Milan ATTRACTIONS See all

Castello Sforzesco

The Castello Sforzesco (or Sforza Castle) is a huge, classically crenellated pile of red-brick masonry on the western edge of central Milan. The castle was built by the earlier Visconti dynasty, but became home to the ruling Sforza family in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 217 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

RogelH.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

If ever in Milan, one must visit the Last Supper. Though seeing the Last Supper is the highlight of this tour, visiting and learning about the first family of Milan, The Sforza, is fascinating as well, in which the castle is named after. For three hours, our tour guide provided us with detailed history and information about Milan, the castle and of course Leonardo's The Last Supper. Even though you are only allowed 15 minutes to view this wonderment and no more than 20 people in the room, to see it in person is quite an experience. Highly recommend this tour. I would have given this a 5 star if we didn't rush to get to the Convent of Santa Maria delle Grazie where painted fresco is located. You will also be able to view another masterpiece in the same room called Crucifixion by Donato. Not well known work, but deserves some acknowledgement. Bonus tip - you can take pictures of the Last Supper no flash though.

Doing what: Leonardo da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Guided Tour with Visit to the Sforza Castle

Denise K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was great! Our guide was very knowledgable and enthusiastic. We started in the central courtyard area of the castle. Our guide told us the history of the castle and provided fascinating details. It got a bit tiring standing up for so long. Fortunately I had my walking stick with seat so I could sit and listen. I would have liked more time in the castle itself to look around. Our guide gave fascinating details inside the castle as well. Then we walked over to where The Last Supper is located. It's a 10-15 minute walk from the castle. Each group gets a limited amount of time to view the Last Supper. The painting is quite faded. The stories our guide told us, were truly fascinating. She explained about the paint that was used, why Leonardo chose that paint, and also told us about his life. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Leonardo da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Guided Tour with Visit to the Sforza Castle

Mila

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We went in this tour because it was the only available to see 'The Last Supper' but we discover the Sforza Castle and all the history behind it! It was amazing and our guide was fantastic, she described a lot of details in the castle and in the painting!
Just a little note: we had a lot of time in the castle, so the walk to Santa Maria della Grazie was made in a quick mode, what was difficult for some people, but is worth it!

Doing what: Leonardo da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Guided Tour with Visit to the Sforza Castle

Timothy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was perfect for my wife and I. Kiara was a fantastic guide and provided a wealth of knowledge. Her personality made it a very fun tour and made our trip to Milan fantastic. She was by far the best guide we've had on our 3 Viator tours. The tour itself is as advertised The Duomo, the Last Supper, Sforza Castle and other churches and sites. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Best of Milan Experience Including Da Vinci's ‘The Last Supper’ and Milan Duomo Tour

Gary H New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Very good and knowledgeable guide. Very good planning, but a pity the tour was held up unexpectedly by another function at the castle, which reduced our time at The Last Supper. And very good to have an organised coffee/comfort break half way through.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

Italy

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

The tour was good. The castle was a little long and tedious but The Last Supper was wonderful.

Doing what: Leonardo da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Guided Tour with Visit to the Sforza Castle

Mike P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

We met our guide by the Duomo to start the tour. She was friendly and well informed. We did have some trouble understanding some of what she had to say due to her accent. When we left the Duomo and started walking, this also made it difficult to hear due to the noise from the city. We very much enjoyed the Duomo and information given there. We then walked through the famous Galleria shops which was fun. Eventually we arrived at Sforza Castle. The guide had so much history and background info to give there that it became information overload especially with the difficulty hearing. We could not absorb a lot of the information given there. We ended with the Lat Supper which was incredible to see. After we finished, the guide then informed us that she would not be accompanying us back to our starting point. She said it was an easy 15 minute walk and gave us the name of 2 streets to follow. We asked for the names of the streets twice but still could not understand her. We got lost and it ended up taking us 40 very frustrating minutes to find our way back to the Duomo. This delay caused us to miss the train we had planned on taking. It should have been included in the description of the tour that you were expected to find your way back...or better yet, she should have told us this at the beginning of the tour and furnished us with maps and/or directions. The end of the tour cast a pall on the entire experience. I think we would have been better served to hire a guide just for the Duomo and the Last Supper. We have another tour planned next week in Florence - I hope it is better!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

