Throughout the world, the special blend of Mesoamerican and European cooking (primarily Spanish influence) has led to one of the world’s most popular food stuffs. Officially a UNESCO-recognized item of “intangible cultural heritage,” Mexican ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 98 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Melissa United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a private tour, one on one, so the biggest benefit of the tour was the tour guide himself. We spent a lot of time talking about Mexico City, its history, its culture, and its people. That was the best part of the tour. He first introduced me to food at a couple of local places that created tacos from cheaper cuts of meat like tripe, tongue, etc. Things I wouldn't normally eat, but they were actually very tasty and I'm really glad I got to try them! I wouldn't have known what to try and which vendors to choose on my own. We ended up at a nice coffee shop and ate some very tasty dishes. My only negative is that at this restaurant the amount of food was too much. I would have preferred to have smaller amounts so I could try more things. But the food was excellent, and the guide was wonderful. It was like having lunch with a friend introducing me to his country's cuisine! Perfect.

Doing what: Mexico City Food Walking Tour: Tamales, Tacos and Quesadillas

John K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Awesome food tour with Luis through Mexican Food Tours. We had an amazing time talking to him, learning more about Mexico, the culture, the people, and most of all trying amazing food at several restaurants around the beautiful Polanco neighborhood. I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Polanco Food Tour in Mexico City

Kylee L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was awesome! Our guide, Raul, was from Oaxaca and was awesome and spoke perfect english. There were just four of us on the tour the tour guide, myself, my husband, and one other guest. We went to seven different restaurants and walked all around Polcano. Although my husband and I are active and walk a lot I feel that most people could still get along just fine on this tour even if you weren't in fantastic shape. And everything is flat.

We started at one restaurant where they taught us about chiles, made home made salsa in front of us and we tried three different mole sauces, and different chips. Then we moved on and had the best tamales I've ever had, from there we had tacos that were of a mixed meat combination pork, beef and chicken we moved on from there had fish tacos with a delicious non-alcoholic drink, then we had tortilla soup, we stopped by a chocolateria and we each got to pick out 2 chocolates and then we all shared and tried them together and then we finished by having gelato. It's a lot of food so definitely come with an empty stomach but it was one of the best experiences we had in Mexico City.

Doing what: Polanco Food Tour in Mexico City

Sarah J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a great time with our tour guide Angelica Zamora. She was really good in explaining the different foods of Mexico and explaining the history and culture ! We Had a hard time finding the market , she was sweet enough to pick us up from the place we were ! Loved every bit of it and highly recommend

Doing what: Mexico City Food and Local Markets Walking Tour

Robert W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very good. Best part of my visit to Mex City. Guide was excellent.
To visit the suberb of Polanca at the same time as the food tasting made it a great day.

Doing what: Polanco Food Tour in Mexico City

Cerentha C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great - highly recommended if you want to taste a few different things from street vendors and want to make sure you choose the right ones.

Doing what: Mexico City Food Walking Tour: Tamales, Tacos and Quesadillas

Vanessa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Exceeded expectations. Best day tour I and #39;ve been on :)

Doing what: Experience Mexico City: Teotihuacan Pyramids by Metro and Dinner with a Local Family

maria

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Interesting, highly informative. Excellent restaurants and authentic mexican food choices.

Doing what: Polanco Food Tour in Mexico City

tomarangel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was wonderful, the food amazing, and Luis--our guide--exceptional. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Polanco Food Tour in Mexico City

Jen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Awesome evening with Luiz, he has a great passion for food and for Mexico. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Polanco Food Tour in Mexico City

Gabriel N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Awesome for guide who knew a lot about the culture, heritage, and street foods of Puebla.

