Mexico City ATTRACTIONS See all

Teotihuacan Pyramids

Just north of Mexico City are the mysterious Teotihuacán Pyramids, built in 300 BC as the centerpiece of an enormous city that is often compared to ancient Rome. They were inexplicably abandoned centuries before the arrival of the Aztecs, who ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 542 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

unni United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was one of the most amazing tours where one could experience the grandeur of the pyramids of the Teotihuacan. Climbing the sun pyramid is not easy but the tour guide gave us ample time to climb the Sun and the Moon pyramids after giving us a taste of the climbing the easier steps at the Feathered Serpent pyramid area. A visit of the pyramids and a few hours at the Archelogy Museum is a must for any enthusiast of the Mexican civilizations.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

diannetrus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The Pyramids were amazing! Leonardo, our guide, was very knowledgeable and gave great insight. I highly recommend this to anyone visiting the area.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Bertrand V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Choosing to go early to visit the pyramids was a Wise decision ! Very good Guide!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Sharmini K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The pyramids were awesome and the tour was extremely good. The guide Jose was very knowledgeable and spoke excellent English. Fully recommend the tour.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

esmeralda t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Ligia was a top notch tour guide with every sense of the word giving details of every thing we saw and of things we didn't see. She was very informative and thorough in her information of the pyramids, the people and ongoing archealogical sights. There were five of us and she answered all of our various questions. She was also an excellent driver and we felt safe as she drove and explained everything we saw enroute to the pyramids. Ligia, thank you for the awesome tour. We learned a lot and enjoyed your warm and charming personality.

Doing what: Private Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids Day Trip from Mexico City with an Archeologist

Wanderer

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

The actual tour of the pyramids was very good, and I'd recommend it. Our guide was very friendly and knowledgeable and explained things very well. The walk/climb was well paced which is important with all the steps to climb. We were there around the time the complex opened, so there were very few people there at the beginning--many more by the end. The pickup and drop-off service was mostly on-time and efficient. But I wish they'd ditch the post-pyramids portion of the tour of stopping by a souvenir shop for a tequila tasting and lunch at a sub-par restaurant. The food was not good, and the dance and music performance was just kitschy. I realize the guide company gets kickbacks from those, but it unnecessarily added a couple of hours and no-one I spoke to thought it was a good ideathey would have preferred to just get back to Mexico City sooner.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Sam H

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

I enjoyed this tour. Well organized and the guide appeared particularly well informed. A little more background context on the way to the tour would likely have been helpful, as the guide kindly explains the various understandings by archeologists over time i.e., were the pyramids really constructed for the sun and moon?. Because there was so much information given, it was hard to know which was the old narrative vs. what is the current expert consensus. Anyway, great tour - would recommend.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Patrick C

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

What a fun and informative tour! Harrison, our expert archeologist, was animated and kept the information coming. I liked that we got here early it was cooler and almost no one in the park. Even as the day got warmer and more people arrived, it still wasn't as many people as I expected. We had plenty of time to climb the pyramids and take pictures. This place has a lot of stairs. Not just the pyramids but getting to various locations requires going up and down the stepped walls. Harrison made accommodations for some of our physically challenged people and it didn't impact the tour at all.

After a few active hours spent at the pyramids we traveled a short distance to experience a talk on the many uses of the agave plant. We sampled sips of tequila, mescal and other alcohols made from this plant. There are many places and peddlers at the pyramids from to buy local art and gifts but this place was easy to take your time and look.

From here we had a fantastic lunch at a nearby restaurant. Oh man was the food here surprisingly good. It was served buffet style, which drew my concern. But, no! The sauces were excellent and the meats done perfectly. During lunch there were musicians who oddly enough played a Chinese some for a small group of Chinese people - how'd they know this stuff? Wow! And a couple in Aztec costume provided some drumming and dance - tips are expected here. It was a great half day and a wonderful and informative experience.

