Mexico City ATTRACTIONS See all

Shrine of Guadalupe

The Patron Saint of Mexico, and of all the Americas, is the Virgin of Guadalupe. According to legend, she appeared to Juan Diego Cuauhtlatoatzin on December 9, 1531. In his vision, she was a teenage girl of indigenous complexion, and spoke to the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 87 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mae M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour started off on the wrong foot in that the tour company taking us on the tour had us registered at the wrong hotel. When I booked the tour online I got an email from the the host company asking for the name of the hotel in Mexico City. I typed in the name as our hotel was not on the list but it seems that our hotel has a similar name to a hotel on the list and somehow the list defaulted to the name on the list and I did not catch that. This meant we were late getting picked up by about half an hour. Once organized, we were on this tour with 10 other people plus the tour guide and driver. Our tour guide spoke English quite well and our tour was in Spanish and English.
The tour began with a visit to Plaza de las Tres Culturas. It was interesting to hear about this area in the middle of Mexico City. The ruins are of an Aztec market place and the rocks from the ruins were used to build the Church of Santiago in 1604 and is home to a huge housing complex today.
We left there and headed for Teotihuacan. If at all possible sit on the right side of the bus heading out of Mexico City to Teotihuacan, there is quite a lot to see of Mexico City and surroundings.
At Teotihuacan we were introduced to the Mexican hairless dog and also had a lesson in geology. We finally got to the ruins and this is very much a walking tour, not difficult walking but there are some steep steps before getting to the main attractions. There are also no park benches to sit and take in the view. I really enjoyed seeing the Temple of the Moon and the Temple of the Sun. They were very awe inspiring and really make you think about how did the Aztecs manage to build these pyramids? You are also free to climb these ruins. I did not climb them but my sister climbed the Temple of the moon as there were only 50 steps involved. She said they were fairly steep but some of the younger people were practically running up the steps. The Temple of the Sun had 250 steps and we did not climb them. I was glad I was able to see these ruins.
From there we stopped and had a very nice lunch. I prepaid for our lunch when I booked the trip and I would suggest that is a good idea.
Our next stop was the Shrine of Guadalupe. Wow this was an amazing church. Amazing in that it is such a modern shrine built on an ancient story. It is the most visited shrine in the world and if you are in Mexico City you should go and visit.
At the end of the tour we were not dropped at our hotel because they still had not figured out that they did not have the correct name of our hotel. Given the traffic in Mexico City the Tour operator asked if we would mind being dropped off with in about 2 blocks of our hotel. We were agreeable and they pointed us in the right direction and we wound up back at our hotel safe and sound.
Other than the glitch about our hotel I really enjoyed this tour. I thought out tour guide was friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. He spoke English very well. I think his name was Jose.
For personal information there is a lot of off and on a van that seats 12 people, a lot of walking, no places to sit while touring, plenty of washroom breaks.
I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

gsepe16

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The place is amazing! These is the largest and best pyramid I've seen in Mexico aside from Chechen Itza. As a christian born it's a must to visit The Shrine of Guadalupe, it's fulfilling to visit such sacred place as a part of the tour.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Aisha F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Long day, but well worth it! Spectacular views from the pyramids and the Shrine of Guadalupe was mind blowing!

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Catherine O United States of ... 

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

Where to begin? They said they were picking us up at 8AM at our hotel for a 9 AM rendezvous with others. That turned into 10AM at a point that was only a 30 min Uber drive from our hotel. We could have slept another 1.5 hours! the next day we were on to them so we told the guide we would meet them. She said to be there at 9:20. there was too much traffic and we texted we would be there at 9:30. She fretted and acted like it was a huge inconvenience and that she would wait for us. We got there at 9:30 and she wasn't even there yet! We had to wait another 20 minutes for her! 1. Amigo tours should explain to the traveler the pickup or meeting options. There is a big difference between 9 and 10 AM. 2. the tour was not in English - it was in English AND Spanish. No Bueno. Our family speaks both but I don't want a tour where everything is said twice. There should have been either TWO tours or TWO guide. And the way the guide did it was weird - ALL in Spanish and then released the Spanish-speakers to tour about and then all in English - and she would leave stuff out of the English part. Because she did it in 2 languages, she didn't really tell us that much. She could have been talking about the city and where we were going and the history of what we were going to see all on the bus trip. Instead, she separated us into English and Spanish-speakers, gave a 2-5 min spiel in one language followed by the other and then let us roam about. It was NOT a guided tour. I could have done all of this with a guidebook and an Uber driver. We went to Tlatelolco, where we were for maybe 10 min. She gave a very very brief overview of the place and didn't say a word about the horrible massacre that took place there. My daughter had to ask about it and even then she didn't say much. We then went to the Virgin of Guadelupe Shrine and she talked about the buildings etc but never gave the story of Juan Diego and the Virgin - which is the whole reason for the buildings!! We went to Xochimilco and she did not say ONE word about the place, why it is there, how it is used, the history - just nothing. She did better in Coayacan and the Frida Kahlo house but overall Amigo Tours does not set up an actual GUIDED tour. It's a tour with a guide who makes sure you don't get lost. The guide was super nice and made sure we were all on time but I paid for a GUIDED tour in English and I didn't get what I paid for. I will never use Amigo Tours again.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Teotihuacan, Tlatelolco and Guadalupe Shrine Plus Xochimilco and Frida Kahlo

Francisco Alvar J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was my fist time at Teotihuacan and the Shrine of Guadalupe, it was an amazing experience, great service, friendly tour and driver guys. Hardly recommended.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Nora Canada

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

Just so-so.
The good: They were timely. We went to see the shrine of Guadalupe which wasn't on my radar to go see and it would have been a shame to have missed it.
The bad: not enough explanation, especially at Teotihuacan. We ended up not even seeing the temple of Quetzacoatl which as I understand is one of the important sites after the sun and moon pyramids. This was my one chance to go see Teotihuacan and I was looking forward to it but the explanations were brief and not really all that helpful in trying to place this civilization in context. Also, they spent WAY too much time trying to get us to buy things like 1/3 of the time driving/eating, 1/3 of the time at the sites, and 1/3 of the time in stores. If you're just looking for a chauffeur, this is fine. Otherwise, would recommend booking with someone else!

