Mexico City ATTRACTIONS See all

Teotihuacan Pyramids

Just north of Mexico City are the mysterious Teotihuacán Pyramids, built in 300 BC as the centerpiece of an enormous city that is often compared to ancient Rome. They were inexplicably abandoned centuries before the arrival of the Aztecs, who ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 469 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Dana M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Jose was wonderful! Very friendly, funny, and super knowledgable about Mexican history. Although it rained all day during the tour, Jose's personality made it more enjoyable. Also took us to other stops other than the pyramids and the shrine that added some context to all the history.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Joel F United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a great tour to take to experience the Teotihuacan Pyramids and the Basilica of Guadalupe, along with the ruins of Tlatelolco. We were picked up from our hotel earlier than we were told, luckily we were ready, and joined a bus full of tourists from North and South America to these three landmark locations. Our favorite part was visiting the Teotihuacan Pyramids, and climbing to the top of the Sun Pyramid. The tour guide was informative each step of the way, and made sure all the tourists' questions were answered. This is a very long day -- in the end it was about 12 hours long heavy traffic and some rain slowed us down, but there were multiple breaks along the way. Good value, and a fun time.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Basilica of Guadalupe

Sheralyn G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful tour, and I highly recommend it!

The bus that arrived was clean and comfortable, our guide was friendly and very knowledgeable, and the pyramids were incredible! Well worth the money for this tour - although we'd heard that one can take public transportation to get to these pyramids, since we don't speak Spanish AND had kids along, the tour made our trip there so much easier than the alternative would have been - plus, we benefited from the knowledge of our guide as he shared many facts and stories about the temples.

Also, the restaurant where they brought us to for lunch had great food - we did not eat at their buffet, but ordered a la carte off the menu instead - delicious, and they even had entertainment during our meal :

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

leighlwilson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was an excellent choice for touring the pyramids! The tour operator confirmed my pickup time via email the night before, and they arrived at my hotel before 6am. I highly recommend arriving early - we were one of only 2 or 3 groups at the site very early. Not only do you avoid the crowds, but also the high heat of the day. Our guide, Leonardo, was excellent as well. Very knowledgeable and excellent English. We had a nice lunch and bus ride back to the city. Everything ran very smoothly. I definitely recommend this option for seeing Teotihuacan!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

moti.goldshtein

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour, the guide was fluent and always willing to explain more and answer additional questions. Leaving early was definitely worth it, as we we were the first group there and were able to visit both pyramids before the large crowd arrived...

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Erin C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We had a great experience on this tour. The tour guide was highly knowledgeable and the pyramids were just amazing. We also loved the stop over for lunch. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

TracyO United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The tour was great overall. I rated it only four stars as there were places at the pyramids that were closed. I believe that this information should be provided upon booking.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

JAIME L

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Excellent, yet straining tour. Pick-up is very early in the morning. Once in the pyramids, the guide will walk you to the main sites. Be prepared to walk three to five kilometers in the span of three hours. Bring good walking shows. If you are coming in the summer, temperatures can be chilly, bring a good rain coat or umbrella. Don't forget your sunscreen as well. The restaurant choice for lunch was forgettable, but this portion of the tour was very good. No pushy sales pitches, informative guide, and a one in a lifetime experience seeing one of the greatest historical sites in the world. The second portion of the tour, in Mexico City's historical city center is much shorter, perhaps 90min. We visited the government palace and the guide was extremely knowledgeable in explaining Diego Rivera's murals. A real masterpiece that allows you to better understand Mexico. The main cathedral is also stunning, with its gold gilded sculpture and its leaning columns. Most buildings in the historical centers are leaning due to the sandy ground and a succession of earthquakes. Quite amazing and definitely a recommended experience.

Doing what: Mexico City in One Day: Teotihuacan Pyramids Early Access and Historical City Sightseeing Tour

Barbara J

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

This was the best of the three tours we did in Mexico. But the wonderful archeologist talked very little about the history of the Aztecs and I learned very little from him. My grandchildren loved climbing the pyramids and seeing the pyramids was very exciting. Because it was an early tour, very few other tourists were there and that was very nice.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Michael R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

I have rarely provided a 1 star rating mainly because I have used Tripadvisor to research my travels and have had overall success with Viator but I had several issues with this tour.
1. The tour pick-up time was set at 6:20 but I was told that it would be confirmed 24 hrs ahead of the tour. The night before the tour I sent an email indicating that I had not received a confirmation. While I was sleeping an email was sent indicating 6:30AM pickup. I was early as the email requested but the driver did not arrive until 7AM.
2. The advertisement for the tour says that the group size will be no more then 20 people. This tour had at least 40 with 1 tour guide and no audio system.
3. The advertisement says with a private archaeologist. I doubt that our guide was an archaeologist. He was a good guide but I gained as much information from reading the signs as he provided. He did not use any of the travel time to prepare us for the tour.
4. The site was fantastic but we only spent 2 hrs and 15 minutes at the site.
5. We were taken to a place after the site visit which was basically a gift shop. There was a pretense that we were learning about the making of alcohol, fabrics, and obsidian. The learning portion was a canned presentation lasting about 10 minutes which was a pretext for buying something in their shop. There was no real craft work being done at this location.

