Vast Mexico City is a metropolis of epic proportions, a densely populated valley of broad, shady boulevards, vast and crowded markets, skyscraper-studded business districts, and quiet Spanish Colonial neighborhoods. Though this maze can seem ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 224 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Peter J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I was hesitant to book this tour and do it all on my own, but his tour wraps it all up in a package, picks you up at your hotel and tours you around Mexico City.. I really don't think you'd want to try this all on your own. Our entire bus load had the time of our life. The guide couldn't be any cooler! We all laughed, learned, danced, drank and ate together. SO MUCH FUN!!!
I would recommend going on Sunday morning when the Xochimilco is hoppin!! Viator has their own named boat which makes it smoother. Plan this as a whole day trip just sit back, RELAX and let them take the wheel. we had time to take a disco nap, plenty of time to have dinner and make the Ballet de Folklorico de Mexico, which I also HIGHLY recommend together to complete a perfecet SUNDAY FUNDAY in Mexico CIty! : We truly had THE BEST TIME EVER!!!

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Wanderer

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

The actual tour of the pyramids was very good, and I'd recommend it. Our guide was very friendly and knowledgeable and explained things very well. The walk/climb was well paced which is important with all the steps to climb. We were there around the time the complex opened, so there were very few people there at the beginning--many more by the end. The pickup and drop-off service was mostly on-time and efficient. But I wish they'd ditch the post-pyramids portion of the tour of stopping by a souvenir shop for a tequila tasting and lunch at a sub-par restaurant. The food was not good, and the dance and music performance was just kitschy. I realize the guide company gets kickbacks from those, but it unnecessarily added a couple of hours and no-one I spoke to thought it was a good ideathey would have preferred to just get back to Mexico City sooner.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Alida M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Excellent tour. Could never have learned so much if we had explored the city on our own. Pepe was extremely knowledgeable and we had a small group which made it even better. Only wish we had known beforehand that lunch was not part of the day. Tour finished at 3pm and we were pretty starving at that point. Would recommend this tour to anyone visiting Mexico City for a few days who is interested in learning the city's history.

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

Juan B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

One of the worst tour experiences in my life. After traveling for over 15 years and taking tours anywhere from 'free' to expensive, this has had to be the worst one ever. The day started with a crowd of confused people waiting at one of the two specified wait areas with no success. We arrived at 8:50 as indicated to the front of Bellas Artes, only to find 10-15 other people with vouchers and nobody from the company in sight. We waiting until 9:30 until some of us decided to call to ask what was happening. Turns out, they were waiting on the back side of the building Hidalgo street and didn't bother checking for people on the other side the company specified on their instructions. This was the beginning of a long bad tour.... The tour guide Edgar was just terrible. He began talking in Spanish for a good 10-15 minutes and then 'translated' in broken English 1/3 of the information. I am 100 bilingual and knew this for a fact. His broken English kept gradually getting worse as the day went by. The most hilarious part was him trying to explain the Spanish/Aztecs filling the lakes in Mexico city by saying: They fulled the lek..... and a whole set of other gems. Regardless of the guy's English, his organizational skills were chaotic at best. Every single stop we had to wait at least an extra 20-30 minutes for stragglers because he had no initiative to go and look for them. He also did not care how many people he had on the tour and instead of counting, he just called out everybody's name by booking EACH time we had to re-group. The guide was so bad that he managed to make us all wait at times longer than we actually spent visiting in the places. The Xochimilco tour was a total sham with us being on the trajinera for a little over 60 minute at best, and 30 minutes of that time with us 'docked' on the side while his buddy, 'the chef' sold people overpriced bland food. The boat ride was effectively less than 30 minutes, 15 minutes one way and 15 the other. He was also very protective of nobody buying anything else from the regular sales people unless he approved.... greatly diminishing the value of the experience. The 'panoramic' visit to the National University that he mentioned to be 15 minutes long ended up being over 50 minutes long without him saying that we would get to go out and visit the main building, but ended up being this way. We are terribly frustrated with his lack of professionalism, lack of English skills, and total hobo-looking appearance. The driver was amazing and very useful, but the tour guide was just completely terrible. NEVER AGAIN we will use Amigo tours for any other trip in Mexico city.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

