Mexico City ATTRACTIONS See all

Teotihuacan Pyramids

Just north of Mexico City are the mysterious Teotihuacán Pyramids, built in 300 BC as the centerpiece of an enormous city that is often compared to ancient Rome. They were inexplicably abandoned centuries before the arrival of the Aztecs, who ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 528 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Tong Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour was great. The schedule was very smooth, and both the driver and the tour guide were very helpful. The only drawback was that we did not get a chance to pick up a map before entering the park, and it took us a while to find the gate 1 to exit we entered at gate 5. It would be better to drop people off at gate 1 such that they can get a map before visiting the pyramids.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Ankur Banerjee United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I really enjoyed this tour. For starters, if you consider the cost of taking an Uber round trip and the risk of not being able to find an Uber in Teotihuacan, you're already breaking even. So the tour is actually excellent value for money. You'll be in a private group which is the size of a couple of dozen people, so the tour group size while not tiny is quite acceptable. As a result, of course you won't get a personalised step-by-step story throughout but our guide Alejandro was funny and engaging. Content of the tour is like a high-level Wikipedia entry so if you want something more intimate / in-depth you'll probably be better off with a more private small group which would be obviously more expensive. The time given to explore the two main pyramids was enough to climb up and down along with time to take pictures. At the end, there was a somewhat commercial detour to a souvenir type shop: don't shop there as the markups are crazy. Easy enough to ignore though. Not a lot of restaurant choices under Teotihuacan, which meant the restaurant we went to didn't have much choice on the menu the buffet was good enough value though.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Arianna Blythe G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Recommend going to the museum first then visiting the pyramids as you learn the basic history and then can put things into context. Glad we went early as the site begins to get incredibly busy around noon and they close certain areas off to the public.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Teotihuacán Pyramids Early-Morning Access plus City Tour

kedwards01 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a breathtaking tour that gave a great insight on Mexico's vast history. The pyramids are beautiful and a must see. The guide was great and very informative as well.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Joshua P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Was quite happy with the tour overall. Pickup was within 3 minutes of scheduled time. I felt our guide was incredibly intelligent and knowledgeable and answered all of my questions and the group's. We got to the site early, so there weren't that many people. By the end of the time at the pyramids, the crowds began to fill in. The pace was a bit fast and I would've liked more time in the park, but I understand having to hurry as there is a lot to see. We still had ample time to climb three pyramids and hear about their history, relation to nature, and the history of the people who practiced religion at Teotihuacan. The agave/tequila/obsidian store was interesting as well. I wouldn't call it a tourist trap per se, but it gets close still, I learned a lot and got to sample some delicious smooth mescal, tequila, and pulque as well as learn a lot about obsidian. The restaurant was nice, though buffet was a bit pricey - still worth it as they had some unique eats that I hadn't tried before. The transfer back to Mexico City was fine. I left my sunglasses on the bus, and Amigo Tours worked with the bus company to get them back within two days. They were very friendly to deal with and helpful in returning my lost item, even going as far as to offering to deliver it to my hotel, which says a lot about the company and the employees working there. Overall, I felt the tour was worth the money and made our visit to Teotihuacan enjoyable, entertaining, and informative.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Christina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic and not to be missed! Make the effort to get up early for the trip to the pyramids. Be aware there is A LOT of walking and climbing. It is not for the faint of heart. And wear comfortable shoes...it's essential! Lots of time to explore at the pyramids and then you are taken to a small area for explanation of liquor, textiles, carvings, and of course shopping. Lunch is on your own at the one restaurant. Buffet was 190 mx plus drinks. Or you can order a la carte. It was very good and lots to choose from.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

amendez911

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great history, you should be in form to climb the Pyramids but worth the trip

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Basilica of Guadalupe

Vikram S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The tour was really good, our guide Jose was very knowledgable and friendly, picked us at the hotel in the city on time. Pyramids are fantastic and talks a lot about the Aztec history, church experience was good but we had to rush as there is lots to see, colorful arts and crafts that depicts rich Mexican culture. Lunch was in a nice restaurant, great ambience. Jose spent a lot of time taking us to shops, we could have avoided a few of those and spent more time at the pyramids and shrine of Guadalupe.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Michael K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Great tour. Its an all day tour and be prepared for many other travelers. MAKE SURE TO REMIND THE TOUR GUIDE to ANNOUNCE to ALL the passengers before leaving the bus when they must return. We had to wait almost two hours at the pyramids because six people did not know when to get back to the bus. As a result, the tour was shortened when we went to the Shrine. The tour guide was not thinking.
Other than that, an important tour for anyone who has the time when visiting Mexico City.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

JOSE E V

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The sights were great! Especially the pyramids. Tour guides were very knowledgeable. Huge tourist bus to the pyramids was nice. Only complaint, was that during the ride, the guide probably needed some sort of PA system so that we could hear him while he talked to us. Lunch spot was great. City tour was great and definitely recommend this package for the price.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Teotihuacán Pyramids Early-Morning Access plus City Tour

alfred.longo

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This tour was good, but not great. We booked this tour for 2 persons. We were the only two people on this tour. We had a polite, safe driver. The included dinner was held at a typical tourist trap style buffet mediocre. Once at the site, there was a guided audio tour. At the conclusion, there was the light show which was projected onto the pyramid of the sun. If you are a first time visitor to Teotihuacan, I would recommend a daytime visit because you are able to climb the pyramids during the daytime. This tour would probably be better for people who also did the daytime experience or had previously been to the site.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Light and Sound Show with Dinner and Optional Tour

