Stretching 150 miles (243 km) along the south-eastern coast between Torquay and Allansford, the Great Ocean Road is Australia's ultimate road trip, a dramatic route that winds along the coastal cliffs past some of the country's most startling ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 233 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Pang-yuan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing day on Philip Island tour -- many stops to interact with wildlife and then finished off with great viewing point to see the penguins, back to Melbourne by 8 pm. Rainy weather on Great Ocean Road, but guide made the best of it.
Very worthwhile

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Kenneth Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide and the tours themselves were excellent. The weather is quite uncontrollable, so this was despite periods of heavy downpours and cold as it is winter. The great ocean road is beautiful as are the rock formations. We were fortunate to have booked the VIP penguin tour because during the parade, there was a veritable monsoon, and those in the grandstand were drenched, while we were warm and dry in the tower. I recommend both tours, but bring a raincoat or poncho.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Ana I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

great day tour of the great ocean road!

Doing what: Reverse Great Ocean Road and 12 Apostles Day Trip from Melbourne

Alla Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Apart from the provided lunch which is thai i feel its better if its fish n chips. Other than that, great ocean road was amazing!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

tpv1666

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Both trips were wonderful - long drives, but really beautiful. The Phillip Island is very beautiful and the penguins are to die for! The cutest thing on Earth! Both tours were well organized, lunches were very good grilled meats or vegetarian and the guides were knowledgeable and fun. I loved that we got to feed the kangaroos and wallabies Phillip Island tour. The 12 Apostles on the Great Ocean Road are spectacular as well. I would recommend the tours. We also received passes to the aquarium in Melbourne and their emblematic tower which alone were a pretty good deal which was included in the price of the bundle.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

NURATHIRAH H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Great Ocean Road was good, the tour guide was very informative but it was a bit packed and i might have missed out few important background of places visited. Philip island (+ churchill island) trip was fantastic! Amy, the tour guide was very helpful and we got to feed kangaroo and tap a koala.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Simon G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour. If you want to see the Great Ocean Road in a day I would recommend this tour. The tour guide (Phil) was full of information on all aspects of the trip and generally created a relaxed and comfortable experience for everyone.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Chi Ching H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour has provided an excellent experience for anyone who would like to explore The Great Ocean Road. The tour-guide Daniel is highly responsible and professional. Aside from baking cakes for us, Daniel gave detailed explanation on the background information and stories of respective places.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Sandra.moser

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful tour with spectacular views of the Great Ocean Road, especially the Twelve Apostels and London Bridge. Our tour guide and driver Marc was absolutely amazing and did an awesome job. WE can definetely recommend this tour! :)

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

KIN YIP L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

it is an awesome tour. we got on the bus on 7 am but we needed to wait for others so we actually start our trip at 8 am. 1st day we went to Great Ocean Road, the guide Rod is a super funny man and explicitly guide me to every stop on the way. He took care of us and tried to make our trip perfect in every part. Though the trip was bit tightly scheduled, it wasnt the fault of the tour guide. you can only expect 20 to 45 each stop. When you have to walk to the spot, you wont have enough time to get back. Anyway, the 12 apostles were simply awesome. one of our best trips in MEL.

2nd day, it was alan to lead our tour to Phillip Island. However Alan was not as funny as Rod. the trip wasnt so tight and we could really enjoy the trip. It was great to visit the moonlit sanctuary and we had fun there. And for the phillip island, i suggest upgrade to penguin plus by just spend extra of 15 USD maybe to get a better view. Really a lot of little penguins there!

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Audrey W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

THE Best! Our guide Lee was very knowledgeablle and kept us laughing with his humour. The pace was perfect not rushed yet we arrived back in Melbourne at the time he predicted. I would certainly recommend The Great Ocean Road tour and especially Lee as a guide. I was so impressed I'm taking another tour on Thursday with him.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

tbird

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Highly recommend this package! We loved our day on the Great Ocean Road tour and also had a great time at Phillip Island. Pictures w a koala bear was a highlight. Having Melbourne aquarium and Eureka Skydeck passes were an added bonus that we enjoyed. I would do these tours again for sure. It was convenient getting picked up at our hotel and the guides were a lot of fun.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

brcookie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Had an awesome patient driver who obviously knows and loves all the sights leading up and along the Great Ocean Road. Kudos to Daryl! He made this long day fun and an experience to treasure.

Doing what: Reverse Great Ocean Road and 12 Apostles Day Trip from Melbourne

Eileen T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was amazing.

