Perfumed with flowers and plied by trajineras, a sort of gondola cheerfully painted to reflect the canals' lush beauty, the Floating Gardens of Xochimilco were once the agricultural breadbasket of Mexico City. Today, these last lovely remnants of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 170 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Aisha F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I have been waiting to see the Frida Kahlo Museum for a long time and it did not disappoint! Simply breath taking!

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Luis D

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

It was a great experience. You get to eat on the boat and listen to some great music. As you ride on the water different canoes float by where you can buy food or beverages.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Llewelyn R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

This was a 2 day tour with Amigo Tours
day 1- organisation was a disaster. picked up on time from hotel and taken to meeting point which began the total chaos. We had to wait for all the buses to arrive and then be distributed according to our destination. WE waited an hour for this to occur!!!All the time being told it would be 10 mins. the tour guide Ernesto was a nice enough guy but he gave no commentary along the way, only speaking to us at the assigned stops. When he did speak to us he was pretty knowledgeable, but I feel we missed out on a lot on the rather long journey as we were passing many things that could have been explained.
Day 2 - organisation regarding meeting point went a little smoother today. Ended up in a bus with a patched/glass less window and patched front window. Friday Kahlo Museum and the chaos begins again. Very very long lines, as it was a holiday. However, Amigo Tours had NOT booked the tickets online. so the drivers colleague had to get onto a line for those without electronic tickets- a particularly long line of about 1 1/2 hours? That was a real nightmare, standing in the sun, not knowing when we would get in. Our guide tells us that his company is reluctant to purchase tickets for this online. Why???? this needs to be changed.
hardly saw anything of Diego Riviera Murals - just one at the Olympic Stadium and guide talked And talked About the university, where we didn't go! Xochimilco was fun but again some disorganisation. I found the process of ordering lunch on the boat difficult, as it was hard for the guide and cook to explain what each meal was about - how about a written description on the table when you board ?? meal was expensive by local comparison.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Teotihuacan, Tlatelolco and Guadalupe Shrine Plus Xochimilco and Frida Kahlo

Catherine O United States of ... 

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

Where to begin? They said they were picking us up at 8AM at our hotel for a 9 AM rendezvous with others. That turned into 10AM at a point that was only a 30 min Uber drive from our hotel. We could have slept another 1.5 hours! the next day we were on to them so we told the guide we would meet them. She said to be there at 9:20. there was too much traffic and we texted we would be there at 9:30. She fretted and acted like it was a huge inconvenience and that she would wait for us. We got there at 9:30 and she wasn't even there yet! We had to wait another 20 minutes for her! 1. Amigo tours should explain to the traveler the pickup or meeting options. There is a big difference between 9 and 10 AM. 2. the tour was not in English - it was in English AND Spanish. No Bueno. Our family speaks both but I don't want a tour where everything is said twice. There should have been either TWO tours or TWO guide. And the way the guide did it was weird - ALL in Spanish and then released the Spanish-speakers to tour about and then all in English - and she would leave stuff out of the English part. Because she did it in 2 languages, she didn't really tell us that much. She could have been talking about the city and where we were going and the history of what we were going to see all on the bus trip. Instead, she separated us into English and Spanish-speakers, gave a 2-5 min spiel in one language followed by the other and then let us roam about. It was NOT a guided tour. I could have done all of this with a guidebook and an Uber driver. We went to Tlatelolco, where we were for maybe 10 min. She gave a very very brief overview of the place and didn't say a word about the horrible massacre that took place there. My daughter had to ask about it and even then she didn't say much. We then went to the Virgin of Guadelupe Shrine and she talked about the buildings etc but never gave the story of Juan Diego and the Virgin - which is the whole reason for the buildings!! We went to Xochimilco and she did not say ONE word about the place, why it is there, how it is used, the history - just nothing. She did better in Coayacan and the Frida Kahlo house but overall Amigo Tours does not set up an actual GUIDED tour. It's a tour with a guide who makes sure you don't get lost. The guide was super nice and made sure we were all on time but I paid for a GUIDED tour in English and I didn't get what I paid for. I will never use Amigo Tours again.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Teotihuacan, Tlatelolco and Guadalupe Shrine Plus Xochimilco and Frida Kahlo

Carla

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

The tour started super late and then they didn't give us more time in the places to make it up for the delay.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Charles D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

The staff of the tour company were very nice, however, this was plagued from the beginning with overcrowding issues. The hotel pickup was on time you are collected into a van and then taken somewhere else to get your tour van. When we got there we were met with 59 people who booked this tour, however, they only had a van with 20 capacity. There seemed to be much confusion, but then we were told 20 could get on now and the rest of us would have to wait 5 minutes for another van. So we were left on the sidewalk without any further guidance. It took about 15 minutes, but another van showed up, the problem was it was another 20 person van, and there was still 39 of us. That van driver then called a bus to get everyone. So basically the lucky people who got in the van first had a decent group size of 20, whereas we had an overcrowded group of 39 on a bus. So our hotel pickup was at 850am, we were not on the road until after 10 am. Riding in a large bus around Mexico City is slow moving and uncomfortable. When we reached our first stop of Xochimilco, it was around 1130 AM. We left here at 130 PM, and it was 230PM when we reached just the second stop, Frida Kahlo Museum. The only plus to this tour was the group allowed to skip the line to get in but since we were so large they allowed 15 in at a time. It was around 4 PM, and most of the group was not out of the mususm., this is 7 Hours into the day, and the tour was only supposed to be 8 hours with more still to do and a long ride back. We gave up at this point and took an Uber back to our hotel. I can imagine this group.

