Vast Mexico City is a metropolis of epic proportions, a densely populated valley of broad, shady boulevards, vast and crowded markets, skyscraper-studded business districts, and quiet Spanish Colonial neighborhoods. Though this maze can seem ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 201 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Reed W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Ligia was an excellent tour guide! She met us bright and early at our hotel and drove us around some of the best and most historical districts in Mexico City before heading out to the pyramids. Once there, she gave us some amazing history lessons on how the pyramids were discovered and how they've been excavated/restored to-date. She then gave my wife and I some free time to roam the pyramids' grounds and climb to the top of two of them. After our hike, we got to go to an incredible arts and crafts store, see how different jewelry, dyes, and liquors were made, and pick up some great souvenirs. Lastly, before heading back, we got treated to a wonderful lunch, complete with mariachi players and some special desserts and some sparkling wine to celebrate our recent marriage and honeymoon. Ultimately, it was an incredible tour and we'd highly recommend it to anyone wanting to do something fun, different, and super special on their Mexico City trip!

Doing what: Private Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids Day Trip from Mexico City with an Archeologist

Robert S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour! Was the highlight of my trip to Mexico City. This history, beauty of the site--all makes for a magical day! Plus you will meet awesome people from around the world!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Mae M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour started off on the wrong foot in that the tour company taking us on the tour had us registered at the wrong hotel. When I booked the tour online I got an email from the the host company asking for the name of the hotel in Mexico City. I typed in the name as our hotel was not on the list but it seems that our hotel has a similar name to a hotel on the list and somehow the list defaulted to the name on the list and I did not catch that. This meant we were late getting picked up by about half an hour. Once organized, we were on this tour with 10 other people plus the tour guide and driver. Our tour guide spoke English quite well and our tour was in Spanish and English.
The tour began with a visit to Plaza de las Tres Culturas. It was interesting to hear about this area in the middle of Mexico City. The ruins are of an Aztec market place and the rocks from the ruins were used to build the Church of Santiago in 1604 and is home to a huge housing complex today.
We left there and headed for Teotihuacan. If at all possible sit on the right side of the bus heading out of Mexico City to Teotihuacan, there is quite a lot to see of Mexico City and surroundings.
At Teotihuacan we were introduced to the Mexican hairless dog and also had a lesson in geology. We finally got to the ruins and this is very much a walking tour, not difficult walking but there are some steep steps before getting to the main attractions. There are also no park benches to sit and take in the view. I really enjoyed seeing the Temple of the Moon and the Temple of the Sun. They were very awe inspiring and really make you think about how did the Aztecs manage to build these pyramids? You are also free to climb these ruins. I did not climb them but my sister climbed the Temple of the moon as there were only 50 steps involved. She said they were fairly steep but some of the younger people were practically running up the steps. The Temple of the Sun had 250 steps and we did not climb them. I was glad I was able to see these ruins.
From there we stopped and had a very nice lunch. I prepaid for our lunch when I booked the trip and I would suggest that is a good idea.
Our next stop was the Shrine of Guadalupe. Wow this was an amazing church. Amazing in that it is such a modern shrine built on an ancient story. It is the most visited shrine in the world and if you are in Mexico City you should go and visit.
At the end of the tour we were not dropped at our hotel because they still had not figured out that they did not have the correct name of our hotel. Given the traffic in Mexico City the Tour operator asked if we would mind being dropped off with in about 2 blocks of our hotel. We were agreeable and they pointed us in the right direction and we wound up back at our hotel safe and sound.
Other than the glitch about our hotel I really enjoyed this tour. I thought out tour guide was friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. He spoke English very well. I think his name was Jose.
For personal information there is a lot of off and on a van that seats 12 people, a lot of walking, no places to sit while touring, plenty of washroom breaks.
I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Tiffany J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I had an absolutely great time on this tour. It left promptly and we were out at the pyramids early. We had a great guide and a great group of people with us for the tour. We were able to get some great information, great pics, and even had a marriage proposal at the top of one of the pyramids. Definiitely a tour to remember. I would recommend this tour to everyone who comes to Mexico City. The group was even able to try different types of mezcal. I should have bought there but i was out of money from all the great souvenirs available. A great tour overall...

