Montego Bay ATTRACTIONS See all

Martha Brae River

The Martha Brae River is the tranquil home of river rafting in Jamaica, the best way to discover the country's tropical interior. Guided tours include refreshment, lunch and lagoon swim stops, and quite often the guided rafting trips pass riverside ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 152 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Marissa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was quite a hike from our Montego Bay hotel, but totally worth it!

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Angelika B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

it was great experience i would recommend it

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Laureen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Amazingggg!!!!! WOW, this is really a hidden gem experience that is not to be missed in Jamaica. It being my tenth time actually to Jamaica, I am so glad I found this on Viator. From the prompt and friendly driver who had to come out all the way to Negril to trek us about 2 hours to the site, to the crew on the lagoon boat, the friendly restaurant, the fire/limbo show at the restaurant that they do after the cruise, the included rum punch all was amazing! Of course, it is way too hard to get photos and you're just in awe swimming around! but i'm telling you that this glows like a blacklight in the ocean when you swim and move it looked like the boat had a light on the back, but its really the motor churning up the glowing plankton! The coolest experience ever, and a super rare find in the world! Also, thank you to our driver who asked us if we wanted to stop to eat as we had missed our hotel dinner time due to being a ways from the tour. We went to an amazing smoked pork local place that really had some great local food! So thank you so much for adding that to our experience of Jamaica and knowing that we would definitely be hungry on a tour/drive that was from 5pm-10pm. Thanks for having this tour from Negril also, I know it is far out, but having the ability to go was great!

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Linda L

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Although this tour did not meet my expectations, it is definitely worth doing. There are only 4 places in the world that have this blue wonder, and Jamaica is said to be the brightest of the 4. It was quite a magical experience being under the stars at night and seeing the waters light up with every movement we make. The boat was way too packed which made the boat ride uncomfortable, and if you aren't swimming in the waters, you do not get the same experience as sitting in the boat so I recommend taking a dip. Unfortunately its impossible to capture this wonder with your own phone in video and in pictures so I recommend buying the photos from the photographer there to document the experience. The crew was funny and entertaining and you got a little bit of history about the city of Falmouth, however, the overall experience was just lacking. You got one drink after the entire experience, but due to the condition of the port, I was scared to drink the free drink. Most people there ended up purchasing closed beers and drinks. There was a bit of entertainment once you finished the boat ride, but overall, the value of the trip versus what you get from the experience was not exceptional.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Christine Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My camera and cell phone cannot record the beauty of the Luminous Lagoon. It's amazing. The service staff were nice and the pre-tour performance was exciting. The pickup from hotel was on time.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Danielle B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

First thing first...Don't book this tour on a full moon. Enough people have posted negative reviews or lower ratings because of it. Good thing is you can look in advance when full moons happen so do your research. It is beautiful!!! Then when you consider all that makes this lagoon unique it is a must see! From Montego Bay it is a short trip back and forth. There is a fire show after that's mildly entertaining and a better mic for the MC could possibly help. We went in the water and found it interesting that our guides told us just keep swimming, just keep swimming. It's the soft sand that the jellyfish rest in so it's being stung that they are helping you avoid. I thought it was just me that kept feeling these little snaps, kind of like a rubber band but not too hard, but my daughter and husband felt the same. Still a must see and you have to jump in the water. Most brilliant canon ball you'll ever make!! Room for improvement which is why 4 Stars.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Kenya G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Great tour, very relaxing.

Doing what: Martha Brae River Rafting Tour from Montego Bay

JENNIFER M F

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

We had a good time on this night cruise, the captain was very informative about its history. My daughter really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

belindagarlough

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was fantastic! There is a show that was incredible. The tour guide was funny and knowledgeable and the water was amazing. Our driver (Syd) was awesome! He gave us a bunch of information on the drive there and back about the island, it and #39;s history and culture.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Kara G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was AWESOME! This is an experience you need to have!