One thing to note as well, while this lists a stop at the National University, our tour guide never mentioned that and I am fairly certain it was not going

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

delhay

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

We spent 3 hours on the bus before the tour even began - the process of collecting all of the tour guests was a disaster. Then we were unable to visit the museum because they failed to purchase tickets in advance. After waiting for over an hour, the group decided to skip the museum tour and proceed straight to Xochimilco. That experience was fun, and the stop by the university was ok too. Then getting everyone home was another mess. Would not recommend this tour package - just get your own ride to Xochimilco.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Aneta C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Definitely worth it! Frida Kahlo's museum a must see attraction, and we did not have to stand in the queue!

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Marilyn K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The Frida Kahlo Museum is magical. Don't miss is! Xochimilco is a fun and interesting way to tour the last of the Aztec canals. Our guide, Lordes, from Amigo Tours was terrific.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

william a

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Frida Kahlo museum was great. Xochimilco is interesting, but not as scenic as I would have liked. Coyocoan is ok, but the churros we ate there were incredible. Murals @ the National University were very nice but that is only a 15 minute stop. Fernanda was a good guide and spoke English pretty well. Lots of walking. Mexico City is not a great place for people with disabilities.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Susan L

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

It was a great day out and our guide, Harrison was fantastic. Coyoacan is a nice village, I would have liked to see the Saturday markets. Loved the Frida Khalo museum. The university was very interesting and Harrison gave a great explanation of the murals. The traffic to Xochimilco was very heavy and took us ages to get there and then it was really busy on the water, so not as relaxing as I'd hoped. I went on Saturday when the locals are visiting too. Maybe a week day would be quieter

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Jenny D

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Great Tour, picked up early in the morning and dropped off by 7:30pm at my hotel. First, this tour is an ALL DAY event, we were tired by the end of each day, but it was worth it. The first day was the pyramids, and Alejandro our guide was a walking Aztec library. Second day was with Ernesto, and I believe he's an actual professor. The drive to Xochimilco was LONG traffic, and we didn't get to eat until 4pm on the trajenas please bring snacks, but we forgot about it all once we were on the boat, and hired a mariachi band to serenade us while we ate and drink.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Teotihuacan, Tlatelolco and Guadalupe Shrine Plus Xochimilco and Frida Kahlo

Rafael M

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

During the week, Xochomilco is not as busy as on weekends, so my expectations had to be lowered. UNAM was interesting. We were a little rushed getting through the museum because of the weather and were delayed in getting back to Mexico City itself.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Naglaa S

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

I have submitted my comments earlier this week but I missed to attach the photo of the broken car front glass.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Isabelle A

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

The tour was interesting, but it would have been better enjoyed with an other guide. He was rude, indecisive and kept making up information. Xochimilco was definitely worth it and I wish we had stayed longer 1.5 hours, like the guide said, instead of 50 minutes. Next time, I will go on my own.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

hornster

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

If I could rate a zero, I would! I was completely unimpressed with the entire experience. 1 The tour company confirmed, voluntarily that they would pick us up at the house we were staying at. They didn't turn up and their excuse was 'we forgot' as our reservation system doesn't sync with Viator. 2 We were asked to rush to the 'meeting point' by 9am. We paid for a car to get us to the point arrived at 8:35 only to wait for well over 30 mins for them to turn up and depart at 9:45am. 3 Totally uncoordinated start to the tour! The tour guide did not even take 'attendance' until after we had left the 'hostel' so it wouldn't have mattered if no one was there anyway. I selected an English tour but it turned out that it was mostly Spanish and I missed a lot more of the content because the majority spoke Spanish. I don't have a problem with it if I had booked a Spanish tour. 4 The sites to see were basically disappointing except lunch although the boat tour was cut short was we ran extremely behind. The boat was the best part of the day. The tour should skip the University for distance and traffic and focus on sites in the city. 5 The bus Air Conditioner DID NOT WORK! We were roasting in the bus and needed A/C because we sat in traffic for so long!! 5 The tour guide seemed disheveled and didinterested as the day progressed. He did not answer questions and lacked attentiveness. The guide would benefit from customer service training and how to control groups. Out of all the tours we have booked through Viator this is by far the worse and I would rather have saved my money and not taken the tour!

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Mark

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour! Packed with information! I love the Trajinera ride along Xochimilco. Wonderful Tour guide

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

sussu.spamhater

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour that combines socio-cultural depth, passion, curiosity and creativity. We walked around this amazing area and learned about how people have lived there historically, and how the community is dealing with economic, political and cultural changes that impact Mexico City today. We got to visit a working chinampa farm and learned about this ancient farming technique ,and then enjoyed a tranquil ride in a trajinera with some snacks. We even got to experience the trajinera lift that takes the boats from one canal to another! Heike is an engaging and personable guide who really cares about the communities she introduces to visitors. This experience is going to stay with me, and I look forward to more CDMX explorations with Hike a Hub on future visits.

Doing what: Xochimilco Boat Ride and Cultural Tour

Barbara J

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

The provider came late and picked up a lot of other late clients. We were on the bus for over three hours before arriving at Xochimilco. This, to us, was unacceptable. We toured the Frida Kahlo Museum at 5:00PM after having been picked up at 8:00AM. Our guide didn't adequately explain that we would have a couple of hours after lunch to be on our own. The Frida Kahlo Museum was lovely but we were so tired by that time and it was so crowded that we hardly got to see it.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Melissa United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great way to spend a full day. In Cayoacan we walked through a town square, visited a beautiful church, leArned about Frieda Kahlo, and had a nice snack of burro and coffee. The afternoon boat ride in Xochilin was a lot of fun.. Jessica was very helpful, nice bus.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

ANTON S India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

An excellent day trip. Coyocan was interesting, as was Farida Kahlo museum. The museum is overrated in my opinion. Xochimilco was an unforgettable experience. Had lunch on the boats which was excellent.
Special mention about our guide Sandra, who was very informative and helpful.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message