Milan ATTRACTIONS See all

Da Vinci's Last Supper (Il Cenacolo)

Milan draws thousands of art-loving visitors on the da Vinci trail in addition to readers of Dan Brown's The da Vinci Code , and there's no doubt that both parties make their way to Il Cenacolo Vinciano to see Leonardo da Vinci's mural 'The Last ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2234 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sharney J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic commentary on the Last Supper and the highlights of Milan with a very informative guide. Brilliant to have it all explained by someone clearly very knowledgeable, and also the only way we could get Last Supper tickets.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Essential Milan Tour Including Da Vinci’s ‘The Last Supper’

tdestef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was truly an amazing tour! You drive through the city of Milan, walk around the Galleria, stop at La Scala Opera House and if your lucky, which we were, you can see a rehearsal from the boxes. Then of course the Duomo, which is breathtakingly beautiful, and you learn how this amazing Cathedral was commissioned through the centuries.. And then of course you end with the Pìece de Résistance...The incredible Last Supper by da Vinci. I highly recommend doing the tour for this, even if you have read up on it...there is so much you learn from this incredible painting...and you only have 15 minutes to take it in.....The realism, symbolism, facial expressions, technique etc that you learn within this one painting is amazing. I can honestly say that this is now one of my favorite paintings of all time! Also the Last Supper is the first to book up, so you need to try to do at least 3 weeks in advance if you can.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

Julie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an easy and enjoyable tour. It was great to skip the line and get in to see the Last Supper. We needed to leave the tour early, and our guide told us exactly where to go to find our apartment that we had rented.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

deacons91

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had a very short stay in Milan and this tour was a perfect fit. My apologies to the guide, as I do not remember her name, but she made the tour and was able to keep it interesting and funny despite walking on a 35 degree day. The walking tour included The Last Supper, Sforza Castle, The Duomo, and The Galleria, as well as many other interesting stops and comments.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Essential Milan Tour Including Da Vinci’s ‘The Last Supper’

Derek B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I didn't even realize it was going to be a walking tour too. We got to see the last supper and some other gem's with our great tour guide, i think her name was kari but she was awesome! Smart and funny!

Doing what: Milan Art Tour: Da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' and the Church of San Maurizio al Monastero Maggiore

Travelling Trio Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We did this tour on 5th October 2016 and it was something on our bucket list. We are a family of 2 adults and our 11 year old son, who has a love of Italian history and culture and is well travelled. He attends a Christian College and has also grown up with this picture above his Nonna and Nonno's dining room table. To be able to see it for real was an opportunity of a lifetime.

The tour guide was Maria and she was excellent. The tour company was City Wonders who we were delighted to have as we have done many tours with them and they are above excellent and their guides are very well versed as well as being fun and interactive, which our son loves. The tour goes for just over 3 hours. It is a walking tour, but it is not a strenuous long walk, and you are busy listening anyway, so it doesn't feel like a long way.

We met our tour at Piazza del Duoma the Duoma under the arches of the large Mondadori Book Store and the tour went for 3 hours. We went inside the Duomo and were given its history and brief tour but long enough and then walked to the Galleria VittorioEmanuele large glass covered shopping mall which is stunning. We then walked past the La Scala Theatre and saw Leonardo da Vinci's statue/monument and then entered the Brera District for a lovely coffee and cake for morning tea purchased at own expense at Princi's.

We then went to Sforza Castle for a tour and after here we went to view the Last Supper. As you enter, you have to wait in a side room and as one group of tours leaves, the climate controlled door opens and you are allowed in, the door then closes and you are given 25 minutes in the room dimly lit but light enough to see whilst maintaining constant temperature and lighting to care for this incredible historical artwork. This time is plenty long enough and you can see the fresco in detail quite close up so after many photo opportunities with no flash obviously the other door opens and you exit.

We had to come back through another entrance though as we wanted to visit the souvenir shop which isn't part of the tour, so the guide took us aside and went back through with us which was great. We always like a momento of our visit so make sure we ask now otherwise you miss out. This was so high on our list of must do's that we simply had to have something to remember our visit by.

The tour ends here and your guide gives you directions how to return to central Milan. We spent the day shopping and eating gelato as you do when in Italy.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

Lynath F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I booked online and was allocated an 8am slot which was good as it did not cut into the rest of the day and made planning easy.
We arrived 15 minutes early as requested and waited outside for the guide. There was a few minutes of uncertainty as there were other guides and people trying to work out where to wait and who to look for.

The tour commenced right on time with a short talk on the history of the location, local ruling houses and Leonardo's arrival in Milan. This continued as we made our way through two chambers designed to remove humidity and dust from each group. The wait in each chamber was a couple of minutes each time. Each person was provided with a headset to listen to the guide's commentary.
We were then allowed entrance to view The Last Supper which was suitably impressive. Each tour is allocated 15 minutes viewing time and photography is allowed.The groups are limited so it was easy for everyone to see the painting up close for details and from a distance for perspective and there are some seats if you wish to sit and contemplate the fact that Leonardo was once also in this room!
The painting is protected by a low wall but not so far away that you cannot see the painting well.

The tour was worth it as it provided a lot of background information which set the context of the painting which otherwise would be unknown to the majority. This really added to the understanding and appreciation of the work.