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Joseph E

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Amazing tour, you might have to wait 30-45 minutes for a boat once you get to the lagoon. That is the only reason I rate it 4 stars.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Hanaa U

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

It was a nice excursion and staff was very friendly. Unfortunately, due to all the light from the full moon, the water did not light up bright enough in my opinion. My experience with the bioluminescent bay in Puerto Rico was better.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

RONALDAMAYNE

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

We went on a Sunday night. It was fun and worth doing but the tour company rushed the tour. The shuttle showed up 30 minutes late. When we arrived to the site on the shuttle, they looked confused. They looked as if they didn't know we were coming. There was a party going on, which we didn't mind. However, I feel they cut our swimming time short due to the party and we didn't get the rum punch that they mentioned. Good thing we brought our own rum. I think if it was a regular day, we would have had more time.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Robert L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Awesome bucket list item!

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Jason U

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

It rained heavily and was slightly windy. This actually enhanced the luminous part of the lagoon. It something you have to experience that can't be described. The rain drops and the small breaks in the water all glew in the dark across the entire lagoon. The only disappointment was the lights on the shore detracted from the experience and people trying to get a photo in the dark. Our crew was very skilled and I personally felt comfortable with them captaining the boat through the wind and rain. The lagoon is also 4-6 ft deep, so no worries man. If you are staying in Montego Bay near the airport its a 30-45 minute ride to the lagoon in Falmoth. Our transportation was also to the minute on time, which was given high priority by the tour operators on all of our excursions.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Linda W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This was definitely worth seeing. Make sure you wear bug spray because there is a time that you will have to wait to get on the boat and the mosquitoes are out in force. They do have spray there if you forget to bring some. They offer a great fire show while you wait. A man did an incredible limbo and fire was used in part of the show. Once on the boat they take you out and you can swim in the luminous water. It was really a once in a lifetime kind of experience.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

ddw4338

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was absolutely amazing! It was on my wife's bucket list and honestly I wasn't all that excited about it. I saw photos of bioluminescence but thought they were photo shopped to look brighter. We were some of the first people in the water and it is crazy! The light is very bright and depending on where you swim it can get brighter. As you take your arm and hand out of the water the organisms are still on you and sparkle like blue diamonds all over. It was really a rare and unique experience! Definitely a must if you visit because Jamaica is one of the few places in the world you can experience this.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Karen B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Although it was cool to see the water glow , the boat ride was way too short and they packed way too many people on the boat. We were promised a limbo contest, fire dancer , snacks and punch when we returned. They only had the fire dancer and no snacks. There was absolutely no party.
This trip was way too expensive for what you got.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon and Party Cruise from Montego Bay

sneedabocker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Best tour of our vacation. Slow motion but in motion. Your relaxing on a homemade 25 foot bamboo boat. Great craftsmanship. Lots of fun facts along the way. Our tour guild even sang to us part of the way. Truly romantic. Enjoyed free ice cold water and Chilled Red strip beer. Our guild even made a few stops along the way so we could pick up a few more beers from the locals. The scene is breath taking. Your one with nature. At peace. You can't go to Jamaica without experiencing the Martha Brae River Tour. But make sure you request Raft Captain 30!!! Guaranteed to have a blast.

Doing what: Martha Brae River Rafting Tour from Montego Bay

Ken A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Really cool experience!! It was just a short trip to the lagoon and it is amazing how much it lights up. Well worth the trip and our guides were great. Also enjoyed a limbo and fire show after so that was an added bonus. We will do again next time we are in Jamaica.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Brian S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This is one cool excursion. Just imagine swimming around in the dark and being surrounded by glowing water. This is one 'WOW' excursion. The limbo guy aka the fire eater was the topping on the cake.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Kirk H

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

This was a nice little trip and quite relaxing. There were four of us so we had two rafts. Our friends raft captain was on some kind of quest to get through the river as quickly as possible. Trevor, our raft captain was super! He told us stories about the river and how only the bamboo rafts were allowed on that particular section. The rafts only last about 6 months and then the boys get together, drink beer and build new ones. There were a few vendors on the river bank, but none were annoying and you could buy a Red Stripe to quench your thirst along the way. Overall it was a good time and worth the 60.00 per raft. Of course your raft captain will be appreciative of a tip at the end.

Doing what: Martha Brae River Rafting Tour from Montego Bay

Karen C

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

Had an excellent time. Water is very warm. Crew entertaining and informational. About an hour ride from Ocho Rios.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

cokematters United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

It was different I am sure it would have been better if the moonlight was blocked out.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message