The northern part of Italy is well-known for its picturesque lakes, but what might not be as well-known is that you can visit most of the lakes from a base in Milan. You’ll either have to make multiple day trips or plan to spend a few days exploring ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1514 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Patricia K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A wonderful way to spend the day while visiting Milan.

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Michelle R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was by far my favorite trip I had in Italy. This is an absolutely MUST see/do adventure. If I could retire anywhere, it would be here.

You start your trip with a 1 hour bus ride to Lugano, Switzerland. Once you get there, you get a quick 20 minute tour of the downtown, and then you have an hour to wander around. I wish we had a longer time here, although it is a small town and you go early in the afternoon so it's not very busy, it is such a beautiful town, I could have spent all day there. I was on a mission to find the Gates to Heaven, which I found in a small park nearby. That is a must see attraction. Lugano was a very cute town with a small high class downtown. Make sure to buy some Swiss chocolate their famous shop Laderach: chocolatier suisse!

After your trip, you take the bus down the big hill to Lake Como, about a 45 minute drive. Once you get there, you hop on a ferry that takes you directly across to the little town/island of Bellagio. You have about 2.5 hours here more than enough time!, but a great place for lunch, to shop, buy some real silk, and relax. Bellagio was beautiful, there basically are no streets, just all steps easily walkable, and the water front views are gorgeous. This is how I pictured Italy.

After you are done with Bellagio, you take a ferry down Lake Como for a 2 hour boat ride. Pretty long boat ride, after awhile all the views are the same, but it never gets old. Soak it in that you are sailing down this beautiful lake in Italy with the Swiss Alps behind you...because it is a once in a lifetime memory for a lot of people.

Would love to go back one day...

Doing what: Italy and Switzerland in One Day: Lake Como and Lugano from Milan

muru s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Amazing! I highly recommend!

Doing what: Lake Maggiore Day Trip from Milan

Lucas O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tour was very well run and great to see so many places around and in Lake Como. The audio guide was a nice touch on the 2 hour boat ride to Bellagio. Coach was good, group was normal size, a little on the larger side 45ish. The only item I would change if possible is to add a bathroom on the coach to/from Bellagio/Como. Ample time everywhere. HIGHLY recommend,

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Doug United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is a great choice for anyone wanting to take a day trip to Lake Como. The bus was excellent, the guide was very helpful, the receivers we wore made it much easier to hear the guide, we had enough free time in Como and Bellagio to see some of the sights, the bus was comfortable, the driver was great, and the price for all of this was very reasonable.

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Susan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Absolutely wonderful day trip/tour!! Our guide Nadia was excellent and very informative. We loved the lakes region -the scenery we saw on our boat ride was spectacular!! Some of the best we have ever seen!

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

David A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour well organised and great guide made for a fantastic day. Must see area of Italy.

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

tphelps209

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This trip was well worth it. It was a beautiful day on the lake. We saw and did so many activities, but it was relaxing as well. This was a wonderful tour. Well planned and thought out. The boat rides were my favorite and you couldn't ask for better views.

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Roseyparr

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Really well organised tour. We had a great guide who took us all the way to Bellagio on the boat. It was even better than i thought!!!

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Savina Kaur K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Really nice ferry ride.

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Clement H Mauritius

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very nice and well organised trip

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Gerardo G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour guides were excellent and very knowledgeable. The places we visited were breath taking.

Doing what: Italy and Switzerland in One Day: Lake Como and Lugano from Milan

Christopher T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour, with a good guide. Worth every penny.

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Angelica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The day trip to Lake Como was fabulous. The first stop was Villa Olmo. Then we went to the town of Como and had a walking tour. The tour guide was very friendly and informative. We also had some free time till the ferry arrive so we could cruise along the lake. The scenery was picturesque and the properties along the lake were luxurious and grand. We got off at Bellagio and spent the afternoon there. This was free time, we got to look around on our own. Bellagio is a pretty town and was very busy. We ended up having lunch at our own expenses which was great. We then met up with our tour guide that got us back onto the ferry which took us to the opposite side of Bellagio to meet the coach which took us back along the coast which was a very narrow but picturesque. Highly recommend this day trip and it was very enjoyable. Great day.

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Melinda A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our favourite tour thus far, highly recommended. We didn and #39;t have the best weather on the day but that didn and #39;t stop us enjoying the full day tour. The guides were great on the bus and let us have free time in Lugano, Lake Como and Bellagio to enjoy. Have is tips on where to go and what to see.

Doing what: Italy and Switzerland in One Day: Lake Como and Lugano from Milan

Teresa L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A long day, but we saw so much! The trip was well organized. The guide provided excellent commentary. The driver navigated a big bus where I would hesitate to take a small car.

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Camille L Jamaica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was amazing! Great sights...Tour guide Katherine was very informative. I loved every moment of this tour...

Doing what: Italy and Switzerland in One Day: Lake Como and Lugano from Milan

Philip G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Verona has a lot more to see than just the R and J balcony.
Sirmione castle is cute but we ran out of time shopping so could not try the gelato by the castle.

Doing what: Verona and Lake Garda Day Trip from Milan

Tammy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is beautiful location.

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Serena P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Lake Como and Bellagio are stunning! Worth visiting!

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Scott T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Meeting location was easy to access. Coach comfort was very good. Como was fun to walk around in. The ferry ride was beautiful we had excellent weather. Bellagio was very enjoyable as well. All in all it was a day very well spent. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Hannah C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I would highly recommend this excursion, Lake Como is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been- pictures cannot do it enough justice! The day goes at a nice pace, with a trip around Como city in the morning, before a long cruise up to Bellagio, where you have more free time. Just make sure you bring your hat/suncream/BOTH because even though some of the roof deck of the cruise boat is covered, it will not stay that way and it will get REALLY HOT! Also recommended is to take a selfie stick hear me out, because it makes it much easier to take pictures if you are using a phone of the beautiful sights of Lake Como's shores over the heads of the crowd of people that will stand at the railings and not move for the entire duration so that no one else can get close enough to take a picture! Could not fault the tour guide or the tour itself enough, absolutely breathtaking!

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Gokhan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour. It was a beautiful day, excellent weather. The tour was well organized with an excellent guide that was well organized and pleasant. The lake is beautiful and the boat ride is very entertaining. We had enough time to roam around, have a very good lunch with nice views by the lake, gelato...

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Marie United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour! Valentina is very funny, knowledgeable, and personable. She gave some great tips and ideas for places to visit and things to see on our free time. Lugano is very pretty but so very expensive!!! Como was fantastic and Bellagio was the best of the tour. For lunch, I recommend going to Enoteca Cava Turacciolo. The wine is wonderful and the food was fantastic and inexpensive! The really neat part is that it is in an old cave. We loved Bellagio so much we booked our own train ticket and went back a week later.

Doing what: Italy and Switzerland in One Day: Lake Como and Lugano from Milan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message