Mexico City ATTRACTIONS See all

Teotihuacan Pyramids

Just north of Mexico City are the mysterious Teotihuacán Pyramids, built in 300 BC as the centerpiece of an enormous city that is often compared to ancient Rome. They were inexplicably abandoned centuries before the arrival of the Aztecs, who ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 496 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Miroslav G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Teotihuacan is an incredible sight!Our tour guide Nelson was funny and very knowledgeable!Overall a great trip.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

erlindo c

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Tour guide was very informative. Great tour of the pyramids. I'd wished they follow the schedule of dinner and then the light show instead of the other way around.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Light and Sound Show with Dinner and Optional Tour

Will M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

We found communication with the local tour provider to be a nightmare. We talked to them three times. Twice we were told we were going on a different Teotihuacan tour than the one we purchased. The third time, though, they finally got us onto the right tour. Pickup was on time and the tour was good. I was glad we went early in the morning as the place not surprisingly fills up pretty quickly as all the other tour groups the ones with people that value their sleep more than we do I guess filter in during the morning. The stuff after Teotihuacan was fine. Don't expect much more than a sales pitch at a local store and an opportunity to buy a mediocre lunch. The tour provider was more than willing to drop us off near the Basilica of Guadalupe, though, instead of returning us to the starting point. We explored the basilica and surrounding area on our own and took an Uber back to our hotel for around 100 pesos local taxis were telling us 300-400 pesos for the same ride. All in all, nice tour. Not our favorite thing we did, but we enjoyed ourselves and don't regret doing it.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Jose M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour started a little late, but everything was amazing about the tour. Very smooth, the guide, i think his name was Gerson, wrote it down somewhere and then lost the paper, was great he knew what he was talking about and gave us an explanation about everything that was related not only to the pyramids, but also the history of Mexico and the Spanish colonization. Overall would recommend to anyone, its early in the morning so you will have time to walk around the city in the afternoon.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Reed W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Ligia was an excellent tour guide! She met us bright and early at our hotel and drove us around some of the best and most historical districts in Mexico City before heading out to the pyramids. Once there, she gave us some amazing history lessons on how the pyramids were discovered and how they've been excavated/restored to-date. She then gave my wife and I some free time to roam the pyramids' grounds and climb to the top of two of them. After our hike, we got to go to an incredible arts and crafts store, see how different jewelry, dyes, and liquors were made, and pick up some great souvenirs. Lastly, before heading back, we got treated to a wonderful lunch, complete with mariachi players and some special desserts and some sparkling wine to celebrate our recent marriage and honeymoon. Ultimately, it was an incredible tour and we'd highly recommend it to anyone wanting to do something fun, different, and super special on their Mexico City trip!

Doing what: Private Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids Day Trip from Mexico City with an Archeologist

Mae M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour started off on the wrong foot in that the tour company taking us on the tour had us registered at the wrong hotel. When I booked the tour online I got an email from the the host company asking for the name of the hotel in Mexico City. I typed in the name as our hotel was not on the list but it seems that our hotel has a similar name to a hotel on the list and somehow the list defaulted to the name on the list and I did not catch that. This meant we were late getting picked up by about half an hour. Once organized, we were on this tour with 10 other people plus the tour guide and driver. Our tour guide spoke English quite well and our tour was in Spanish and English.
The tour began with a visit to Plaza de las Tres Culturas. It was interesting to hear about this area in the middle of Mexico City. The ruins are of an Aztec market place and the rocks from the ruins were used to build the Church of Santiago in 1604 and is home to a huge housing complex today.
We left there and headed for Teotihuacan. If at all possible sit on the right side of the bus heading out of Mexico City to Teotihuacan, there is quite a lot to see of Mexico City and surroundings.
At Teotihuacan we were introduced to the Mexican hairless dog and also had a lesson in geology. We finally got to the ruins and this is very much a walking tour, not difficult walking but there are some steep steps before getting to the main attractions. There are also no park benches to sit and take in the view. I really enjoyed seeing the Temple of the Moon and the Temple of the Sun. They were very awe inspiring and really make you think about how did the Aztecs manage to build these pyramids? You are also free to climb these ruins. I did not climb them but my sister climbed the Temple of the moon as there were only 50 steps involved. She said they were fairly steep but some of the younger people were practically running up the steps. The Temple of the Sun had 250 steps and we did not climb them. I was glad I was able to see these ruins.
From there we stopped and had a very nice lunch. I prepaid for our lunch when I booked the trip and I would suggest that is a good idea.
Our next stop was the Shrine of Guadalupe. Wow this was an amazing church. Amazing in that it is such a modern shrine built on an ancient story. It is the most visited shrine in the world and if you are in Mexico City you should go and visit.
At the end of the tour we were not dropped at our hotel because they still had not figured out that they did not have the correct name of our hotel. Given the traffic in Mexico City the Tour operator asked if we would mind being dropped off with in about 2 blocks of our hotel. We were agreeable and they pointed us in the right direction and we wound up back at our hotel safe and sound.
Other than the glitch about our hotel I really enjoyed this tour. I thought out tour guide was friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. He spoke English very well. I think his name was Jose.
For personal information there is a lot of off and on a van that seats 12 people, a lot of walking, no places to sit while touring, plenty of washroom breaks.
I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

