Memphis ATTRACTIONS See all

Memphis Rock 'n' Soul Museum

No trip to Memphis would be complete without learning about its music history, and the Memphis Rock ‘n’ Soul Museum is just the place to do this. Originally a Smithsonian Institute research project, it became their first permanent exhibition outside ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 34 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Diana U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The Rock Soul Museum

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Kathryn T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Loved Graceland!! Found Sun Studios and Stax Museum very interesting. Ran out of time for the Rock and Soul Hall of Fame.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Glenn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

this is the best way to see all the rock n roll highlights in Memphis, great value.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Alan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

As a very keen music addict this was excellent. Free shuttle transport was included to Graceland and Sun Studio.
I thoroughly enjoyed all four attractions - Sun Studio was the smallest but was my favourite. It was a unique experience visiting Graceland also.
Stax Museum was also very interesting, as was Rock and Soul.Stdio

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The Graceland tour was great. It was really informative and well organized, and allowed guests to travel through at their own pace. It was very respectful of his memory, but still showed a great insight into his life – it will definitely make an Elvis fan out of you if you’re not already! The car museum is definitely worth a visit too. The tour of Sun Studios is a must do. The tour guide was brilliant and managed to make the tour really funny and informative at the same time. It only takes 30 minutes but is well worth the drive there. At the Rock 'n Soul Museum the video at the start of the exhibit was fantastic. If you’ve already been to Sun Studios, some of the exhibit towards the end might be a little bit repetitive, but the Museum has a much bigger collection and provides a more in depth look at some of the lesser known artists from Memphis and the lives they led.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

yogamaria

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Well worth buying all 4 attractions with one transaction. Easy in and out for picking up tickets at each venue. The Elvis Platinum tour was sufficient - we really didn't care about not seeing the inside of his jets.
Sun Studio was by far the best tour - our tour guide was energetic and made it kind of real. Elvis tour is sufficient with the iPad and headphones there's a lot of stuff.... Never knew about STAX until this trip - very informative, but also a lot of stuff. We were worn out, we didn't make it to the museum of Rock and Soul.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Jean H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We stayed in Heartbreak Hotel, so Graceland was just a short walk and then a courtesy bus across the road. We were given headsets and allowed to move around as we wished. This was very good.The other attractions we visited another day and travelled by courtesy bus from the hotel and returned the same way. Loved Sun Studios the best.of these. The guide was excellent and made the tour very interesting. Rock and soul was god also, but we did not visit Stax as after enquiring it was quite a distance from there. But opposite was the Gibson Guitar factory which does regular tours for anyone interested.Overall a very good choice at a good price if you do not need transport.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Robert H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great pass and attractions. We had never visited Memphis before so booked a city tour by bus to figure out where everything was. We then used the pass over 2 days to visit Sun Studios, Graceland, Stax Museum and the Museum of Rock and Soul, all great attractions if you are into music and why else would you visit Memphis?. We also took the tour of the Gibson guitar factory and store 2 blocks south of Beale Street, excellent. Just like to say also that if you are NOT an Elvis fan don't let that put you off a trip to Graceland which is just amazing.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Melanie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great value for money . Enjoyed all the attractions but would take a couple of days to do them. There is a free shuttle for Graceland,sunstudios and rock and soul

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Jayne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Well worth visiting all the music museums.Really enjoyed the Sun Studio tour and the guide made the tour so enjoyable.Make sure you leave enough time to see everything at the Rock and Soul and Stax museums.The only gripe we had was that the free bus was not running during the week we were in Memphis.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Constance L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved every minute seeing Graceland, Sun Studios, Memphis Rock and Soul Museum, and the Stax Museum. This trip made me appreciate even more the contributions of Memphis to rock, soul, and blues music.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Craig H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Do not try to do this all in one day! Graceland, Stax, and Rock and Soul Museum all take at least a good half a day to really enjoy. Sun Studios is the only one we'd suggest trying to combine in one day with any other.

Graceland was the biggest surprise in terms of quality and breadth of experience. We weren't Elvis fans to begin with, but we really gained a great perspective of the man and his achievements, and very much enjoyed the chance to see his home and how he lived. Not what you might expect! And there's a Pirtle's Chicken right down the road.

Sun Studios was the most compelling for it's being preserved in all its original not glory. Such a simple space, and such simple equipment, but such a moving experience to hear the songs in the original studio room while being able to toe the indentation in the floor where the upright bass was parked for all those years.

Stax gets high marks for its rebuilding everything per the original building blueprints, and you could definitely spend an entire day listening to everything there is to hear there, just as with the Rock and Soul Museum downtown. Which puts you right near Dyer's Burgers--did we mention we loved the food in Memphis? No matter how quickly you figure you can see it all, if you enjoy both history and music, you'll find the hours fly by and you still can't get to everything.

Highly recommended!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Carol B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

When my friend suggest Memphis, I was lukewarm, but it wasn't a pricey trip. I was in for a very pleasant surprise. We stayed at the Holiday Inn; it wasn't fancy, but the location was great. We bought a package and went to Graceland, Sun Studios, and the Rock and Soul Museum. We also went to the Gibson Guitar Factory, but the highlight was the Civil Right's Museum. Allow at least four hours to get through the museum, it's an emotional experience, and Central BBQ is right next door! I'd avoid the Cotton Museum, a waste of time. The evenings were spent on Beale Street listening to music. With great food, music, and interesting attractions, and very friendly people, I'd rate the trip five stars.

