The northern part of Italy is well-known for its picturesque lakes, but what might not be as well-known is that you can visit most of the lakes from a base in Milan. You’ll either have to make multiple day trips or plan to spend a few days exploring ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1465 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Robyn E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A long day trip but well worth it if you have the time.

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Anthony Michael A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I would highly recommend this tour. We had Valentina as our tour guide and she was EXCELLENT. My girlfriend and I got engaged in Bellagio in the gardens and it was beautiful.

Doing what: Italy and Switzerland in One Day: Lake Como and Lugano from Milan

ROBERT M. H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

WHAT A WONDERFUL TRIP WITH A GREAT GUIDE. SAMANTHA WAS GREAT. THIS GREAT WAY TO SEE A BEAUTIFUL AREA OF ITALY. AND VISIT WONDERFUL VILLAGES.

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Daniel C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

must do in Milan, Valentina great tour guide, breathtaking views, Bellagio beautiful, very little time in Lugano but great to see another country highly recommended

Doing what: Italy and Switzerland in One Day: Lake Como and Lugano from Milan

Fiona B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing tour, great guide who was very knowledgeable. Bus was clearly marked and easy to find and very modern. The boat tour was great as was the Palazzo Borromeo tour. There was just enough time to explore each island with the free time given. I would recommend the tour supplying some bottled water in the morning or on the boats as it gets very hot! Overall great tour and would definitely recommend this over any walking tours as well!

Doing what: Lake Maggiore Day Trip from Milan

Rose K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a beautiful ride. We enjoyed it a lot. I have no complaints. Thank you viator!

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Europe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour.

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Neil T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

An excellent tour

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Edward W D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Tour Guide and Driver were Outstanding !
nice trip !
Sgt Eddie DeLuca

Doing what: Italy and Switzerland in One Day: Lake Como and Lugano from Milan

Carla P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great time, knowledgeable guIce and lots of free time. Excellent way to see the area and not be driving.

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

YIWEI H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing trip with the best tour guide, Valentina!

Doing what: Italy and Switzerland in One Day: Lake Como and Lugano from Milan

Dan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Top quality commentary of a fabulous region. Well organised, smoothly executed. Valuable experience for tourists, in a small manageable group.

Doing what: Italy and Switzerland in One Day: Lake Como and Lugano from Milan

Richard P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Took this tour on Saturday 23rd July.. We were greeted at the point of departure by our guide, who checked us on board, and gave us our audio guides.
We travelled out through the suburbs of Milan, and were given lots of information on what appears to be an ongoing transformation of a very busy and vibrant business city. As we approached the town of Como, our guide informed us that a storm was due, that should blow through very quickly. However, this storm lasted all the time that we were in Como, and the rain was relentless. Very sad, as our guide did her very best to stay upbeat, but a lot of the time was spent on the coach, sheltering from the downpour..
However, we boarded the ferry and proceeded up Lake Como, and as we did so, the weather slowly cleared up. By the time we reached the town of Bellagio the sun was shining, and we managed to have a lovely lunch and two hours of lovely weather, before having to take the ferry across the lake to meet up with our coach again, for the return journey to Milan..
On the way back we drove through lots of lovely rural Italian villages, on narrow roads, and the scenery was lovely.
I would recommend this tour!! Its a great day out, and it was just one of those things with the weather. Win some, lose some!!

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Mariana B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A very nice trip.
Our tour guide, Simona, very well-organised and professional.
The boat trip around Lake Como was beautiful and Simona told us a lot of stories about the lake and the houses.
The stop in Bellagio could be a bit longer.
I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Kat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My wife and I had an incredible trip, it really was the highlight of our holiday

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Dmoscate

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Strongly recommended the day tour
Our guide Katerina was very pleasant and well informed

Doing what: Italy and Switzerland in One Day: Lake Como and Lugano from Milan

Beatriz P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very nice trip, great guide and better views! Highly recommended

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Christine R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Although the beginning of our day started with a down pour, this tour had everything we were looking for. It had spectacular views, a boat ride, a bit of history, great shopping, excellent tour guides and delicious food. I would recommend this tour to those who have a day free to see these beautiful lake towns- just breathtaking!

Doing what: Italy and Switzerland in One Day: Lake Como and Lugano from Milan

Mark S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A very enjoyable tour from start to hectic finish with perfect food and weather. The drive to Como was very pleasant. Our tour guides were very well-organised and professional - their English was perfect and they were very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Lake Como was beautiful and the two-hour cruise to Bellagio was very pleasant. There was a little restaurant on-board the boat that served lunch, and apart from the million dollar views through the thick, marine glass windows, it offered little ambience, HOWEVER, it served perhaps the best food we ate anywhere in Italy! The gnocchi pomodoro were to die for and the penne pesto were delicious! To top it off, it was as cheap as chips! Please don't waste your precious time at Bellagio eating lunch, when you can enjoy a delicious lunch on-board the boat on which you're confined for two hours anyway. We had a lovely afternoon walking around Bellagio taking in the sites and atmosphere, with my companion taking lots of photographs.

Please note that Viator lists a 9-hour tour starting at 8:30am, but in actual fact, the tour generally ends at 6:30pm, which is of course 10 hours, so plan accordingly. We had a 8:30pm flight to London, and an uncharacteristically late boat to Cadenabbia and a traffic accident causing congestion on the way back to Milan, had us running extremely late. The tour guides were exceptional, calling a travel agent and the airline for us en route back to Milan, trying desperately to ensure we made our flight. They dropped us off within a mad-dash of our hotel to collect our luggage and had arranged for a taxi to be waiting for us to rush us to the airport! We made our flight with just moments to spare!

Our favourite tour of our European trip, with many memorable highlights...for many different reasons. Very highly recommended.

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Vinh C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very nice and informative tour. Ferry ride was quite long but worth with great scenic view of lake Como.

Doing what: Lake Como Day Trip from Milan

Renlyn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a Wonderful Vacation !!!

Doing what: Lake Maggiore Day Trip from Milan

athenaysng

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Good and happy trip, the guide gave much information which is useful and interesting!

Doing what: Lake Maggiore Day Trip from Milan

Thomas O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a few days in Milan after Rome and Tuscanny, and booked this trip on a friend recommendation. It is a long day, but Lugano, Bellagio, and Lake Como are stunningly beautiful places and much different than the other parts of Italy. I'm glad I was able to visit these places. Bellagio is a really special place. Our guide Valentina was very knowledgable and mixed in a lot of humor into her stories. She encouraged us at the end of the trip to have dinner like the locals in Milano, by visiting the local bars for aperitif. We had a lot of fun with that, it was especially enjoyed by our 16 year old who has been studying Italian since 6th grade. I would definitely recommend it, but it is a long and tiring day.

Doing what: Italy and Switzerland in One Day: Lake Como and Lugano from Milan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message