Milan ATTRACTIONS See all

Castello Sforzesco

The Castello Sforzesco (or Sforza Castle) is a huge, classically crenellated pile of red-brick masonry on the western edge of central Milan. The castle was built by the earlier Visconti dynasty, but became home to the ruling Sforza family in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 210 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Roslyn H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a fabulous tour. We went to places and gained information we couldn't have done by ourselves. The tour leader was incredibly informative. The tour proceeded at a leisurely pace considering that we went to churches, piazzas, the financial district, an archeological site and castle in addition to the Duomo and The Last Supper. Best tour ever!!!

Doing what: Best of Milan Experience Including Da Vinci's ‘The Last Supper’ and Milan Duomo Tour

Roslyn H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Considering that we went to churches, piazzas, the financial district, the Castle as well as the Duomo and The Last Supper the tour went at a leisurely pace with breaks for morning tea and lunch. Our tour guide was very informative. Fabulous tour!!

Doing what: Best of Milan Experience Including Da Vinci's ‘The Last Supper’ and Milan Duomo Tour

Roslyn H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Considering that we went to churches, piazzas, the financial district, the Castle as well as the Duomo and The Last Supper the tour went at a leisurely pace with breaks for morning tea and lunch. Our tour guide was very informative. Fabulous tour!!

Doing what: Best of Milan Experience Including Da Vinci's ‘The Last Supper’ and Milan Duomo Tour

skrishnan07

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The skip the line feature at the Milano Duomo was so worth it on a hot day in August when we took this tour. The Milano Duomo is simply tone of he most beautiful cathedrals in Italy if not he world. The walking tour covers quite a bit of ground including the Duomo and surrounding Piazza, past the Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II mall, and the historic La Scala theater and the truly imposing Sforza's castle. The guide explained the french influence on the city after the time of Napoleon as we walked past the tree-lined streets to the church of Santa Maria delle Grazia, which houses the Last Supper. We were lucky to be able to visit the church itself and admire the ceilings with both medieval grotesque style and post renaissance style frescos. But the crowning piece of the tour of the fifteen precious minutes one gets in front of Leonardo's Masterpiece. The guide explained the history of the painting and how fortunate it was that this painting survived the humid physical conditions and bombing during world war II.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

Evan F

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

We really only booked the tour for Last Supper Tickets. We took a similar tour 5 years ago with the differences being that the previous was a nice walking tour that started at the Duomo, proceeded to La Scala, the Castle, and finally the Last supper and nearby cathedral and museum. This tour was by bus and included the radio/audio devices. I think for many people this would be a nice tour if you're uncomfortable navigating in an unfamiliar place, but for us it seemed to drag on and take an unnecessarily long time. Also, you miss some of the flavor of Milan by riding in the bus rather than walking. That said, I can't, in all fairness, rate it badly, I think it's just that for some people it's not what you may be looking for, and for others it may be exactly what you want. Also, as of 6 months ago, photos of the Last Supper have been permitted again, which is nice. no flash or video

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

Sara M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Met our expectations for a short overview of top sites. Description of tour on website was not very clear about what we would be touring or driving by. One description said we would tour the public areas of the castle so I expected to be directed to the castle at the end of the tour but there was no mention of the castle at all. Tours of Duomo, La Scala, Gallerie and the Last Supper were all good. Guide was informative and spoke excellent Englilsh.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

D Allen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Though we had done part of this tour by ourselves on the previous day, the tour guide was informative and added to our appreciation of the Duomo. The time spent at Sforza Castle is minimal, and primarily a brief walking stop on the way to the Last Supper. The guide's strength was clearly at the Last Supper and gave additional insight into the painting.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

Janice R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Tour guide was excellent and the walking tour was very informative. The portion where we walked through the Brera did not include any narrative not sure why it is included in the tour except to see pretty buildings. The castle portion of the tour was a bit rushed and should have included time to see the Michelangelo Pieta.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

Tina M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The half-day Milan tour was suprisingly good. I wasn't sure what there was to see in MIlan it's not as hyped up as other tourist spots in Italy, but the tour guide did a good job of showing us the main sights--the Milan Cathedral, The Galleria Vittorio Emmanuel, The La Scala Opera House, etc. We also drove past the Sforza Castle and other monuments. But the highlight of the tour was undoubtedly the visit at the end of the day to the Santa Maria Delle Grazie to see the Last Supper. It takes your breath away to see that iconic image! Overall a very good tour.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

Emily H

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Overall I thought the tour was very informative. Walking around wasn't too bad although there were a few points where people could have gotten lost in a large crowd. The tour through the Duomo was very informative and it was nice to be able to skip the line to get in. It was also very beautiful.

I'm not sure how much of the castle there is to see but we kind of ran right through that one with the tour guide only mentioning a very few points about it.

