Known as "The Birthplace of Rock and Roll," this former studio is Memphis's own Mecca of music. Opened in 1950, the studio was the recording site of what is supposedly the first rock and roll single - Jackie Brenston and his Delta Cats'  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 399 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Christina G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

More interesting than i thought, informative and fun.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Mike P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was an awesome experience for the entire family. My husband is a musician and he loved it. They were filled with history and the tour girl was fun and informative. The studio still records music today in this 1950's started recording studio. Everyone should stop by Sun Studios and enjoy the entire experience.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

johnmac

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Vert enjoyable tour. Such a lot of fun singing along with our guide . Very informative too. Would definitely recommend this tour

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Dorenda L S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is an awesome tour and experience. They worked with us to email our passes so we did not have to go searching for them. If you are a music and history buff this is an excellent mix. Pepper in some time on Beale ST for live music and you will not regret it.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

susanrowe1957

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Had an amazing time in Memphis we first went to the stax and soul museam and learnt you can get the bus to Graceland's and then to sun studios , and it's free. The museams were fantastic and fun, the music just brill. Going to Graceland's was the highlight of the trip , it was well organised plenty of time too see all and breathe taking , I'm not an Elvis fan my husband is , but anyone doing this trip will find it amazing , emotional and feeling full of respect for such an amzing and talented man, what a loss to the world. We didn't do the stax museam as we only had three days and went to the civil rights museam , again an amazing experience , in the afternoon. We took a trip on the river boat , what an amazing time. We stayed at the Peabody and visited Beale st every night it is just awesome, loved it all.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

susanrowe1957

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This bus tour was fun, interactive and the guide knew his stuff. It gave us a feel for the area, and where to find places. We took the bus on our first day , well worth doing , great experience.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Kathryn T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Loved Graceland!! Found Sun Studios and Stax Museum very interesting. Ran out of time for the Rock and Soul Hall of Fame.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Lynne E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour. Steeped in music history. Well worth a visit.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Harold S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

very nice it would be nice if state parks listed that some of thier stuff was closed on monday but overall had a great time will visit again

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Robert K

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Everyone should go.. Nice folks, interesting tour and to me just the right length

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Margie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A great tour. Lots of music information. Tour guide was awesome. I highly recommend tour while in Memphis.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Suzanne M S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide, Nancy, was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable about Memphis' music history. We elected to take the Sun Studio tour as well, and the guide there was also very enthusiastic and knowledgeable. Other people not on our Mojo tour joined us for the Sun Studio tour--and it was very crowded. My only complaint. We are in our 60s and enjoyed it!

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Georgeann M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great experience - tour director very knowledgeable. Very nostalgic.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

maree.wilson Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent :

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

JACQUELINE G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great value exceptional music history that you couldn't get anywhere else.A lot of emotional stuff,fabulous stories with Graceland being the house everyone should see.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Carole W

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Each attraction was full of information and history of the Memphis artists. I would recommend.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Staylor

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

What an incredibly informative tour! It was made all the better by having a singing tour guide to interject the music along the way. It was a great way to start my stay in Memphis: now I know where I want to visit more in-depth, and the places I won't get back to I at least got a glimpse of on the tour. Nancy was wonderful!

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

charliemclaughlin4

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

A different way of touring Memphis's local sights. Entertainer was friendly and informative. Kids loved participating in the singing with the on boards musical instruments.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Dena D

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

So fun!! We did this with our 18, 15, and 11 year old kids and it was so much better than a old fashioned tour. We were on a long road trip and they were kind of museum-ed out, but my husband and I still wanted to learn about Memphis!

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Nigel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

1 hour of great facts, pictures and atmosphere. Guide new his stuff and made the tour a great experiance, a must visit when in Memphis.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

M D F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

If you are heading to Sun Studios you will probably already understand the significance of this place in modern music history. It is such an unassuming building and yet in those four walls stood most of the greats in American music. The tour is very low key but is given by very knowledge I guides who inform you about the history of Sun and Sam Phillips and the. Lead you through to the actual studio where Elvis, Jerry Lee, Johnny Cash, Carl Perkins etc all made their music. The cafe and gift shop are very good also and I could not recommend this tour highly enough.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

young.tina40

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Graceland was beautiful and Memphis BBQ was wonderful. Liked BB KINGS. Great music and so many friendly people. Wasnt fond of the lady in the bathroom handing towels out and mints. Seemed desperate for a tip.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Marilyn D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Susan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed hearing all the little stories and tales of those who passed through the studio. As an Elvis fan from way back seeing where he had done so much 'work' and all the memorabilia was just great. It was a wonderful way to begin my stay in Memphis.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Orlando V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My tour was great!!!

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message