Roslyn H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a fabulous tour. We went to places and gained information we couldn't have done by ourselves. The tour leader was incredibly informative. The tour proceeded at a leisurely pace considering that we went to churches, piazzas, the financial district, an archeological site and castle in addition to the Duomo and The Last Supper. Best tour ever!!!

Doing what: Best of Milan Experience Including Da Vinci's ‘The Last Supper’ and Milan Duomo Tour

Roslyn H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Considering that we went to churches, piazzas, the financial district, the Castle as well as the Duomo and The Last Supper the tour went at a leisurely pace with breaks for morning tea and lunch. Our tour guide was very informative. Fabulous tour!!

Doing what: Best of Milan Experience Including Da Vinci's ‘The Last Supper’ and Milan Duomo Tour

Roslyn H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Considering that we went to churches, piazzas, the financial district, the Castle as well as the Duomo and The Last Supper the tour went at a leisurely pace with breaks for morning tea and lunch. Our tour guide was very informative. Fabulous tour!!

Doing what: Best of Milan Experience Including Da Vinci's ‘The Last Supper’ and Milan Duomo Tour

skrishnan07

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The skip the line feature at the Milano Duomo was so worth it on a hot day in August when we took this tour. The Milano Duomo is simply tone of he most beautiful cathedrals in Italy if not he world. The walking tour covers quite a bit of ground including the Duomo and surrounding Piazza, past the Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II mall, and the historic La Scala theater and the truly imposing Sforza's castle. The guide explained the french influence on the city after the time of Napoleon as we walked past the tree-lined streets to the church of Santa Maria delle Grazia, which houses the Last Supper. We were lucky to be able to visit the church itself and admire the ceilings with both medieval grotesque style and post renaissance style frescos. But the crowning piece of the tour of the fifteen precious minutes one gets in front of Leonardo's Masterpiece. The guide explained the history of the painting and how fortunate it was that this painting survived the humid physical conditions and bombing during world war II.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

Evan F

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

We really only booked the tour for Last Supper Tickets. We took a similar tour 5 years ago with the differences being that the previous was a nice walking tour that started at the Duomo, proceeded to La Scala, the Castle, and finally the Last supper and nearby cathedral and museum. This tour was by bus and included the radio/audio devices. I think for many people this would be a nice tour if you're uncomfortable navigating in an unfamiliar place, but for us it seemed to drag on and take an unnecessarily long time. Also, you miss some of the flavor of Milan by riding in the bus rather than walking. That said, I can't, in all fairness, rate it badly, I think it's just that for some people it's not what you may be looking for, and for others it may be exactly what you want. Also, as of 6 months ago, photos of the Last Supper have been permitted again, which is nice. no flash or video

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

Sara M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Met our expectations for a short overview of top sites. Description of tour on website was not very clear about what we would be touring or driving by. One description said we would tour the public areas of the castle so I expected to be directed to the castle at the end of the tour but there was no mention of the castle at all. Tours of Duomo, La Scala, Gallerie and the Last Supper were all good. Guide was informative and spoke excellent Englilsh.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

D Allen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Though we had done part of this tour by ourselves on the previous day, the tour guide was informative and added to our appreciation of the Duomo. The time spent at Sforza Castle is minimal, and primarily a brief walking stop on the way to the Last Supper. The guide's strength was clearly at the Last Supper and gave additional insight into the painting.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

Janice R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Tour guide was excellent and the walking tour was very informative. The portion where we walked through the Brera did not include any narrative not sure why it is included in the tour except to see pretty buildings. The castle portion of the tour was a bit rushed and should have included time to see the Michelangelo Pieta.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