I would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Entrance Ticket to Leonardo Da Vinci's "The Last Supper" in Milan

Eric

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Seeing the Last Supper is an experience not to be missed. Our guide, Ana, was wonderful, full of passion and knowledge. She made the tour particularly memorable.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

Janet B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a really wonderful tour. Our guide was so knowledgeable and friendly and she was tireless in taking us all over and providing both historical and current perspectives. She pointed out all sorts of details that I would have missed on my own. She had a good sense of humor and was very Italian- she knew the area as a native! She was great at pointing out details outside and in the spaces we entered, and had lots of tidbits to offer. She knew a lot about the Last Supper and what we should look for/at. Totally recommend this - a fantastic way to enter into the world of Milano!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

Rosa R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Very good tour, even under rain as we taked it.
La Scala, the Duomo and Last supper are precious jewels, adn Milan is a very interesting city.
Our both guides were very kind, always concerned about all peoples of the group.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

Margaret A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

If you have limited time this is the perfect tour to take also, we used it as an introduction to the Duomo we later went back and went up on the terraces and did the archeological self-guided tour and having had this introduction was most helpful. The tour of La Scala we were able to see the orchestra rehearsing and its museum was more detailed and a great way to see this landmark. Our guide was very knowledgeable, which was especially nice for The Last Supper. Great value whether all you do or as an introduction to Milan.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

ESRA Ö

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The Sforza Castle option was not our primary choice for the Last Supper tour Navigli and Duomo was unavailable on the day of our visit but we were very happy at the end of the tour. Our tour guide was very informative and was willing to answer all our questions. After the visit to the church we walked through Parco Sempione to reach the Sforza Castle. Then we had our basket lunch which included a selection of sandwiches and soft drinks. Visiting the Santa Maria delle Grazie church and seeing the Last Supper with a guide really makes a difference. Absolutely recommended.

Doing what: Leonardo Da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Guided Visit with Priority Access plus Sforza Castle, Navigli, or Duomo

Thomas S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Well worth the effort as the tour is educational and The Last Supper is a powerful experience.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

D M-S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Nice overview walk/drive. Highlight was The Last Supper, really shouldn't miss it if in town. Lake Como is an hour train ride North and so worth a visit too. We went on our own for the day, although there may be tours available.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

Bryant B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The Last Supper was well worth the wait. I honestly did not know it was that big! Amazing to be able to have seen such a masterpiece! Definitely worth taking this tour!

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

ann C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The trip was very good. We were met by a nice guide who walked us around, whowed us the sights, was interesting and dealt with demanding tourist in an appropriate manner so everyone had a nice experience.
We arrived at the Last Supper timely and ended our tour there--we went nearby to a nice lunce.

Doing what: Milan Art Tour: Da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' and the Church of San Maurizio al Monastero Maggiore

MJ A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our tour guide Christina was very knowledgeable and despite the fact that it was a walking tour, she gave us enough time to sight see, take photos, gave bathroom breaks and several stops in order for everybody to catch up with everyone. Highly recommended tour esp if you dont have enough time to stay in Milan. The highlight was the visit inside the Duomo and of course, seeing The Last Supper with my own eyes!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

smhrocks18

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Amazing!!! Seeing the Last Supper was a dream come true! Not too much walking, but the guide was very knowledgeable. .

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

Andrew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour. Dual language tour, but guide spoke both fluently and in a way that was neither confusing or annoying. Visited cathedral, galleria, Scala Theater, last supper, small bus tour showing some sites. Tour guide gives history and specifics at each stop.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

Dorothy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Everyone must see the Last Supper!!

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

Scott J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Got to tour two churches in addition to the Duomo. Lots of walking so we got to soak in the atmosphere of the city. Our guide was very knowledgeable and an interesting speaker. Lunch was on our own which was nice too. Lines for 'The Last Supper and Duomo were longer than we would have wanted to wait in - well worth every penny to skip the line. Group tour, but not too large. Would definitely recommend this tour to friends.

Doing what: Best of Milan Experience Including Da Vinci's ‘The Last Supper’ or Vineyard and Milan Duomo Tour

Josee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Seeing the Last Supper mural was amazing. Definitely worth the price!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

daryl_fritz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We don't usually do group tours, but in this case, it was our only option to see The Last Supper. We actually enjoyed the tour, and since it was a large group, we were all provided with headphones. We visited some places we likely wouldn't have on our own little churches, etc. My husband was a huge skeptic beforehand, but he also enjoyed it. The guide was great.

Doing what: Milan Art Tour: Da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' and the Church of San Maurizio al Monastero Maggiore

Jimmy Ray P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great way to see The Last Supper without the shifty ticket brokers or waiting in massive lines. Keep in mind that they limit the groups of folks to see this painting. You are only allowed 15 minutes and while that my seem short, it's really about right unless your an art scholar. Plenty of history to read about and this place is really set up to handle tourist flows. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Milan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper'

Ann L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great tour. We walked around Milan which led up to The Last Supper. Since we were the last tour group to go into the gallery it was very pleasant, quiet and enjoyable. Definitely would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small-Group Milan Walking Tour with da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' Tickets

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message