gsepe16

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The place is amazing! These is the largest and best pyramid I've seen in Mexico aside from Chechen Itza. As a christian born it's a must to visit The Shrine of Guadalupe, it's fulfilling to visit such sacred place as a part of the tour.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Aisha F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Long day, but well worth it! Spectacular views from the pyramids and the Shrine of Guadalupe was mind blowing!

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Tiffany J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I had an absolutely great time on this tour. It left promptly and we were out at the pyramids early. We had a great guide and a great group of people with us for the tour. We were able to get some great information, great pics, and even had a marriage proposal at the top of one of the pyramids. Definiitely a tour to remember. I would recommend this tour to everyone who comes to Mexico City. The group was even able to try different types of mezcal. I should have bought there but i was out of money from all the great souvenirs available. A great tour overall...

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

MARIUS A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The Teotihuacan site is truly amazing, it shouldn't be missed. Guide was very knowledgable and very helpful.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

JAVIER United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

It was really good! Good experience, the only thing is the time allowed at the pyramids.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

bob.maynard

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

We got into hotel Novit in afternoon. We looked at voucher and saw 8:00 am city tour on 11/26. Was 8am the pick up at hotel, or start of tour? So we called 52 55 5512 5207, the number on the voucher, and no one answered.

So we were up and ready pick up at 7:30 am on 11/26. Asked manager to call Amigo tours to confirm pick up time. He was told our pick up time was 10:15, even though our voucher says 8 am. Not good.

The contact info at Viator says open 24/7. No Mexico number! US/Canada, but not Mexico. Otherwise, its an international call, probably at international rates.

Anyway, the city tour was good. Gabriel was our guide, and when he showed up at the hotel, I had to wonder: were we being taken for a ride But he was an exceptional guide. Extremely knowledgeable and very articulate.

The tour of the pyramids was equally as impressive. It was a very early pickup: 6 am even though the voucher said 6:30. Leonardo was very good, and gave us time to climb the pyramids and not be rushed.

Overall, excellent choice of tours, although i would improve the timeline notifications.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Teotihuacán Pyramids Early-Morning Access plus City Tour

andreacemm

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

We definitely did not spend a lot of times at the Pyramids or la Basilica. We only spent 10 mins at Tlatelolco when the guide tour told us 15 mins.
I would not recommend if you are one of those persons that like to sightsee and take your time.
It is definitely a safe tour. The bus driver and the guide tour are nice, friendly, and helpful.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Basilica of Guadalupe

Jaime K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

I have traveled a lot and done a few tours in the past. This tour was very disappointing.

Main reason was a bad itinerary/time management that minimized the time actually enjoying the sites. Our
guide Jose spent more time taking us to stores where he apparently get some sort of commission versus the pyramids and church of Guadalupe. We went to 3 stores which burned up at least 90 minutes. Plus an overly long lunch which was over an hour. As a result the pyramids were rushed. We only got like 10 minutes on top of the Moon pyramid. And 30 on the Sun pyramid. The Church experience was much worse. The church is actually more of a complex with several churches/chapels and a great view...it and takes 2 hours to properly see. Well we got like 20 minutes there...no joke. It was so bad my friend and I told the guide we would be leaving the tour there so we could see more of the church complex. We then spent 2 fantastic hours at the complex and we took the metro home. So my advice is take public transit. There are buses that go to the pyramids. And the metro goes right next to the church.

A minor negative was that the lunch buffet was very bad. My friend and I both had to stop after a few bites as the food either tasted bad or was very bland.

That said, there were some positives. One was that there were very interesting, friendly fellow travelers in the tour group and we got along very well. And the pick up was on time and the guide was knowledgeable.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Andrea Giorgio R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

The first day to Teotihuacan was excellent, but the second day nobody came to pick up us for the City tour and noboday helped us by phone and email too. This is really incredible!!!

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Teotihuacán Pyramids Early-Morning Access plus City Tour

Shirin S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

I was very this appointed by this tour. I'm going to say it up front, we took an Uber back to our hotel, to leave the tour as soon as we could. It was really bad. I'm so surprised that this tour has this many good reviews!

