At first glance you may think that the small towns of Monterey and Carmel deserve just quick stops on a day trip from San Francisco, but think again. Monterey County is an area that demands lingering. The coastline is a dramatic bounty of natural ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 35 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Arlen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tom was an excellent guide around the city. He answered all our questions, remembered all our names, and shared a lot of his own insights while giving us a detailed account of the history of Monterey.

Doing what: Monterey Original Walking Tours

AR

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Best time while in California! The food and wine choices were fantastic, the restaurants were exceptional! The chefs, wine sommeliers were gracious and spent time with us. Mig our tour guide made this experience 10 stars! I shared this tour with 3 of my high school girl friends, two of which are from the area, everyone had a wonderful time. I am a certified KCBS BBQ food tasting judge, the food was exceptional, well paired with the wines served, the serving sizes were perfect. This tour rivaled the walking food tour I did while in Paris, France. Do not miss this one, I did not want it to end! Worth every dime, well done Carmel!

Doing what: Carmel Small-Group Food and Wine Walking Tour

John P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a fabulous three hour tour. Amber Gilles was our tour leader and she was knowledgeable and fun. We had wonderful food samplings, wine samplings, olive oil samplings at various establishments and what better ending than local chocolates. We highly recommend Carmel Food Tours. A great concept and tour. Thank you!!

Doing what: Carmel Small-Group Food and Wine Walking Tour

Richard B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

If you're in the area do it. We were passing through Monterey on our way down Highway 1 and thought we'd have a brief stop and take in Monterey and the aquarium. In the end the stop was far from brief and we spent hours in the aquarium. So much to see. Weel worth the time.

Doing what: Monterey Bay Aquarium Admission

Anthony S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We were on an August tour with Mig who was just excellent. I really felt she knew Carmel and made us feel like insiders as well. The food offerings were excellent, the chocolate frM Lulus got rave reviews, I almost didn't give it away!

Doing what: Carmel Small-Group Food and Wine Walking Tour

Gayle P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour. Stacey the guide was friendly and funny. Lots of food and local wines. Recommend doing this tour as soon as you arrive in Carmel as it provides great ideas for eating out.

Doing what: Carmel Small-Group Food and Wine Walking Tour

Toni S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We took the tour on Saturday 30 July. This was a great way to experience Carmel-by-the-Sea and to learn more about its history, architecture and people - in addition to getting a great breakfast! The tour was well thought out, and well balanced. There was coffee, enough food to push the lunch late into afternoon, and also a cocktail at the end. All in all, a delightful experience.

Doing what: Small-Group Breakfast Foodie Tour

Jroe2008

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was fun and delicious. We were with a fun group of people and our guide was very knowledgeable and informative. All of the stops were ready for us and welcomed us warmly. We didn't have a lot of time in Carmel, and this tour was a great overview of the town and its culinary options.
We also received a helpful guide to help us remember the places we visited and what we enjoyed there.

Doing what: Small-Group Breakfast Foodie Tour

Jackie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

So. Much. Fun! You must do this to get a perfect view of the Monterey Bay peninsula! The cars are too cute - we took 2 of them named and #34;Fiona and #34; and and #34;Bill and #34; . Easy to use, plenty of pep.
You will feel like a celebrity with all the thumbs up and photos taken by strangers, as you tour through town. A++

Doing what: 1-Hour Monterey and Cannery Row Sea Car Tour

Elizabeth P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Although you could not see the sunset weather due to season we had an amazing time! Easily one of our favorite activities from our 5 day trip in Monterey, Big Sur, and San Francisco. Liz the captain was so cool and so knowledgeable. The cheese plate, hummus, and wine were perfect appetizers. Would absolutely do this again upon our return to Monterey!

Doing what: Monterey Bay Sunset Appetizer Cruise

Candace S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was wonderful! This was our first time in Carmel and we really enjoyed getting to hear and see the history of this beautiful place. I would highly recommend it to everyone! We loved the food, the atmosphere, and the people. Our tour guide Staci was excellent!

Doing what: Carmel Small-Group Food and Wine Walking Tour

Rita v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a wonderful way to spend three hours in beautiful Carmel. Mig was a jewel, so knowledgeable about the area and the other folks on our tour were delightful. Delicious food and wine with a pleasant walk.
Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Carmel Small-Group Food and Wine Walking Tour

Francine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was great from start to finish. A nice variety of cuisine along with sim Carmel history . Our tour hide was lovely and made you feel welcome and comfortable. An affordable price for a quality experience !

Doing what: Carmel Small-Group Food and Wine Walking Tour

Suzanne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was the best tour I have been on. Great food and drinks. The Guide was very knowledgeable of Carmel.

Doing what: Carmel Small-Group Food and Wine Walking Tour

Iris O United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Definitely a must-see in Monterey!

Doing what: Monterey Bay Aquarium Admission

Mary Ellen K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Anyone going to Monterey must see the Aquarium. Really wonderful.

Doing what: Monterey Bay Aquarium Admission

Mo Burns USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was my second visit to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. I took my son when he was 1 and this time we went he was almost 3. This was a perfect age. There was tons for him to do and he has a blast. He woke up the next morning asking if we were going to see the fishes again!

Doing what: Monterey Bay Aquarium Admission

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Sea Car was a great way to explore the streets of Monterey! It was so awesome to have a mini convertible for just an hour, and really be able to take in Cannery Row and the beautiful coast line (without having to walk). The pickup and drop-off process was also super easy. I definitely recommend doing this if you have the time.

Doing what: 1-Hour Monterey and Cannery Row Sea Car Tour

Constance P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great three hour tour! Meg was very personable, knowledgable, and guided us to great food and wine! Even had a wonderful olive oil tasting! We went on this tour our last day in Carmel. I would recommend you plan this your first few days there so you get a better lay of the land and get to try several restaurants BEFORE you go for a full meal!

Doing what: Carmel Small-Group Food and Wine Walking Tour

Phillip F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our first time to Carmel and we had a fantastic time. The tour was better than I expected it to be. Stacy was awesome and very knowledgeable. The food and the people that were on the tour with were great. Give it a try you will not be disappointed.

Doing what: Carmel Small-Group Food and Wine Walking Tour

joan s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great fun with amusing leader. Most samples are small but surprisingly filling since most are rich pizza place gave many samples. The tour is well paced and not hard to walk. We loved learning some of the history of Carmel. I would recommend this tour to friends.

Doing what: Carmel Small-Group Food and Wine Walking Tour

Keith K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Loved the small group! Enjoyed getting the history of Carmel and the different business. Yummy treats along the way. Our tour guide was awesome. Heaps of fun!!

Doing what: Carmel Small-Group Food and Wine Walking Tour

empowell55

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

A must see if youre visiting Monterey!

Doing what: Monterey Bay Aquarium Admission

Diane B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Staci was terrific! Not only did we experience an excellent variety of restaurants with savory tastings, she includes some history surrounding Carmel during the tour. Don't miss it!

Doing what: Carmel Small-Group Food and Wine Walking Tour

Lisa L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

An enjoyable day with out of town guests, filling lunch along the way and pleasant guide. It is a well thought out tour and great Carmel experience.

Doing what: Carmel Small-Group Food and Wine Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message