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Charles D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

The staff of the tour company were very nice, however, this was plagued from the beginning with overcrowding issues. The hotel pickup was on time you are collected into a van and then taken somewhere else to get your tour van. When we got there we were met with 59 people who booked this tour, however, they only had a van with 20 capacity. There seemed to be much confusion, but then we were told 20 could get on now and the rest of us would have to wait 5 minutes for another van. So we were left on the sidewalk without any further guidance. It took about 15 minutes, but another van showed up, the problem was it was another 20 person van, and there was still 39 of us. That van driver then called a bus to get everyone. So basically the lucky people who got in the van first had a decent group size of 20, whereas we had an overcrowded group of 39 on a bus. So our hotel pickup was at 850am, we were not on the road until after 10 am. Riding in a large bus around Mexico City is slow moving and uncomfortable. When we reached our first stop of Xochimilco, it was around 1130 AM. We left here at 130 PM, and it was 230PM when we reached just the second stop, Frida Kahlo Museum. The only plus to this tour was the group allowed to skip the line to get in but since we were so large they allowed 15 in at a time. It was around 4 PM, and most of the group was not out of the mususm., this is 7 Hours into the day, and the tour was only supposed to be 8 hours with more still to do and a long ride back. We gave up at this point and took an Uber back to our hotel. I can imagine this group.

One thing to note as well, while this lists a stop at the National University, our tour guide never mentioned that and I am fairly certain it was not going

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

lamb0000

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had an excellent private English speaking tour guide. The tour of Teotihuacan Pyramids is amazing .This is a must choice for anyone visiting Mexico City looking for excursion outside the city.

Doing what: Private Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids Day Trip from Mexico City with an Archeologist

Marwa K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

What a fun tour this was! This was the third ancient site we went to visit after Chicten Itza and Uxmal and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Walking through the site and being able to climb the temple stairs made everything so surreal and incredible. Miguel was an awesome tour guide. He was equally knowledgeable and entertaining.

The restaurant we went to afterwards was nice, a highlight. Would have liked to spent less time at the gift shop, though.

Overall wonderful experience. Recommend this tour to anyone visiting Mexico City. Bus ride isn't that long and the tour won't take up your whole day.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Charles S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A good deal for both!

Mexico City Tour: I was fortunate to be part of a small group, lead by Alicia. She's great. I asked what felt like 100 questions during our visit to the anthropology museum and she happily answered all of them. You can sense her passion for Mexican history and culture, which is exactly the type of person you want for a tour of a city so rich in both areas. Our tour included hotel pick up and drop off. The driver, Antonio, was punctual for the pick up and kind enough to drop us off near another tourist attraction that was several miles from our hotel--he saved us quite a bit of time. Great team. Highly recommended.

Teotihuacan Pyramids: This is a must-do. The pyramids are beautiful and the thought that ancient people moved these stones without the aid of even a wheel is astounding. The tour guide explained well the most current, historical understanding of the people that lived at the site. For photo taking opportunities, both the Sun and the Moon pyramids are great. I preferred the Moon pyramid's vantage point as it seemed to provide a more aesthetically pleasing view of the entire site. After the pyramids tour, you'll go to a nearby location for lunch not included. A few tips: bring a hat. Bring some water. If you're tight on money, you'll want to forgo the restaurant lunch and pack some food ahead of time. The souvenir shop is also a place where you can spend money a bit too fast, but if you buy with pesos, you'll be in a better bargaining position. If you're looking for obsidian stonework, be sure to educate yourself on the topic so you know you're getting the real thing and for a fair price. And lastly, whatever you do, do the early access to the pyramids as it gets really crowded and that translates into more difficulty getting that perfect selfie without having fellow visitors immortalized in your pictures.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Teotihuacán Pyramids Early-Morning Access plus City Tour

william a

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Frida Kahlo museum was great. Xochimilco is interesting, but not as scenic as I would have liked. Coyocoan is ok, but the churros we ate there were incredible. Murals @ the National University were very nice but that is only a 15 minute stop. Fernanda was a good guide and spoke English pretty well. Lots of walking. Mexico City is not a great place for people with disabilities.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Rafael M

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

During the week, Xochomilco is not as busy as on weekends, so my expectations had to be lowered. UNAM was interesting. We were a little rushed getting through the museum because of the weather and were delayed in getting back to Mexico City itself.

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

Melissa United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a private tour, one on one, so the biggest benefit of the tour was the tour guide himself. We spent a lot of time talking about Mexico City, its history, its culture, and its people. That was the best part of the tour. He first introduced me to food at a couple of local places that created tacos from cheaper cuts of meat like tripe, tongue, etc. Things I wouldn't normally eat, but they were actually very tasty and I'm really glad I got to try them! I wouldn't have known what to try and which vendors to choose on my own. We ended up at a nice coffee shop and ate some very tasty dishes. My only negative is that at this restaurant the amount of food was too much. I would have preferred to have smaller amounts so I could try more things. But the food was excellent, and the guide was wonderful. It was like having lunch with a friend introducing me to his country's cuisine! Perfect.