davjenk2 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

On this day we had the honor of having Sergio, as our tour guide. He has been a tour guide for 56 years! Need I say more. We will not ever forget Sergio and the amazing tour, as he guided us through the Mexico City sites. This was a private tour, so we were able to take our time, and stop along the way and really try to understand exactly how incredible this city is. Sergio made us feel welcome and we had a beautiful day.
We toured the Diego Rivera murals at The National Palace. Do not miss this Mexico City tour!
When your in Mexico City, this is a must! The Metropolitan Cathedral, the largest in the Americas. Beautiful! Outside the cathedral we saw the statue of Pope John-Paul II. Next was The Angel of Independence, and on to The National Museum of Anthropology. Inside the museum
Is a 1964 designed el paraguas, the umbrella, supported by a single slender pillar. SPECTACULAR!
A special thank-you to Sergio. We will not forget you my friend.

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

kedwards01 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We really enjoyed our tour of Mexico City. The group was small and the guide was very informative of the city and the various buildings and the role of the government.

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

Joshua P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Was quite happy with the tour overall. Pickup was within 3 minutes of scheduled time. I felt our guide was incredibly intelligent and knowledgeable and answered all of my questions and the group's. We got to the site early, so there weren't that many people. By the end of the time at the pyramids, the crowds began to fill in. The pace was a bit fast and I would've liked more time in the park, but I understand having to hurry as there is a lot to see. We still had ample time to climb three pyramids and hear about their history, relation to nature, and the history of the people who practiced religion at Teotihuacan. The agave/tequila/obsidian store was interesting as well. I wouldn't call it a tourist trap per se, but it gets close still, I learned a lot and got to sample some delicious smooth mescal, tequila, and pulque as well as learn a lot about obsidian. The restaurant was nice, though buffet was a bit pricey - still worth it as they had some unique eats that I hadn't tried before. The transfer back to Mexico City was fine. I left my sunglasses on the bus, and Amigo Tours worked with the bus company to get them back within two days. They were very friendly to deal with and helpful in returning my lost item, even going as far as to offering to deliver it to my hotel, which says a lot about the company and the employees working there. Overall, I felt the tour was worth the money and made our visit to Teotihuacan enjoyable, entertaining, and informative.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

douglas p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

an absolute blast ! our group 3 started out at a roof top bar, a breathtaking view of mexico city,then proceeded on to a cantina in garibaldi square, amazing food,drinks, and mariachi music,a real slice of mexico city! then walked to the wrestling arena, where we were totally entertained by non-stop wrestling, which is a huge spectator sport,and I understand why,as you will scream, boo,laugh and cheer them on! we took the subway when we weren't walking, clean, safe, and really cheap! no matter what you heard, mexico city is very,very safe,as the police are everywhere, at every street corner,intersections, etc.you will get a lot of bang for your buck, our tour guide leon was the best,he is a pro!

Doing what: Experience Mexico City: Cantinas, Lucha Libre and Mariachi in Garibaldi Square

Michael K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Great tour. Its an all day tour and be prepared for many other travelers. MAKE SURE TO REMIND THE TOUR GUIDE to ANNOUNCE to ALL the passengers before leaving the bus when they must return. We had to wait almost two hours at the pyramids because six people did not know when to get back to the bus. As a result, the tour was shortened when we went to the Shrine. The tour guide was not thinking.
Other than that, an important tour for anyone who has the time when visiting Mexico City.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

