Vast Mexico City is a metropolis of epic proportions, a densely populated valley of broad, shady boulevards, vast and crowded markets, skyscraper-studded business districts, and quiet Spanish Colonial neighborhoods. Though this maze can seem ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 191 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Melissa United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a private tour, one on one, so the biggest benefit of the tour was the tour guide himself. We spent a lot of time talking about Mexico City, its history, its culture, and its people. That was the best part of the tour. He first introduced me to food at a couple of local places that created tacos from cheaper cuts of meat like tripe, tongue, etc. Things I wouldn't normally eat, but they were actually very tasty and I'm really glad I got to try them! I wouldn't have known what to try and which vendors to choose on my own. We ended up at a nice coffee shop and ate some very tasty dishes. My only negative is that at this restaurant the amount of food was too much. I would have preferred to have smaller amounts so I could try more things. But the food was excellent, and the guide was wonderful. It was like having lunch with a friend introducing me to his country's cuisine! Perfect.

Doing what: Mexico City Food Walking Tour: Tamales, Tacos and Quesadillas

John N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We took the combined trip to Xochimilko, Fride Kahlo Musem, Coyoacán, and UNAM. Viator
combined the trip at a discount of 40.00US.
We had a wonderful time and thought the price was great! We were picked up on the Zocalo
near our hotel. Viator has mini vans and busses picking up people all over DF and taking them
to a central hub where they are distributed by tour.

Advantages
-Trip was ordered online on iPad/iPhone with Viator app In Mexico City the day before
-Didn't have to deal with taxis, buses, mimi buses and schedules to get to all the locations
-Didn't have to wait in line at the Frida Kahlo Museum.
-Didn't have to negotiate with the boatmen at Xochimilco
-At the last stop people were distributed into vehicles going to the same district.
-Very good guides

Disadvantages
-Would have liked to go into Olympic Stadium for a look inside
-We're photographers and would have liked a little more free time to explore on our own.
However, for most people the free-time was perfect

Doing what: Mexico City Super Saver: Coyoacán and Frida Kahlo Museum plus Xochimilco and National University

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic tour, will never for get this experience and also especially impressed with the drivers, I would not want to drive in Mexico City....

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Ludivina R

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The event itself was worth the time. It's definitely something different to do and lots of fun.
I did have a few issues: 1 I was told my pick up time was 530 and wasn't picked up until 630. We spent an hour waiting in the hotel lobby. We didn't have many days in Mexico City and rushed around that day to make sure we were back in time to only wait for an hour. 2 Since the pick up was late, we were late for the match. 3 Our tequila shots were the small bottles of tequila, pretty lame. But when you enter the arena, they take away ALL liquids. Therefore they took our tequila and the water we had. You should warn customers of this and not give out the tequila until after the match or tell your customers to consume it before entering.. 4 While I know that your website says no photos, it didn't advise that they will confiscate your camera if you have one. I was very uneasy checking in my 1500 camera. But I had no issues with the return. Again, something you should advise your customers.

Doing what: Mexican Wrestling: Experience Lucha Libre in Mexico City

Karl M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour! Teotihuacan is unforgettable and makes for a great day trip from Mexico City. We had a wonderful tour guide who was very knowledgeable. The restaurant that they stop at shortly after leaving Teotihuacan had great food. I recommend the Aztec soup to everyone. Overall, I would highly recommend this trip to others who are looking to learn more about Mexico's precolonial history.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Kylee L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was awesome! Our guide, Raul, was from Oaxaca and was awesome and spoke perfect english. There were just four of us on the tour the tour guide, myself, my husband, and one other guest. We went to seven different restaurants and walked all around Polcano. Although my husband and I are active and walk a lot I feel that most people could still get along just fine on this tour even if you weren't in fantastic shape. And everything is flat.

We started at one restaurant where they taught us about chiles, made home made salsa in front of us and we tried three different mole sauces, and different chips. Then we moved on and had the best tamales I've ever had, from there we had tacos that were of a mixed meat combination pork, beef and chicken we moved on from there had fish tacos with a delicious non-alcoholic drink, then we had tortilla soup, we stopped by a chocolateria and we each got to pick out 2 chocolates and then we all shared and tried them together and then we finished by having gelato. It's a lot of food so definitely come with an empty stomach but it was one of the best experiences we had in Mexico City.

