Take a ride on the Bernina Express, Switzerland's newest Alpine delight. This magnificent 3-hour train journey takes you along one of the most beautiful railway routes in the world over the Bernina Pass to the exclusive resort of St. Moritz, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1015 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This is a fabulous trip that is still very vivid in my memory. It is a great way to see some of Switzerland when you don,t have a lot of time. The scenery on the train from the train was fabulous, seeing st. moritz,and getting fabulous chocolate were all outstanding. The drive out of Switzerland on the bus was even more outstanding then on the train....I was expecting to see Heidi any minute!
Very worth while and great value.!!

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

nathan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was our first venture into Switzerland and what an introduction! The tour starts on a bus from Milan to Tirano. On the way you get a glimpse of the Lake District of Italy. In Tirano you can have lunch at a restaurant recommended by the guide or explore and have lunch on your own. Our guide was very knowledgeable and accommodating. She did not pressure anyone to eat at the recommended restaurant. We enjoyed exploring Tirano and found a delightful pizza place for lunch. We boarded the train in Tirano and were lucky to have the last car. It was fun to see the front of the train curling ahead of us as we navigated through the mountains. Check out the estimated temperature in St. Moritz and dress accordingly. Everyone wants a good picture, so the windows come down in the train. The views are spectacular! In St. Moritz you will have a short time to explore before you board the bus for a wild ride home through hairpin turns and quaint villages. The bus driver was very skilled. It's a long day, but a memorable one.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Mohd Fairuz K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

ivyngml

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Thumb up. Wonderfull trip.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

stephanie.g.graves

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Great guide and trip. While beautiful, a small snowstorm meant we had to leave early from our destination Saint Mortiz - a safe move, but in hindsight, it would have been great to spend less time in Tirano and more in Saint Moritz. Regardless, it was fun and I'd definitely do it again.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Melissa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is a fantastic experience for us! We enjoyed it very much though it was a very long day, from 7am to 8.30pm! The magnificent view of the Swiss Alps, the beautiful St. Moritz town with hand-made chocolate stop a wee bit short though as it would have been better if we get to spend a little longer time in this town, made it all worthwhile the visit! It is defiinitely a highly recommended tour! Thank you! :

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

2dhismom Indonesia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Did the tour in October. The trip with Bernina Express was fantastic. As we looked at the window, we saw beautiful Swiss alps. Really enjoyed the journey. Not much to do in St. Moritz.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Fazliana Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Enjoyable moment with stunning view!!!
Our guide is very informative person, she shared the trick and tips during the tour.
Can't say more, just enjoy the scenery and captured the best moment when you cross the Swiss Alps.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Aravinda R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was one of the most exiting one day trip I ever had, you cannot expect more from a day than this. I Love to guys on board, exceptional instructors / guide. They know how to handle the visitors and guide them and get the fun they want /deserve.!

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Haroon L South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Absolutely breathtaking. From the time we departed Milan, on the roadtrip to St Moritz, then the rail tour through the Swiss Alps, it was all just amazing. I would recommend a night stayover in St Moritz to appreciate the spectacle of everything that surrounds you in that area. A must for anyone travelling to Milan.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Robert O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Loved every minute of it. It is worth the long day. We visited Milan in January so it was cold. Our only complaint was on the train riders were allowed to put the windows down to take pictures. Although the train is heated we froze all the way to the top. So if you are visiting in the winter keep that in mind. The views were breathtaking.

