Constructed in 1928, Palacio Salvo is a historical landmark building done in a predominantly Italian Gothic-style, with classic and neo-romanticism influences as well. It was built by Italian immigrant Mario Palanti, and is located at the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 43 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Judith A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

As we'd arrived by ship, we didn't have a hotel pick-up but we were met at the Carnaval Museum right on time. Tour was well commented and plenty of photo stops. The walking route within the old town is also worth doing.

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

Evan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had a great tour guide and driver Virginia and Matias. Very informative and friendly. Not to be missed.

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

Ed D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A good overview of the city and it's architecture. Guides was most helpful with comments.

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

Eduard K USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

very good tour

Doing what: Day Trip to Montevideo from Buenos Aires

Hector R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent!!!!!!!!!!!!

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

RV

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great introductory tour to Montevideo. Our guide, Marcello was very informative and made sure we had an enjoyable time.

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

TAKAI H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent, educational and enjoyed especially from one that comes from the South Pacific.

Doing what: Day Trip to Montevideo from Buenos Aires

Robert K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour guide,friendly and very informative. Itinerary was great....highly recommend

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

Graham A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent. Comfortable bus. Informative courier.

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

matheus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

The tour was good, but I think that it would expend more time!

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

Bandit USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Great tour at an unbeatable price! Would do it again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

Bandit USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Great orientation of Montevideo. A perfect introduction to first-time visitors. Do this at the beginning of your stay so you know where to go on your remaining days in Uruguay.

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Awesome day trip and well worth the money! Smooth operation.

Doing what: Day Trip to Montevideo from Buenos Aires

Bandit USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Great day trip and a good escape from Buenos Aires! Montevideo is like a small Bs As and definitely worth a visit. It has some great museums, parks and plazas and must-see landmarks - Teatro Solis, the Rambla and the Castillo Pittamiglio, amongst others! I would recommend!

Doing what: Day Trip to Montevideo from Buenos Aires

Scott B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

There aren't many things of significance to see in Montevideo, so it's mostly a drive around the city and along the beach. But the guide was quite pleasant, and you got to learn a little bit about life in Uruguay. Not a bad way to spend a few hours.

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

Marisa M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

cegoss

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Good tour for those interested in history and architecture. THe weather was a bit cold and rainy but we trudged on and made the best of it.

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

David T

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Well worth going on this trip when you first arrive in Montevideo to get you bearings. Guide was friendly but didn't have the best English

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

MR G J N S

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The bus arrived 40 minutes late and we were not kept informed by the tour operator of what was happening. Each time we contacted him he said the bus would be another couple of minutes and then he said it had been held up by a fire in central Montevideo which had caused massive traffic jams. We checked with the tour guide when eventually the bus did arrive and this was not true. Nevertheless the tour guide was very good and the tour quite interesting.

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

Andrew K

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

A good tour. We were picked up a bit late and the guide was very good but had a lot of different nationalities so spent a lot of time repeating the same information but in several languages. The tour took in most of the city sights and good opportunities to take photos etc.

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

FABIO S

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

The tour guide Rosana was very professional but also funny. the tour started on time we went through all attactions as expected.

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

sociodoc .

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

A good introduction to the city to get one's bearings - there are lots of sites crammed into the limited time. You don't actually enter most of the places visited, but can get out at several of the monuments and the legislative building. There's a rather boring and unnecessary stop at an agricultural market that is more like a sterile little shopping arcade, but other than that the places visited are of general interest/cultural significance. I would have like to be able to enter the Estadio Centenario. The 2:30 tour time is nice for us late-sleepers. The tour company does a decent job with this one.

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

Francisco RJ Brazil

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Montevidéu is a marvellous place but the tour didn't stopped in Mercado del Puerto. A obrigatory visit.

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

Peter F

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Yes, The tour was great. However, the rain was a problem. Tour guide was excellent. Thanks.

Doing what: Montevideo City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message