up and down the hill you hear these little soft bird calls through the darkness. Almost toward the end of the walk, mom and dad feeding a couple of chicks....
Driver Chris was great. Tapes of 80's pop entertained. Also stops at Moonlit Sanctuary and Phillip Island winery.

Doing what: Phillip Island Penguin Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

Thor E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We went to the Phillip Island around 16:00, and arrived there around 18:00.The visitor center there is quite nice with a restaurant, and other facilities, and has a small cinema which was closed, showing videos and mutlimedia. Then we wnt on to the beach, where there are platforms for viewing, and at about 21:00 the penguins started coming out of the sea and onto the beach towards us. There were rangers who explained what was going on, and photography was then strictly forbidden and firmly enforced, because the animals get confused in their direction finding by flash photography. So, to simplify things, the Australians just ban all photography while the penguins are coming on shore. Seeing the animals come on shore was an amazing experience, and just has to be experienced, rather than described here. There is clearly a control of how many people can be in the area at the same time, and all the management of the area appears to be excellent. Very impressive work by the Australians involved.

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

Kaye C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

There was so much to this tour than I thought. There were extra stops along way, included in price, this tour gave me seat in Peguin Plus at Phillip Island which is a bit better than General seats on the beach.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Phillip Island Penguin Parade

Paul B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour with a fabulous guide Scott, thoroughly enjoyed the day out and trip to Phillip Island. The smaller group was so much more relaxing and organised. The penguin viewing was an amazing experience. I would highly recommend

Doing what: Phillip Island Penguin Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

Helen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Hi. We very much enjoyed our trip to Phillip Island to see the little penguins. Our guide, Peter, was very informative providing great commentary along the way from the time we left Melbourne until we reached our destination. We are glad we decided to do a bus trip rather than hire a car and drive ourselves.
Thanks for a great experience.
Helen and Glen Dalgliesh
from Brisbane

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

Melinda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed this trip. Our bus driver/tour guide was fantastic and friendly with lots of knowledge of the areas we passed between the city and Phillip Island. Watching the penguin parade was awesome, the kids enjoyed it so much too even though it was cold. They are such amazing little penguins and it's fantastic to see this species thriving and we enjoyed watching them.

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

Ellen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic night. Well worth the long drive to Phillip Island from melbourne CBD. The coach was comfortable and the driver was really nice. He was also very informative telling us interesting facts along the way. Thankyou

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

Siobhaan T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Lovely evening out - driver really informative on the way to Phillip Island and then the whole experience of watching the penguins was really special being so close to them. We were on the upgraded package. Lovely to see all the wallabys bouncing about on the way in as well. there were still a lot of stupid people taking photos after being warned of the damage to the penguins site. They need to stop people taking phones and cameras down to the viewing area - anyone who is in Melbourne should take a few hours to experience

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

Karen L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Loving the day tour end to end especially the Phillip Islamd tour. Our driver Colin was simply fantastic. Very patiently explaining to us and drove us to areas where we can see the tiny penguins in sight and even able to snap secret shots at convenient sights. Arrived slight before midnight and the kids were exhausted but definitely enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

Marina L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Best tour ever!!! Nicky was adorable, with a great sense of humor. She entertained us all the time. We had a lunch on the trout and bush tucker farm, where Nicky made us a tour and explained about local plants - it was very interesting. We visited a very nice small winery where we tasted wines and cheeses - it was very good. The Phillip island is spectacular, especially Nobbies views. The only time I saw a koala that was not sleeping, was in this tour. And of course, the best conclusion of this tour is a penguins parade - the cutest thing I ever saw.
As I said - the BEST tour ever!

Doing what: Phillip Island Penguin Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

John H USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Long trip and some stops, like at the petting zoo, could have been shorter. However, enthusiasm of guide Adran, and the thrill of the penguins and wallabies on Phillips Island made it worthwhile.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

Ouhao C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very nice view in the Phillip Island, and tour guide was very nice and helpful

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

Linda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This trip was the highlight of our holiday. What a fabulous evening. The coach was comfortable with plenty of leg room for the 2 hour journey down to Phillip Island. Our tour guide was very interesting and informative. I"d recommend upgrading though to the prime viewing position and the fish and chip supper. The penguins were fantastic and we had a thoroughly enjoyable evening.