We left Milan right at 7am. Our tour guides were Serena and Sonja, both of which were very informative. The bus does make a stop on the way to the train and again on the way back to Milan for restroom breaks. Our stops in Tirano and St. Moritz were very short but part of the experience was riding the train. Would recommend this tour and would love to go back in the spring or summer.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Joey M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was beautiful and it was nothing short of great. Would love to return.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

runrun0420

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

WHAT A GREAT EXPERIENCE. The only problem with this tour is the very LIMITED time you have when you arrived in St. Moritz.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

dangia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

One of the best tour I've ever had! The tour is long but well organised with stops on the way for coffee, food, toilets. First stop is Tirano where you'll catch the train and where you can visit one of the most beautiful little church I've ever seen! There you will also have time for lunch. Of course the highlight of the tour is the Bernina train where you will remain speechless for a couple of hours as the views are breathtaking! Once you arrive in St Moritz you have an hour or so to visit this luxury town and then it's time to go back to Milan. Absolutely recommend it if you want a day out from the cities and enjoy mountains' views all around. Totally recommend it for any type of traveler!

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

davis.ps

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Nice trip, beautiful scenery. A bit hard to take photos.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Paula R B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

A long day ahead, fortunately not much walking. Beautiful ride in bus and train, with amazing sight of vineyards and valleys and of course the Alps. I have always dreamed the Alps would be more beautiful than any other mountains but in reality mountains are just mountains. Be mindful that if you are there before the season, snow St. Moritz is a ghost town, and Lake Como is not a stop, so no George Clooney. I rate the experience as good, but wait until winter to get the full impact. If you are scared of heights, go to sleep on the way down by bus or take a pill.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Dawn P

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

It was my 50th Birthday and what a day!! I loved this tour the only reason I haven't given it full marks is, a couple of small things could make it even better. I described this on facebook as one of the best days of my life and that's how I felt. It has so many breathtaking views, and had stops on route to buy coffee or food. It really is amazing and would recommend it to everyone. Yes it is a long day approx 7am-2030 but I didn't want to it to end!
So if I was to be really picky it would be nice to sit anywhere on the train, I know the guide wants to keep you all together, but its hard to be romantic when sitting with strangers, when there are empty seats further down.
The main reason I gave it only 4 stars is that it is a very short time in St Moritz. I felt you either had a drink or shopped not both by the time you queued up, so two hours there would be much better. I feel bad giving it 4 stars, as it really does deserve 5. The guide was also very good :

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Philip H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

The only negative experience in our wonderful Italian Christmas holiday.
DO ride the Bernina Experess.
DON'T do it with this tour.
You can book the Bernina Express independently and take a regional train from Milan to Tirano.
Problems:
Poor timing-- barely enough time in St. Moritz to take photos
Poor planning-- our group of five was forced to find our own seats in a separate railcar. The tour operator did not assign seats meaning we would have spent the two-hour ride unable to sit together.
Poor food-- we ate at the recommended restaurant in the interest of time. It was just terrible. Only bad food I had in Italy. Greasy noodles with congealed cheese gave me horrible heartburn.
Fortunately the weather was beautiful, and all's well that ends well-- but no thanks to this tour.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Naeemeh Hosseini

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

That trip was the greatest that I have ever had!.. in fact, It was a dream which came true because of the fabulously beautiful sceneries and splendid landscapes... I believe this is a must that everyone should do.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Rospow USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Loved this tour! The train ride was spectacular! St Moritz was fun and we had just the right amount of time there. Lunch was good - yes it's early but since we started the day early I was ready for lunch and the food was very good. The bus ride back was long but the beginning, driving down the mountain is amazing. Great views and the driver did an excellent job navigating the many switchbacks. Nice nap for the rest of the ride before getting back into Milan.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Leonie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Just one word.. Fantastic

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Gurcan T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Sonia is a great guide. She is very smiley, polite, helpful. During the whole tour she gives a lot of information, answers every question with patience. Route of the train is absolutely perfect. Specially if its your first time in Switzerland, i'm sure you'll enjoy it too much.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

karenckchoo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

It was an awesome experience during the trip. Scenery was beautiful and moreover, it was off-peak season hence no crowd.
However, guide was a little passive. Didn't speak much and did not provide much instructions. Times where instructions given were not clear hence tour mates were confused. Overall it was worth the effort and time.

Doing what: Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message