Perfumed with flowers and plied by trajineras, a sort of gondola cheerfully painted to reflect the canals' lush beauty, the Floating Gardens of Xochimilco were once the agricultural breadbasket of Mexico City. Today, these last lovely remnants of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 186 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Atreish R

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

The experience was great, except that it was a bit too catered to tourists and not as authentic as I would have liked. The boat ride was fun but would have preferred it to be a bit longer.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Alicia V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a great tour with a fabulous guide! Xochimilco was such a unique experience and the Frida Kahlo museum was beautiful. Alicia was a great guide!

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Arianna Blythe G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Definitely worth going. The boats are s fun experience like no other. Would be most fun with a group of friends/family. Frida Kalho's house worth the visit as it the neighborhood Coyoacan.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

raul r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Awesome tour!!!! We loved the pyramids and the xoximilco boat ride. The xoximilco boat ride was awesom with mariachi music and good food!

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Teotihuacan, Tlatelolco and Guadalupe Shrine Plus Xochimilco and Frida Kahlo

Debashis C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This was a 2 day trip. Itinerary was excellent and our guide on both the days were very well informed and polite. As Mexico City traffic is horrendous it seems we were frequently stuck in traffic. The other issue was that we were picked up on time from our hotel but then we were taken to the office of Amigo tours where all the tourists are brought from their hotels and then dispersed of on their separate trips in their separate buses. This took a long time almost 1.5 hours on the 2nd day so maybe this process can be expedited as this takes away time from the sightseeing as we were all waiting for the others to arrive in the Amigo tours office. On the whole it was a very pleasant experience and Mexico City is a beautiful city with a rich cultural and architectural history.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Teotihuacan, Tlatelolco and Guadalupe Shrine Plus Xochimilco and Frida Kahlo

Nancy R

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Great smalll group tour with Gabriel as guide. People on tour were great - nice to see such international diversity. Only changes we would suggest are 1 need to mention and attend to bathroom breaks more often and 2 since they know how many tickets will be needed in advance for Casa Azulejo it would seem reasonable to assume they would have them already rather than make the group wait an extra ten minute or fifteen in an already long line for entrance. Gabriel was a good guide and very solid in sharing in both Spanish an dEnglish fluently. We appreciated his efforts to rally the group when needed.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Charlie United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The pyramid tour was awesome. However the Guadalupe Shrine was not good. We spent an hour at the store near the shrine. But only a half an hour with a guide.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Teotihuacan, Tlatelolco and Guadalupe Shrine Plus Xochimilco and Frida Kahlo

Roberto S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

Amigo Tour was overwhelmed with demand for its tours on Dec 30. Therefore our tour was delayed until they could get a bus rather than a van to take us around. The Frida Kahlo museum is small and due to long lines and issues getting tickets in advance by the tour company a mess, we were forced to alter the schedule, visit Xochimilco first and in the afternoon we no time for the guided tour of Coyoacán.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Maureen G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

We booked this Tour as a skip the line to see the Frida Kahlo musuem.This trip had been planned for a number of years and we flew from Australia specifically to see Frida Kahlos house.We also flew our daughter in from Los Angeles for the same reason.In our case what occurred was very disappointing in that we were kept waiting for several hours outside the Museum until we were finally told that the Tour operator could not in fact get the tickets to get into the Museum because the queue to get in was too long.We were then moved on to Xochimilico where as compensation we were bought an awful lunch on one of the canal barges.The trip on the barge was interesting but unbelievably the Tour operator made no mention whatsoever that the canals were were floating on were actually built by the Aztecs.After that we were taken to the National University and we were left by the side of the road in the bus where some distant buildings were pointed out through the bus windows.We were then asked to look out the windows on the other side of the Bus to see a Diego Rivera mural in the distance across many lanes of busy traffic .All we can say about this trip is that it was truly unprofessional.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Edward P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a great tour, not only because the sites were diverse and well chosen, but because of our marvelous tour guide Kevin. Kevin was bright, knowledgeable, energetic, funny and charming. He taught us a great deal without ever lecturing in an academic fashion and he welcomed questions and comments. He was able to switch effortlessly from English to Spanish without ever losing track of his points. In addition, he was able to corral our large group so that we kept on schedule. Bravo to Kevin and thanks.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

