Mexico City ATTRACTIONS See all

Shrine of Guadalupe

The Patron Saint of Mexico, and of all the Americas, is the Virgin of Guadalupe. According to legend, she appeared to Juan Diego Cuauhtlatoatzin on December 9, 1531. In his vision, she was a teenage girl of indigenous complexion, and spoke to the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 97 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gordon L

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

Sergio was an experienced guide and shared a wealth of information. He was 5 star. We were amazed by the pyramids and the shrine of Guadalupe and had adequate time to explore each. We did not appreciate that we were captive with 2 other stops, one at a silver store, 1 at a ruin where a painter hawked his paintings. There was a 3rd stop at a shop where artisans make polished stone decorative pieces but it was informative because there was a demonstration of how the agave cactus plant and juices are used. Lunch was not good. Poor service delayed our tour by 1 hour. If the tour had included just the advertised stops and a good lunch it would have been a 5 star tour and would not have taken 10 1/2 hours.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Rhoderick C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Jose our guide was just amazing! Very knowledgeable. We were pleasantly surprised that there were only five people on our tour - a lady from Argentina, a lady from Brazil a gentleman from France and my wife and I, two Americans. The couple of side trips that we made one to a silver store and one to an artsy and craftsy store were a welcome break from the travel and great WC breaks. Drive to the pyramids was about an hour and gave us a chance to see how people live their lives outside of the City of Mexico amazing how they build their houses on the sides of mountains. The only negative we have about the entire tour was the restaurant. We didn't realize that we could have ordered off the restaurant's menu and that the price of the meal DID NOT include drinks or gratuity. One other problem with the restaurant is that the charged two different rates for the drinks. We the Americans were charge 35 pesos for the Coke Lights, while the other people in our party who all spoke Spanish were charged 25 pesos for their drinks. Did the restaurant staff see us coming? The additional tour of the Shrine of Guadalupe was gorgeous! Beautiful. Other than the bad taste from our restaurant experience the rest of the tour was well worth the money and time.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Vikram S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The tour was really good, our guide Jose was very knowledgable and friendly, picked us at the hotel in the city on time. Pyramids are fantastic and talks a lot about the Aztec history, church experience was good but we had to rush as there is lots to see, colorful arts and crafts that depicts rich Mexican culture. Lunch was in a nice restaurant, great ambience. Jose spent a lot of time taking us to shops, we could have avoided a few of those and spent more time at the pyramids and shrine of Guadalupe.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Michael K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Great tour. Its an all day tour and be prepared for many other travelers. MAKE SURE TO REMIND THE TOUR GUIDE to ANNOUNCE to ALL the passengers before leaving the bus when they must return. We had to wait almost two hours at the pyramids because six people did not know when to get back to the bus. As a result, the tour was shortened when we went to the Shrine. The tour guide was not thinking.
Other than that, an important tour for anyone who has the time when visiting Mexico City.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

kedwards01 United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This was a very nice tour and provided a nice insight on the shrine. The tour itself was a great value for the price and the guide was very friendly.

Doing what: Shrine of Guadalupe Tour in Mexico City

Charlie United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The pyramid tour was awesome. However the Guadalupe Shrine was not good. We spent an hour at the store near the shrine. But only a half an hour with a guide.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Teotihuacan, Tlatelolco and Guadalupe Shrine Plus Xochimilco and Frida Kahlo

Jenna L

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

We were disappointed that there was time taken away from the pyramids and the shrine with other non scheduled stops like a jewelry store for an hour and a gift shop for another hour. We ended the trip early because the older people were tired. The 11 hour tour was only 9. We only spent less than an hour at the shrine and felt rushed because it was the end of the tour but the time shouldn't have ended for another 2 hours. We also made a non scheduled trip to the culture center but at least it related to the tour theme. The guide was good and knew a lot but because we had Spanish people he was going back and forth from English to Spanish every other sentence and it was hard to follow and focus on what he was saying. But impressive he did it back and forth so well.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Deana S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

The tour start late, many stops at not needed or scheduled area, stay in silver factory - don't buy a thing there, or in Kaktus shop, everything is double or triple price than in city markets. The restaurant was the last restaurant in a row , i'm not saying the food was bad but selling hot dog as sausage ... ! We came to the pyramids a few minutes before 4PM and we were expected to be in bus at 5.
You can visit Shrine of Guadalupe by public transportation and uber to pyramids will cast you around 300 one direction. If there is a three of you, your cost to pyramids will be 300 pesos on your schedule.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Alicia V

