Mexico City ATTRACTIONS See all

National Museum of Anthropology (Museo Nacional de Antropologia)

It’s easy to spend an entire day exploring the nearly 20 acres that make up Mexico City’s most-visited museum. Opened in 1964, the National Museum of Anthropology houses the largest collection of traditional Mexican art in the world—including the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 18 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

davjenk2 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

On this day we had the honor of having Sergio, as our tour guide. He has been a tour guide for 56 years! Need I say more. We will not ever forget Sergio and the amazing tour, as he guided us through the Mexico City sites. This was a private tour, so we were able to take our time, and stop along the way and really try to understand exactly how incredible this city is. Sergio made us feel welcome and we had a beautiful day.
We toured the Diego Rivera murals at The National Palace. Do not miss this Mexico City tour!
When your in Mexico City, this is a must! The Metropolitan Cathedral, the largest in the Americas. Beautiful! Outside the cathedral we saw the statue of Pope John-Paul II. Next was The Angel of Independence, and on to The National Museum of Anthropology. Inside the museum
Is a 1964 designed el paraguas, the umbrella, supported by a single slender pillar. SPECTACULAR!
A special thank-you to Sergio. We will not forget you my friend.

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

Nathalie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We loved our tour. What a great opportunity to see such wonders. The Chapultepec Castle is beautiful and the Anthropology Museum fascinating. Our guide Antonio was extremely knowledgeable and nice, as was Victor, is colleague :

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Chapultepec Castle Early Access plus National Museum of Anthropology in Mexico City

Sylvia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful tour and Francisco was an excellent tour guide. We started at the Museum of Anthropology. Francisco has a degree in History and he was the perfect guide to have to start to understand the fabulous history of early Mexico. He was also very helpful at the beginning of our tour when several people wanted to get a Starbucks coffee before museum and lunch at the stands outside of the museum. We then walked to the Castle of Chapultepec, when again, Francisco's knowledge of history was outstanding. The tour picks up and delivers you back to your hotel.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Chapultepec Castle Early Access plus National Museum of Anthropology in Mexico City

Helen T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fernando was amazing as the tour guide. His explanations of the murals by Diego Rivera were such as to bring them to life so as to be a most memorable experience. Again his passion for and explanations of the relics housed at the Anthropology Museum were fantastic and he is to be congratulated for not only his depth of knowledge but his ability to explain what was being seen. Tremendous and to be very much recommended.

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

We had a great time on the Mexico City tour. Our guide was very well spoken and very educated about the different things we saw. I only wish we had more time to spend at the Museum of Anthropology.

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

Dan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

I can not speak highly enough about how great this Mexico City tour was!. Our guide, Javier, was so knowledgeable and entertaining that we all had a great time. The visit to the Museum of Anthropology was the highlight of the day! A truly great Experience!!

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

Marcella S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

It was good. Our guide had to deal with another guests walking issues but all worked out. Seeing Diego Rivera murals was my highlight. Amazing talent and story telling. The anthropology museum seems a little lacking but we stayed longer on our own. Overall a good tour.

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

connyswede

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

This tour was very interesting and I learned very much by this tour. The guide was very experienced and the pace was unhurried. We had the opportunity to see the Metropolitan Cathedral, the National Palace, we had a glimpse of the Templo Mayor from outside and we could see the Aztec room of the Museum of Anthropology. As I wanted to see the rest of this museum I stayed in the afternoon to continue after lunch. If you are interested in the history of Mexico City I recommend you to join this tour!

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

Whitney L

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

Our tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable and energetic. He made sure he had his entire group throughout the tour and did a great job accommodating all the different types of people fitness levels, languages, etc..

Unfortunately the tour information was not updated, and contained the wrong meeting place. As such our tour guide was an hour late. Our tour group consisted of 41 people, which was too large to effectively hear our guide.

The tour is best for folks who are physically fit. It is a long day - lots of walking. You can't bring in water or food to the castle or the anthropology museum but you can check your bag in a locker for an inexpensive amount maybe 10 pesos. There was limited food around the area between the tour of the castle and the museum... many options for chips and dry food, but not lunch... closer towards the museum one can find a starbucks and a few booths with food. Our group didn't have breakfast and felt a bit exhausted by the time we got to the museum.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Chapultepec Castle Early Access plus National Museum of Anthropology in Mexico City

Mark W

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

I went to meet my tour guide, Francisco, at the gates of the Modern Art Museum. I had to call the tour company as he was an hour late, and had a another couple with him who only spoke Spanish. So the majority of the tour was translating back and forth between us. Had a nice visit to Chapultepec, one of the better sites in the city. We then strolled over to the Anthropology Museum and had a light lunch out front. We toured the Aztec section of the museum, you could honestly spend a day looking it all over. That about wraps it up. I thought that requesting a tour in English I would have been with a group only of English speakers guess not.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Chapultepec Castle Early Access plus National Museum of Anthropology in Mexico City

Dot

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

The title is misleading because the reason why I booked this tour is to get early access to the Chapultepec Castle. Instead, we went first to the National Museum of Anthropology in the morning and proceeded to the Castle only in the afternoon. At that time, there was a long line waiting for the tram to get to Chapultepec Castle so we spent probably an hour just waiting to get to the tram.