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

Jamie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Do this! If you love seeing animals in their natural habitat instead of zoos, this is a must do on Phillip Island. One of life's greatest moments is to watch how the penguins communicate to each other on when to leave the sea and cross the sand to their burrows. Because we decided that we were going "all in" on on Aussie holiday, we upgraded to the first row seats and I would highly recommend but if you're looking to save a few bucks, there are great views from every seat so I think you'd still get an awesome show without splurging. One of the cool things about upgrading is that you get a guided tour which provides you with a lot of useful information which I personally enjoyed.

Doing what: Phillip Island Penguin Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

Ranae S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The Penguin Parade was one of the highlights of my trip to Australia! Unfortunately, it was cloudy and rainy by the time we got to Phillip Island. It was still dry when we went to the wildlife park to see the animals. We really didn't have much time to spend there by the time we watched the sheep sheering demonstration. It would have been nice to have a little more time there. We drove along the coast and stopped a couple of times to take pictures, but it was raining by that time. After eating dinner, we went to the Penguin Parade. Just as we started walking down the boardwalk, a rainbow appeared and the rain stopped. It was so interesting watching the Penguins coming in, gathering in groups, and waddling to their burrows to their awaiting chicks.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

Sparty84

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We loved this tour. It was a 2 hour bus ride from Melbourne but the scenery on Phillip Island is wonderful and the penguin parade was wonderful. The whole family enjoyed it but especially the kids. I would recommend it strongly.

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

Jennifer W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This trip is worth doing even just for the beautiful scenery on Phillip Island, so seeing the gorgeous penguins is a fantastic added bonus!!! We really enjoyed ourselves and loved the trip!!! ...Our driver was lovely and friendly and very informative. ...The only possible improvement I could suggest to the whole experience would be if there were some healthy food options at the cafe/penguin visitors center. We were starving but were disappointed to see that deep fried fish and chips, popcorn and chocolate bars seemed to be the only available options for dinner. The rest of the trip was superb :)

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

janet

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Such a great time on this tour! We had limited time so an evening tour leaving mid afternoon was perfect for us. The coach ride was scenic and the driver fun and informative. Phillip Island was beautiful and the visitors centre well worth a look around. The stars of the show are the penguins who come out of the sea and waddle up the beach. The viewing platforms on the beach are great to see this but i felt the platforms back to the visitors centre gave visitors a close up view as the pengiuns waddled to their homes. So cute!

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

Daniela J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My friend and I were looking for a comfortable, enjoyable and short trip to Phillip Island and we got it. Great comfort, great commentary and quick and easy and enjoyable. Thank you very much!

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

LEE K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Cute little penguins return to their home in the evening reminds us how important family is! And they really cute! Nice view at the phillips island. The fish and chips is delicious as well. Thanks viator!

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

wjhm.ryder

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

After our original Sunday afternoon tour was cancelled due to low numbers, my two kids and I were actually upgraded to a different tour with no fuss and excellent communication. The hotel pickup was EXACTLY on time and Adrian, our bus driver, was fantastic. His commentary was extensive and he gave us great insider tips once at Phillip Island. The penguins were adorable and such an amazing experience for all age groups. My only criticisms are a longer than necessary stop for dinner on the way home....it was almost longer at the town than at the penguins themselves....and tardy, inconsiderate fellow passengers that did not arrive at the bus when we were scheduled to go, consequently delaying us even more!

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

Anne R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Was a fantastic day. The tour leader and guides at Phillip Island are genuinely passionate about their work, and enjoy sharing it with tourists

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

kellythepea USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The Phillip Island penguins were so adorable! So glad I went to see them while in Melbourne. The driver guide was fantastic and really knowledgeable and helpful. Phillip Island itself is really beautiful, it was nice to get an overview of the island on this tour and to have dinner there.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

dugrau USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was a fantastic trip. We visited Maru wildlife park and were able to hand feed wallabies and kangaroos and saw dingos and koalas and wombats. Then on to the beach in time to see the adorable penguins coming up in great numbers. Check the tide charts for Summerville beach on Phillip Island, and if it is going to be at or near high tide at sundown, I highly recommend the penguin plus or ultimate penguin tour that affords a closer view from private viewing areas. Otherwise the standard fare is fine. Great fun but it can get chilly with the wind blowing in from the ocean. Bring a jacket.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

Lynn T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Excellent trip. Ranger very informative at Phillip Island where we were in a small group of eight with radio contact with him. Many penguins to see at close quarters.
Only downside was pick up was very late and by another tour operator who didn't know to collect us from The
Langham Hotel.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message