ctatkin

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Taxco was an amazingly picturesque town. Wish we had more time to explore it, but I was happy to have spent the allotted lunch hour at the silver mine, as I bought some great pieces there. FYI when I was exploring historic Taxco on my own, I popped into one of the jewelry stores to compare their prices with the shop at the mine. The prices for comparable pieces were the same. In fact, I was able to negotiate a nice discount on the piece I bought at the silver mine, which actually made their price lower than the town's shop. All-in-all it was a very long day, but well worth the time and a great trip. If you go in December, the temperature is noticeably warmer in Taxco and Cuernavaca than in Mexico City, which for me was a plus. Mexico City's highs are only in the low 70's, whereas the temps in these two towns are in the 80's with abundant sunshine and plenty of fresh air. After returning to Mexico City that evening, I had one of the best meals I ever tasted at a restaurant frequented by locals near the Plaza de La Constitucion. It's called Café de Tacuba, and I highly recommend the beef tamale with tortilla soup and a beer the total bill was USD 10, including tip. It was the perfect cap to a perfect day. Happy travels.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Stephen C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The trip was great. Guide was friendly, knowledgeable, and enthusiastic about answering questions and sharing information. Also do the early tour! When we first arrived the site was practically empty making for an incredible experience. My only critique is we spent a little too much time at the restaurant area after the tour. The mezcal/tequilla tasting was informative and interesting, and there are some good touristy options at the gift shop. But the lunch went a little long, and I would have preferred to get back to Mexico City to eat there. Felt a little like a classic tourist trap. Still, overall very highly recommend!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Elizabeth O

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This was a great tour. Carlos, our guide, was so knowledgeable and enthusiastic about sharing these amazing pyramids with us. Because it's a private tour, they were also flexible with the pick-up time and came right to our door. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 only because after the tour of the pyramids you're brought to a local crafts place and pressured to buy although, the crafts there were really lovely - just awfully expensive, and then you are also supposed to go to a restaurant. I preferred to go back into Mexico City for a restaurant there - but - to their credit, they were happy to skip the restaurant and took us back to the city. All in all, a great tour that I am happy to recommend!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids Day Trip from Mexico City with an Archeologist

Christina C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The luchadores were great, a nice way to spend a Friday evening in Mexico City. This tour consists of transportation only really, plus a mask and a small bottle of tequila. I would recommend that you purchase your lucha tickets online ticketmaster and then take an uber. You can buy the masks there and of course tequila is everywhere. Oh just as an aside, no cameras are allowed, but it was ok to take with a phone camera.

Doing what: Mexican Wrestling: Experience Lucha Libre in Mexico City

Matthew R

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The tour director was fantastic. Extremely full of information and a lot of fun to speak with. The ruins themselves are very much worth seeing but I wouldn't do the trip without a tour guide, you'll miss far too much important information.

I would rather have not visited the souvenir shops. I found the very same products at the National Museum of Anthropology for less than half the price. The restaurant was clearly part of the operation and while it was not terrible, it was definitely overpriced for the quality. We could have eaten much better for half the price in Mexico City.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Mark A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Very enjoyable tour, our guide was knowledgable it made seeing the sites so interesting. I loved every minute of it! I would do it again if I get back to Mexico City.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

David E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent tour. Our guide was knowledgeable and friendly. The tour was well-paced ... we had just enough time at each site. I would definitely recommend this tour if you visit Mexico City.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

David E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent tour. Our guide was knowledgeable and friendly. The tour was well-paced ... we had just enough time at each site. I would definitely recommend this tour if you visit Mexico City. I was particularly impressed by the University ... probably because I had low expectations.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Shahrol E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This is a must do tour when you are in mexico city. Amigo tour guide cant remember his name, he is very knowledgeable about the history of mexico city in particular teotihuacan. Hotel pickup was on time altho i had difficulty in reaching them via email that i had to ask several times to confirm the pick up time. Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Paul K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our guide Ligia was very courteous and knowledgeable. Also very patient and persistent in finding us in the morning We had not given her a complete address. She answered all of our questions, very easy going and even dropped us off in a different location to allow us to continue with other plans. The site is truly amazing. Pictures can not capture the enormity of the pyramids and surrounding complex. Definitely a must see when traveling to Mexico City. The obsidian workshop was interesting and who can say no to tequila?

Doing what: Private Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids Day Trip from Mexico City with an Archeologist

Mahesh K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We booked this tour in the last minute based on the reviews I read here...We got there with absolutely no idea of what to expect. Ligia sp?, our guide, showed up in the morning at our hotel and took us to this place and it was an amazing 1-day we spent with her. She has fine English speaking skill with amazing knowledge on the history of entire Mexico - starting from Aztecs to everything..She also took us to Basilica of Guadalupe.....Every minute we spent with her was informative....Highly recommend going with her to this place....

