Uxmal Pronounced OOSH-mahl, this impressive site 50 miles from Merida is one of the best-restored and awe-inspiring archaeological sites in the Yucatán, as captivating as Chichen Itza but without the Cancun crowds.. This was the main city ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 93 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Regina I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a very interesting and informative tour. Our guide spoke very good English and devoted equal time to both English and Spanish narration. I paid for a tour that included lunch thru Viator, however the local tour company said I would have to pay for my own lunch.

Doing what: Dzibilchaltun Ruins Tour and Progreso Beach Break from Merida

Carolina Joan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was an amazing experience and the tour guide was fascinating story teller.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Needless to say, the Mayan ruins at Uxmal and Kabah are fantastic and well worth a visit. I really enjoyed this trip, much more than the Chichen Itza trip I did out of Cancun. The guides were very good, and the included lunch was an excellent three course waiter-served meal, rather than the kind of rushed buffet that one so often gets on such trips. I would definitely recommend this trip to anyone who finds themselves with a spare day while staying in Merida.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Corbet R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our day trip to Kabah and Uxmal was absolutely amazing! Our guide Agusto was incredibly knowledgable and did a great job sharing his Mayan insight about these two awesome sights. Best part of the tour: almost no people at either site! We could explore freely and it was great. Highly recommend this tour as it made travelling to this spot outside Merida a breeze!

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Mario O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Chichen Itza has become very commercialized and overrun with tourists. I was hoping that with the heat and humidity, there wouldn't be that many people. I was wrong. I couldn't get a decent picture without photobombers. Other than that Mayaland Tours did a good job with comfortable transportation, good guide Wilbert and decent lunch included. I would still highly recommend this tour despite all.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Mario O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great experience! Uxmal and Kabah is not as touristy as Chichen Itza. I would highly recommend this tour as it gives a more different feel than other ruin tours I have been before.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Mario O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a highly recommended tour. I have been on many tours to ruins before but Uxmal and Kabah is a wonderful experience. The exquisite architecture, ornamentation and the history that surrounds it is magnificent. This is a must if you are in this part of the Yucatan.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Matthew S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent trip. Many thanks to our guide, Wilbert Mayaland Tours for his knowledge and grace.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Donald R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had an enjoyable experience with our international traveling companions and our knowledgable tour guide.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Bill B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great trip. Our guide Algusto is excellent.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Ryan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing experience, highly recommend it. Our guide Wilberth spoke great English, was prompt and provided a great ride and tour through the site. No complaints.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Collin P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Besides the Mayan temples, we also visited: the Museum de Cacao though not enough time to tour it, an old abandoned sisal factory, and a Mayan home and family. Don't miss the Mayan home and family! It was our favorite part. Our guide said it was optional, and would cost a few pesos. Definitely worth it. Lunch was at the restaurant next to the hotel at Uxmal.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Selena T Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was more than I expected including my stay at Hacienda Uxmal!!!

Doing what: 2-Day Uxmal Tour from Merida

Ian K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our guide, Wilbert, was wonderful! He was very knowledgeable of the area and the history of the Mayan people. He was patient but also was sure to keep us on pace. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Sean M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Beautiful grounds they do a great job of maintaining the site. One thing that is surprising is that there is much more to see than just the Chicken Itza pyramid. The site is like a campus, with lots of buildings. Every walkway is filled with shops to buy from local artisans. The buffet has a lot of choices, but not gluten-free. If you need gluten-free, they can make it for you. They also have a vegetarian section. Our guide was Augusto, who spoke decent English.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Hugh D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a very good tour. There were only 6 of us altogether. Our guide picked us up and dropped us back to our hotel in Merida as well as showing us around Uxmal and Kabah. He was helpful, enthusiastic and knowledgeable but also let us enjoy the day without overloading us. Excellent and good value.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

ronald c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great day absent of crowds but spectacular guide was very informative and you can climb stairs and get a real feel of Uxmal. Kabah was a surprise small but impressive and the arch is worth the trip.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

ronald c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

It would be hard not to rate chichi high as it is a spectacular property. My guide, Agusto, was very good and the buffet lunch was varied and also very good. A day well spent

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Robert B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a great tour and much better than Chichen Itza. The ruins are much more extensive, you can climb on most of them and there are far fewer tourists.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Tomasz J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

On time
Friendly driver
Perfect guide

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Eli K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Amazing and full day! Our guide was bilingual and very informative. There is even an opportunity to climb some of the ruins!

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Dorothy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a wonderful tour, led by a knowledgeable guide who was both personable and professional and who spoke very good English. The structures were very impressive, both from the standpoint of the original Mayan builders and of the archaeologists who reconstructed them. Well worth the visit.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

cheryl s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Mayapan was my favorite Maya site. The buildings were so close together and approachable. You could almost visualize the way it was long ago. Mani and the Monastery were great. The Grottos were very interesting, but unexpectedly hot and humid! I always thought caves were cool.

Doing what: Hidden Treasures of the Yucatan: Mani, Mayapan, Tzabnah Grottos and Monastery of San Miguel Arcangel

Francis C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

great trip, great guide, will rate in more detail on Tripadvisor

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Charles H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

In awe at the start!

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message