Doing what: Polanco Food Tour in Mexico City

Nina United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had so much fun taking this trip and it is a must-see when travelling to Mexico City. Our guide was awesome and I can strongly recommend this tour if you want to learn more about the area.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Nate

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

One of the best services in Mexico City

Doing what: Mexico City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Tiffany L

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The tour was excellent! We were the first to be picked up, on time, at 6am. We spent the next hour picking up other passengers throughout the city. We began our passage to Teotihuacan at 7am. We stopped by a GoMart gas station to pick up coffee and water. We arrived at the center around 9am. The tour guide suggested that we buy hats and go to the restroom. Teotihuacan was very empty besides some local arts/crafts sellers. The tour guide gave us excellent information on the history. We never felt rushed and we climbed the Pyramid of the Sun and the Moon with ease. It seems the tour guide is friends with a local seller because the seller demonstrated some drawings and immediately our group ventured to buy stuff from him. I suggest you wait and you can find the same crafts at half the price with other vendors. Luckily we did not have to walk all the back to the entrance because the tour bus was waiting for us at the other end. We left the facility around 11am.
We then went to a local town where we tried Mezcal and learned more about the culture. Then we went to the restaurant/buffet for lunch next door. The buffet was 119 pesos per person and the self-order menu was roughly around the same price per plate.
We headed back to Mexico City around 1pm. The first group was dropped off at 2:30pm. Although, I was the first to be picked up, I was the last to be dropped off and arrived back at my hotel at 3:30pm.
Overall, the tour of Teotihuacan was great! However, the mezcal tasting and the lunch was completely unnecessary because it was overpriced food and souvenirs. I would have rather skip traffic and go back to Mexico.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

mason

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Good guide, terrible organizational skills of the agency to coordinate the pick up of hotel guests and time to leave Mexico City. We were picked up at 6:45 and didn't leave the city until after 8:30. That is longer than it takes to fly from the USA to Mexico City. Once we got to the site everything was great. The guide provided light information and sufficient time to walk around and explore the ruins. If these guys could just get the pick up and drop off of punters streamlined then it would be a 5 star your. I was in no rush and didn't let it worry me too much, but everyone was complaining about this before we left the city.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Kylee L

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was a really great experience. The early morning was clearly the way to go, even though we had to get up super early which isn't always desirable on vacation, it was well worth it. By the end of our tour you could look out and see how much more crowded the pyramids had gotten, so I highly recommend the early morning tour, once you're awake and there it's not bad.

The transportation was just fine and on time. They did make a pit stop before heading out to the pyramids so you could go to the bathroom and get coffee and snacks if you wanted which was nice.

Our tour guide was great. However, it being a spanish and english tour, she would switch each sentence between english and spanish, however, alot of times, because of her accent we didn't even realize she was speaking english again.I didn't come away from the tour feeling like I learned a lot from the guide, so it might actually be worth considering the self guided tour.

The only thing I absolutely hated was that the tour took us to lunch after, and I signed up for a tour that did not include lunch, no one on our tour did, however, they still took us to a restaurant and they had a buffet set up. The price for the buffet was more than half the cost of what they had on their menu which was still the most expensive meal we had in all of mexico city and so we went with the buffet. It was the most awful food I have ever had. Nothing was authentic, the waiter kept pointing out how it's not spicy! as if that was a good thing, but for my husband and I we like to experience the real food and the real culture and this was worse than some of the american chain mexican restaurants back home. They even served mashed potatoes and spaghetti. Then they took you on a tour of basically their gift shop which was also annoying. I would have much rather just gotten back to the city and was really annoyed that we felt trapped and forced.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Brian P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