The restaurant was a positive experience due to a helpful and gracious waiter and a fun group of people that formed during the tour.

The net is that the Pyramids are a must see but your may want to look for another tour operator.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Kristina N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Miguel is a fantastic tour guide!! Knowledgeable, interesting and full of excitement. The pyramids were great but the host really made it :

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Marija C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Miguel was our guide and we had a very nice time with him, and learned a lot about the Pyramids.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Basilica of Guadalupe

Gabe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great trip! Our tour guide was entertaining, knowledgeable, kind and funny. He gave us enough time to explore the sites and we were even treated to different fermented beverages made from maguey at Teotihuacan. Our trip ended at a buffet that had wonderful food! I highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Basilica of Guadalupe

Joy B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

I thought the tour of the pyramids was great. Our guide, Leonardo, was fantastic. We stayed way too long at the shop and restaurant. That could be cut by at least an hour as it made for a day that was too long. Except for that, everything else was good. Loved the stop for water and snacks. I recommend you dress in layers, wear good shoes, and bring a hat because the sun will punish you as the tour goes on.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Dai V

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Details about pick up at your hotel not clear, had to call several times through out the day and was told they havent gotten the schedule yet, finally we had to meet at the office. The tour was good, not bad for the price. the Teotihuacan Pyramids and Basilica of Gaudalupe is a must see when in mexico city.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Basilica of Guadalupe

Jose J. A

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

40 of the tour is devoted to activities other than the Teotihuacan site.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Sara H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

In hindsight, we would not choose to take this tour. The tour makes it easy to see the Pyramids, but there is not a lot to be gained by a bilingual tour guide, as little is known about the people who built them. The rest is a tourist trap, and my boyfriend did not eat the lunch because it was gross.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Irina K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

The title of this tour is misleading. You are not getting a tour from a Private Archaeologist, just a simple guide who knows about as much information as you can read in a guide book. The guide was nice and made an effort, but he was unable to weave a narrative or provide any information on excavations or other archaeological facts. The pyramids are gorgeous and definitely worth visiting, the tour was just OK, especially since we made an unscheduled stop at a large store where they attempted to sell us tequila and overpriced merchandise. Thanks, but no thanks.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Carmen S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

I was disappointed on this tour. First of all it tested my patience, we had to wait for others to be transferred to our bus then the tour guide did not stick to his well leave you if your 10 minutes late waiting for other people on tour to stay longer in our time at the basilica causing us to be late for Teotihuacan. Then to top it off our lunch was too long, almost two hours long causing us to get to the archaeological site when it was pouring rain. You could see it on the other people's faces they were disappointed we spent too much time eating when it was dry while we had only an hour or less of dry weather. The return was not organized, waiting at one hotel while other people were transferred onto taxis back to their hotels. Some people got upset and Ubered back to their hotels.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Basilica of Guadalupe

Rick G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide, Leonardo, was top notch. We took the early morning Teotihuacan pyramids tour and beat the crowd. Leonardo was very knowledgeable and answered all of our questions. We felt like if we and #39;d known him for a long time.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Washington L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was marvellous. The excursion, the guide, very atencious .
I love the pyramids, everything wonderful!

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Kevin N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wow, what an experience we had a blast. It and #39;s not everyday that you fly in a hot air balloon over an Aztec pyramid. We got pick up at the hotel were at the place in about an hour and were in the air pretty quick once we got there. Plenty of time in the balloon and view was amazing.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids Hot-Air Balloon Tour

Simon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really informative and well organised tour. Our guide Miguel was full of fascinating history and facts about Mexico and Teotihuacan - much much more than we would have expected. As many others have written, making the effort to get there early is well rewarded with cooler weather, zero crowds and less intensive selling from the locals. As we left at 2pm the crowds were building and more and more sellers arriving. A great tour - thanks Miguel

Doing what: Private Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids Day Trip from Mexico City with an Archeologist

Karl M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour! Teotihuacan is unforgettable and makes for a great day trip from Mexico City. We had a wonderful tour guide who was very knowledgeable. The restaurant that they stop at shortly after leaving Teotihuacan had great food. I recommend the Aztec soup to everyone. Overall, I would highly recommend this trip to others who are looking to learn more about Mexico's precolonial history.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Jessica G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My friend nor I have ever been up in a hot-air balloon before, so no matter what this was going to be a tour for the books! Saying that, how can you beat floating over ancient pyramids and getting a view like no other? We had booked the tour with an english speaking guide, and were disappointed that one was not in fact provided for us. I would say do not rely on having an english speaking guide, but ours didn't speak much anyway he was just focused on giving us the best views possible and that was okay by us! If you want info about the pyramids with history and such, take a walking tour of Teotihuacan, and just take this tour to enjoy the magnificent views.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids Hot-Air Balloon Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message