The northern part of Italy is well-known for its picturesque lakes, but what might not be as well-known is that you can visit most of the lakes from a base in Milan. You’ll either have to make multiple day trips or plan to spend a few days exploring ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1604 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Tracy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our day trip/trip tour to Lake Como beautiful, informative and relaxing. Our tour guide was great and the pace was just right! We highly recommend the tour!

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Steve H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I think this was as good as it could probably get for a day trip. I don't think you could get any more into the day, and if you could, it probably wouldn't give you any more value.

We got views and history of Como the lake from several vantage points, and also of Como the city. Views of the city and lake from 500metres above, and way, WAY, into the distance, and also views and local stories from an hour-long ferry ride on the lake itself, with enough time to do a little exploration of our own.

Yes, we saw where George lives, when he's there. No, I didn't get the chance to ask him where the best coffee was served in Como.

However, the coach ride was comfortable, warm and swift enough... I don't know what more you could ask for, really.... ?

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

brad

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a great daytrip from Milan. We got to see some beautiful countryside and we especially loved our stop for lunch in Bellagio. Our guides knew the region well and were very informative. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Italy and Switzerland in One Day: Lake Como and Lugano from Milan

danflorina2000

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I loved this tour! It's great for those who visit Milan for the first time .We were very lucky because it was a sunny day so we could see the lake , the montains and entire landscape that is wonderful. The old part of Como city with hnarrow streets and old buidings is charming.Our guide was very professional and explains us a lot about the places visited and the history of Como.

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Travelling Trio Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We are a family of 2 adults and our 11 year old son who love visiting Italy and immersing ourselves in its beauty. This tour was always on our wish list so on our visit to Milan, we decided to book this tour before we left.

We did the tour on 2nd October 2016. Our driver was Domenico, our Guide was Carlo and again the tour company was Zanni Viaggi.

We caught a small ferry boat to Isole Bella village and had a tour of the villa and its gardens, then were given free time to enjoy the gardens at leisure and wander about the island. It was beautiful and the white peacocks at the gardens are beautiful and very tame. The gardens were still lovely at this time of year and we captured some amazing video and photographs.

From here we caught another ferry to Isola Pescatori and had a superb seafood lunch which was not included in the tour, but you could book with the tour guide and go as a group. We decided to do this as we really wanted to sample the fish that were caught in the lake. We were not disappointed, the seafood was divine and the servings very large, and the prices were excellent.

From here we boarded the small fishing boats again and headed back towards Stresa and we were given some more free time to wander about this lovely town. We will be returning here definitely because the people and the scenery was beautiful. We were staying at an apartment in Milan and purchased a ceramic gift for our apartment host, and purchased another one for ourselves to remind us of this visit.

We then reboarded our tour bus and drove along the lake for a lakeside panorama which was lovely and scenic. The day was quite cloudy so visibility wasn't as good as the day we did Lake Como, but you could still not miss how gorgeous this area is. We loved the small fishing island as well and hope to return to this area and spend some time just boating around the lakes and their little islands and absorbing the culture.

If you want to have a relaxing day and sample some lovely local seafood then I highly recommend this tour. It is suitable for adults and children and is a very relaxing and laid back day so would suit all ages.

Doing what: Lake Maggiore Day Trip from Milan

Travelling Trio Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We are a family of 2 adults and our 11 year old son. We did this tour from Milan on 3rd October 2016. Our driver was Mr Oprando Freddy, our Tour Guide was Nadia and our Tour Company was Zanni Viaggi which is one of the main ones in Milan. We did several tours through this company and all were excellent.

The day was a sunny Autumn day and the skies were so clear, that it made the tour even better, because there were no clouds and the towns along the lake cruise were clearly visible.

We drove to Como and were given time to wander about for approximately 1 hour, after which time we met at Piazza Cavour to join our ship. The cruise went from 11.40am until 1.30pm and the ship was very large, so we sat up on the top deck with amazing views and stunning scenery. I took hundreds of photos, as did our son and my husband took incredible video footage.

At 1.50pm we were dropped at Bellagio for 2 hours to have time at leisure which we loved. We had lunch at the Bar Splendide overlooking Lake Como and then wandered about the cobbled lanes and admired the gorgeous little shops along the way, as well as doing some shopping and taking of more photos. It is truly a picture book town, we definitely will be returning to spend more time here on another visit to Italy.

If you want to have a relaxing day, and soak up some incredible scenery, whilst eating beautiful food and enjoying all the the Italian lakes has to offer, then this tour is definitely one to do. We would do it again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Graham S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Lovely day visiting Lake Como. The highlight was Brunate at the top of the funicular railway. the view and the pictures we got was amazing, lucky it was clear and Sunny. We then had lunch by the lakeside sitting outside in the sunshine and it was the middle of December. Throw in a boat trip on the lake and it was a very enjoyable well organised day trip.

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Margaret A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a fun trip from Milan our guide was very good. Verona is an interesting old city and the city guide was very good. Juliet's house is tacky and touristy but we enjoyed the walk through this old city. The Lake Garda part was a highlight of the trip, especially since we were able to take a short boat ride on the lake. We had some down time in Sirmione and great gelato. Definitely a worthwhile trip.

Doing what: Verona and Lake Garda Day Trip from Milan

Patricia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a wonderful time! Our guides were very friendly, knowledgeable, and organized! The Lake Como boat trip was beautiful and we saw an amazing sunset. Definitely recommend this tour!! I

Doing what: Italy and Switzerland in One Day: Lake Como and Lugano from Milan

Antoinette S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The Papal Audience was wonderful. We were met by the guide at the designated area and he led us to very good seats. He explained the protocol and what to expect before he left us on our own. His information was excellent.

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Diezee Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic day trip, was totally relaxed, watching the scenery sail bye.

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Frederic F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

It was a very nice tour to see both Lake Como and Lugano, Switzerland. Both tour guides know their subject very well. These tour ladies were very friendly to everybody in the bus.

Doing what: Italy and Switzerland in One Day: Lake Como and Lugano from Milan

Jeffrey k A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent day trip, good value and lots of information. Trip on Lake Como enhanced by a gorgeous Autumn day.

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

The.Libyaman Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

amazing one day trip to Lake Como that you will never regret and you will never forget.

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

symon.thompson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a beautiful day even though the weather was rainy and cold the views and boat were great. I loved Lugano. I wish we had more time there.

Doing what: Italy and Switzerland in One Day: Lake Como and Lugano from Milan

vickenelo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

very well organised and eventually a very enjoyable day with beautiful scenery. Shame George Clooney was not around.

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Siva P USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Life changing! What can I say... Based on this trip, I fell in love with the lake. I and my wife are now buying a retirement home in Varenna. Do I need to say any more?

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

John G USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Wonderful trip

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Jennifer G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Loved loved loved this tour. Our guide was great and the tour was terrific. Beautiful place. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Kaira P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great value for your money. We had a excellent tour guide and plenty of time in Como and Bellagio to explore the beautiful sites

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

SUSAN L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

What a wonderful day. Even though it rained for most of the day, we were still able to enjoy the beautiful Lake, the City of Como and the beautiful little town of Bellagio. We will be back

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Allison B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

tour leader was VERY informative. Excellent tour and a lot of fun.

Doing what: Verona and Lake Garda Day Trip from Milan

VIVIAN B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Beautiful Lake Como. Amazing experience. Angela our tour guide was great.

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message