The pyramids are a must see if you go to Mexico City. I am always hesitant to do these group tours because you are on someone else's agenda, and I should have followed my own advice with this tour. If I had it to do over again, I would have hired a private guide or at least taken a cab on our own. The tour guide was nice and knowledgable, but the van made several unnecessary stops that were not mentioned in the tour description - Tres Cultures Square, a silver shop, and a tequila tasting. The extra stops made for a very long day and we did not get back to our hotel until 9:00 PM. I would have rather skipped these and had our evening to do with what we pleased. Tres Cultures Square was ok, but we spent too much time there over an hour. The Basilica was part of the tour, but just ok for me. There are just as interesting/beautiful churches right in the city. The silver shop and tequila tasting were a complete waste of time. As a result of the three extra stops, we had limited time to spend at the pyramids about 1.5 hours, which are absolutely spectacular and I could have spent a lot more time here. I recommend taking private transportation to the pyramids and spending several hours there at your leisure.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Brian P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

The pyramids are a must see if you go to Mexico City. I am always hesitant to do these group tours because you are on someone else's agenda, and I should have followed my own advice with this tour. If I had it to do over again, I would have hired a private guide or at least taken a cab on our own. The tour guide was nice and knowledgable, but the van made several unnecessary stops that were not mentioned in the tour description - Tres Cultures Square, a silver shop, and a tequila tasting. The extra stops made for a very long day and we did not get back to our hotel until 9:00 PM. I would have rather skipped these and had our evening to do with what we pleased. Tres Cultures Square was ok, but we spent too much time there over an hour. The Basilica was part of the tour, but just ok for me. There are just as interesting/beautiful churches right in the city. The silver shop and tequila tasting were a complete waste of time. As a result of the three extra stops, we had limited time to spend at the pyramids about 1.5 hours, which are absolutely spectacular and I could have spent a lot more time here. I recommend taking private transportation to the pyramids and spending several hours there at your leisure.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Jen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Awesome night out in down town Mexico City. Leon our guide was very vibrant and excitable, has a lot of knowledge and makes sure everyone is having a great time.

Doing what: Experience Mexico City: Cantinas, Lucha Libre and Mariachi in Garibaldi Square

tomarangel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Kind of like the Eifel Tower of Paris--I think it's a must if you are visiting Mexico City. I would also encourage doing it with a guide versus on your own giving the rich historical context they can provide. Leonardo was wonderful.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Thelma Alicia F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

First time to Mexico City and we could not leave out this experience since me and my family are lucha libre fans. it was an unforgettable experience that my family will always remember.

Doing what: Mexican Wrestling: Experience Lucha Libre in Mexico City

Abrian S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was very interesting to learn about the history of Mexico City as well as see the beautiful sights of Teotihacan. Our guide Lejia was amazing. She was very knowledgeable and personable and went above and beyond just guiding us. I felt personal service and very comfortable in an unknown place and all of my curious questions were answered above and beyond. Do yourself a favor and check this tour out and any others you possibly can!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Elizabeth N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour -- we did it on our first day in Mexico City. Wear sunscreen! Our guide was so sweet and the lunch place and market stopped at afterwards is very touristy and may not be as legitimate as they say, but is still really fun. They also dropped us off back at our air bnb, even though it's not a listed hotel. Thanks!

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Cindy A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

One of the highlights of our visit to Mexico City. We were picked up from our hotel on time and, on the way to the site, even had the opportunity to stop at a convenience store for those who needed to purchase a drink or food or use the restroom. Our guide spoke in both English and Spanish and offered very interesting commentary on the history of the pyramids. He was very willing to answer questions and was positive and professional at all times. After the tour, we were taken to a site to taste various liquors, but the purpose was really just to make money for the people at that site. It was interesting to see the weaving loom and the beautiful artifacts, but they were very expensive, which the employees were quick to tell us could be purchased with our credit card. The buffet lunch was reasonable and good and the people who danced and offered to pose with us in pictures for a tip were good. The pyramids were great - the other commercial piece not so much.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Jeremiah M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The guide Ligia with Amigo tours was very excellent. She was was energetic, informative and friendly. She gave the tour in English and Spanish and was happy to dive in to any topic as we walked about the grounds. The pyramids are not to be missed and by arriving early it was quiet so we got to take photos without many people in the background. The process for being picked up was a little complicated and myself and another couple did not receive instructions that the meet up place was moved, so we were waiting for some time. I suspect this is because Viator and the tour operators systems are not completely aligned and due to late bookings, so make sure you double check directly with the operator if you book less than 24 hours ahead. The phone lines have English speaking operators if needed, After the pyramids we stopped for a buffet lunch and to taste some Tequilla with an opportunity to buy some goods. A common tactic across the world, the free drink puts you in mind to buy many of the crafts on offer, but be warned the price of goods was actually considerably more than in Mexico City or at the gift shop in the Anthropological Museum so I took a pass. But overall a very enjoyable trip with an excellent guide.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