David E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent tour. Our guide was knowledgeable and friendly. The tour was well-paced ... we had just enough time at each site. I would definitely recommend this tour if you visit Mexico City. I was particularly impressed by the University ... probably because I had low expectations.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Besilda M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We enjoyed the canal ride in Xochimilco, the optional lunch on board was good and the Mariachis who entertained us. I highly recommend this. Our tour guide Alicia was good and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Teotihuacan, Tlatelolco and Guadalupe Shrine Plus Xochimilco and Frida Kahlo

Robert L

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

A delayed start, waiting for the bus made for a very long day, tiring and we missed attending other activities in the evening because of the extended time to complete the tour.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Richard M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

The tour lasted over 12 hours with traveling on a bus for close to 9 hours.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Mark W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

I gave this tour one star, because as far as I know, none of my fellow tourists died on this jaunt. Well we were picked up almost on time 8:30 am at our hotel and boarded a bus, we were dropped off at a pickup point and milled around for an hour before we boarded a second bus to take us to a third bus, great start. We had about 20 plus people on the bus, and our guide will be named Tony to protect the guilty. He collected our paperwork on the 40 minute ride to our destination and spoke briefly in Spanish and English. We exited the bus and were given 20 minutes to wander around the oldest convent in Mexico City, which was not actually on the tour. We were to meet Tony back in the square. Interesting place but without a guide it was lost on us. We fought off the local peddlers and met Tony who counted us off and marched us to a local indoor market. We had 25 minutes and had to meet Tony back at the park in front. We looked around the market, bought some sweets but again most was lost on us without a guide. Tony lined us up and marched us off to the Kahlo house. Tony and the bus driver handed out tickets and disappeared. We waited in line for 20 minutes before being told we had been given the wrong part of the ticket and could not get in. Did I mention Tony left a few people behind in the market? They came over looking for Tony and tickets. The museum called Amigo Tours and a few fellow tourists called looking for Tony. He showed up about 15 minutes later, fumbled about trying to match up tickets, handed the mess to the museum employee and disappeared. We marched through the Kahlo house, it was packed and not a very good guest experience I work in museums. At that point my wife and I decided to bolt this disaster of a tour and see the local sites. We tracked down Tony and told him we were going to take off, he had a perplexed look on his face, likely thinking about his lost tip. We then walked over to the Trotsky House, a great little museum. We strolled back to the market and had a lovely fish lunch and cold beer at an outdoor corner restaurant, mostly filled with locals, great service. We wandered back to the convent and visited the square/park and a local pop-up market. We walked around and had a good time. Cabbed back to the hotel around 4:30 pm. We later saw a fellow tourist at the airport, she remarked that the rest of the tour was slow and she finally got back to her hotel at 7 pm. When we pay for a tour, we expect a tour. I can wander around by myself.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Aisha F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I have been waiting to see the Frida Kahlo Museum for a long time and it did not disappoint! Simply breath taking!

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Luis D

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

It was a great experience. You get to eat on the boat and listen to some great music. As you ride on the water different canoes float by where you can buy food or beverages.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Llewelyn R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

This was a 2 day tour with Amigo Tours
day 1- organisation was a disaster. picked up on time from hotel and taken to meeting point which began the total chaos. We had to wait for all the buses to arrive and then be distributed according to our destination. WE waited an hour for this to occur!!!All the time being told it would be 10 mins. the tour guide Ernesto was a nice enough guy but he gave no commentary along the way, only speaking to us at the assigned stops. When he did speak to us he was pretty knowledgeable, but I feel we missed out on a lot on the rather long journey as we were passing many things that could have been explained.
Day 2 - organisation regarding meeting point went a little smoother today. Ended up in a bus with a patched/glass less window and patched front window. Friday Kahlo Museum and the chaos begins again. Very very long lines, as it was a holiday. However, Amigo Tours had NOT booked the tickets online. so the drivers colleague had to get onto a line for those without electronic tickets- a particularly long line of about 1 1/2 hours? That was a real nightmare, standing in the sun, not knowing when we would get in. Our guide tells us that his company is reluctant to purchase tickets for this online. Why???? this needs to be changed.
hardly saw anything of Diego Riviera Murals - just one at the Olympic Stadium and guide talked And talked About the university, where we didn't go! Xochimilco was fun but again some disorganisation. I found the process of ordering lunch on the boat difficult, as it was hard for the guide and cook to explain what each meal was about - how about a written description on the table when you board ?? meal was expensive by local comparison.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Teotihuacan, Tlatelolco and Guadalupe Shrine Plus Xochimilco and Frida Kahlo

Catherine O United States of ... 