Our guide Katie was amazing. Her introductions to various key places, history of thegreat ocean road, Australia and #39;s wildlife etc were engaging and memorable... definitely someone u Shld look for for a great tour.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Ekta R United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Katie who was our tour guide for the day was absolutely brilliant! She was not only incredibly informative, but highly entertaining throughout the day! She got us to the 12 apostles in time to watch the sunset, meaning that we got some spectacular views! Katie also made a few extra photo stops for us along the way. We also managed to catch sightings of a couple of wild koalas at the place we stopped for lunch and some wild kangaroos on the way back from the 12 apostles. I would highly recommend GoWest Tours for the Great Ocean Road tour to everyone! :

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Kaylyn R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The whole experience was amazing. Seeing the Great Ocean road the first day and then Philips Island the second day was really exciting. On both days our tour guides were super nice and very knowledgable. I'd recommend this tour to anyone who may be unsure as to what to do/see, as it crams a lot into 2 very long days that are totally worth it.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Taylor C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was an amazing two-day experience and I can't recommend it highly enough. It was great to get out of the city and see some of the country on the ride out to Great Ocean Road. The views of the water are stunning and the tour is organize is such a way that you get to stop and see all the sights and get plenty of bathroom breaks so it never feels like you're just driving and driving. The stop at the Cape Otway Lightstation was a surprise treat definitely go up for the view!! Jeremy, or tour guide and driver, was personable and knowledgeable and by the end of the day our van had formed into a happy little family. My favorite part of the Ocean Road tour day was Loch Ard Gorge. Honestly, most beautiful place I've ever been.

We did the Phillip Island tour day second. This is PERFECT for any animal lover and anyone wanting to get cozy with Australia's famous wildlife. Our first stop at the Moonlight Wildlife Sanctuary was AMAZING. For 15 we got out photos taken with an adorable koala named Blue Gum. For 2, you can buy a bag of feed and feed the adorable wallabies and kangaroos out of your hand. The wallabies are SO CUTE and gentle. You can wander around and see all kinds of other wildlife too. To be honest I could have done without the trip to the farm. The highlight of this tour is obviously the Penguin Parade, and it doesn't disappoint. The penguin center was really nice and add two nice gift shops and some expensive food. It's really privilege to sit down and watch as nature goes to work and the penguins are pretty adorable. Don't miss this.

I have to say that this two-day pass is a deal! Lunch was included both days, as was the entry fee to all the ticketed places we visited. I feel like I got to see so much in two jam-packed days. Do it!

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Greg S. Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We can't say enough about the beauty of the Great Ocean Road Day Trip. Spectacular!! Thia was the best part of the package. The Yarra River Cruise was informative and a good way to see the city skyline and learn some of the history of the city.

Doing what: 2-Day Combo: Melbourne City Tour, Yarra River Cruise and Great Ocean Road Day Trip

Greg S. Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We can't say enough about the beauty of the Great Ocean Road Day Trip. Spectacular!! Thia was the best part of the package. The Yarra River Cruise was informative and a good way to see the city skyline and learn some of the history of the city.

Doing what: 2-Day Combo: Melbourne City Tour, Yarra River Cruise and Great Ocean Road Day Trip

Emory F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was an awesome tour. It was a long day with all the hotel pick-ups and drop-offs on top of the drive, but our tour guide Peter did an outstanding job of keeping the group engaged and entertained. There were lots of stops and opportunities to get out and walk. The scenery was fantastic, very diverse along the three sections of the Great Ocean Road. We added the helicopter ride and it was well worth it.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

hms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I had a wonderful time in Melbourne. I was there for a total of the best part of 5 days. There was nothing I did that I would not do again. I did the Great Ocean Road tour, the Phillip Island tour, and with the pass I did the Melbourne Zoo, SEA LIFE Melbourne Aquarium, and the Hop On Hop Off bus. From the bus I stopped at the Queen Victoria Market, the Melbourne Museum, St Kilda and Eureka Skydeck 88.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Mavis H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Thanks Lizzy, we had a really great tour down the Great Ocean Road.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Maciej G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Perfectly organised tour with great guide - Stephen! Great amount of information and time to enjoy the spectacular views! I totally recommend it to anyone who's coming to Great Ocean Road! It was also worth picking the helicopter flight over Twelve Apostles - different perspective and you can see all of them!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Meghan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was by and large the highlight of our 10 day trip to Australia, all thanks to our guide Nicky. A 15 hour long tour, much of it spent on a bus with strangers, has the potential for disaster. Nicky however was friendly, professional, knowledgeable and an overall joy to spend the day with. I feel like without her we would not have had such a great day exploring the Great Ocean Road and genuinely could not thank her enough for our fantastic experience. My parents are going to Australia in a months time and I will be recommending this tour to them, specifically recommending that they ask for Nicky as a tour guide, in the hopes that their day was as fantastic as ours was.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Julian V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Stuart was great,we had a lot of fun with him.
The Great Ocean Road is a must do, when you travel to Melbourne.
A lot of gorgeous views

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message