robbo1961

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Our tour started early making rounds in Mexico City to pick up all participants. the company did use two other mini vans to pick up people and then meet at a central location to increase efficiency. On the way out we did stop at a roadside stop to get coffee and light breakfasts which was nice.
We did get to the Pyramids early enough to beat all the Sunday crowds and really learn about them with Leonardo our guide. Leonardo was fluent in Spanish and English and was a wealth of knowledge. The ruins were great, you do have plenty of time to see them all and to climb the Sun Temple. After the tour we went to a local artisan village and restaurant to see locally made textiles, rock creations and tequila/mescal. The people were low pressure and we did get some shots of tequila to have a nice experience. Lunch was reasonable, either buffet or a-la-carte. The drive back into Mexico City was a little slow due to traffic, but most people just slept anyway. Good value for the money so I would have to recommend this trip and tour company. Well done.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Brian M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour of pyramids site. Excellent guide. Lunch and gift shop experience rather disappointing.
Transport logistics poor. 6a.m pick up from hotel - we were first - but did not leave Mexico City center until after 8a.m. Return drop offs disorganised and slow too.
Would definitely highly recommend tour and visit to pyramids but transport needs to be drastically improved.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Eldon H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE. Viator's representative in Mexico City - Amigo Tours - failed to pick me up for the tour. I was confirmed by email for a 6:30AM Hotel pick up and waited from 6:15am to after 7:30am. When I called, it was too late to be picked up. VERY disappointing. After some research, I have since learned that others have had problems with Viator/Amigo Tours in Mexico City.

Doing what: Early Morning Teotihuacan Pyramids Tour with a Private Archeologist

Sara M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

This was actually the second time I did this tour. The first time was amazing. However, this time, it was horrible. I took my whole family for this tour so it was even more of a disappointment that it fell short. There were so many little things that made this tour the way it was. Firstly, we saw about half the amount of the sites as I previously had. At the three cultures center, we did not walk around the pyramid ruins, at the Basilica, we did not go to the original church nor was it even mentioned, and finally at Teotihuacan, we did not go to the museum at the site. All of these things we had done on my previous tour. Next, we went to more touristic shops. At one of these shops, they charged me extra because I split tenders, and then swindled my mom out of 5 by confusing her with exchange rates. I didn't notice either until we had left, but it was sad that this was the only place that did this the entire time we were in Mexico City, and it was on a tour! The expensive lunch was mediocre and drinks were extra. At Teotihuacan, we were only given 10 minutes to climb the moom pyramid and then 45 for the sun pyramid. This wasn't enough time to explore and enjoy everything. Finally, the ride home was horrible. Traffic and the fact that the other patrons wanted to be dropped off at specific places other than their hotel made the ride home last two hours. Everyone was so ready to get out of the van! For the money, I would definitely look else where. Again, my first tour was perfect, but this one was very, very disappointing.

Doing what: Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe

Charles A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour to the Teotihuacan Pyramids was incredible! We had a large group so they ended up booking a van for us rather than taking public transit which was perfectly fine with us. Our tour guide, Rodrigo, was AMAZING! He definitely made the trip very fun and educational. We spent a good amount of time at the Pyramids exploring the grounds and climbing to the top of the Pyramid of the Moon and the Pyramid of the Sun. We then went to a local home and sampled some mezcal and tequila and then made our way to another home where we got to sample many different delicious foods which they had for sale. I ended up buying a lot to bring home with me as souvenirs. From there, we went to another family home where they cooked us a beautiful meal. And then it was back to Mexico City. A wonderful day with the best guide Rodrigo! We would do this tour again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: Experience Mexico City: Teotihuacan Pyramids by Metro and Dinner with a Local Family

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message