Montego Bay ATTRACTIONS See all

Martha Brae River

The Martha Brae River is the tranquil home of river rafting in Jamaica, the best way to discover the country's tropical interior. Guided tours include refreshment, lunch and lagoon swim stops, and quite often the guided rafting trips pass riverside ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 143 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

belindagarlough

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was fantastic! There is a show that was incredible. The tour guide was funny and knowledgeable and the water was amazing. Our driver (Syd) was awesome! He gave us a bunch of information on the drive there and back about the island, it and #39;s history and culture.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Kara G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was AWESOME! This is an experience you need to have!

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Joseph E

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Amazing tour, you might have to wait 30-45 minutes for a boat once you get to the lagoon. That is the only reason I rate it 4 stars.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Hanaa U

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

It was a nice excursion and staff was very friendly. Unfortunately, due to all the light from the full moon, the water did not light up bright enough in my opinion. My experience with the bioluminescent bay in Puerto Rico was better.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Robert L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Awesome bucket list item!

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Jason U

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

It rained heavily and was slightly windy. This actually enhanced the luminous part of the lagoon. It something you have to experience that can't be described. The rain drops and the small breaks in the water all glew in the dark across the entire lagoon. The only disappointment was the lights on the shore detracted from the experience and people trying to get a photo in the dark. Our crew was very skilled and I personally felt comfortable with them captaining the boat through the wind and rain. The lagoon is also 4-6 ft deep, so no worries man. If you are staying in Montego Bay near the airport its a 30-45 minute ride to the lagoon in Falmoth. Our transportation was also to the minute on time, which was given high priority by the tour operators on all of our excursions.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Linda W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This was definitely worth seeing. Make sure you wear bug spray because there is a time that you will have to wait to get on the boat and the mosquitoes are out in force. They do have spray there if you forget to bring some. They offer a great fire show while you wait. A man did an incredible limbo and fire was used in part of the show. Once on the boat they take you out and you can swim in the luminous water. It was really a once in a lifetime kind of experience.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

ddw4338

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was absolutely amazing! It was on my wife's bucket list and honestly I wasn't all that excited about it. I saw photos of bioluminescence but thought they were photo shopped to look brighter. We were some of the first people in the water and it is crazy! The light is very bright and depending on where you swim it can get brighter. As you take your arm and hand out of the water the organisms are still on you and sparkle like blue diamonds all over. It was really a rare and unique experience! Definitely a must if you visit because Jamaica is one of the few places in the world you can experience this.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Karen B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Although it was cool to see the water glow , the boat ride was way too short and they packed way too many people on the boat. We were promised a limbo contest, fire dancer , snacks and punch when we returned. They only had the fire dancer and no snacks. There was absolutely no party.
This trip was way too expensive for what you got.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon and Party Cruise from Montego Bay

sneedabocker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Best tour of our vacation. Slow motion but in motion. Your relaxing on a homemade 25 foot bamboo boat. Great craftsmanship. Lots of fun facts along the way. Our tour guild even sang to us part of the way. Truly romantic. Enjoyed free ice cold water and Chilled Red strip beer. Our guild even made a few stops along the way so we could pick up a few more beers from the locals. The scene is breath taking. Your one with nature. At peace. You can't go to Jamaica without experiencing the Martha Brae River Tour. But make sure you request Raft Captain 30!!! Guaranteed to have a blast.

Doing what: Martha Brae River Rafting Tour from Montego Bay

Ken A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Really cool experience!! It was just a short trip to the lagoon and it is amazing how much it lights up. Well worth the trip and our guides were great. Also enjoyed a limbo and fire show after so that was an added bonus. We will do again next time we are in Jamaica.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Brian S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This is one cool excursion. Just imagine swimming around in the dark and being surrounded by glowing water. This is one 'WOW' excursion. The limbo guy aka the fire eater was the topping on the cake.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Kirk H

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

This was a nice little trip and quite relaxing. There were four of us so we had two rafts. Our friends raft captain was on some kind of quest to get through the river as quickly as possible. Trevor, our raft captain was super! He told us stories about the river and how only the bamboo rafts were allowed on that particular section. The rafts only last about 6 months and then the boys get together, drink beer and build new ones. There were a few vendors on the river bank, but none were annoying and you could buy a Red Stripe to quench your thirst along the way. Overall it was a good time and worth the 60.00 per raft. Of course your raft captain will be appreciative of a tip at the end.

