Milan ATTRACTIONS See all

Da Vinci's Last Supper (Il Cenacolo)

Milan draws thousands of art-loving visitors on the da Vinci trail in addition to readers of Dan Brown's The da Vinci Code , and there's no doubt that both parties make their way to Il Cenacolo Vinciano to see Leonardo da Vinci's mural 'The Last ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2255 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

lfebland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Definitely do this tour! It is a must! We saw the incredible Duomo, The Last Supper, and La Scala. At La Scala there we saw the
inside of the theater during a rehearsal! And their museum was spectacular! If you love Opera, this is a once in a lifetime
experience. We loved our guide. She spoke two languages and was so nice. What a sensational and memorable tour!
Lois FeBland, Brooklyn, New York

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

J L N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Absolutely the best introduction to Milan with the most knowledgeable guide - loved being able to skip the queues to the Domo and Last Supper but loved even more the amazing knowledge of history and culture that we were given - highly recommended

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

Jean W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our guide was very knowledge and very personable. We learned some very interesting facts about the Duomo and the area around that we toured. Our guide showed us a shop that specialized in Focaccia so we stopped and had a quick snack. The access to 'the Last Supper is done in very small groups so it feels very special to be allowed to view and again our guide was informative and genial

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

Susan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Three hours of pure delight with our engaging tour guide, Donatella. Our informative afternoon consisted of a tour through the beautiful cathedral of the Virgin Mary, the old castle, the canal district and a viewing of the Last Supper. It was an educational and fun way to see this beautiful city.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

Carole-Ann W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Very good, covers the main attractions in the city. The trip alone is worth it just to see The Last Supper, amazing experience. The tour guides are very good at explaining interesting points relevant to each attraction. Well organised.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

Christine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Do yourself a favor and take this tour!!! My wife and I took this tour on Friday, February 3, 2017 and it exceeded ALL expectations. Our tour guide Charles and his assistant met us for our tour. We were in a group with two other 5 other people so the group size was perfect. We were given small radio receivers with an earpiece so we could easily her Charles' comments throughout the day without looking silly as we walked the streets and attractions of Milan. Charles English was perfect and he had a very complete knowledge of the past history and current influences of Milan yet a practical way of explaining and communicating them to us. He had the patience to answer every question we might have had and even referred to an iPad from time to time to explain links from say a painting the group was viewing to another work from an earlier time example: real time comparison of the depiction of St. John the baptist from Da Vinci's The Virgin of the Rocks to his depiction of St. John in The Last Supper. Having taken other tours in other European cities before Vienna and Budapest I can honestly say that this tour was BY FAR the best and those other tours were also very good by the way. So if you are considering this tour, you can book it without hesitation--the sights, the information, the guide, and the pace was exceptional--it is worth every penny!

Doing what: Best of Milan Experience Including Da Vinci's ‘The Last Supper’ or Vineyard and Milan Duomo Tour

Vivien O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

A must-do to appreciate Milan. I wished we were able to do this on our first day in the city. Unfortunately, we could not get a booking. Our guide Corrado gave us comprehensive information not only of the various sights but also a glimpse of every day Milanese life. I particularly enjoyed his insights of The Last Supper.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

jeanne d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

excellent tour especially when i only had 24 hours in milan-hit all the highlights i wanted to see -except the sforza castle which i had luckily gone through before starting this tour. milan was very crowded, esp at the cathedral-which is amazing! tour has special entrance which is much faster, and gives lots of information about each place you visit. was thrilled to get to see the last supper, and this tour was the easiest and most informative way to do so. was big group, but turned out all spoke english, so entire tour done in english only-and guide had great concern that no one got separated during tour.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

Jacob W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What a great overview of Milan. And The Last Supper was astounding--much more impressive than I'd imagined

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

Dr Dian H H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great guide - my local friend was impressed after I relayed all the history explained by the guide. We had no problems at all viewing the Last supper- it was a smooth process.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

Yoshiya Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

excellent tour of Milan culminating in the last supper. time well spent

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

Sharney J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic commentary on the Last Supper and the highlights of Milan with a very informative guide. Brilliant to have it all explained by someone clearly very knowledgeable, and also the only way we could get Last Supper tickets.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Essential Milan Tour Including Da Vinci’s ‘The Last Supper’

tdestef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was truly an amazing tour! You drive through the city of Milan, walk around the Galleria, stop at La Scala Opera House and if your lucky, which we were, you can see a rehearsal from the boxes. Then of course the Duomo, which is breathtakingly beautiful, and you learn how this amazing Cathedral was commissioned through the centuries.. And then of course you end with the Pìece de Résistance...The incredible Last Supper by da Vinci. I highly recommend doing the tour for this, even if you have read up on it...there is so much you learn from this incredible painting...and you only have 15 minutes to take it in.....The realism, symbolism, facial expressions, technique etc that you learn within this one painting is amazing. I can honestly say that this is now one of my favorite paintings of all time! Also the Last Supper is the first to book up, so you need to try to do at least 3 weeks in advance if you can.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

Julie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an easy and enjoyable tour. It was great to skip the line and get in to see the Last Supper. We needed to leave the tour early, and our guide told us exactly where to go to find our apartment that we had rented.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

deacons91

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had a very short stay in Milan and this tour was a perfect fit. My apologies to the guide, as I do not remember her name, but she made the tour and was able to keep it interesting and funny despite walking on a 35 degree day. The walking tour included The Last Supper, Sforza Castle, The Duomo, and The Galleria, as well as many other interesting stops and comments.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Essential Milan Tour Including Da Vinci’s ‘The Last Supper’

Derek B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I didn't even realize it was going to be a walking tour too. We got to see the last supper and some other gem's with our great tour guide, i think her name was kari but she was awesome! Smart and funny!