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Dana M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Jose was wonderful! Very friendly, funny, and super knowledgable about Mexican history. Although it rained all day during the tour, Jose's personality made it more enjoyable. Also took us to other stops other than the pyramids and the shrine that added some context to all the history.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Ludivina R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour, very informational. Great guide and yummy lunch! Lots of walking, but worth it. I don't think enough time was spent at the Shrine of Guadalupe.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Mario USA

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful place, wonderful tour guide. A must see attraction. The visit to the Shrine of Guadalupe is very brief. The tour van driver was rude to other drivers and to police officers in the street.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Carlos C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Tour of Teotihuacan Pyramids was amazing. Would have liked to have had more time at the Shrine of Guadalupe.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

yanika

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Too much shopping, not enough information about what we were seeing. Didn't get lunch until 3pm and the food was pretty bad. Pyramids were amazing to see! Tour guide was nice enough and explained a lot, but we were carted off to different shopping things and did not spend enough time at the shrine of Guadalupe.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Great experience! Be ready for the heat though, but it was well worth the money! Tour portion to the Shrine of Guadalupe was a little short and rushed, would have loved more time spent at the shrine. But definitely recommended.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Susan M

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

The man who gave the tour Antonio was wonderful. He showed us all of the important locations at the shrine. There is no small map at the shrine to show you the sites and almost no one speaks English, so his information was critical to understanding the site. However, the location where you need to pick up the tour is not so nice. It was hard to find and the interior of the building was not well kept. They should consider picking people up at their hotel. Plus the air conditioning in the van was not working, so it was necessary to open the windows on a hot day. The shrine itself is a must see especially if you are Catholic.

Doing what: Shrine of Guadalupe Tour in Mexico City

rey_agudo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Visiting and seeing these sites was a dream come true for me, destinations ticked off my bucket list, both were breath-taking, mesmerizing and interesting. Being a Catholic by religion, visiting the Guadalupe Shrine strengthens my faith and I made sure I bought a memento to remind me of my visit, it was an awesome trip! I would love to travel and visit these sites again in the near future.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Robert B

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Two of the first three stops on this turn were shopping stops which is NOT my thing. The Teotihuacan Pyramids were fantastic. We climbed half way up the first pyramid and to the top of the second. I felt my legs on the higher one because we were at 7,000 feet. The Shrine of Guadalupe was niceto see.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Michael M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Great tour. Appreciated the expert knowledge from our tour guide, Tony. Everyone else on the tour was really nice, so it turned out to be a great opportunity to meet others. A couple of the pit stops along the way dragged on I would have preferred to spend more time at the actual pyramids. I think perhaps we spent too little time at the pyramids and too much time at the shrine. All in all, a really fun and full day!

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Chloe G

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

The tour guide was very knowledgeable.

However, I didn't like the stops we made before actually getting out to the Pyramids and the Basilica. I wasn't interested in buying anything on this trip - just going to see the Pyramids and Shrine.

I also did not like the restaurant for lunch - the food was average at best, which is hard to do in Mexico since the food is typically outstanding

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Michael F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great overview of the Teotihuacan Pyramids and the Shrine. They added stops at a few vendors along the way, which apart from large tourist shops, gave us ample bathroom and refreshment breaks.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Rinya K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The guide, Frank is quite professional. I understand the Mexican history related with Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Fiona B

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Pyramids themselves were wonderful, a real highlight of our trip. The shrine was excellent. Tour guide was fun and knowledgable. However we had already been on the bus for some 4 hours by the time we arrived at the pyramids due to shopping stops at a silver shop and cactus farm along the way. A much longer day than it should have been. If booking the no lunch option it should be clearer that you will be taken to eat at the same restaurant with everyone else on the tour, so there is no advantage to not book the lunch.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Mike G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour guide, very informative and great opportunity to see the pyramids and the shrine.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

minimize940314

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent Tour. Olympus tour did perfect job. We went to plaza de las tres culturas first. Then we stopped at silver souvenir shop. It was not fun but they offered free drink and free souvenir per person, and we spent very little time. Then we visited Shrine of Guadalupe. We both visited old and new cathedrals. Then we went to restaurant, and the lunch was very delicious. Finally we visited teotihuacan and had guided tour, then almost 1 hour free time to explore. That was the end of tour. Great tour that would not let you down. My guide was very informative and friendly. Driver did nice job avoiding most of traffic jams.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Jose C Rodriguez USA

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

We enjoyed this tour. The order was changed, we went to the Shrine of Guadalupe first and then the Teotihuacan Pyramids. This actually worked better becuase of the traffic.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Ken M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This is a must see if traveling to Mexico City. My tour guide was excellent and I learned a lot about the history of Mexico. I had ample time to clime to the top of the Sun Pyramid. The Shrine of Guadalupe was also good because it was on a Sunday and I saw presentations by the local people.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Steven P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Once you get to the pyramids the view is overwhelming. Amazing! The thing you need to know about this tour is that it doesn't just take you to the pyramids and the Shrine of Guadalupe. There were 3 stops before we ever got to the pyramids with an opportunity to shop around for 30 minutes. I'm not saying it was bad but it's good to know going in. Bring lots of extra pesos with you.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message