Montreal ATTRACTIONS See all

Bonsecours Market

Bonsecours Market, in Vieux Montreal, is a bustling gallery of shops selling arts and crafts, leather goods and garments. The sprawling 19th century neoclassical building - with its long facade, a colonnaded portico, and a silvery dome - makes a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 429 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

John L

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Overall very informative. I would like to have had notice,however, that the Mass schedule would prohibit us from going into the Notre Dame Basilica.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Cheryl B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We appreciated the opportunity to divide this tour over two separate days. This enabled us to fit in other activities we had planned and also to avoid getting caught in the rain. Our guide made sure we saw the inside of Notre Dame, and I am so glad he did: it is an amazing structure.

Both guides were engaging and offered interesting anecdotes. The pace was just right. The only downside: an unbelievable pastry shop was pointed out to us at the very end -- but we had to head out for our flight. Next time we will start there Maison Christian Faure!

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

cheryl k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

great tour very imformative

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

sue anne s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Bruno was a fabulous guide. Learned so much.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Charles T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We loved the walking tour! It was made especially interesting and entertaining by our wonderful guide, Ann Marie! She was the best! It was perfect introduction to the old city and its history and prepared us for the rest of our stay in beautiful Old Montreal.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Elaine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Both tours provided a wealth of information on the history of Montreal in an engaging and interesting way. I would highly recommend these tours to all visitors to Montreal.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Lilyana D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The guide was very knowledgeable and informative. Didn't feel rushed. loved everything

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

William D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour, knowledgeable guide. Started with Notre Dame Basilica then we walked eastward. Our ticket allowed us to reenter the Basilica later in the day to hear the organ played.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Pauline P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The walking tour was great! I really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Michael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Sarah was head and shoulders above Louis

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Helen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Even rain could not put a damper on the walking tour of old Montreal. My husband and I recently visited Montreal for an anniversary trip. I have participated in a number of historical walking tours in Europe, and this was certainly up to par with previous experiences. Our guides for both tours, morning and afternoon, were personable, knowledgeable, and conducted the tours with enthusiasm and genuine interest. Each had stories and personal insights which captivated our attention. Tips on where to eat, and other places to places to visit were appreciated. I highly recommend both tours, starting with the French period of the history of Montreal in the morning, and concluding with the English period in the afternoon.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Natalee R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I went on the afternoon tour of Old Montreal West. The guide, Joanne, was terrific. She was very knowledgeable and showed us several places that were not part of the original itinerary.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Maday K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour of the East and West side was amazing. I learned so much of its history. Our tour guide Angelina was amazing. She was so knowledgeable and kept the tour entertaining. No matter what question we would ask her she knew the information. Weather was so nice for the long walk. This is a tour everyone visiting should take.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Ninel A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We booked a walking tour over the East Old Town. Our tour guide Louie was very knowledgeable and made it fun in spite of the non-stop rain.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Robert A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very well done

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Moky United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This was a quick and easy tour on foot, and the guide was very knowledgeable. However, because of the pace and how little time you spend in any given place, I recommend that you use this as an intro to Old Montreal East at the START of your trip.

After the tour, you may want to revisit a few of the sites you passed through, including the Notre Dame Basilica. Thankfully, the Notre Dame ticket, which is included in the price of this tour, is valid for the rest of the day. So you can return to the site and explore it to your heart's content. Be sure to check the hours of the tour date, though, as the church can sometimes close early depending on holiday observances, special occasions and other factors.

Things to Note:
- This East tour is basically the French side of Old Montreal. West is the English side, in other words.
- The tour is offered in English or French for all times listed they depart from the same spot and time but with different guides you can select the option at the time of booking.
- While this is a very easy walking tour, note that there are a few instances in which you will be climbing or descending steps.
- Again, the Notre Dame Basilica admission ticket is included in the tour price and is valid for the rest of the day you're definitely going to want to return after the tour since you don't spend much time there.
- Depending on the guide, you may or may not pass by Délices boutique on St-Paul Street East. This is a great, higher-end brand of Canadian maple-flavored gifts and souvenirs candy, syrups, cookies, etc. however, you can also find a limited selection of this brand's goods in the Montreal airport if you don't get the chance to return here. Some of their syrup bottles, which are pretty collectibles in and of themselves, are sized to meet TSA approval.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

penguin9

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This was an informative tour and almost everyone did both east and west tours with a lunch break in between. I would have liked a little longer for lunch as our first session went over in time. Sometimes a little too much detail in the talk, but the guide was good.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

cdavies

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Our experience was very good. Our guide, Bruno, was very informative and passionate about old town Montreal. My only issue, was that he was sometimes difficult to hear. Our group was large, so maybe a microphone would be beneficial.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Le Shan C

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The tour guide is very informative and he shares a lot of fun facts and histories.
It helps you get to know Montreal better

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Donna C

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Our guide, Louis, shared the history as if it were anecdotes passed down in his family. He made walking in cold, rainy weather fun!

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Daniel R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

The scenery was enjoyable and our guide Pierre very friendly. The content of the tour itself was informative on the background of Montreal, but as we went on it wasn't very engaging and became dull.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Monika S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very good and informative tour. Our guide, Bruno, was excellent.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Lori M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Christian was knowledgable, informative, and friendly.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

edward a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

really, really great....Martin was marvelous!!

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

siegel.marilyn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had George as our tour guide. He was excellent. Went everywhere. Very informative. Toldus where we could eat. Great job

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message