Known as "The Birthplace of Rock and Roll," this former studio is Memphis's own Mecca of music. Opened in 1950, the studio was the recording site of what is supposedly the first rock and roll single - Jackie Brenston and his Delta Cats'  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 377 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Nigel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

1 hour of great facts, pictures and atmosphere. Guide new his stuff and made the tour a great experiance, a must visit when in Memphis.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

M D F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

If you are heading to Sun Studios you will probably already understand the significance of this place in modern music history. It is such an unassuming building and yet in those four walls stood most of the greats in American music. The tour is very low key but is given by very knowledge I guides who inform you about the history of Sun and Sam Phillips and the. Lead you through to the actual studio where Elvis, Jerry Lee, Johnny Cash, Carl Perkins etc all made their music. The cafe and gift shop are very good also and I could not recommend this tour highly enough.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

young.tina40

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Graceland was beautiful and Memphis BBQ was wonderful. Liked BB KINGS. Great music and so many friendly people. Wasnt fond of the lady in the bathroom handing towels out and mints. Seemed desperate for a tip.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Marilyn D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Susan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed hearing all the little stories and tales of those who passed through the studio. As an Elvis fan from way back seeing where he had done so much 'work' and all the memorabilia was just great. It was a wonderful way to begin my stay in Memphis.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Orlando V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My tour was great!!!

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

rdstoloff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

GREAT MUSIC, GREAT FUN AND A BEAUTIFUL VENUE.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Joanna T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was fun for the whole family. Our tour guide was full of information and talent. I would recommended to everyone.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Neil D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was on of the best city bus tours I've been on with the bonus of live music as well as tour commentary. Some great history to this city which was well presented. We included the Sun Studio tour which is a must for any music lover. Loved it!

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Thomas C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing! Brilliant and funny tour! Would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Linda J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a fantastic tour. one of the tickets we didn't use as it wasn't near anywhere the tour bus went. but highly recommended and they emailed the passes to our hotel with no problem.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

a_payuyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very nice, educational

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Alan M United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

For all fans of music a must , great tour presented by a very enthusiastic host

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Sherry H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I would highly recommend this tour. It not only takes one around Memphis, but the history behind each stop is AWESOME!!

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Troy L. J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was fabulous!

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Jane G

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

It was fun and informative!

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Steven S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Fun and informative way to get your bearings in Memphis and learn about the history of the city. We covered a big part of the city and saw things we might not have known to go see. We added the Sun Studios Tour to the basic package and enjoyed that as well.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Glenn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

this is the best way to see all the rock n roll highlights in Memphis, great value.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Suzanne K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Any music fan, especially of the baby boom generation, will find it exciting. The roots of rock and roll are in this studio, The guide did an excellent job of bringing the story to life. We grew up with Elvis, Johnny Cash , etc. It was a thrill.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Alan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

As a very keen music addict this was excellent. Free shuttle transport was included to Graceland and Sun Studio.
I thoroughly enjoyed all four attractions - Sun Studio was the smallest but was my favourite. It was a unique experience visiting Graceland also.
Stax Museum was also very interesting, as was Rock and Soul.Stdio

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

kim p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

we ate at BB Kings first. The food was fall off the bone tender. The band was great and engaging. Then we boarded the bus. It was clean and comfortable. The MC was very informative and entertaining. His music was terrific. The only thing to improve on would be to crank up the Air conditioning a bit. It got very warm in the back of the bus. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

robert h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

the guy on the guitar was brill would recommend trip

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Steven L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A lot of fun and lots of music/local history. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Jerry R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

All four attractions included in the Memphis Music Attraction pass are well worth visiting, and the discount pass provides excellent value for money for the visits. Recommended!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Mr A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour a must if you are in Memphis

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message