Merida is a city that captivates many visitors so much that they decide to stay: it’s a haven for expatriates from the U.S., Canada, and Europe. The colonial center holds plenty of charms, including nightly music performances in various parks seven ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 91 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Tomer G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Highly recommended! The tour was held in a very casual and comfortable manner and the guide knows A LOT about Yucatan history and culture he also works as a city tour guide!.

The cooking session at Donna Alberta's house was intimate and very enjoyable. If you managed to find this tour and read this review, I think this tour is exactly what you were looking for.

Doing what: Merida Market Tour and Cooking Class

Carolina Joan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was an amazing experience and the tour guide was fascinating story teller.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

jolynnemjcarlson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing! Our tour guide Alejo was warm, knowledgable, and very hospitable. Answered so many questions, and taught us how to make 6 different things. It was like cooking with an old friend and catching up. Seriously a major highlight of our entire trip was this tour.

Doing what: Merida Market Tour and Cooking Class

Victoria G Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour and would encourage anyone visiting Merida for a few days to try it. We bought provisions with Eric, our guide, at the central market - a place we wouldn and #39;t have found on our own, then headed to Berthe and #39;s house to help her prepare a traditional Mayan meal. Priceless!

Doing what: Merida Market Tour and Cooking Class

Mario O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Chichen Itza has become very commercialized and overrun with tourists. I was hoping that with the heat and humidity, there wouldn't be that many people. I was wrong. I couldn't get a decent picture without photobombers. Other than that Mayaland Tours did a good job with comfortable transportation, good guide Wilbert and decent lunch included. I would still highly recommend this tour despite all.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Ryan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing experience, highly recommend it. Our guide Wilberth spoke great English, was prompt and provided a great ride and tour through the site. No complaints.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Ryan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We loved this excursion! An amazing time swimming in 3 different cenotes and the trip there was very interesting too, passing through several villages and seeing Mayan ruins and historic churches. Our guide was great - friendly and he spoke good English.

Doing what: Acanceh Ruins and Cuzama Cenotes Tour from Merida

Rosie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour itself was amazing! I'm giving the tour FIVE stars because the Cenotes are definitely breathtaking and the ride on the carriage was a very unique experience. However, we were very disappointed and dissatisfied with the tour guide/driver we had. His name is Cesar and works for Maya Tours. We were the only 2 people in the tour and he mentioned several times that she was not supposed to work that day and all he wanted to do was spend the day with his family. He is a wreckless driver with a very vulgar sense of humor who thought making dirty jokes to me and my husband was a good idea. I do recommend this tour but I would would make sure you request a more professional tour guide.

Doing what: Acanceh Ruins and Cuzama Cenotes Tour from Merida

Selena T Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was more than I expected including my stay at Hacienda Uxmal!!!

Doing what: 2-Day Uxmal Tour from Merida

Sean M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Beautiful grounds they do a great job of maintaining the site. One thing that is surprising is that there is much more to see than just the Chicken Itza pyramid. The site is like a campus, with lots of buildings. Every walkway is filled with shops to buy from local artisans. The buffet has a lot of choices, but not gluten-free. If you need gluten-free, they can make it for you. They also have a vegetarian section. Our guide was Augusto, who spoke decent English.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

ronald c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

It would be hard not to rate chichi high as it is a spectacular property. My guide, Agusto, was very good and the buffet lunch was varied and also very good. A day well spent

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Tomasz J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

On time
Friendly driver
Perfect guide

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Karen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had a wonderful afternoon on our private tour since the other bookings didn't show. The walk through the market was all I could hope for since I really wanted to understand all the spices and produce so I could experiment during our two month stay here. Alejandro explained all and more. He has a real passion for food, his city and culture. Our hosts were wonderful, gracious, inviting and very excellent cooks. I would highly recommend this tour, it is an afternoon well spent since we learned so much about the local food and the wonderful people of this great city. Karen and Rob

Doing what: Merida Market Tour and Cooking Class

Dianna F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour is amazing! Alejo was very knowledgeable about Yucatecan culture and food. He explained everything and made sure we understood things as we did it. The market was fun and Doñabierta (sure I misspelled that) was a very gracious host and the food couldn and #39;t be better-that we cooked! Do it now!

Doing what: Merida Market Tour and Cooking Class

Eli K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Perfect day! Courteous mini van driver. Boat tour was amazing.got as close as possible to the flamingos and alligators. Beach and drinks were great finish to a perfect day!

Doing what: Day Trip to Celestun: Flamingos, Mangrove Boat Ride and Tampeten Petrified Forest

Eli K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We were the only ones on the mini va. Our driver and tour guide was very informative and caring!

Doing what: Acanceh Ruins and Cuzama Cenotes Tour from Merida

eduardobrito

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour. Not too many flamingos out and about, but the mangroves were great and lunch in Celestun was a pleasure. Would do it again

Doing what: Day Trip to Celestun: Flamingos, Mangrove Boat Ride and Tampeten Petrified Forest

valerie.teopy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our Guide's name is Delio and he's amazing! and funny. He tells a great history of the mayans that we never knew. He also warned us about how people there will be selling their products and never once pushed us to buy anything. If he does, he'll always show you that he has those products he bought for himself and his family, and those items are worth it.

If you intend to purchase anything, please either bring enough cash or a credit card.

Overall this was a great tour at a great price.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

mary frances f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was one of the highlights of our trip to Merida! We highly recommend The market tour and cooking class. Ricardo met us and took us not only to the market, but pointed out many interesting sites along the way. We shopped and then went to a lady's home and cooked delicious food. It is memorable.
We highly recommend this activity!!

Doing what: Merida Market Tour and Cooking Class

peter b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Good tour. Friendly and informative guide. Interesting to cook with a local in her home.

Doing what: Merida Market Tour and Cooking Class

bbarragans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is the most amazing tour I've ever done. Acanceh ruins are not very big but are VERY interesting. The centotes are just incredible, the tructruc little cart pulled by a horse drive through the hacienda is fun, and swimming in the cenotes is a fantastic experience. Great tour, incredible experience!

Doing what: Acanceh Ruins and Cuzama Cenotes Tour from Merida

Rima K Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

If you're going to see anything, this is it! Anyone who's interested in the history of the Yucatan should visit Chichen Itza. The guides are well informed and happy to answer questions and this day trip is well organised, with enough time to see the site and relax at lunch.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Terrence H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing site, and a really fun English-speaking tour. You definitely do not want to go to a place like this without one, because there's so much history that you can't glean from just showing up. The buffet lunch was pretty good too!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message