Known as "The Birthplace of Rock and Roll," this former studio is Memphis's own Mecca of music. Opened in 1950, the studio was the recording site of what is supposedly the first rock and roll single - Jackie Brenston and his Delta Cats'  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 412 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Baggiejones

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour conducted by an excellent knowledgable guide. Well stocked shop which charges reasonable prices . If you love music then it's the tour for you....

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Joanne L

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Amazing to stand in the studio that so many greats recorded!!!

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

cmeis2000

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

Unfortunately we were not able to use this voucher due to arriving in Memphis after 530 pm on a Friday and not being able to go to the tour company itself. Ridiculous that they're not open on a weekend. We also didn't realise that we were supposed to email the company to receive the vouchers for the attractions. Ended up going to the attractions anyway but very disappointing when we'd already paid for 2people.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Boop

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour guide was great. She was very knowledgeable and witty. She gave a lot of inside information.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

danielsons5

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The best way to see the city! Our musical guide was amazing in the information delivered and the songs he chose to include in the tour. Learned a ton and enjoyed the ride!

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Helen J United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

considering all the size of the venue the tour was excellent, so glad i did it. the tour guide was great and you could take as many photographs as you wanted and didn't feel rushed at all.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Diana U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The Rock Soul Museum

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

MICHELE P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Well worth a visit. Tour guide was the best, very knowledgable and enthusiastic about the studios.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Janet S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Graceland VIP tour and the planes were great. Getting the actual tickets ahead of time was the best tip. the other museums were good but Sun Studio was definitely a must see.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Heather P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We ran out of time at Sun studio and Graceland and so did not get chance to chance to visit Staxx and Rock and soul museum. I'm not sure how t is possible to do this all in one day!
Sun studio and Graceland are both fantastic!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

G E S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Was a really great way to see Memphis as we were there only for one day and night.
Our guide had a great knowledge of the town. Just wished that she sang more as she had a lovely voice. Worth the money and joining the bus was easy and central

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

AuntieJenPen

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Too crowded in each tour. Hardly any elbow room. Overall, great tour!

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Dave A

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

It was interesting enough, but there's only two rooms. Was good to see the actual studio, but most of the tour was just listening to music recorded there. Worth visiting just to look at the building / gift shop, but unless you are a hardcore music fan, you may not find it interesting.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Christina G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

More interesting than i thought, informative and fun.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Mike P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was an awesome experience for the entire family. My husband is a musician and he loved it. They were filled with history and the tour girl was fun and informative. The studio still records music today in this 1950's started recording studio. Everyone should stop by Sun Studios and enjoy the entire experience.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

johnmac

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Vert enjoyable tour. Such a lot of fun singing along with our guide . Very informative too. Would definitely recommend this tour

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Dorenda L S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is an awesome tour and experience. They worked with us to email our passes so we did not have to go searching for them. If you are a music and history buff this is an excellent mix. Pepper in some time on Beale ST for live music and you will not regret it.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

susanrowe1957

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Had an amazing time in Memphis we first went to the stax and soul museam and learnt you can get the bus to Graceland's and then to sun studios , and it's free. The museams were fantastic and fun, the music just brill. Going to Graceland's was the highlight of the trip , it was well organised plenty of time too see all and breathe taking , I'm not an Elvis fan my husband is , but anyone doing this trip will find it amazing , emotional and feeling full of respect for such an amzing and talented man, what a loss to the world. We didn't do the stax museam as we only had three days and went to the civil rights museam , again an amazing experience , in the afternoon. We took a trip on the river boat , what an amazing time. We stayed at the Peabody and visited Beale st every night it is just awesome, loved it all.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

susanrowe1957

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This bus tour was fun, interactive and the guide knew his stuff. It gave us a feel for the area, and where to find places. We took the bus on our first day , well worth doing , great experience.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Kathryn T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Loved Graceland!! Found Sun Studios and Stax Museum very interesting. Ran out of time for the Rock and Soul Hall of Fame.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Lynne E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour. Steeped in music history. Well worth a visit.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Harold S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

very nice it would be nice if state parks listed that some of thier stuff was closed on monday but overall had a great time will visit again

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Robert K

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Everyone should go.. Nice folks, interesting tour and to me just the right length

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Margie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A great tour. Lots of music information. Tour guide was awesome. I highly recommend tour while in Memphis.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Suzanne M S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide, Nancy, was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable about Memphis' music history. We elected to take the Sun Studio tour as well, and the guide there was also very enthusiastic and knowledgeable. Other people not on our Mojo tour joined us for the Sun Studio tour--and it was very crowded. My only complaint. We are in our 60s and enjoyed it!

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message