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

I booked this tour in English, but it was all in Spanish. The tour spent a lot of time shopping at sites not listed so it was really rushed when we actually got to the sites. I feel like I didn't get to see the Shrine really at all, and I certainly didn't understand what I was seeing! The tour guide and driver fought about the driver's driving skills, which was funny, but not terribly professional.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

D'Ann J

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

We were very disappointed in the time spent at the shrine and the pyramids . They did not give us any time to buy rosaries at the shrine and the stuff outside is junk. we could have shortened the time at the silver shop and onyx stores. The agave demonstration was really interesting.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Mae M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour started off on the wrong foot in that the tour company taking us on the tour had us registered at the wrong hotel. When I booked the tour online I got an email from the the host company asking for the name of the hotel in Mexico City. I typed in the name as our hotel was not on the list but it seems that our hotel has a similar name to a hotel on the list and somehow the list defaulted to the name on the list and I did not catch that. This meant we were late getting picked up by about half an hour. Once organized, we were on this tour with 10 other people plus the tour guide and driver. Our tour guide spoke English quite well and our tour was in Spanish and English.
The tour began with a visit to Plaza de las Tres Culturas. It was interesting to hear about this area in the middle of Mexico City. The ruins are of an Aztec market place and the rocks from the ruins were used to build the Church of Santiago in 1604 and is home to a huge housing complex today.
We left there and headed for Teotihuacan. If at all possible sit on the right side of the bus heading out of Mexico City to Teotihuacan, there is quite a lot to see of Mexico City and surroundings.
At Teotihuacan we were introduced to the Mexican hairless dog and also had a lesson in geology. We finally got to the ruins and this is very much a walking tour, not difficult walking but there are some steep steps before getting to the main attractions. There are also no park benches to sit and take in the view. I really enjoyed seeing the Temple of the Moon and the Temple of the Sun. They were very awe inspiring and really make you think about how did the Aztecs manage to build these pyramids? You are also free to climb these ruins. I did not climb them but my sister climbed the Temple of the moon as there were only 50 steps involved. She said they were fairly steep but some of the younger people were practically running up the steps. The Temple of the Sun had 250 steps and we did not climb them. I was glad I was able to see these ruins.
From there we stopped and had a very nice lunch. I prepaid for our lunch when I booked the trip and I would suggest that is a good idea.
Our next stop was the Shrine of Guadalupe. Wow this was an amazing church. Amazing in that it is such a modern shrine built on an ancient story. It is the most visited shrine in the world and if you are in Mexico City you should go and visit.
At the end of the tour we were not dropped at our hotel because they still had not figured out that they did not have the correct name of our hotel. Given the traffic in Mexico City the Tour operator asked if we would mind being dropped off with in about 2 blocks of our hotel. We were agreeable and they pointed us in the right direction and we wound up back at our hotel safe and sound.
Other than the glitch about our hotel I really enjoyed this tour. I thought out tour guide was friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. He spoke English very well. I think his name was Jose.
For personal information there is a lot of off and on a van that seats 12 people, a lot of walking, no places to sit while touring, plenty of washroom breaks.
I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

gsepe16

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The place is amazing! These is the largest and best pyramid I've seen in Mexico aside from Chechen Itza. As a christian born it's a must to visit The Shrine of Guadalupe, it's fulfilling to visit such sacred place as a part of the tour.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Aisha F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Long day, but well worth it! Spectacular views from the pyramids and the Shrine of Guadalupe was mind blowing!

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Catherine O United States of ... 