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

Where to begin? They said they were picking us up at 8AM at our hotel for a 9 AM rendezvous with others. That turned into 10AM at a point that was only a 30 min Uber drive from our hotel. We could have slept another 1.5 hours! the next day we were on to them so we told the guide we would meet them. She said to be there at 9:20. there was too much traffic and we texted we would be there at 9:30. She fretted and acted like it was a huge inconvenience and that she would wait for us. We got there at 9:30 and she wasn't even there yet! We had to wait another 20 minutes for her! 1. Amigo tours should explain to the traveler the pickup or meeting options. There is a big difference between 9 and 10 AM. 2. the tour was not in English - it was in English AND Spanish. No Bueno. Our family speaks both but I don't want a tour where everything is said twice. There should have been either TWO tours or TWO guide. And the way the guide did it was weird - ALL in Spanish and then released the Spanish-speakers to tour about and then all in English - and she would leave stuff out of the English part. Because she did it in 2 languages, she didn't really tell us that much. She could have been talking about the city and where we were going and the history of what we were going to see all on the bus trip. Instead, she separated us into English and Spanish-speakers, gave a 2-5 min spiel in one language followed by the other and then let us roam about. It was NOT a guided tour. I could have done all of this with a guidebook and an Uber driver. We went to Tlatelolco, where we were for maybe 10 min. She gave a very very brief overview of the place and didn't say a word about the horrible massacre that took place there. My daughter had to ask about it and even then she didn't say much. We then went to the Virgin of Guadelupe Shrine and she talked about the buildings etc but never gave the story of Juan Diego and the Virgin - which is the whole reason for the buildings!! We went to Xochimilco and she did not say ONE word about the place, why it is there, how it is used, the history - just nothing. She did better in Coayacan and the Frida Kahlo house but overall Amigo Tours does not set up an actual GUIDED tour. It's a tour with a guide who makes sure you don't get lost. The guide was super nice and made sure we were all on time but I paid for a GUIDED tour in English and I didn't get what I paid for. I will never use Amigo Tours again.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Teotihuacan, Tlatelolco and Guadalupe Shrine Plus Xochimilco and Frida Kahlo

Carla

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

The tour started super late and then they didn't give us more time in the places to make it up for the delay.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Charles D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

The staff of the tour company were very nice, however, this was plagued from the beginning with overcrowding issues. The hotel pickup was on time you are collected into a van and then taken somewhere else to get your tour van. When we got there we were met with 59 people who booked this tour, however, they only had a van with 20 capacity. There seemed to be much confusion, but then we were told 20 could get on now and the rest of us would have to wait 5 minutes for another van. So we were left on the sidewalk without any further guidance. It took about 15 minutes, but another van showed up, the problem was it was another 20 person van, and there was still 39 of us. That van driver then called a bus to get everyone. So basically the lucky people who got in the van first had a decent group size of 20, whereas we had an overcrowded group of 39 on a bus. So our hotel pickup was at 850am, we were not on the road until after 10 am. Riding in a large bus around Mexico City is slow moving and uncomfortable. When we reached our first stop of Xochimilco, it was around 1130 AM. We left here at 130 PM, and it was 230PM when we reached just the second stop, Frida Kahlo Museum. The only plus to this tour was the group allowed to skip the line to get in but since we were so large they allowed 15 in at a time. It was around 4 PM, and most of the group was not out of the mususm., this is 7 Hours into the day, and the tour was only supposed to be 8 hours with more still to do and a long ride back. We gave up at this point and took an Uber back to our hotel. I can imagine this group.

One thing to note as well, while this lists a stop at the National University, our tour guide never mentioned that and I am fairly certain it was not going

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

delhay

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

We spent 3 hours on the bus before the tour even began - the process of collecting all of the tour guests was a disaster. Then we were unable to visit the museum because they failed to purchase tickets in advance. After waiting for over an hour, the group decided to skip the museum tour and proceed straight to Xochimilco. That experience was fun, and the stop by the university was ok too. Then getting everyone home was another mess. Would not recommend this tour package - just get your own ride to Xochimilco.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message