Doing what: Mexico City Food Walking Tour: Tamales, Tacos and Quesadillas

John N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We took the combined trip to Xochimilko, Fride Kahlo Musem, Coyoacán, and UNAM. Viator
combined the trip at a discount of 40.00US.
We had a wonderful time and thought the price was great! We were picked up on the Zocalo
near our hotel. Viator has mini vans and busses picking up people all over DF and taking them
to a central hub where they are distributed by tour.

Advantages
-Trip was ordered online on iPad/iPhone with Viator app In Mexico City the day before
-Didn't have to deal with taxis, buses, mimi buses and schedules to get to all the locations
-Didn't have to wait in line at the Frida Kahlo Museum.
-Didn't have to negotiate with the boatmen at Xochimilco
-At the last stop people were distributed into vehicles going to the same district.
-Very good guides

Disadvantages
-Would have liked to go into Olympic Stadium for a look inside
-We're photographers and would have liked a little more free time to explore on our own.
However, for most people the free-time was perfect

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic tour, will never for get this experience and also especially impressed with the drivers, I would not want to drive in Mexico City....

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Ludivina R

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The event itself was worth the time. It's definitely something different to do and lots of fun.
I did have a few issues: 1 I was told my pick up time was 530 and wasn't picked up until 630. We spent an hour waiting in the hotel lobby. We didn't have many days in Mexico City and rushed around that day to make sure we were back in time to only wait for an hour. 2 Since the pick up was late, we were late for the match. 3 Our tequila shots were the small bottles of tequila, pretty lame. But when you enter the arena, they take away ALL liquids. Therefore they took our tequila and the water we had. You should warn customers of this and not give out the tequila until after the match or tell your customers to consume it before entering.. 4 While I know that your website says no photos, it didn't advise that they will confiscate your camera if you have one. I was very uneasy checking in my 1500 camera. But I had no issues with the return. Again, something you should advise your customers.

Doing what: Mexican Wrestling: Experience Lucha Libre in Mexico City

Karl M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour! Teotihuacan is unforgettable and makes for a great day trip from Mexico City. We had a wonderful tour guide who was very knowledgeable. The restaurant that they stop at shortly after leaving Teotihuacan had great food. I recommend the Aztec soup to everyone. Overall, I would highly recommend this trip to others who are looking to learn more about Mexico's precolonial history.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Kylee L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was awesome! Our guide, Raul, was from Oaxaca and was awesome and spoke perfect english. There were just four of us on the tour the tour guide, myself, my husband, and one other guest. We went to seven different restaurants and walked all around Polcano. Although my husband and I are active and walk a lot I feel that most people could still get along just fine on this tour even if you weren't in fantastic shape. And everything is flat.

We started at one restaurant where they taught us about chiles, made home made salsa in front of us and we tried three different mole sauces, and different chips. Then we moved on and had the best tamales I've ever had, from there we had tacos that were of a mixed meat combination pork, beef and chicken we moved on from there had fish tacos with a delicious non-alcoholic drink, then we had tortilla soup, we stopped by a chocolateria and we each got to pick out 2 chocolates and then we all shared and tried them together and then we finished by having gelato. It's a lot of food so definitely come with an empty stomach but it was one of the best experiences we had in Mexico City.

Doing what: Polanco Food Tour in Mexico City

Nina United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had so much fun taking this trip and it is a must-see when travelling to Mexico City. Our guide was awesome and I can strongly recommend this tour if you want to learn more about the area.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Nate

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

One of the best services in Mexico City

Doing what: Mexico City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Tiffany L

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The tour was excellent! We were the first to be picked up, on time, at 6am. We spent the next hour picking up other passengers throughout the city. We began our passage to Teotihuacan at 7am. We stopped by a GoMart gas station to pick up coffee and water. We arrived at the center around 9am. The tour guide suggested that we buy hats and go to the restroom. Teotihuacan was very empty besides some local arts/crafts sellers. The tour guide gave us excellent information on the history. We never felt rushed and we climbed the Pyramid of the Sun and the Moon with ease. It seems the tour guide is friends with a local seller because the seller demonstrated some drawings and immediately our group ventured to buy stuff from him. I suggest you wait and you can find the same crafts at half the price with other vendors. Luckily we did not have to walk all the back to the entrance because the tour bus was waiting for us at the other end. We left the facility around 11am.
We then went to a local town where we tried Mezcal and learned more about the culture. Then we went to the restaurant/buffet for lunch next door. The buffet was 119 pesos per person and the self-order menu was roughly around the same price per plate.
We headed back to Mexico City around 1pm. The first group was dropped off at 2:30pm. Although, I was the first to be picked up, I was the last to be dropped off and arrived back at my hotel at 3:30pm.
Overall, the tour of Teotihuacan was great! However, the mezcal tasting and the lunch was completely unnecessary because it was overpriced food and souvenirs. I would have rather skip traffic and go back to Mexico.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

