Merida is a city that captivates many visitors so much that they decide to stay: it’s a haven for expatriates from the U.S., Canada, and Europe. The colonial center holds plenty of charms, including nightly music performances in various parks seven ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 113 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Linda R United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This trip was terrific! Our guide, Wilbur, was very knowledgeable and friendly. We saw thousands of flamingos on the boat ride, and we got quite close so we could take photos and enjoy the experience. When we went through the mangroves, Wilbur proved he was good at spotting birds and wildlife: we saw coatis, a green kingfisher, and a black and white warbler. Lunch was also good--because you purchase it separately from the tour, you get to order whatever you want. Try the ceviche.

Doing what: Day Trip to Celestun: Flamingos, Mangrove Boat Ride and Tampeten Petrified Forest

Joan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Gustavo was a great guide, full of knowledge about Merida, the market, and the cuisine of the Yucatan. After filling our bags at the market, and double checking the shopping list, we were off to Bertha's house and kitchen. What an experience! There were four of us on the tour, and over the next couple of hours, we took turns preparing our ingredients and being at the stove, always with Gustavo explaining the flavors and the techniques. At last, we sat at the table together, new friends enjoying our feast. A memorable experience for those who want to be part of the action in Merida.

Doing what: Merida Market Tour and Cooking Class

Stephan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Very good organization and an amazing guide who really enjoyed what he was doing, it was just a great day!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

amcapuzzi2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Beyond my expectations. We saw thousands of flamingos in large flocks just like the picture. No petrified forest but we had a delicious lunch.

Doing what: Day Trip to Celestun: Flamingos, Mangrove Boat Ride and Tampeten Petrified Forest

amcapuzzi2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Everything about this tour was fabulous. The hotel was amazing. It was a pleasure to stay there for the evening and next day.

Doing what: 2-Day Uxmal Tour from Merida

Stephen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is absolutely a bucket list experience totally other-worldly. Can't swim not a problem with a life vest. Easy to get in and out of the water. There are thousands of cenotes in the Yucatan, but the ones on this trip are the best. Great facilities with restrooms, changing areas, and a restaurant. Woman making fresh tortillas right next to restaurant. Loved it!

Doing what: Acanceh Ruins and Cuzama Cenotes Tour from Merida

Christopher B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Alejandro met us promptly and explained the day to us. We would begin at the famous market to get our food and spices. We had been there the day before but Alejandro made it a new experience. He provided a wealth of knowledge as he purchased the items and helped us find goods. He then drove to the outskirts of Merida where we met Berta where we took over her kitchen. We then helped to prepare our lunch learning secrets of how it is done. Rick Bayliss could not have done better. Alejo was great with a most unique back story. By the way our class was just my wife and a good friend!

Doing what: Merida Market Tour and Cooking Class

Kathleen J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Absolutely FABULOUS day. Major highlight of our trip to Merida. Thank you Alehendro for your well planned, informative and fun filled tour!

Doing what: Merida Market Tour and Cooking Class

Vanessa R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We took the Merida market and cooking class tour and we highly recommend it! Our guide Gustavo was fun, entertaining and very knowledgeable of the area and the Yucatán culuture. Our host/teacher Berta was very kind. We are honored to have met such a warm people on this trip thanks to Viator.

Doing what: Merida Market Tour and Cooking Class

b.rotter

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing and fun. Swimming in the cenotes is an experience everyone should have.

Doing what: Acanceh Ruins and Cuzama Cenotes Tour from Merida

Rosa G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tour guy was excellent.

Doing what: Acanceh Ruins and Cuzama Cenotes Tour from Merida

Tomer G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Highly recommended! The tour was held in a very casual and comfortable manner and the guide knows A LOT about Yucatan history and culture he also works as a city tour guide!.

The cooking session at Donna Alberta's house was intimate and very enjoyable. If you managed to find this tour and read this review, I think this tour is exactly what you were looking for.

Doing what: Merida Market Tour and Cooking Class

Carolina Joan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was an amazing experience and the tour guide was fascinating story teller.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

jolynnemjcarlson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing! Our tour guide Alejo was warm, knowledgable, and very hospitable. Answered so many questions, and taught us how to make 6 different things. It was like cooking with an old friend and catching up. Seriously a major highlight of our entire trip was this tour.

Doing what: Merida Market Tour and Cooking Class

Victoria G Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour and would encourage anyone visiting Merida for a few days to try it. We bought provisions with Eric, our guide, at the central market - a place we wouldn and #39;t have found on our own, then headed to Berthe and #39;s house to help her prepare a traditional Mayan meal. Priceless!

Doing what: Merida Market Tour and Cooking Class

Mario O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Chichen Itza has become very commercialized and overrun with tourists. I was hoping that with the heat and humidity, there wouldn't be that many people. I was wrong. I couldn't get a decent picture without photobombers. Other than that Mayaland Tours did a good job with comfortable transportation, good guide Wilbert and decent lunch included. I would still highly recommend this tour despite all.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Ryan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing experience, highly recommend it. Our guide Wilberth spoke great English, was prompt and provided a great ride and tour through the site. No complaints.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Ryan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We loved this excursion! An amazing time swimming in 3 different cenotes and the trip there was very interesting too, passing through several villages and seeing Mayan ruins and historic churches. Our guide was great - friendly and he spoke good English.

Doing what: Acanceh Ruins and Cuzama Cenotes Tour from Merida

Rosie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour itself was amazing! I'm giving the tour FIVE stars because the Cenotes are definitely breathtaking and the ride on the carriage was a very unique experience. However, we were very disappointed and dissatisfied with the tour guide/driver we had. His name is Cesar and works for Maya Tours. We were the only 2 people in the tour and he mentioned several times that she was not supposed to work that day and all he wanted to do was spend the day with his family. He is a wreckless driver with a very vulgar sense of humor who thought making dirty jokes to me and my husband was a good idea. I do recommend this tour but I would would make sure you request a more professional tour guide.

Doing what: Acanceh Ruins and Cuzama Cenotes Tour from Merida

Selena T Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was more than I expected including my stay at Hacienda Uxmal!!!

Doing what: 2-Day Uxmal Tour from Merida

Sean M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Beautiful grounds they do a great job of maintaining the site. One thing that is surprising is that there is much more to see than just the Chicken Itza pyramid. The site is like a campus, with lots of buildings. Every walkway is filled with shops to buy from local artisans. The buffet has a lot of choices, but not gluten-free. If you need gluten-free, they can make it for you. They also have a vegetarian section. Our guide was Augusto, who spoke decent English.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

ronald c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

It would be hard not to rate chichi high as it is a spectacular property. My guide, Agusto, was very good and the buffet lunch was varied and also very good. A day well spent

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Tomasz J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

On time
Friendly driver
Perfect guide

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Karen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had a wonderful afternoon on our private tour since the other bookings didn't show. The walk through the market was all I could hope for since I really wanted to understand all the spices and produce so I could experiment during our two month stay here. Alejandro explained all and more. He has a real passion for food, his city and culture. Our hosts were wonderful, gracious, inviting and very excellent cooks. I would highly recommend this tour, it is an afternoon well spent since we learned so much about the local food and the wonderful people of this great city. Karen and Rob

Doing what: Merida Market Tour and Cooking Class

Dianna F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour is amazing! Alejo was very knowledgeable about Yucatecan culture and food. He explained everything and made sure we understood things as we did it. The market was fun and Doñabierta (sure I misspelled that) was a very gracious host and the food couldn and #39;t be better-that we cooked! Do it now!

Doing what: Merida Market Tour and Cooking Class

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message