Mexico City ATTRACTIONS See all

Teotihuacan Pyramids

Just north of Mexico City are the mysterious Teotihuacán Pyramids, built in 300 BC as the centerpiece of an enormous city that is often compared to ancient Rome. They were inexplicably abandoned centuries before the arrival of the Aztecs, who ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 456 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kristina N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Miguel is a fantastic tour guide!! Knowledgeable, interesting and full of excitement. The pyramids were great but the host really made it :

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Marija C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Miguel was our guide and we had a very nice time with him, and learned a lot about the Pyramids.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Basilica of Guadalupe

Gabe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great trip! Our tour guide was entertaining, knowledgeable, kind and funny. He gave us enough time to explore the sites and we were even treated to different fermented beverages made from maguey at Teotihuacan. Our trip ended at a buffet that had wonderful food! I highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Basilica of Guadalupe

Joy B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

I thought the tour of the pyramids was great. Our guide, Leonardo, was fantastic. We stayed way too long at the shop and restaurant. That could be cut by at least an hour as it made for a day that was too long. Except for that, everything else was good. Loved the stop for water and snacks. I recommend you dress in layers, wear good shoes, and bring a hat because the sun will punish you as the tour goes on.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Jose J. A

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

40 of the tour is devoted to activities other than the Teotihuacan site.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Sara H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

In hindsight, we would not choose to take this tour. The tour makes it easy to see the Pyramids, but there is not a lot to be gained by a bilingual tour guide, as little is known about the people who built them. The rest is a tourist trap, and my boyfriend did not eat the lunch because it was gross.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Rick G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide, Leonardo, was top notch. We took the early morning Teotihuacan pyramids tour and beat the crowd. Leonardo was very knowledgeable and answered all of our questions. We felt like if we and #39;d known him for a long time.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Washington L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was marvellous. The excursion, the guide, very atencious .
I love the pyramids, everything wonderful!

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Kevin N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wow, what an experience we had a blast. It and #39;s not everyday that you fly in a hot air balloon over an Aztec pyramid. We got pick up at the hotel were at the place in about an hour and were in the air pretty quick once we got there. Plenty of time in the balloon and view was amazing.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids Hot-Air Balloon Tour

Simon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really informative and well organised tour. Our guide Miguel was full of fascinating history and facts about Mexico and Teotihuacan - much much more than we would have expected. As many others have written, making the effort to get there early is well rewarded with cooler weather, zero crowds and less intensive selling from the locals. As we left at 2pm the crowds were building and more and more sellers arriving. A great tour - thanks Miguel

Doing what: Private Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids with an Archeologist

Karl M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour! Teotihuacan is unforgettable and makes for a great day trip from Mexico City. We had a wonderful tour guide who was very knowledgeable. The restaurant that they stop at shortly after leaving Teotihuacan had great food. I recommend the Aztec soup to everyone. Overall, I would highly recommend this trip to others who are looking to learn more about Mexico's precolonial history.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Jessica G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My friend nor I have ever been up in a hot-air balloon before, so no matter what this was going to be a tour for the books! Saying that, how can you beat floating over ancient pyramids and getting a view like no other? We had booked the tour with an english speaking guide, and were disappointed that one was not in fact provided for us. I would say do not rely on having an english speaking guide, but ours didn't speak much anyway he was just focused on giving us the best views possible and that was okay by us! If you want info about the pyramids with history and such, take a walking tour of Teotihuacan, and just take this tour to enjoy the magnificent views.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids Hot-Air Balloon Tour

Alberto S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I enjoyed this tour very much, Our guide, Leonardo, was very knowledgeable about the history of Teotihuacan. The travel accommodations were nice and comfortable.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Teotihuacán Pyramids Early-Morning Access plus City Tour

Jan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Beautiful views of ancient pyramids. There are a number of dogs and cuddly puppies who reside in the place. They were very friendly and I hope someone looks after them.
The biggest chanllege was to climb one of the pyramides. I was almost out of breath when I reached the middle of the pyramid.

Doing what: Mexico City in One Day: Teotihuacan Pyramids Early Access and Historical City Sightseeing Tour

Emily C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This Is actually a 10 star rating! Jorge was such an incredible guide who fascinated us with his vast knowledge of teotihuacan history. He showed us not only the pyramids, but took us to see many murals outside of the main park area, going above and beyond to follow our interests. So kind too!

Doing what: Teotihuacan Archaeology Tour

Arthur S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent guide. Very informative. We we're picked up on time and arrived at Teotihuacan by 8:30AM. The bus was very comfortable and we had plenty of time to explore the area. I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Martin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Brilliant trip, the guide was excellent, plenty of information and a great sense of humour. Quite a bit of walking, 2.5 hours , plus up and down the pyramids, so you need to be reasonably fit, no problem for us and we had a great time. Highly Recommended. 5 stars...