Doing what: Martha Brae River Rafting Tour from Montego Bay

Karen C

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

Had an excellent time. Water is very warm. Crew entertaining and informational. About an hour ride from Ocho Rios.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

cokematters United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

It was different I am sure it would have been better if the moonlight was blocked out.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Timothy K United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

This was decent, but over priced as far as entertainment value if you are going solo as I did. It is 60 regardless of if you are two people or one. For two it's a reasonable price, but for one it's too steep for what you get, especially when you figure in the tip and/or if you can't say no to your Captain when he hits you up to buy the coconut souvenir. The carved coconuts all say the same thing with the same hummingbirds on them of the ones I saw which screams mass produced to me, but the Captains claim they carve them themselves for extra money. The trip itself is a nice calm, enjoyable cruise down a river that varies in depth from inches to I was told fifteen feet deep. They offer life preservers if you are not a swimmer just in case. And speaking of swimming the brochure said you can optionally swim in the deeper areas of the trip. My guide didn't offer this and as I wasn't interested in doing so anyway it was no big deal. The vegetation along the way looks like something out of Jurassic Park which is cool, but the road that runs along side of most of the reported three mile trip takes away from the ambiance when the cars and trucks rattle and roar past. I think the Captain you get can make quite a bit of difference as they talk about the river and point out interesting things in sight like sugar cane, bananas, termite nest, etc. The Captain I had was pretty silent, but as I'm not big on small talk and was solo he might have picked up on that and if so he did his job as I preferred to just enjoy the actual cruise. My guide did a lot of swatting at insects, especially on his legs. I was wearing mosquito repellent and was not bothered. I would recommend wearing repellant both to keep the The bamboo raft is comfortable. It has a raise two person bench with a back and cushions on both. The raft is long so the raft captain is not right on top of you. You get hit up about four times from vendors on the banks, but if you are not interested in what they are selli

Doing what: Martha Brae River Rafting Tour from Montego Bay

Karthiga R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This trip was just awesome, and one of those moments which made us to feel bad that we didn't know swimming. Very nice place.

The guide 007 and rest were just awesome. They really have an art of explaining things in a funny way. I love those guys.

Also, we witnessed a fire man who gave his performance before the boat was departed, he is just awesome as hell. That guys has so much of a talent. Thank you so much Viator and their partners. Yo Mon- No Problem!

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

valeriegulliford

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great tour all around ! Driver Tony picked us up on time and was very helpful and knowledgeable about area. Rafting trip was spectacular ! Our raft Captain- Delroy was a delight ! Can and #39;t say enough on how beautiful and relaxing and entertaining this trip was!

Doing what: Falmouth Shore Excursion: Martha Brae River Rafting

Scott W

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

First off the driver was 25 mins late. Then drove like a maniac to get us there in time. We didn't have time to drink our complimentary drink or use the bathroom before boarding a very overly crowded boat. Had no room to take off shorts or change into water shoes so that was a struggle. Then the tour lasted all of 30 mins with approximately 40 people to get in water and back on... Felt extremely rushed. The lagoon was awesome. But the experience leaves losts to be desired.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Gisela C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2016

Notgood to be crammed into a boat in the dark made to sign a release paper so no blame for their team. Was dissapointing as I do not like murky,silty water and dont like getting shocks that I believe would make me panick. Found the whole boat trip dissapointing. I would not have liked being capsized.
Ms.G.Coyle

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Linda

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

We had a lot of fun on this trip. Our driver, Patrick, is very courteous and knowledgable. The car is nicer compared to some other cars we have been in during our trip. We do think the pricing is a little high for what we are paying for this excursion. The price of the rafting is not included in the total, so for a 1/2 day trip for 2 people, you would pay 120 on viator plus 60 at the rafting site. Basically the 120 we paid on Viator is just for a private car to take us to and from our hotel to Martha Brae. After having had several different drivers while in Jamaica, we have learned that we should have been able to get a car to take us to and from Martha Brae for much cheaper. However, it was nice to know that we booked with a reputable company so the higher price took away some uncertainties. We enjoyed this day trip and would recommend to people who are not too concerned about pricing.

Doing what: Martha Brae River Rafting Tour from Montego Bay

Nancy M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The driver did a great job getting us to the lagoon boat quickly. The tour itself is somewhat short which was a surprise. Seeing the lagoon however is a must do while there as it is truly special. Just wished we could have stayed on the water longer.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Edward B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The experience was incredible. We were not pleased with the fact that we all got stung by jellyfish very mild...not worried about it and the tour guide tried to cover it up, saying it was just the salt water. As it was localized, and he carried vinegar, it was clear that they know there are jellyfish and are just hiding this fact. It's dark, so you can't see them. That said, the water is beautiful, and I would certainly recommend this experience. I wish it were longer than 30 minutes.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

VJ M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

Disappointing.. 45 mins there and back for 15 mins out at sea.
Not very illiuminous was splashing and swimming hardly any light.

Doing what: Luminous Lagoon Night Cruise in Jamaica

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message