The Last Supper was nice and you are allowed to take pictures but without flash and no video. I was scolded because they thought I was trying to take video. I was not and don't know why anyone would. I was just trying to wait for my shutter since it was also dark and not being able to use a flash doesn't help that. Kind of put a bad taste in my mouth for that one unfortunately.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

Thomas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very nice tour that takes place at a reasonable pace. Bus is nice and the tour guide was knowledgeable and fun. The highlights of the tour are the Duomo and the Last Supper, however you do swing by the Castle Sforacy and a bunch of other Old Town sites. The in-ear radios are OK and there are places along the walking route to go to the bathroom and grab a snack, if needed.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

Jinqian J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour guide provide knowledgable explainations on the city,the duomo as well as the last supper. He is a very nice guide and the trip is wonderful. The only shame is that we don and #39;t have time to visit the castle and the opera house.
I would be definitely interested in a longer tour next time.
Ciao!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

Sahana H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We walked through the city for nearly 3 hours, starting from Piazza del Duomo till Santa Maria della Grazie. Our guide Katharina explained to us in detail the interiors of Duomo, stories of Sforza castle and its association to Visconti and Sforza family. We walked through the district of Brera and our tour ended at Santa Maria della Grazie. Viewing the 'The Last Supper' painting was cherry on the lake and our uide seemed to be well informed of every detail concerning this Masterpiece.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

nonya Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

was quite a walk for this tour, but still worth it. During the 3 hours walk, our guide, Katrina pointed out many small lanes within the city centre with good food and shopping too. the tour covers the castle as well. never did i know that the small steps in the castle was built for a reason. the walking tour ended with a high note to see the Leonardo's famous last Supper wall painting.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

val.snedden

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Very good overview of Milan including the cathedral and viewing of Last Supper. Bus left on time, huge coach for 6 of us. Guide spoke good english and provided good info. Easy to find departure point near the Castle.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

Anthony P

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Informative guide and viewing of last supper was great however didn't get inside Sforza Castle or guided tour of Duomo.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

Ian S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

our last supper tour commenced with our tour guide introducing us to the Duomo, he gave us a very comprehensive insight to the history of Italy and the background of Milano, we then walked through Galleria Vittorio Emanuelle II, and past La Scala, stopping at a local cafe for refreshments, we then walked to the castle prior to arriving at the Last Supper. This was an amazing place to visit.
We would gladly recommend this tour as it was well presented by our very informative guide, and not rushed with plenty of time to ask questions.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

ludmila l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great company! Out tour was scheduled for 14:30. At exactly 14:30 I got a phone call and they asked me where are we and if we will be late. And we were running literally! a bit late trains, metro, long drive....
The person on a phone said No worries, we will wait for you or we can help to reschedule for later. Excellent! So we made it almost in time, got our radios, instructions and off we went.
Our guide Katerina was amazing! Brilliant English, deep knowledge of the subject and easy and well-paced delivery. In 3 hours we've seen the Doumo, Passage, La Scala, Sforza Castle and of course the Last Supper. It was a lot of walking but it was so amazing that we didn't feel the walk.
Thank you very much for the great Milan experience!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

Alison N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Well worth it! Visiting both the il Duomo and the Last Supper as well as the castle on foot was the way to go. We had a very knowledgeable guide who spoke perfect English and was patient with our group as well. I highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

Brian T United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Tour guide was very knowledgeable, easy to understand and entertaining. Very comprehensive tour of Milan highlights. Could have a spent more time on the castle we spent almost none - literally a drive by, a little less on the Opera house. But, all in all, very well worth the money.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

Kaitlyn Y

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

This tour was not worth the money that was spent on it. In the highlights and description it states that we would get to explore the Sforza castle, the closest thing we did was drive by it and see it from a bus window. I had booked a separate tour to explore the Duomo, and this tour took us on a second tour of the Duomo that I wasn't anticipating. While La Scala was beautiful, the tour felt rushed and the group was too large for the tour. The Last Supper was breath taking, but I felt I would have gotten the same experience if I took the tour on my own. This tour was not on par with other tours I have taken with Viator, and was an overall disappointment.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

Hamilton G

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Our tour guide in Milan was very attentive, educational, and informative. She arranged a short visit to a great coffee shop near the castle.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

aljoshaw

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

A pretty good tour. Sights themselves Duomo, La Scala, Castle etc could easily be done as a pleasant walk without needing a tour guide. Guide wasn't particularly inspiring and could have talked more of the history of Milan in an engaging way. Stayed too long in the Duomo. The Last Supper was terrific, although sad to see it continuing to degrade. Would have liked more history on Leonardo.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

Kathryn B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Excellent tour guide. Disappointed that it did not include entrance to view the Pieta at the castle museum. Also would have liked more information within the duomo. Otherwise great, and recommended. Guide was terrific.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

Andrew M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Excellent guide, visited main sites, didn't see castle

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message