When you think of Memphis, what comes to mind? Elvis Presley? Graceland? How about the blues, soul and rock’n’roll?  Yes, that’s right – Memphis could be said to be the home of all three. As the city where Sun Studio and Stax Records ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 72 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Baggiejones

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour conducted by an excellent knowledgable guide. Well stocked shop which charges reasonable prices . If you love music then it's the tour for you....

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

susanrowe1957

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Had an amazing time in Memphis we first went to the stax and soul museam and learnt you can get the bus to Graceland's and then to sun studios , and it's free. The museams were fantastic and fun, the music just brill. Going to Graceland's was the highlight of the trip , it was well organised plenty of time too see all and breathe taking , I'm not an Elvis fan my husband is , but anyone doing this trip will find it amazing , emotional and feeling full of respect for such an amzing and talented man, what a loss to the world. We didn't do the stax museam as we only had three days and went to the civil rights museam , again an amazing experience , in the afternoon. We took a trip on the river boat , what an amazing time. We stayed at the Peabody and visited Beale st every night it is just awesome, loved it all.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Lynne E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour. Steeped in music history. Well worth a visit.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Dorenda L S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is an awesome tour and experience. They worked with us to email our passes so we did not have to go searching for them. If you are a music and history buff this is an excellent mix. Pepper in some time on Beale ST for live music and you will not regret it.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Mike P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was an awesome experience for the entire family. My husband is a musician and he loved it. They were filled with history and the tour girl was fun and informative. The studio still records music today in this 1950's started recording studio. Everyone should stop by Sun Studios and enjoy the entire experience.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

krista s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

You must do this tour if you like Elvis and his music!

Doing what: Elvis Presley's Graceland Tour

JACQUELINE G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great value exceptional music history that you couldn't get anywhere else.A lot of emotional stuff,fabulous stories with Graceland being the house everyone should see.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Margie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A great tour. Lots of music information. Tour guide was awesome. I highly recommend tour while in Memphis.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Alan M United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

For all fans of music a must , great tour presented by a very enthusiastic host

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

M D F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

If you are heading to Sun Studios you will probably already understand the significance of this place in modern music history. It is such an unassuming building and yet in those four walls stood most of the greats in American music. The tour is very low key but is given by very knowledge I guides who inform you about the history of Sun and Sam Phillips and the. Lead you through to the actual studio where Elvis, Jerry Lee, Johnny Cash, Carl Perkins etc all made their music. The cafe and gift shop are very good also and I could not recommend this tour highly enough.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

young.tina40

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Graceland was beautiful and Memphis BBQ was wonderful. Liked BB KINGS. Great music and so many friendly people. Wasnt fond of the lady in the bathroom handing towels out and mints. Seemed desperate for a tip.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Jerry R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

All four attractions included in the Memphis Music Attraction pass are well worth visiting, and the discount pass provides excellent value for money for the visits. Recommended!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Suzanne K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Any music fan, especially of the baby boom generation, will find it exciting. The roots of rock and roll are in this studio, The guide did an excellent job of bringing the story to life. We grew up with Elvis, Johnny Cash , etc. It was a thrill.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Alan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

As a very keen music addict this was excellent. Free shuttle transport was included to Graceland and Sun Studio.
I thoroughly enjoyed all four attractions - Sun Studio was the smallest but was my favourite. It was a unique experience visiting Graceland also.
Stax Museum was also very interesting, as was Rock and Soul.Stdio

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

EARL B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour guide was very informative and kind. It rained hard and he provided umbrellas to ones without protection from the rain. A very kind and thoughtful man. The Rock and Roll Museum was the Hi light of the trip. Loved the music.

Doing what: Memphis Coach Tour including Rock and Soul Museum

Eric C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour and tour guide's enthusiasm and informative attitude made the tour. Not a lot to see therefore history and music support by guide was essential. Photo opportunity at end with props was great.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

way_smith

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

You HAVE to go here if you are a fan of the music from Memphis. Our guide was knowledgeable and engaging. The music, the history and just being in the room where some of the most influential music from the United States was made was a once-in-a-lifetime experience.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

way_smith

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The best tour we attended. It doesn't matter if you are a musician or someone who simply loves music, this has something for everyone. Our guide was knowledgeable and engaging....

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

J Harlo S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Had a wonderful time. Enjoyed Memphis a great deal. Will be back someday. The music attraction pass was excellent.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Clarissa K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent place to visit. Loved the tour. The guide was really good. She was funny and helpful and had a great presentation. Lots of history and information. Super cool and everyone seemed to enjoy it. If you are a music fan you will love it.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Shonda K M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I was very happy with our Memphis Music Pass. The pass was easy to use and we thoroughly enjoyed each of the places we toured. This was really a great experience and I highly recommend it to others.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Stephanie L F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Had a great time. Enjoyed all the tours we took. Have a better appreciation for blues music now :o

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Geoffrey R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Here was a delightful raconteur/driver who knew what to tell, show, n do after questioning party members. I did not know about the strong place Memphis played in music history, this tour provided that broader picture culminating in the museum visit - our Elvis was but a part, albeit a slightly larger than life part -where the hometown boy makes good BUT NEVER forgot his roots. As this tour ends at the Rock n Soul museum it is good idea to pre-book an afternoon factory tour at the Gibson Guitar factory opposite museum - see the making of that great instrument and a company still 'surviving' against the overseas boys AND buy yourself a guitar!.
The snack break opposite the site of assassination of Dr Martin Luther King allows time to reflect on this sad happening AND you can return to view more at the Civil Rights Museum .
Take this tour early on then plan your returns to parts of interest.

Doing what: Memphis Coach Tour including Rock and Soul Museum

Wade W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very informative and interesting information about the early days of rock and roll music.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

sara w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

guide new a lot of the history of the studio and told it all with music tracks from the people she was talking about great

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message