Tina M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The half-day Milan tour was suprisingly good. I wasn't sure what there was to see in MIlan it's not as hyped up as other tourist spots in Italy, but the tour guide did a good job of showing us the main sights--the Milan Cathedral, The Galleria Vittorio Emmanuel, The La Scala Opera House, etc. We also drove past the Sforza Castle and other monuments. But the highlight of the tour was undoubtedly the visit at the end of the day to the Santa Maria Delle Grazie to see the Last Supper. It takes your breath away to see that iconic image! Overall a very good tour.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

Emily H

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Overall I thought the tour was very informative. Walking around wasn't too bad although there were a few points where people could have gotten lost in a large crowd. The tour through the Duomo was very informative and it was nice to be able to skip the line to get in. It was also very beautiful.

I'm not sure how much of the castle there is to see but we kind of ran right through that one with the tour guide only mentioning a very few points about it.

The Last Supper was nice and you are allowed to take pictures but without flash and no video. I was scolded because they thought I was trying to take video. I was not and don't know why anyone would. I was just trying to wait for my shutter since it was also dark and not being able to use a flash doesn't help that. Kind of put a bad taste in my mouth for that one unfortunately.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

Thomas S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very nice tour that takes place at a reasonable pace. Bus is nice and the tour guide was knowledgeable and fun. The highlights of the tour are the Duomo and the Last Supper, however you do swing by the Castle Sforacy and a bunch of other Old Town sites. The in-ear radios are OK and there are places along the walking route to go to the bathroom and grab a snack, if needed.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

Jinqian J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour guide provide knowledgable explainations on the city,the duomo as well as the last supper. He is a very nice guide and the trip is wonderful. The only shame is that we don and #39;t have time to visit the castle and the opera house.
I would be definitely interested in a longer tour next time.
Ciao!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

Sahana H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We walked through the city for nearly 3 hours, starting from Piazza del Duomo till Santa Maria della Grazie. Our guide Katharina explained to us in detail the interiors of Duomo, stories of Sforza castle and its association to Visconti and Sforza family. We walked through the district of Brera and our tour ended at Santa Maria della Grazie. Viewing the 'The Last Supper' painting was cherry on the lake and our uide seemed to be well informed of every detail concerning this Masterpiece.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

nonya Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

was quite a walk for this tour, but still worth it. During the 3 hours walk, our guide, Katrina pointed out many small lanes within the city centre with good food and shopping too. the tour covers the castle as well. never did i know that the small steps in the castle was built for a reason. the walking tour ended with a high note to see the Leonardo's famous last Supper wall painting.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

val.snedden

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Very good overview of Milan including the cathedral and viewing of Last Supper. Bus left on time, huge coach for 6 of us. Guide spoke good english and provided good info. Easy to find departure point near the Castle.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

Anthony P

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Informative guide and viewing of last supper was great however didn't get inside Sforza Castle or guided tour of Duomo.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

Ian S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

our last supper tour commenced with our tour guide introducing us to the Duomo, he gave us a very comprehensive insight to the history of Italy and the background of Milano, we then walked through Galleria Vittorio Emanuelle II, and past La Scala, stopping at a local cafe for refreshments, we then walked to the castle prior to arriving at the Last Supper. This was an amazing place to visit.
We would gladly recommend this tour as it was well presented by our very informative guide, and not rushed with plenty of time to ask questions.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

ludmila l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great company! Out tour was scheduled for 14:30. At exactly 14:30 I got a phone call and they asked me where are we and if we will be late. And we were running literally! a bit late trains, metro, long drive....
The person on a phone said No worries, we will wait for you or we can help to reschedule for later. Excellent! So we made it almost in time, got our radios, instructions and off we went.
Our guide Katerina was amazing! Brilliant English, deep knowledge of the subject and easy and well-paced delivery. In 3 hours we've seen the Doumo, Passage, La Scala, Sforza Castle and of course the Last Supper. It was a lot of walking but it was so amazing that we didn't feel the walk.
Thank you very much for the great Milan experience!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message