So why not five stars? Well, I booked the English tour. I typically travel with no expectations so that I enjoy whatever comes. We ended up having two Spanish speaking people on this trip. Harrison was awesome to accommodate them, which meant he'd speak to us and then repeat everything to them in Spanish. I felt this dragged for us English people a bit and because he could jump from one language to the other, I sometimes wasn't listening. Just a small issue for me. Also, don't worry about getting picked up and dropped off where you need to - everything worked out perfectly.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Gordon L

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

Sergio was an experienced guide and shared a wealth of information. He was 5 star. We were amazed by the pyramids and the shrine of Guadalupe and had adequate time to explore each. We did not appreciate that we were captive with 2 other stops, one at a silver store, 1 at a ruin where a painter hawked his paintings. There was a 3rd stop at a shop where artisans make polished stone decorative pieces but it was informative because there was a demonstration of how the agave cactus plant and juices are used. Lunch was not good. Poor service delayed our tour by 1 hour. If the tour had included just the advertised stops and a good lunch it would have been a 5 star tour and would not have taken 10 1/2 hours.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Tong Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour was great. The schedule was very smooth, and both the driver and the tour guide were very helpful. The only drawback was that we did not get a chance to pick up a map before entering the park, and it took us a while to find the gate 1 to exit we entered at gate 5. It would be better to drop people off at gate 1 such that they can get a map before visiting the pyramids.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Ankur Banerjee United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I really enjoyed this tour. For starters, if you consider the cost of taking an Uber round trip and the risk of not being able to find an Uber in Teotihuacan, you're already breaking even. So the tour is actually excellent value for money. You'll be in a private group which is the size of a couple of dozen people, so the tour group size while not tiny is quite acceptable. As a result, of course you won't get a personalised step-by-step story throughout but our guide Alejandro was funny and engaging. Content of the tour is like a high-level Wikipedia entry so if you want something more intimate / in-depth you'll probably be better off with a more private small group which would be obviously more expensive. The time given to explore the two main pyramids was enough to climb up and down along with time to take pictures. At the end, there was a somewhat commercial detour to a souvenir type shop: don't shop there as the markups are crazy. Easy enough to ignore though. Not a lot of restaurant choices under Teotihuacan, which meant the restaurant we went to didn't have much choice on the menu the buffet was good enough value though.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Arianna Blythe G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Recommend going to the museum first then visiting the pyramids as you learn the basic history and then can put things into context. Glad we went early as the site begins to get incredibly busy around noon and they close certain areas off to the public.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Teotihuacán Pyramids Early-Morning Access plus City Tour

kedwards01 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a breathtaking tour that gave a great insight on Mexico's vast history. The pyramids are beautiful and a must see. The guide was great and very informative as well.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Joshua P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Was quite happy with the tour overall. Pickup was within 3 minutes of scheduled time. I felt our guide was incredibly intelligent and knowledgeable and answered all of my questions and the group's. We got to the site early, so there weren't that many people. By the end of the time at the pyramids, the crowds began to fill in. The pace was a bit fast and I would've liked more time in the park, but I understand having to hurry as there is a lot to see. We still had ample time to climb three pyramids and hear about their history, relation to nature, and the history of the people who practiced religion at Teotihuacan. The agave/tequila/obsidian store was interesting as well. I wouldn't call it a tourist trap per se, but it gets close still, I learned a lot and got to sample some delicious smooth mescal, tequila, and pulque as well as learn a lot about obsidian. The restaurant was nice, though buffet was a bit pricey - still worth it as they had some unique eats that I hadn't tried before. The transfer back to Mexico City was fine. I left my sunglasses on the bus, and Amigo Tours worked with the bus company to get them back within two days. They were very friendly to deal with and helpful in returning my lost item, even going as far as to offering to deliver it to my hotel, which says a lot about the company and the employees working there. Overall, I felt the tour was worth the money and made our visit to Teotihuacan enjoyable, entertaining, and informative.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Christina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic and not to be missed! Make the effort to get up early for the trip to the pyramids. Be aware there is A LOT of walking and climbing. It is not for the faint of heart. And wear comfortable shoes...it's essential! Lots of time to explore at the pyramids and then you are taken to a small area for explanation of liquor, textiles, carvings, and of course shopping. Lunch is on your own at the one restaurant. Buffet was 190 mx plus drinks. Or you can order a la carte. It was very good and lots to choose from.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

amendez911

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great history, you should be in form to climb the Pyramids but worth the trip

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Basilica of Guadalupe

mel_mitchell89

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What a wonderful day with our amazing guide Ligia. It makes such a difference to have an archeologist to explore the ruins with and teach you the history of the Teotihaucan people. The pyramids themselves are breathtaking. To stand so high on something so incredibly old was unbelievable. Do it!