Doing what: Private Culinary Tour of Puebla from Mexico City

aletrece

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A truly incredible food tour. We tried the most delicious dishes and our guide Luis was very knowledgeable, energetic and fun - making the experience even better! We got to walk Polanco and learn more about the neighborhood and what makes it so popular. We visited 7 different places including a chocolate shop with unique and tasty chocolates and I felt very satisfied with the portions. What made this tour even better was how vegetarian-friendly it was. I was able to try a vegetarian dish at every single place and each one was amazing. I would very much recommend this tour if you want to experience the amazing cuisine Mexico City has to offer. It was a well-organized, informative and entertaining.

Doing what: Polanco Food Tour in Mexico City

Bandit USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The other reviews are not lying! Such a great tour with an extremely knowledgeable, funny and engaging guide. There were 7 stops in total, and although that sounds like too much, we were perfectly satisfied afterwards and felt like we had eaten the perfect amount for a meal. Mexico City has some of the best food in the world and should not be missed!

Doing what: Polanco Food Tour in Mexico City

Charles A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour to the Teotihuacan Pyramids was incredible! We had a large group so they ended up booking a van for us rather than taking public transit which was perfectly fine with us. Our tour guide, Rodrigo, was AMAZING! He definitely made the trip very fun and educational. We spent a good amount of time at the Pyramids exploring the grounds and climbing to the top of the Pyramid of the Moon and the Pyramid of the Sun. We then went to a local home and sampled some mezcal and tequila and then made our way to another home where we got to sample many different delicious foods which they had for sale. I ended up buying a lot to bring home with me as souvenirs. From there, we went to another family home where they cooked us a beautiful meal. And then it was back to Mexico City. A wonderful day with the best guide Rodrigo! We would do this tour again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: Experience Mexico City: Teotihuacan Pyramids by Metro and Dinner with a Local Family

Monika M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Greatly enjoyed my food tour with Luis in Polanco - every stop provided tasty treats!

Doing what: Polanco Food Tour in Mexico City

ANA S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Topppp!!!!!! I loved it! strongly recommend

Doing what: Polanco Food Tour in Mexico City

jmeek8 Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A great way to experience an astonishing breadth of Mexican cuisine. Interesting contemporary and historical cultural insights from our guide, who is a professor in the culinary arts. She is personally passionate about sharing Mexican cuisine with the world, and a warm, friendly storyteller. We enjoyed every minute and every mouthful!

Doing what: Polanco Food Tour in Mexico City

Administator T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Totally enjoyed the tour. Luis was very knowledgeable and conveyed his good experience to us. Good delicious food. And we then knew our way around Polanco.
Thank you!

Doing what: Polanco Food Tour in Mexico City

Paul J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I highly recommend this tour. Luiz, the guide is very good at explaining many things of historical significance about the market and its vendors.

Doing what: Mexico City Food and Local Markets Walking Tour

Paul J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a great tour with a very knowledgeable and well spoken educated guide Luiz. You will discover many restaurants that you would not find on our own. You will get a great sample or appetizer at each place. I hope to do it again on my next trip.

Doing what: Polanco Food Tour in Mexico City

mcleanking

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We'd highly recommend this tour to anyone spending a couple days in the Polanco, Condesa, or Roma areas of Mexico City. Our guide, Luis, was outstanding. After welcoming us to the small group walking tour, he enthusiastically explained what the evening would include and the types of restaurants that we would be visiting. It was well-organized, informative and a great experience.

Doing what: Polanco Food Tour in Mexico City

Quinn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great guide and great food!

Doing what: Polanco Food Tour in Mexico City

Heidi P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and very easy going. The trips to the pulqueria and dinner in a local home set this tour apart from all the rest. It offered us a glimpse of what life is like beyond the common tourist locations. I'd recommend this to anyone who wishes to gain a greater understanding of this region's culture, both modern day and ancient.

Doing what: Experience Mexico City: Teotihuacan Pyramids by Metro and Dinner with a Local Family

mr1029

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Wonderful afternoon evening? walking tour in the very nice Polanco area. Tour guide was very knowledgeable and fun. Food was delicious and the stories by the guide were informative and entertaining.

Doing what: Polanco Food Tour in Mexico City

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message