They claim to be early morning tour and SMALL group!!! seriously!!!! They picked us up at 6 am in the morning, but didn't leave the city till 8:30 am. VERY VERY disorganized on picking people up, they were going around the circle to pick people up and would wait for anyone who is late. SMALL GROUP?? That was the reason I signed up for this tour. But our group was 45 people!!! And they only had one tour guide. The tour guide was keep speaking both English and Spanish. I thought this was supposed to be an English tour! Also the guide was not knowledgeable, we didn't gain much information about the sight and the history of it. He also gave some wrong information.

After the tour of the pyramids, they took us to this TERRIBLE buffet restaurant, the food was SO bad that we couldn't eat anything and ended up paying. It was already 2PM by this time and we just wanted to get out of that place. Thankfully we could use Uber to go back to our hotel. Otherwise the tour wanted to take us to a Tequila factory and low quality gift stores to waste time! Best decision to leave as soon as we could.

Do yourself a favor and do not book a tour with them. You are better of taking an Uber and hire a tour at the Pyramids Uber only costs about 15 USD or hire a private tour. Don't waste your time.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Kerry W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Beautiful site, and the tour guide/archeologist was fantastic. Getting there early on a week day meant the sun pyramid was almost empty when we got there, making for a great experience.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Karen E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Worth every penny to do the private tour. Our guide, Ligia, was great. She patiently answered every one of our endless questions. She even did some extra walking herself to allow us to tour the pyramids at our pace. If I could give it ten stars I would.

Doing what: Private Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids Day Trip from Mexico City with an Archeologist

Francisco Alvar J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was my fist time at Teotihuacan and the Shrine of Guadalupe, it was an amazing experience, great service, friendly tour and driver guys. Hardly recommended.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

lamb0000

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had an excellent private English speaking tour guide. The tour of Teotihuacan Pyramids is amazing .This is a must choice for anyone visiting Mexico City looking for excursion outside the city.

Doing what: Private Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids Day Trip from Mexico City with an Archeologist

amirhuzejrovic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide was great and the driver. He explained everything. He answer our questions. It was great time. I would recommend to everyone to take the trip to the Pyramids.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Ariane S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The Early Morning Tour with the a Private Archeologist to the pyramids of Teotihuacan was very well-orgnanized, the tour guide I think his name was Leonardo was great, very friendly and very competent! I asked him many questions and he could answer them all! I also loved that the bus picked me up at home and brought me back there. All in all it was a wonderful experience with a great guide, a nice, small group of people, safety and comfort!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Charles S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A good deal for both!

Mexico City Tour: I was fortunate to be part of a small group, lead by Alicia. She's great. I asked what felt like 100 questions during our visit to the anthropology museum and she happily answered all of them. You can sense her passion for Mexican history and culture, which is exactly the type of person you want for a tour of a city so rich in both areas. Our tour included hotel pick up and drop off. The driver, Antonio, was punctual for the pick up and kind enough to drop us off near another tourist attraction that was several miles from our hotel--he saved us quite a bit of time. Great team. Highly recommended.

Teotihuacan Pyramids: This is a must-do. The pyramids are beautiful and the thought that ancient people moved these stones without the aid of even a wheel is astounding. The tour guide explained well the most current, historical understanding of the people that lived at the site. For photo taking opportunities, both the Sun and the Moon pyramids are great. I preferred the Moon pyramid's vantage point as it seemed to provide a more aesthetically pleasing view of the entire site. After the pyramids tour, you'll go to a nearby location for lunch not included. A few tips: bring a hat. Bring some water. If you're tight on money, you'll want to forgo the restaurant lunch and pack some food ahead of time. The souvenir shop is also a place where you can spend money a bit too fast, but if you buy with pesos, you'll be in a better bargaining position. If you're looking for obsidian stonework, be sure to educate yourself on the topic so you know you're getting the real thing and for a fair price. And lastly, whatever you do, do the early access to the pyramids as it gets really crowded and that translates into more difficulty getting that perfect selfie without having fellow visitors immortalized in your pictures.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Teotihuacán Pyramids Early-Morning Access plus City Tour

Juan B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Tour was pretty good, the pick-up arrive perfectly on time. Guide was knowledgeable and friendly. The early visit to the pyramids made a huge difference as we were one of the earliest groups there. The down side was all the time spent at the tourist-trap... aka restaurant and 'local village' experience. The souvenir shop is EXTREMELY overpriced as was the restaurant. The buffet food was marginally ok. We could have done without this part of this tour and would have preferred either an earlier arrival back to the city or more time in the pyramids.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Sasha K

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The bus picked us up on time from our AirBandB and it was an easy trip to Teotihuacan. We had Leonardo as a tour guide and he was very knowledgable with good explanations. The site itself was amazing however we felt a bit rushed and there was not enough time for taking photos or for those members of the group that were walking more slowly, so that by the time we caught up with the group, we had missed half of the explanations about the site. Leonardo's descriptions were very good so we were disappointed to miss many of them. After the tour we went for a buffet lunch which was excellent and reasonably priced.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message