mason

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Good guide, terrible organizational skills of the agency to coordinate the pick up of hotel guests and time to leave Mexico City. We were picked up at 6:45 and didn't leave the city until after 8:30. That is longer than it takes to fly from the USA to Mexico City. Once we got to the site everything was great. The guide provided light information and sufficient time to walk around and explore the ruins. If these guys could just get the pick up and drop off of punters streamlined then it would be a 5 star your. I was in no rush and didn't let it worry me too much, but everyone was complaining about this before we left the city.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Kylee L

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was a really great experience. The early morning was clearly the way to go, even though we had to get up super early which isn't always desirable on vacation, it was well worth it. By the end of our tour you could look out and see how much more crowded the pyramids had gotten, so I highly recommend the early morning tour, once you're awake and there it's not bad.

The transportation was just fine and on time. They did make a pit stop before heading out to the pyramids so you could go to the bathroom and get coffee and snacks if you wanted which was nice.

Our tour guide was great. However, it being a spanish and english tour, she would switch each sentence between english and spanish, however, alot of times, because of her accent we didn't even realize she was speaking english again.I didn't come away from the tour feeling like I learned a lot from the guide, so it might actually be worth considering the self guided tour.

The only thing I absolutely hated was that the tour took us to lunch after, and I signed up for a tour that did not include lunch, no one on our tour did, however, they still took us to a restaurant and they had a buffet set up. The price for the buffet was more than half the cost of what they had on their menu which was still the most expensive meal we had in all of mexico city and so we went with the buffet. It was the most awful food I have ever had. Nothing was authentic, the waiter kept pointing out how it's not spicy! as if that was a good thing, but for my husband and I we like to experience the real food and the real culture and this was worse than some of the american chain mexican restaurants back home. They even served mashed potatoes and spaghetti. Then they took you on a tour of basically their gift shop which was also annoying. I would have much rather just gotten back to the city and was really annoyed that we felt trapped and forced.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Brian P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

The pyramids are a must see if you go to Mexico City. I am always hesitant to do these group tours because you are on someone else's agenda, and I should have followed my own advice with this tour. If I had it to do over again, I would have hired a private guide or at least taken a cab on our own. The tour guide was nice and knowledgable, but the van made several unnecessary stops that were not mentioned in the tour description - Tres Cultures Square, a silver shop, and a tequila tasting. The extra stops made for a very long day and we did not get back to our hotel until 9:00 PM. I would have rather skipped these and had our evening to do with what we pleased. Tres Cultures Square was ok, but we spent too much time there over an hour. The Basilica was part of the tour, but just ok for me. There are just as interesting/beautiful churches right in the city. The silver shop and tequila tasting were a complete waste of time. As a result of the three extra stops, we had limited time to spend at the pyramids about 1.5 hours, which are absolutely spectacular and I could have spent a lot more time here. I recommend taking private transportation to the pyramids and spending several hours there at your leisure.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Brian P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

The pyramids are a must see if you go to Mexico City. I am always hesitant to do these group tours because you are on someone else's agenda, and I should have followed my own advice with this tour. If I had it to do over again, I would have hired a private guide or at least taken a cab on our own. The tour guide was nice and knowledgable, but the van made several unnecessary stops that were not mentioned in the tour description - Tres Cultures Square, a silver shop, and a tequila tasting. The extra stops made for a very long day and we did not get back to our hotel until 9:00 PM. I would have rather skipped these and had our evening to do with what we pleased. Tres Cultures Square was ok, but we spent too much time there over an hour. The Basilica was part of the tour, but just ok for me. There are just as interesting/beautiful churches right in the city. The silver shop and tequila tasting were a complete waste of time. As a result of the three extra stops, we had limited time to spend at the pyramids about 1.5 hours, which are absolutely spectacular and I could have spent a lot more time here. I recommend taking private transportation to the pyramids and spending several hours there at your leisure.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Jen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Awesome night out in down town Mexico City. Leon our guide was very vibrant and excitable, has a lot of knowledge and makes sure everyone is having a great time.

Doing what: Experience Mexico City: Cantinas, Lucha Libre and Mariachi in Garibaldi Square

tomarangel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Kind of like the Eifel Tower of Paris--I think it's a must if you are visiting Mexico City. I would also encourage doing it with a guide versus on your own giving the rich historical context they can provide. Leonardo was wonderful.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message