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

Where to begin? They said they were picking us up at 8AM at our hotel for a 9 AM rendezvous with others. That turned into 10AM at a point that was only a 30 min Uber drive from our hotel. We could have slept another 1.5 hours! the next day we were on to them so we told the guide we would meet them. She said to be there at 9:20. there was too much traffic and we texted we would be there at 9:30. She fretted and acted like it was a huge inconvenience and that she would wait for us. We got there at 9:30 and she wasn't even there yet! We had to wait another 20 minutes for her! 1. Amigo tours should explain to the traveler the pickup or meeting options. There is a big difference between 9 and 10 AM. 2. the tour was not in English - it was in English AND Spanish. No Bueno. Our family speaks both but I don't want a tour where everything is said twice. There should have been either TWO tours or TWO guide. And the way the guide did it was weird - ALL in Spanish and then released the Spanish-speakers to tour about and then all in English - and she would leave stuff out of the English part. Because she did it in 2 languages, she didn't really tell us that much. She could have been talking about the city and where we were going and the history of what we were going to see all on the bus trip. Instead, she separated us into English and Spanish-speakers, gave a 2-5 min spiel in one language followed by the other and then let us roam about. It was NOT a guided tour. I could have done all of this with a guidebook and an Uber driver. We went to Tlatelolco, where we were for maybe 10 min. She gave a very very brief overview of the place and didn't say a word about the horrible massacre that took place there. My daughter had to ask about it and even then she didn't say much. We then went to the Virgin of Guadelupe Shrine and she talked about the buildings etc but never gave the story of Juan Diego and the Virgin - which is the whole reason for the buildings!! We went to Xochimilco and she did not say ONE word about the place, why it is there, how it is used, the history - just nothing. She did better in Coayacan and the Frida Kahlo house but overall Amigo Tours does not set up an actual GUIDED tour. It's a tour with a guide who makes sure you don't get lost. The guide was super nice and made sure we were all on time but I paid for a GUIDED tour in English and I didn't get what I paid for. I will never use Amigo Tours again.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Teotihuacan, Tlatelolco and Guadalupe Shrine Plus Xochimilco and Frida Kahlo

Francisco Alvar J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was my fist time at Teotihuacan and the Shrine of Guadalupe, it was an amazing experience, great service, friendly tour and driver guys. Hardly recommended.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Nora Canada

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

Just so-so.
The good: They were timely. We went to see the shrine of Guadalupe which wasn't on my radar to go see and it would have been a shame to have missed it.
The bad: not enough explanation, especially at Teotihuacan. We ended up not even seeing the temple of Quetzacoatl which as I understand is one of the important sites after the sun and moon pyramids. This was my one chance to go see Teotihuacan and I was looking forward to it but the explanations were brief and not really all that helpful in trying to place this civilization in context. Also, they spent WAY too much time trying to get us to buy things like 1/3 of the time driving/eating, 1/3 of the time at the sites, and 1/3 of the time in stores. If you're just looking for a chauffeur, this is fine. Otherwise, would recommend booking with someone else!

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Dana M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Jose was wonderful! Very friendly, funny, and super knowledgable about Mexican history. Although it rained all day during the tour, Jose's personality made it more enjoyable. Also took us to other stops other than the pyramids and the shrine that added some context to all the history.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Ludivina R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour, very informational. Great guide and yummy lunch! Lots of walking, but worth it. I don't think enough time was spent at the Shrine of Guadalupe.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Mario USA

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful place, wonderful tour guide. A must see attraction. The visit to the Shrine of Guadalupe is very brief. The tour van driver was rude to other drivers and to police officers in the street.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Carlos C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Tour of Teotihuacan Pyramids was amazing. Would have liked to have had more time at the Shrine of Guadalupe.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

yanika

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Too much shopping, not enough information about what we were seeing. Didn't get lunch until 3pm and the food was pretty bad. Pyramids were amazing to see! Tour guide was nice enough and explained a lot, but we were carted off to different shopping things and did not spend enough time at the shrine of Guadalupe.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Great experience! Be ready for the heat though, but it was well worth the money! Tour portion to the Shrine of Guadalupe was a little short and rushed, would have loved more time spent at the shrine. But definitely recommended.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Susan M

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

The man who gave the tour Antonio was wonderful. He showed us all of the important locations at the shrine. There is no small map at the shrine to show you the sites and almost no one speaks English, so his information was critical to understanding the site. However, the location where you need to pick up the tour is not so nice. It was hard to find and the interior of the building was not well kept. They should consider picking people up at their hotel. Plus the air conditioning in the van was not working, so it was necessary to open the windows on a hot day. The shrine itself is a must see especially if you are Catholic.

Doing what: Shrine of Guadalupe Tour in Mexico City

rey_agudo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Visiting and seeing these sites was a dream come true for me, destinations ticked off my bucket list, both were breath-taking, mesmerizing and interesting. Being a Catholic by religion, visiting the Guadalupe Shrine strengthens my faith and I made sure I bought a memento to remind me of my visit, it was an awesome trip! I would love to travel and visit these sites again in the near future.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Robert B

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Two of the first three stops on this turn were shopping stops which is NOT my thing. The Teotihuacan Pyramids were fantastic. We climbed half way up the first pyramid and to the top of the second. I felt my legs on the higher one because we were at 7,000 feet. The Shrine of Guadalupe was niceto see.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message