This minor archeological site on the Puuc Route south of Merida is worth visiting to see its Palace of the Masks, an ornate structure covered with hundreds of masks of the same figure: the rain god Chaac. This repeating motif is rare in Mayan art ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 38 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Needless to say, the Mayan ruins at Uxmal and Kabah are fantastic and well worth a visit. I really enjoyed this trip, much more than the Chichen Itza trip I did out of Cancun. The guides were very good, and the included lunch was an excellent three course waiter-served meal, rather than the kind of rushed buffet that one so often gets on such trips. I would definitely recommend this trip to anyone who finds themselves with a spare day while staying in Merida.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Corbet R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our day trip to Kabah and Uxmal was absolutely amazing! Our guide Agusto was incredibly knowledgable and did a great job sharing his Mayan insight about these two awesome sights. Best part of the tour: almost no people at either site! We could explore freely and it was great. Highly recommend this tour as it made travelling to this spot outside Merida a breeze!

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Mario O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great experience! Uxmal and Kabah is not as touristy as Chichen Itza. I would highly recommend this tour as it gives a more different feel than other ruin tours I have been before.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Mario O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a highly recommended tour. I have been on many tours to ruins before but Uxmal and Kabah is a wonderful experience. The exquisite architecture, ornamentation and the history that surrounds it is magnificent. This is a must if you are in this part of the Yucatan.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Matthew S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent trip. Many thanks to our guide, Wilbert Mayaland Tours for his knowledge and grace.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Donald R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had an enjoyable experience with our international traveling companions and our knowledgable tour guide.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Bill B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great trip. Our guide Algusto is excellent.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Collin P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Besides the Mayan temples, we also visited: the Museum de Cacao though not enough time to tour it, an old abandoned sisal factory, and a Mayan home and family. Don't miss the Mayan home and family! It was our favorite part. Our guide said it was optional, and would cost a few pesos. Definitely worth it. Lunch was at the restaurant next to the hotel at Uxmal.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Selena T Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was more than I expected including my stay at Hacienda Uxmal!!!

Doing what: 2-Day Uxmal Tour from Merida

Ian K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our guide, Wilbert, was wonderful! He was very knowledgeable of the area and the history of the Mayan people. He was patient but also was sure to keep us on pace. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Hugh D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a very good tour. There were only 6 of us altogether. Our guide picked us up and dropped us back to our hotel in Merida as well as showing us around Uxmal and Kabah. He was helpful, enthusiastic and knowledgeable but also let us enjoy the day without overloading us. Excellent and good value.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

ronald c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great day absent of crowds but spectacular guide was very informative and you can climb stairs and get a real feel of Uxmal. Kabah was a surprise small but impressive and the arch is worth the trip.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Robert B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a great tour and much better than Chichen Itza. The ruins are much more extensive, you can climb on most of them and there are far fewer tourists.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Eli K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Amazing and full day! Our guide was bilingual and very informative. There is even an opportunity to climb some of the ruins!

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Dorothy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a wonderful tour, led by a knowledgeable guide who was both personable and professional and who spoke very good English. The structures were very impressive, both from the standpoint of the original Mayan builders and of the archaeologists who reconstructed them. Well worth the visit.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Francis C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

great trip, great guide, will rate in more detail on Tripadvisor

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Charles H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

In awe at the start!

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Livia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our guide Raoul was AMAZING, he knew so much was really good at communicating it. Definately book this tour.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

bbarragans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very interesting and beautiful tour. Kabah and Uxmal are amazing places. Lunch was also very good, a big and delicious buffet in a lodge close to Uxmal's entrance. We had a great day, I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Rima K Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is more interesting than Chichen Itza in some ways, depending on your interests. Kalahari is a small site but worth seeing. The views you get from the palace at Uxmal are worth the walk up. Our guide, Agusto, was very good also amiable and knows the sites well.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Eliran K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The trip was very interesting, educational, and enjoyable.
We were picked up on time, but were joined with another group as our designated guide was sick. In total, we were 5 couples (10 people), joined by Augusto the guide, who was very knowledgeable and answered all our questions. Though his accent was not so easy to digest, he provided us with plenty of information on Kabah and Uxmal and was very interesting to hear.

Lunch was good, transportation was OK, and we kept good time.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Dinu T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This was a very interesting and well organized tour.
The guide, Francisco was very friendly and provided all the information about Uxmal and Kabah.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Monique S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

It was an excellent tour. Very interesting sites and wonderful tour guide.
these sites are less well known but are well worth the visit.
Having a tour guide who is passionate and knowledgable makes all the difference.
I would highly recommend it

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Ken P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Combining Kabah and Uxmal was definitely the way to go. They are both fascinating in their own way and Augusto, our guide, did a wonderful job explaining everything, and answering our questions in great detail. The hotel was great (and very uncrowded for this time of year). Wonderful staff, great pool, and plenty of birds to listen to around the pool.

Doing what: 2-Day Uxmal Tour from Merida

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message