Other than the timing, the guide was very knowledgeable about the items in both areas and helpful about queries from our group.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Chapultepec Castle Early Access plus National Museum of Anthropology in Mexico City

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback! We have discussed this tour with our tour operator, and generally speaking the tour does run as advertised. The Guide for your tour made a decision to change the order of the visits when you traveled. The tour operator did state that does not usually happen.

We hope this information helps, and we apologize for any inconvenience. Thank you again for your feedback, and we wish you Happy Travels.

Angela S

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Great way to see the National Palace, the cathedral and the anthropology museum. But the tour guide was in a little haste since he had another tour in the afternoon, so we didn't walk around the Chapultepec area.

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

travelingtink

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

This tour was a good overview of the city highlights. Our guide had a lot of information to share and it was especially helpful to have someone explaining the artifacts and art in the museum and palace.

A couple of issues made this a less than perfect tour though. The description notes that food and drink are not included, but this notation (along with the fact that it was a five+ hour tour), we assumed there would be time to stop for lunch/drink. We did not and from 9am to 3pm had to rely on the snacks we had thankfully brought along. Having water on the hot day was also an issue; we brought our own bottled water but were not told it would be taken from us at the Palace so we didn't have any for the second half of the tour.

We did not get to walk through the Chapultepec area as advertised (our guide was older and walked slow - maybe he decided not to?) and were disappointed that we started with the Anthropology museum instead of ending with it, as we had hoped to stay after the tour and view the rest of the museum.

We were glad we took this tour instead of one of the big double-decker buses, but there are probably other companies offering a better tour of the same sites.

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

Latrese M

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2011

We did not get to see the castle in Chapultepec park and were rushed through the museum of anthropology

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

Manouchehr E

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2011

The tour was shorter than what we expected . We spent only an hour in the Museum of anthropology . i think your brochure should be more clear as to extent of tour . The tour guide Pako was very knowledgeable with very good personality .

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

Antonio A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

The tour guide was very knowledgeable but was in a hurry. We just stood in front of the president's palace and were told that the president comes out of the balcony twice a year. The ride we took tot he museum of anthropology was an old mini van which did not have air conditioning. We were seated in the back therefore we did not have a window to open,

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

Neal H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2013

We were told to be ready at 8:30 and were not picked up until 9:30. 1/3 of the tour group spoke English and did not receive a full explanation from the guide because he claimed it was too much to do. We hired our own guide at the Anthropology museum and dropped out of the tour. Mexico City is very impressive and we appreciated being taken to several of the most historic spots, but for the price, Viator has other all day excursions for the same price so this one is not a value.

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

Yuan W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

WORST TOUR EVER! There are some severe problems in communication between Viator and the local office of Amigo tour. The guide was told to meet at the monument at 9 and wait for other people until 10 if necessary. However, the email sent by Viator said that we should meet at the castle at 8:30. In fact we are warned by our friends who took the exact same tour a day ago that the guide could be 2 hour late. We thought it was a independent event but it was not. Even for people who called the office and confirmed about trip they didn't mention the monument as the meeting point. We called the office at 9am when we could't find our guide and waited with him for other 6 people for almost an hour. We found two other people who signed up for this tour at the castle, and they have waited for 1 hour and a half. There should be four more people in the tour that are probably in the same situation as us but chose not to wait. Also the local office insisted not to give us the phone number of our guide because of security purpose, which makes finding our guide even harder. It takes a long time to communicate when you have to talk to someone in the office and waited for them to call the guide, etc. Also only one or two in the local office speaks Spanish so you also have to wait in the phone. The phone call we made to find our guide lasts for at least half an hour. As for the guide, I am not satisfied because both of his english and the knowledge he has. When we are visiting the anthropology museum, I asks a number of questions based on my understanding of Maya culture. The guide, however, failed to properly answer my questions. And for most of them, he just simply said yes. And when I followed up with his answer, it turned out that he didn't really know anything about it. These are not hard questions. I did find the answers of them online easily afterwards. But he only prepares the words he is going to say, instead of gaining basic knowledge of the things he is introducing. In sum, I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS TOUR. If you couldn't find a better one, just go without any guide. The museum itself has enough english description for you to read from 8am to 5pm.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Chapultepec Castle Early Access plus National Museum of Anthropology in Mexico City

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message