Doing what: Milan Art Tour: Da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' and the Church of San Maurizio al Monastero Maggiore

Travelling Trio Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We did this tour on 5th October 2016 and it was something on our bucket list. We are a family of 2 adults and our 11 year old son, who has a love of Italian history and culture and is well travelled. He attends a Christian College and has also grown up with this picture above his Nonna and Nonno's dining room table. To be able to see it for real was an opportunity of a lifetime.

The tour guide was Maria and she was excellent. The tour company was City Wonders who we were delighted to have as we have done many tours with them and they are above excellent and their guides are very well versed as well as being fun and interactive, which our son loves. The tour goes for just over 3 hours. It is a walking tour, but it is not a strenuous long walk, and you are busy listening anyway, so it doesn't feel like a long way.

We met our tour at Piazza del Duoma the Duoma under the arches of the large Mondadori Book Store and the tour went for 3 hours. We went inside the Duomo and were given its history and brief tour but long enough and then walked to the Galleria VittorioEmanuele large glass covered shopping mall which is stunning. We then walked past the La Scala Theatre and saw Leonardo da Vinci's statue/monument and then entered the Brera District for a lovely coffee and cake for morning tea purchased at own expense at Princi's.

We then went to Sforza Castle for a tour and after here we went to view the Last Supper. As you enter, you have to wait in a side room and as one group of tours leaves, the climate controlled door opens and you are allowed in, the door then closes and you are given 25 minutes in the room dimly lit but light enough to see whilst maintaining constant temperature and lighting to care for this incredible historical artwork. This time is plenty long enough and you can see the fresco in detail quite close up so after many photo opportunities with no flash obviously the other door opens and you exit.

We had to come back through another entrance though as we wanted to visit the souvenir shop which isn't part of the tour, so the guide took us aside and went back through with us which was great. We always like a momento of our visit so make sure we ask now otherwise you miss out. This was so high on our list of must do's that we simply had to have something to remember our visit by.

The tour ends here and your guide gives you directions how to return to central Milan. We spent the day shopping and eating gelato as you do when in Italy.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

Lynath F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I booked online and was allocated an 8am slot which was good as it did not cut into the rest of the day and made planning easy.
We arrived 15 minutes early as requested and waited outside for the guide. There was a few minutes of uncertainty as there were other guides and people trying to work out where to wait and who to look for.

The tour commenced right on time with a short talk on the history of the location, local ruling houses and Leonardo's arrival in Milan. This continued as we made our way through two chambers designed to remove humidity and dust from each group. The wait in each chamber was a couple of minutes each time. Each person was provided with a headset to listen to the guide's commentary.
We were then allowed entrance to view The Last Supper which was suitably impressive. Each tour is allocated 15 minutes viewing time and photography is allowed.The groups are limited so it was easy for everyone to see the painting up close for details and from a distance for perspective and there are some seats if you wish to sit and contemplate the fact that Leonardo was once also in this room!
The painting is protected by a low wall but not so far away that you cannot see the painting well.

The tour was worth it as it provided a lot of background information which set the context of the painting which otherwise would be unknown to the majority. This really added to the understanding and appreciation of the work.

I would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Entrance Ticket to Leonardo Da Vinci's "The Last Supper" in Milan

Eric

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Seeing the Last Supper is an experience not to be missed. Our guide, Ana, was wonderful, full of passion and knowledge. She made the tour particularly memorable.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

Janet B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a really wonderful tour. Our guide was so knowledgeable and friendly and she was tireless in taking us all over and providing both historical and current perspectives. She pointed out all sorts of details that I would have missed on my own. She had a good sense of humor and was very Italian- she knew the area as a native! She was great at pointing out details outside and in the spaces we entered, and had lots of tidbits to offer. She knew a lot about the Last Supper and what we should look for/at. Totally recommend this - a fantastic way to enter into the world of Milano!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

Rosa R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Very good tour, even under rain as we taked it.
La Scala, the Duomo and Last supper are precious jewels, adn Milan is a very interesting city.
Our both guides were very kind, always concerned about all peoples of the group.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

Margaret A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

If you have limited time this is the perfect tour to take also, we used it as an introduction to the Duomo we later went back and went up on the terraces and did the archeological self-guided tour and having had this introduction was most helpful. The tour of La Scala we were able to see the orchestra rehearsing and its museum was more detailed and a great way to see this landmark. Our guide was very knowledgeable, which was especially nice for The Last Supper. Great value whether all you do or as an introduction to Milan.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

ESRA Ö

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The Sforza Castle option was not our primary choice for the Last Supper tour Navigli and Duomo was unavailable on the day of our visit but we were very happy at the end of the tour. Our tour guide was very informative and was willing to answer all our questions. After the visit to the church we walked through Parco Sempione to reach the Sforza Castle. Then we had our basket lunch which included a selection of sandwiches and soft drinks. Visiting the Santa Maria delle Grazie church and seeing the Last Supper with a guide really makes a difference. Absolutely recommended.

Doing what: Leonardo Da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Guided Visit with Priority Access plus Sforza Castle, Navigli, or Duomo

Thomas S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Well worth the effort as the tour is educational and The Last Supper is a powerful experience.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

D M-S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Nice overview walk/drive. Highlight was The Last Supper, really shouldn't miss it if in town. Lake Como is an hour train ride North and so worth a visit too. We went on our own for the day, although there may be tours available.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message