PS Don't forget to go to Gus's Fried Chicken for the best fried chicken you'll ever eat!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Rena B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The four music venues that we went to were fantastic. We had a great tour at Sun Studio and Graceland was very much a "moment in time'. Rock and Soul was very interesting and self guided and Stax Record was especially worthwhile. Music aficionados must do these monuments to great music makers.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Kristina E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I enjoyed the entire experience! It was nice to walk right up with my voucher - no hassles and I already knew what I was spending. I enjoyed the full "Elvis experience" at Graceland - one did feel a bit "herded" through the house because it is a bit small and they need to keep visitors moving. I liked the audio tour that accompanied me. The memorabilia, cars and other exhibits made for a nice half-day tour. Parking at Graceland $10. The Stax Museum was lovely - a little treasure of racial harmony and history. I really enjoyed everything that the museum and foundation are accomplishing. It brought back a lot of memories of my youth. Parking -free. The Sun Studios tour was my favorite due to the enthusiasm of our tour guide and my new friends from Australia! The depth of musical history made in that recording studio (and it continues today) gives one goosebumps. I found free parking on the street. The Rock and Soul Museum provides a nice overview of the musical roots that have come together in Memphis. Again, the audio tour allows one to enjoy the museum at your own pace, focusing on your areas of interest. Paid for parking in downtown Memphis. The "courtesy" shuttle was was not running during my visit in June. As I had rented a car, this wasn't too much of a problem. However, my Australian friends got jammed. Have the name and number of a cab company handy "just in case." Overall, my visit to Memphis was wonderful!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Breena L W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A perfect group of selections for music lovers!! Loved the free shuttle from downtown Rock 'N Soul museum to Graceland, then to Sun Studio, and finally back to Rock 'N Soul. We were able to complete tours at all three in a single day. A not too expensive cab ride ($10-15) from downtown to Stax was well worth the extra expense. Not to be missed!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Wayne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

FANTASTIC ! A must for Rock 'n' Roll, Soul and R and B music fans. This tour exceeded our expectations and was one of our most memorable tours ever. Our special thanks goes to Ms. Ecstasy Williams, one of the ladies who worked at the information desk at Graceland on the day of our tour, Sunday, Oct 20th. She enabled us to be admitted to Graceland, Stax Museum and Sun Studio because we unable to exchange our pre-paid Viator voucher for the Memphis Music Attraction Pass as Sweet Magnolia Tours was closed Saturdays and Sundays. Thank you Ecstasy.
Graceland was undeniably fantastic. We were impressed by the vast display of Elvis' Gold and Platinum Records and other memorabilia. There'll never be another Elvis - he was unique.
Stax Museum was equally great. We had no idea that so much of today's "classic" soul albums were recorded there. Truly monumental.
Sun Studio was a big surprise and just simply awesome. Here we were standing on the second floor of a tiny brick building on 706 Union St on "sacred ground" where Rock 'n' Roll was born ! We appreciated the young tour guide who was very motivated and re-told a vivid account of the history that was made there - his hand-out at the end of the tour pretty much sums up the importance of this place. The Sun Record Company "Greatest Hits" CD that we bought there is a cherished souvenir.
We were so engrossed with the first three tours that we arrived at the Rock 'n' Soul Museum too late to start this tour. That'll be for the next trip to Memphis. Thanks again Viator for these outstanding attractions in Memphis, a real highlight of our visit of the South.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Mable M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Fantastic tour. Loved Graceland, sun Studios and Rock and soul Museum. Was unable to go to Stax. Everything was well organized and people were helpful and pleasant.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Shannon O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Memphis is an amazing town and full of so much music history. Call ahead to Rock N Soul and Stax as they were both closed for private events when we were there. This only happens about twice a year so we had some bad luck I guess.

Graceland left me speechless. I didn't want to leave and I will definitely return!
Sun Studio was also one of my favorite tours. The tour guide was really into it and gave us a good idea of what happened when Elvis came in to record and Johnny Cash's early days there. So fun!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Johann T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Attractions wonderful--Sun Studio particularly of great interest along with of course without saying GRACELAND ! Memphis truly is the home of the blues and birthplace of rock and roll--loved the area

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Chris G USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Sun Studios, Stax, Rock and Soul & Graceland were all well worth it....I highly recommend them all...don't forget Gibson Guitar Factory and Beale St..Viator was very easy to deal with...one stop and you done...get your tickets sent via e-mail, print them and you are set.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Michael W United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2008

All the attractions were very good. Graceland is well worth a visit, not to be missed for Elvis fans, Stax good, Sun Studios with the microphone Elvis used and the recording of his voice makes you tingle a bit. Rock and Soul museum was very interesting, music lovers a must go there.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Christine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2008

This pass is fantastic! It gets you into all of must-see place in Memphis. It's very convenient having one pass and not having to worry about purchasing tickets everywhere you go. On top if it you have a year to use your pass so you can spread out seeing the attractions on different days. Graceland of course is amazing - I learned so much about Elvis and his life. I was very surprised with how fantastic the Stax Museum was, don't miss this one, especially since you don't need very much time at Sun Studios. And, Sun Studio operates a free, first-come, first-served shuttle hourly between Graceland, Sun Studio, & Rock n Soul Museum. Be prepared to get your share of music history and live music in Memphis.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Heather P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We ran out of time at Sun studio and Graceland and so did not get chance to chance to visit Staxx and Rock and soul museum. I'm not sure how t is possible to do this all in one day!
Sun studio and Graceland are both fantastic!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Michael R

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

The discount pass is a good deal. Sun Studio was a highpoint - we had fantastic guide, and you get a real sense of connection to early rock and roll. It isn't commercialised. I only managed Sun Studio and Graceland - as others have said, you'd be pushing it to fit in three in a day, so this pass is best value if you've got more than one day on your hands.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message