Monterey & Carmel ATTRACTIONS See all

Monterey Bay Aquarium

There is a reason that Monterey Bay is considered the top aquarium in the country and draws around two million visitors a year. The nearly 200 exhibits and galleries feature 623 different species of plants and creatures: from adorable sea otters to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 19 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Elizabeth S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Most awesome aquarium ever!

Doing what: Monterey Bay Aquarium Admission

Sally D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The aquarium is fantastic and even teenagers loved it!! It is a special place you shouldn and #39;t miss!!

Doing what: Monterey Bay Aquarium Admission

Bonnie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Beautiful aquarium...highly recommend!

Doing what: Monterey Bay Aquarium Admission

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

There's a reason why many rate this the 1 aquarium in the world. It is a well-deserved title. So many activities and exhibits for kids. It was just my wife and myself and with having seen one 'show' only the otter feeding, we spent 4.5 hours there! The various types of jellyfish were my favorite! Well worth the money and time. You can even leave for a while and come back later that day! My wife used her ipad to take awesome pics of the tanks and their inhabitants, too.

Doing what: Monterey Bay Aquarium Admission

stephane.azra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The aquarium is an awesome place to visit. We loved the exhibits and learned a lot it was amazing to see all the sea creatures and we even got a chance to touch and hold some of them! The ocean views are spectacular and the staff was amazing!

Doing what: Monterey Bay Aquarium Admission

Mary Ellen K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Anyone going to Monterey must see the Aquarium. Really wonderful.

Doing what: Monterey Bay Aquarium Admission

Mo Burns USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was my second visit to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. I took my son when he was 1 and this time we went he was almost 3. This was a perfect age. There was tons for him to do and he has a blast. He woke up the next morning asking if we were going to see the fishes again!

Doing what: Monterey Bay Aquarium Admission

Patricia F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Worth every penny. Great for little ones and adults. This is the best Aquarium on the west coast. Get there early to miss the crowds. Even when there are a lot of people in the Aquarium it is easy to see all the events and sites. The jelly fish are my favorite. The items in the gift shop are reasonable priced.

Doing what: Monterey Bay Aquarium Admission

Elizabeth L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is an excellent aquarium and a great experience for all ages. I highly recommend it for an enjoyable day as well as educational experience.

Doing what: Monterey Bay Aquarium Admission

Angelique D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The Aquarium was great...however when we ordered tickets through Viator did we miss the SENIOR rate?
I don't remember seeing that posted. If that means an extra $15 for the aquarium...o.k. but i want to know if it was on your rate listing.

Doing what: Monterey Bay Aquarium Admission

Cat USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The Monterey Bay Aquarium is amazing! It's huge, with so many really cool exhibits and amazing sea creatures. You have the chance to touch stingrays, starfish and little crabs, and watch feeding sessions for penguins and sea otters! I'm a grown up and I was as giddy as a little child running through all the exhibits. My favorite was definitely the jellyfish - so gorgeous and so mesmerizing to look at! Definitely go!

Doing what: Monterey Bay Aquarium Admission

Ginjabread USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

One of the best Aquariums I've ever been too! The exhibits do alternate, but they never disappoint. Make sure to check out the sea otters. Super easy to check-in using Viator and they also have an awesome restaurant on property with beautiful views.

Doing what: Monterey Bay Aquarium Admission

taylor

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

My visit to the Monterey Bay Aquarium was definitely one of the highlights of my trip down the California coast. The exhibits are great! The sea otters are a blast to watch and the jelly fish were completely mesmerizing. During my visit, they had a special exhibit on the sea horses that was absolutely amazing - who knew that male sea horses are the ones that have babies?!?! Great attraction for the whole family.

Doing what: Monterey Bay Aquarium Admission

Rosemary C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The Monterrey Bay Aquarium is a must see. It is family friendly Note: seeing any feeding or demo times before 2pm is overwhelmingly crowded. Exhibits are well marked, short enough to get them all in, sublimely done, and can be understood by all ages and levels.

Doing what: Monterey Bay Aquarium Admission

Jerry E A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This well worth the money if your into this kind of thing and we were. Great Aquarium.....

Doing what: Monterey Bay Aquarium Admission

noeyvb

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Had a wonderful time. The aquarium is just so lovely.

Doing what: Monterey Bay Aquarium Admission

John S

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Excellent overall tour. Checking into the aquarium was very easy with the prepaid advance tickets.

Doing what: Monterey Bay Aquarium Admission

Stacey M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great aquarium!

Doing what: Monterey Bay Aquarium Admission

Janet C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

I was very disappointed. Ive always wanted to go to this aquarium. The cost was immense for the size of the place. We live close to the Newport aquarium in Kentucky and the price there is less with more to see. I will say the educational opportunities for very young childern (primary ) was grand.

Doing what: Monterey Bay Aquarium Admission

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message