Take a ride on the Bernina Express, Switzerland's newest Alpine delight. This magnificent 3-hour train journey takes you along one of the most beautiful railway routes in the world over the Bernina Pass to the exclusive resort of St. Moritz, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1004 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Melissa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is a fantastic experience for us! We enjoyed it very much though it was a very long day, from 7am to 8.30pm! The magnificent view of the Swiss Alps, the beautiful St. Moritz town with hand-made chocolate stop a wee bit short though as it would have been better if we get to spend a little longer time in this town, made it all worthwhile the visit! It is defiinitely a highly recommended tour! Thank you! :

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

2dhismom Indonesia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Did the tour in October. The trip with Bernina Express was fantastic. As we looked at the window, we saw beautiful Swiss alps. Really enjoyed the journey. Not much to do in St. Moritz.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Fazliana Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Enjoyable moment with stunning view!!!
Our guide is very informative person, she shared the trick and tips during the tour.
Can't say more, just enjoy the scenery and captured the best moment when you cross the Swiss Alps.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Aravinda R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was one of the most exiting one day trip I ever had, you cannot expect more from a day than this. I Love to guys on board, exceptional instructors / guide. They know how to handle the visitors and guide them and get the fun they want /deserve.!

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Haroon L South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Absolutely breathtaking. From the time we departed Milan, on the roadtrip to St Moritz, then the rail tour through the Swiss Alps, it was all just amazing. I would recommend a night stayover in St Moritz to appreciate the spectacle of everything that surrounds you in that area. A must for anyone travelling to Milan.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Robert O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Loved every minute of it. It is worth the long day. We visited Milan in January so it was cold. Our only complaint was on the train riders were allowed to put the windows down to take pictures. Although the train is heated we froze all the way to the top. So if you are visiting in the winter keep that in mind. The views were breathtaking.

We left Milan right at 7am. Our tour guides were Serena and Sonja, both of which were very informative. The bus does make a stop on the way to the train and again on the way back to Milan for restroom breaks. Our stops in Tirano and St. Moritz were very short but part of the experience was riding the train. Would recommend this tour and would love to go back in the spring or summer.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Joey M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was beautiful and it was nothing short of great. Would love to return.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Philip H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

The only negative experience in our wonderful Italian Christmas holiday.
DO ride the Bernina Experess.
DON'T do it with this tour.
You can book the Bernina Express independently and take a regional train from Milan to Tirano.
Problems:
Poor timing-- barely enough time in St. Moritz to take photos
Poor planning-- our group of five was forced to find our own seats in a separate railcar. The tour operator did not assign seats meaning we would have spent the two-hour ride unable to sit together.
Poor food-- we ate at the recommended restaurant in the interest of time. It was just terrible. Only bad food I had in Italy. Greasy noodles with congealed cheese gave me horrible heartburn.
Fortunately the weather was beautiful, and all's well that ends well-- but no thanks to this tour.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Naeemeh Hosseini

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

That trip was the greatest that I have ever had!.. in fact, It was a dream which came true because of the fabulously beautiful sceneries and splendid landscapes... I believe this is a must that everyone should do.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Rospow USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Loved this tour! The train ride was spectacular! St Moritz was fun and we had just the right amount of time there. Lunch was good - yes it's early but since we started the day early I was ready for lunch and the food was very good. The bus ride back was long but the beginning, driving down the mountain is amazing. Great views and the driver did an excellent job navigating the many switchbacks. Nice nap for the rest of the ride before getting back into Milan.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Leonie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Just one word.. Fantastic

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Gurcan T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Sonia is a great guide. She is very smiley, polite, helpful. During the whole tour she gives a lot of information, answers every question with patience. Route of the train is absolutely perfect. Specially if its your first time in Switzerland, i'm sure you'll enjoy it too much.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

karenckchoo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

It was an awesome experience during the trip. Scenery was beautiful and moreover, it was off-peak season hence no crowd.
However, guide was a little passive. Didn't speak much and did not provide much instructions. Times where instructions given were not clear hence tour mates were confused. Overall it was worth the effort and time.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Margaret A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This trip was the highlight of our stay in Milan. It's an early morning, but on Christmas Eve there were two buses mostly full. The buses operated as two different groups and our guide was wonderful about managing the numbers we were used to smaller groups given the time of year. The drive itself to the small Italian border town is interesting, but nothing beats the two hour 15 minute train ride. Great window views with windows that come down easily to take pictures, plus ample space between cars for picture taking. We had little time in St. Moritz, but that was fine as we shopped for chocolate and had hot chocolate. Because of the time of year the drive back was in the dark but this is a great trip.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Travelling Trio Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

What a delightful tour - incredible scenery guaranteed - and too many photo's to post because you will not put your camera down guaranteed.

Our driver was Sergio and our Guide Serena. The tour company was Zani Viaggi in Milan - who did the majority of the Milan coach tours we did.

We went from Milan to Tirano and had lunch, then caught the train at 1.00pm. The train ride is 2 hours and 11 minutes exactly Swiss precision time. We then had 1 hour in St Moritz but not being ski season it was very quiet. We managed to find some shops open and got some nice souvenirs, but the rest was just looking at the window displays because they were closed. You meet your coach at St Moritz and return to Milan about 8.30pm. It's a very long day but it is so worth it. If you are visiting Milan, you simply must do yourself a favour and book this tour, it's wonderful.

We did our tour on 4th October and being Autumn, we did still see quite a lot of snow which was wonderful.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

trish

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

This was an amazing day trip. Lots of snow around made it very scenic. Able to put the windows down on the train so could take great photos. Tour guide was very good and friendly. We stayed at the UNA Hotel just across from the meeting place highly recommended and handy as we had to be there at 7am

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

JACOB JOHN United Arab Emirates

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

My intent was to let my daughter experience snow and we got to touch snow at St. Moritz. Very good tour covering a lot of scenic intake in one day's drive. Would always recommend this tour in the winter months.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Gina S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

overall not a good tour.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

David

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

terrific guide and the best scenery.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

VIVIAN B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour. Very organized and informative. We loved every minute of it.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

John F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was absolutely brilliant. We started out with a coach trip from Milan at 7 am with Andrew as our guide. He quickly set the scene for what was to be day filled with spectacular scenery from Milano to St Moritz and back . After lunch in Tirano we boarded the train to St Moritz and with windows opened and a carriage to ourselves we spent the whole journey moving from side to side to take in the views. We were warned that St moritz would be a ghost town and so it was but even that was enjoyable being able to move about freely. I would rate this a one of the best day excursions I have done - but a word of warning. Take a spare battery or charger for whatever photographc equipment you use as you will need it. Snow capped montains, glacia lakes, swiss villages in valleys and even helicopters carting full trees and there is more before you even get there.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Julie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour, excellent guide. Would recommend local meal at restaurant which can be arranged by the tour guide.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

John G USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fabulous. Beautiful day trip

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Patricia G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing! From start to finish you won't see prettier towns or more breathtaking views.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message