Perfumed with flowers and plied by trajineras, a sort of gondola cheerfully painted to reflect the canals' lush beauty, the Floating Gardens of Xochimilco were once the agricultural breadbasket of Mexico City. Today, these last lovely remnants of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 130 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Melissa United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great way to spend a full day. In Cayoacan we walked through a town square, visited a beautiful church, leArned about Frieda Kahlo, and had a nice snack of burro and coffee. The afternoon boat ride in Xochilin was a lot of fun.. Jessica was very helpful, nice bus.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

ANTON S India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

An excellent day trip. Coyocan was interesting, as was Farida Kahlo museum. The museum is overrated in my opinion. Xochimilco was an unforgettable experience. Had lunch on the boats which was excellent.
Special mention about our guide Sandra, who was very informative and helpful.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Mario USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amigo Tours is the best of the best. Our guide Leonardo was friendly, professional and very
patient. Do not miss Xochimilco, it is awesome.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

John N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We took the combined trip to Xochimilko, Fride Kahlo Musem, Coyoacán, and UNAM. Viator
combined the trip at a discount of 40.00US.
We had a wonderful time and thought the price was great! We were picked up on the Zocalo
near our hotel. Viator has mini vans and busses picking up people all over DF and taking them
to a central hub where they are distributed by tour.

Advantages
-Trip was ordered online on iPad/iPhone with Viator app In Mexico City the day before
-Didn't have to deal with taxis, buses, mimi buses and schedules to get to all the locations
-Didn't have to wait in line at the Frida Kahlo Museum.
-Didn't have to negotiate with the boatmen at Xochimilco
-At the last stop people were distributed into vehicles going to the same district.
-Very good guides

Disadvantages
-Would have liked to go into Olympic Stadium for a look inside
-We're photographers and would have liked a little more free time to explore on our own.
However, for most people the free-time was perfect

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Jan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Absolutely a must to see Coyoacan and Frida Kahlo Museum. Actually it used to be Frida's and her husband house. Xochimilco is the Venice of Mexico, a unique experience not to be missed. Be prepared to taste Mexican Food while travelling by boat.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

jenszarek

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a fabulous time and Alejeandro ? was wonderful particularly as he took his time to speak in both languages and was extremely patient. Good job

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Washington L

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The excursion is really interesting. The only problem Was the guide.
A young girl with not many experience. But I love the trip.
Thank you

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Ada R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Not what I expected

Doing what: Xochimilco Boat Ride and Cultural Tour

Thelma Alicia F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

my family and I really enjoyed this experience it was truly more then we expected. The tour guy was very knowledge and very fun. I truly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Cathryn C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent guide, LouLou. It was truely a perfect day. Frida Kahlo in am and then lunch and afternoon at Xochimilco.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

samgabe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was my second time to Xochimilco but my first to Coyoacan and Frida's. The experience of the floating gardens is not to be missed. Sandra was a great guide.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Elia R

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We liked the tour. We were quite upset that we waited one and one half hours at the meeting place before all the people in the group arrived. We very much liked our guide and driver, but the company's organization was not good.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Kristina R

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The guide was perfect. However, it seemed a bit rushed. Honestly, would have loved more time at the xochimilco market. And the university really wasn and #39;t needed since all we did was look at it from afar. But again, she was great!

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

bobsonera

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Our tour guide was very knowledgable about the area. Taking the Metro and Tren Ligero to Xochimilco is very easy, from there it's a short cab ride to the barges. Once on board our guide explained the history of Xochimilco and how this was Mexico 500 years ago. Barges with mariachis, food and beverages pass by afterwards we went through the local market, on land.

Doing what: Xochimilco Boat Ride and Cultural Tour

Jen M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Firstly we were the first pick up at 7:40am in Coyoacan and spent approx 1 hour or more on the bus to downtown Mex City to get on another to come right back to only a few streets from where we are staying.
The pick guys said our tour would start in Xochimilco so that made sense at the time but when we got to the Amigo tours bus and met the Guide he said it started in Coyoacan, this was very frustration and a big time waster for us, surely we could have met the group in Coyoacan???

Then there was the guide, Antonio. He did not give much information at all. We stood out the front of the church he mentioned a few things, mostly in Spanish and just told us to go in, he didn and #39;t come with and explain anything. Once we finished in the church and met him back outside he said you have 10 mins, go and look around..... Gave very minimal info on the towns name and said there is a coyotes statue over there if you go for a walk.

On the way to Fridas Museum we stopped and he pointed out the markets and said we would go in there. That didn and #39;t happen.
Once at Fridas museum he just ushered us in and left us to work it all out ourselves. No warning that no backpacks could go in, or no water, or that you have to pay to take photos or that you can pay for a guided tour. This had us more than frustrated but we carried on.

Antonio was mostly speaking in Spanish, if it wasn and #39;t for 2 guys from New Mexico who helped us out we would have had no idea what was said etc throughout the day. He didn and #39;t seem like he wanted to be there and was very vague. His English was only just understandable.

After a challenging morning We did enjoy Xochimilco though again only Spanish was spoken most of time and the 2 guys had to translate for us.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Michelle L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

I really enjoyed the visit to Frida Kahlo's house, where we were on our own. However the visit of Coyoacan was very short and very little information was provided. I happened to stay for 2 days in the area the week before and had walked around the beautiful streets of Coyoacan. Unfortunately, no one else on the tour left with that knowledge after our brief stop at the church and the main square of Coyoacan. The guide was not very knowledgeable.
the visit to Xochimilco was not at all what I had expected and so commercial, every other boat trying to see you food, or music or junk. Really not the greatest and far from the centre of Mexico. 2.5 hours on the bus to get back.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Nykkiesha S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

The guides were not the best. The male guide was very rude and inappropriate. The other guide would start giving explanations once we passed attractions or before the entire group arrived. The tour felt rushed and would have been better with more free time. Money would be better spent using Turibus

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Elizabeth N

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

This tour was nothing like what was advertised. We stopped at a jewelry store first? Why?? Then we went to the Frida Kahlo museum which really messed up our plans because we had intended to go to the museum and market the next day -- it's also in the opposite direction of Xochimilco. We finally got to Xochimilco and were only on the boat for an hour and literally spent 5 minutes at the National University of Mexico. Frida/Xochimilco is another tour that I did NOT register for -- I don't know why were taken to all of these extra places at the expense of the original itinerary. We spent most of our time in the van. Had I know what we were in for, I would've booked with another group. We wanted to spend more time on the boat and actually do a tour of the University. Not worth it.

Doing what: Xochimilco and National University of Mexico

Jose Z

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Incredible amount of wasted time waiting before starting the Tour. Tour guide barely spoke English and his knowledge of the different places visited was minimal.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Melanie B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

the tour guide was extremely unorganized. We were not given enough time to see the Frida museum only 1 hour on a busy Saturday and we weren't given time to shop in Cuocan. We were given over an hour to shop at the cheap, tacky, tourist boat ride shops. I went on this tour to experience Frida. Terrible organizaion!

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Judith H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

All extremely interesting - well worth doing. Our guide Alex was very knowleable, spoke excellent English, and very personable.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message