Elizabeth O

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This was a great tour. Carlos, our guide, was so knowledgeable and enthusiastic about sharing these amazing pyramids with us. Because it's a private tour, they were also flexible with the pick-up time and came right to our door. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 only because after the tour of the pyramids you're brought to a local crafts place and pressured to buy although, the crafts there were really lovely - just awfully expensive, and then you are also supposed to go to a restaurant. I preferred to go back into Mexico City for a restaurant there - but - to their credit, they were happy to skip the restaurant and took us back to the city. All in all, a great tour that I am happy to recommend!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids Day Trip from Mexico City with an Archeologist

Sholeh J

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The tour was OK, however the bus that picked us up was falling apart - it had two windows missing. The tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable, but I wouldn't call it a guided tour. For each site we went to, we were given a 10 minute short talk on its history overall, and then left to explore it on our own. There was no detail. This was particularly disappointing for the Teotihuacan Pyramids, as we saw other tours taking their group around the different parts of the site, giving detailed insights into the history, architecture, culture and stories of the place. We were just left to wander around on our own, and the information available at the site was very basic. Overall, we got to see some interesting sites, but expected more from something offering a guided tour service.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Basilica of Guadalupe

David S

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The actual pyramids are underwhelming, the tour is in English and Spanish from the same guide so he literally repeats every sentence. The value for your money is not there on this tour. There are less expensive options.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Jenna L

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

We were disappointed that there was time taken away from the pyramids and the shrine with other non scheduled stops like a jewelry store for an hour and a gift shop for another hour. We ended the trip early because the older people were tired. The 11 hour tour was only 9. We only spent less than an hour at the shrine and felt rushed because it was the end of the tour but the time shouldn't have ended for another 2 hours. We also made a non scheduled trip to the culture center but at least it related to the tour theme. The guide was good and knew a lot but because we had Spanish people he was going back and forth from English to Spanish every other sentence and it was hard to follow and focus on what he was saying. But impressive he did it back and forth so well.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Deana S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

The tour start late, many stops at not needed or scheduled area, stay in silver factory - don't buy a thing there, or in Kaktus shop, everything is double or triple price than in city markets. The restaurant was the last restaurant in a row , i'm not saying the food was bad but selling hot dog as sausage ... ! We came to the pyramids a few minutes before 4PM and we were expected to be in bus at 5.
You can visit Shrine of Guadalupe by public transportation and uber to pyramids will cast you around 300 one direction. If there is a three of you, your cost to pyramids will be 300 pesos on your schedule.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Henrique m S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

The service proveid it is very bad, the driver and guide are very, very rude Antonio y Leonardo , you have to call them to ask about the pickup time, they take to long to answer mails. Be ready 20 minutes before your pickup time, they will arrive before saying that you are wrong even if you show the email with the right time. Very bad communication. Don't think that you will have a private archeologist like says at the tour name, will be one guide to 20 people more or less, i asked why, but nobody knew how to answer that.. all of them very rude, it passed the same with few more people.
If you book the tour, don't expect too much, pyramids are nice, early morning it is the best time to go, but the service was very bad!!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Deborah M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

We were late being picked up by Amigo tours. Then shifted to another bus at another stop point. Tour stopped at tourist trap to allow retailer to sell us stuff. Not organized at all. We were very late to Guadelupe and were herded through in about 30 minutes. Disappointed especially since we sat in hot bus at pyramid waiting on 2 people for over 1 hour. Poor organization and communication. Tour guide as nice just not organized

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Miroslav G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Teotihuacan is an incredible sight!Our tour guide Nelson was funny and very knowledgeable!Overall a great trip.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Shahrol E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This is a must do tour when you are in mexico city. Amigo tour guide cant remember his name, he is very knowledgeable about the history of mexico city in particular teotihuacan. Hotel pickup was on time altho i had difficulty in reaching them via email that i had to ask several times to confirm the pick up time. Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Robert N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This trip had an excellent driver and guide. Francisco had many facts to relate to the group.
Two stops at shopping areas were painless. The pyramids at Teotihuacan are fantastic and a
mysterious part of Mexico's history. Deserted by the time of the Aztecs they show remarkable
engineering skill. One of my favorite sites in the country.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

ashley r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our time on this tour. Ligia was full of information about Teotihuacan, it was like stepping to their world all those years ago. We would highly recommend her especially if you want the full story of what went down here and are the type of person who asks a lot of questions, all of them will be answered.

Doing what: Private Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids Day Trip from Mexico City with an Archeologist

Paul K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our guide Ligia was very courteous and knowledgeable. Also very patient and persistent in finding us in the morning We had not given her a complete address. She answered all of our questions, very easy going and even dropped us off in a different location to allow us to continue with other plans. The site is truly amazing. Pictures can not capture the enormity of the pyramids and surrounding complex. Definitely a must see when traveling to Mexico City. The obsidian workshop was interesting and who can say no to tequila?

Doing what: Private Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids Day Trip from Mexico City with an Archeologist

Vladimir K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I really enjoyed the tour. The guide Alejandro was great, knowledgeable and ready to answer any questions. The pyramids are truly impressive. We made a stop at a shop and restaurant later where you can buy some artisan stuff like obsidian figurines and taste some pulque, mezcal and tequila.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

erlindo c

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Tour guide was very informative. Great tour of the pyramids. I'd wished they follow the schedule of dinner and then the light show instead of the other way around.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Light and Sound Show with Dinner and Optional Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message