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

THOMAS S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a great experience. I will be going again. Only complaint I had was one of the stops. I bought a bag for 470.00 and found the same bag outside the pyramids for 100.00. Lunch was wonderful. Included in th cost of the tour

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Norma G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great tour. Jose, our tour guide was knowledgeable and pleasant. The tour was a good pace and had several stops before the pyramids. Lunch was included in our tour, the food was delicious. We then headed for the Basilica which was the last stop, I only wished we had gotten more time there. Overall, it was a excellent tour.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Carlos C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Tour of Teotihuacan Pyramids was amazing. Would have liked to have had more time at the Shrine of Guadalupe.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Tiffany L

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The tour was excellent! We were the first to be picked up, on time, at 6am. We spent the next hour picking up other passengers throughout the city. We began our passage to Teotihuacan at 7am. We stopped by a GoMart gas station to pick up coffee and water. We arrived at the center around 9am. The tour guide suggested that we buy hats and go to the restroom. Teotihuacan was very empty besides some local arts/crafts sellers. The tour guide gave us excellent information on the history. We never felt rushed and we climbed the Pyramid of the Sun and the Moon with ease. It seems the tour guide is friends with a local seller because the seller demonstrated some drawings and immediately our group ventured to buy stuff from him. I suggest you wait and you can find the same crafts at half the price with other vendors. Luckily we did not have to walk all the back to the entrance because the tour bus was waiting for us at the other end. We left the facility around 11am.
We then went to a local town where we tried Mezcal and learned more about the culture. Then we went to the restaurant/buffet for lunch next door. The buffet was 119 pesos per person and the self-order menu was roughly around the same price per plate.
We headed back to Mexico City around 1pm. The first group was dropped off at 2:30pm. Although, I was the first to be picked up, I was the last to be dropped off and arrived back at my hotel at 3:30pm.
Overall, the tour of Teotihuacan was great! However, the mezcal tasting and the lunch was completely unnecessary because it was overpriced food and souvenirs. I would have rather skip traffic and go back to Mexico.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Marcela T

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

It and #39;s a great deal for what you get. The tour covers a shuttle bus ride to and from Teotihuacan, your admission to the Zona Arquelogica, the tour guide, and a visit to an co-op (additional purchases aren and #39;t covered i.e. Food, souvenirs). We had Sandra and she was great, very funny and knowledgable!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Kylee L

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was a really great experience. The early morning was clearly the way to go, even though we had to get up super early which isn't always desirable on vacation, it was well worth it. By the end of our tour you could look out and see how much more crowded the pyramids had gotten, so I highly recommend the early morning tour, once you're awake and there it's not bad.

The transportation was just fine and on time. They did make a pit stop before heading out to the pyramids so you could go to the bathroom and get coffee and snacks if you wanted which was nice.

Our tour guide was great. However, it being a spanish and english tour, she would switch each sentence between english and spanish, however, alot of times, because of her accent we didn't even realize she was speaking english again.I didn't come away from the tour feeling like I learned a lot from the guide, so it might actually be worth considering the self guided tour.

The only thing I absolutely hated was that the tour took us to lunch after, and I signed up for a tour that did not include lunch, no one on our tour did, however, they still took us to a restaurant and they had a buffet set up. The price for the buffet was more than half the cost of what they had on their menu which was still the most expensive meal we had in all of mexico city and so we went with the buffet. It was the most awful food I have ever had. Nothing was authentic, the waiter kept pointing out how it's not spicy! as if that was a good thing, but for my husband and I we like to experience the real food and the real culture and this was worse than some of the american chain mexican restaurants back home. They even served mashed potatoes and spaghetti. Then they took you on a tour of basically their gift shop which was also annoying. I would have much rather just gotten back to the city and was really annoyed that we felt trapped and forced.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Charles P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

This is definitely NOT a tour with a Private Archeologist. This is a cattle-call, 30-person run in a tight, badly-air conditioned, bouncy bus. I got an 6:20 pickup time, and then was condemned to another hour of going from hotel to hotel to pickup guests. At some point in there, we waited at a hotel for nearly a half-hour for people to show up.

The tour guide - not archeologist - was about 70 English-fluent with a thick accent. She was understandable enough though and willing to answer questions. She was also very nice. Her tour skills were OK - she kept the group together and kept us on schedule. But that schedule came at the cost of spending as much time as I wanted to on the site. She also encouraged people to not buy the souvenirs at the site. The reason why became clear later.

The tour bus made a coffee stop at a gas station along the way, the first of what must be an arranged stop. On the way back, the bus stopped at a tourist-trap, bad-food restaurant/trinket and tequila store. So that's why you shouldn't buy stuff at the site - they want you to spend at THIS place where they must get a cut for the business they literally deliver by the busload.

On the way back, traffic was tied up because the Reforma was closed. So the bus dropped people off in the general vicinity of the hotels, but a lot of people had a long walk home.

The pyramids themselves are definitely worth the trip. That much is for sure. If you're in for a packaged tourist-trap-trip, then this is fine. It does provide transportation, it does pay the entry fee, and it does provide someone who at least has some good albeit hard-to-understand info about the site.

With 20-20 hindsight, I wish I had done it myself. I would have gotten a book about the site, gotten up early, called an Uber, and gone straight to the site. Then I'd pay my own entry fee and spend as much time as I wanted to there and Uber back. Would have cost the same or less and been more fun.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Crystals.Clements

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Not worth the money, 22 people on the tour and only one guide to provide both the English and Spanish tour. guide gave less information than what was provided on the placards in the park. If you want to see Teotihuacan hire a car and just read the information provided. You and #39;ll get more out of it.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message