Don't miss the lunch buffet in a restaurant - awesome!

Best/must-go place in Mexico City...

Doing what: Private Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids Day Trip from Mexico City with an Archeologist

Craig R

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Hotel pickup went as planned. Getting to the Pyramids early is the way to go. Avoid the crowds. One wish is a self guided tour app on smartphone. I split from the group and went my own pace. Tour guide told us where to meet at 11:30 and that worked. Its tough for the guide to repeat everything in Spanish and English. The time spent was enough to climb all three Pyramids. Remember to take water with.
This location is a must see for Mexico City visitors.
The bus is not the most comfortable but the trip is not long. Lunch was ok. I would take my own lunch next time.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Carlos Andres M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Tour was really nice. Tour guide was awesome. He was very funny and knowledgeable. Tour is worth it and it is not too expensive. I would have gotten to the Pyramids by public transportation to experience the Mexico City life as it was stated in the tour when I booked it but for any reason we were not able to do it so we had to go in a mini van.

Doing what: Experience Mexico City: Teotihuacan Pyramids by Metro and Dinner with a Local Family

Mark W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

I gave this tour one star, because as far as I know, none of my fellow tourists died on this jaunt. Well we were picked up almost on time 8:30 am at our hotel and boarded a bus, we were dropped off at a pickup point and milled around for an hour before we boarded a second bus to take us to a third bus, great start. We had about 20 plus people on the bus, and our guide will be named Tony to protect the guilty. He collected our paperwork on the 40 minute ride to our destination and spoke briefly in Spanish and English. We exited the bus and were given 20 minutes to wander around the oldest convent in Mexico City, which was not actually on the tour. We were to meet Tony back in the square. Interesting place but without a guide it was lost on us. We fought off the local peddlers and met Tony who counted us off and marched us to a local indoor market. We had 25 minutes and had to meet Tony back at the park in front. We looked around the market, bought some sweets but again most was lost on us without a guide. Tony lined us up and marched us off to the Kahlo house. Tony and the bus driver handed out tickets and disappeared. We waited in line for 20 minutes before being told we had been given the wrong part of the ticket and could not get in. Did I mention Tony left a few people behind in the market? They came over looking for Tony and tickets. The museum called Amigo Tours and a few fellow tourists called looking for Tony. He showed up about 15 minutes later, fumbled about trying to match up tickets, handed the mess to the museum employee and disappeared. We marched through the Kahlo house, it was packed and not a very good guest experience I work in museums. At that point my wife and I decided to bolt this disaster of a tour and see the local sites. We tracked down Tony and told him we were going to take off, he had a perplexed look on his face, likely thinking about his lost tip. We then walked over to the Trotsky House, a great little museum. We strolled back to the market and had a lovely fish lunch and cold beer at an outdoor corner restaurant, mostly filled with locals, great service. We wandered back to the convent and visited the square/park and a local pop-up market. We walked around and had a good time. Cabbed back to the hotel around 4:30 pm. We later saw a fellow tourist at the airport, she remarked that the rest of the tour was slow and she finally got back to her hotel at 7 pm. When we pay for a tour, we expect a tour. I can wander around by myself.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Reed W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Ligia was an excellent tour guide! She met us bright and early at our hotel and drove us around some of the best and most historical districts in Mexico City before heading out to the pyramids. Once there, she gave us some amazing history lessons on how the pyramids were discovered and how they've been excavated/restored to-date. She then gave my wife and I some free time to roam the pyramids' grounds and climb to the top of two of them. After our hike, we got to go to an incredible arts and crafts store, see how different jewelry, dyes, and liquors were made, and pick up some great souvenirs. Lastly, before heading back, we got treated to a wonderful lunch, complete with mariachi players and some special desserts and some sparkling wine to celebrate our recent marriage and honeymoon. Ultimately, it was an incredible tour and we'd highly recommend it to anyone wanting to do something fun, different, and super special on their Mexico City trip!

Doing what: Private Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids Day Trip from Mexico City with an Archeologist

Robert S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour! Was the highlight of my trip to Mexico City. This history, beauty of the site--all makes for a magical day! Plus you will meet awesome people from around the world!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message