Doing what: Private Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids Day Trip from Mexico City with an Archeologist

Rhoderick C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Jose our guide was just amazing! Very knowledgeable. We were pleasantly surprised that there were only five people on our tour - a lady from Argentina, a lady from Brazil a gentleman from France and my wife and I, two Americans. The couple of side trips that we made one to a silver store and one to an artsy and craftsy store were a welcome break from the travel and great WC breaks. Drive to the pyramids was about an hour and gave us a chance to see how people live their lives outside of the City of Mexico amazing how they build their houses on the sides of mountains. The only negative we have about the entire tour was the restaurant. We didn't realize that we could have ordered off the restaurant's menu and that the price of the meal DID NOT include drinks or gratuity. One other problem with the restaurant is that the charged two different rates for the drinks. We the Americans were charge 35 pesos for the Coke Lights, while the other people in our party who all spoke Spanish were charged 25 pesos for their drinks. Did the restaurant staff see us coming? The additional tour of the Shrine of Guadalupe was gorgeous! Beautiful. Other than the bad taste from our restaurant experience the rest of the tour was well worth the money and time.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Victor L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Teotihuacan is a must-see archaeology site just outside Mexico City. If you just want to see artifacts and reconstructed displays, the National Museum of Anthropology in Mexico City is a great treat. However, nothing can substitute the awe that you will feel during an actual visit at Teotihuacan. Me and my life visited in October and enjoyed a day of beautiful weather. Our guide Alex gave us a detailed and vivid description on how splendid this Pre-Hispanic city once was. We booked return transportation and both Alex and the driver are punctual, knowledgeable, courteous and very accommodating!

Doing what: Teotihuacan Archaeology Tour

Janet M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We toured the Teotihuacan Pyramids with Ligia, who is an incredibly knowledgeable guide. From the minute we got in her van, we were treated to many details about Mexican history and archeology, including an extra stop at an additional site on the way out of town. We talked and asked all kinds of questions all the way to the Pyramids and Ligia was very open to answer anything we were curious about. The tour itself was thorough, interesting and deeply satisfying. The pace was excellent and at our direction. She gave us plenty of time to absorb her information, Ligia has a deep understanding of the history and archeology, has excellent English and great patience! We could have done without the tequila tasting and crafts shop, but the lunch was acceptable. Ligia is very clear, professional, accessible, friendly and extremely knowledgeable- we thank her and recommend her highly.

Doing what: Private Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids Day Trip from Mexico City with an Archeologist

Vikram S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The tour was really good, our guide Jose was very knowledgable and friendly, picked us at the hotel in the city on time. Pyramids are fantastic and talks a lot about the Aztec history, church experience was good but we had to rush as there is lots to see, colorful arts and crafts that depicts rich Mexican culture. Lunch was in a nice restaurant, great ambience. Jose spent a lot of time taking us to shops, we could have avoided a few of those and spent more time at the pyramids and shrine of Guadalupe.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Michael K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Great tour. Its an all day tour and be prepared for many other travelers. MAKE SURE TO REMIND THE TOUR GUIDE to ANNOUNCE to ALL the passengers before leaving the bus when they must return. We had to wait almost two hours at the pyramids because six people did not know when to get back to the bus. As a result, the tour was shortened when we went to the Shrine. The tour guide was not thinking.
Other than that, an important tour for anyone who has the time when visiting Mexico City.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

JOSE E V

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The sights were great! Especially the pyramids. Tour guides were very knowledgeable. Huge tourist bus to the pyramids was nice. Only complaint, was that during the ride, the guide probably needed some sort of PA system so that we could hear him while he talked to us. Lunch spot was great. City tour was great and definitely recommend this package for the price.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Teotihuacán Pyramids Early-Morning Access plus City Tour

alfred.longo

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This tour was good, but not great. We booked this tour for 2 persons. We were the only two people on this tour. We had a polite, safe driver. The included dinner was held at a typical tourist trap style buffet mediocre. Once at the site, there was a guided audio tour. At the conclusion, there was the light show which was projected onto the pyramid of the sun. If you are a first time visitor to Teotihuacan, I would recommend a daytime visit because you are able to climb the pyramids during the daytime. This tour would probably be better for people who also did the daytime experience or had previously been to the site.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Light and Sound Show with Dinner and Optional Tour

Elizabeth O

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This was a great tour. Carlos, our guide, was so knowledgeable and enthusiastic about sharing these amazing pyramids with us. Because it's a private tour, they were also flexible with the pick-up time and came right to our door. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 only because after the tour of the pyramids you're brought to a local crafts place and pressured to buy although, the crafts there were really lovely - just awfully expensive, and then you are also supposed to go to a restaurant. I preferred to go back into Mexico City for a restaurant there - but - to their credit, they were happy to skip the restaurant and took us back to the city. All in all, a great tour that I am happy to recommend!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids Day Trip from Mexico City with an Archeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message