Montreal ATTRACTIONS See all

Jean-Talon Market

A favorite for locals, the Jean-Talon Market sells high-quality products for a very affordable price. It’s been open since 1933, and is an important institution for the city’s culinary scene. While the more upscale Atwater Market is where majority ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 18 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Karan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was probably the best highlight of our Montreal trip. I went my my family of 4 and was greeted by Danny our awesome tour guide at the meeting point on time. We walked around the cool streets of Montreal and a few very green and good looking alleys with murals too. Danny embodies what Montreal as a city represents. He's got the soul of the city in him and that's what makes the tour really awesome. Now on to the food reviews -
It was the perfect global fusion overall.
We tried dishes from so many parts of the world and local places too.
The one really cool thing was, that unlike other food tours, where you only learn about the story behind the dishes, Danny also told us the amazing stories behind the establishments and the people who work / started the places. That was the cherry on the cake.
We started off with a few local spots.
The visit to the farmers market was incredible - We tried out veggies, meats, spices, cheeses, gelato all from different vendors.
The tour had a brew pub visit too where we tried two sets of beers along with cheese this was a local place. There was a local coffee roastery along the way as well, which had a really good cold brew.
It ended in a spectacular way with us eating goodies from a picnic basket, under the shade of a tree in a park.
Recommendations -
Carry water, a cap and sun glasses, wear shorts and a tee or something comfi, be ready to walk at an easy pace, come hungry but not starving, and just let Danny take care of your tummy.

Doing what: Beyond the Market Food Tour in Montreal

Ellen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Danny was a great guide. I loved the offbeat and off the beaten path places we went. The food and drink were nicely varied....smoked meats, artisanal cheeses, micro brewed beer, gelati, to mention just a few examples. Jean Talon market was amazing! My only suggestion is that more free time was allowed there. I really enjoyed this tour!

Doing what: Beyond the Market Food Tour in Montreal

Josephine H USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We did the Beyond the Market Food Tour with Anne Marie, and it was great. The variety of offerings was excellent, and hearty -- definitely come hungry! Anne Marie is so passionate about what she does, and her enthusiasm definitely comes across. And as a true local in the neighborhood, she has so many insights and color commentary about the area, the people who live there, and new spots that visitors to Montreal should check out. This tour is definitely worth doing when you're in Montreal.

Doing what: Beyond the Market Food Tour in Montreal

Herbert E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was great! Not only did we eat like locals and get a deeper look at the AMAZING Jean Talon market, but our guide was extremely accommodating. We forgot to contact her and let her know we eat mostly vegetarian fish and don't like beer. She was quickly texted restaurants and vendors and got us some delicious smoked fish when the group had charcuterie and sodas at the brewpub. Highly recommend it!

Doing what: Beyond the Market Food Tour in Montreal

Susan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great walking tour - Anne Marie was our guide and she was exceptional. We enjoyed learning about the city, touring the market and the food samples we tried.

Doing what: Beyond the Market Food Tour in Montreal

Michael C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour guide. We were taken to some very nice small restaurants/eateries where the food was excellent.The market tour was incredible. The tours groups are small which makes interaction with your guide a plus. I would highly recommend this tour.
Michael. C. Barbados

Doing what: Beyond the Market Food Tour in Montreal

skufca

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Danny was a absolute gem. Loved the food market your. Best way to understand a culture is through its food. Loved it!!

Doing what: Beyond the Market Food Tour in Montreal

Adam T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

So much fun!! My wife and I love to visit Montreal for the food and culture, and on a previous trip we took a food tour of the Mile End district and loved it. To this day we still go back to several of those spots. Intent on trying something new, we signed up for the beyond the market tour, and set out with Danny on what turned out to be the highlight of our trip. To be honest, we enjoyed Danny's tour and his well-chosen sites even more than the Mile End tour. This is a much less-known region of Montreal, with cool neighborhoods, public artwork and restaurants we would never have seen if it weren't for the tour. And the Jean Talon market... ohhhh how wonderful!
Danny's knowledge of the local culture and passion for his job which didn't seem like a job! really stood out. Food samples were phenomenal, with the papusas really topping the list for me. Danny really cares about the local businesses here too as this is where he lives, and he makes it a point to cap tours to I think 10 visitors max, so as to not disrupt the local community with hoards of people. It seems that he has a great working relationship with all these spots, and on multiple occasions I've seen him tip them and thank them for being a part of his tour.
I strongly recommend checking out Spade and Palacio tours, as you will not be disappointed. I'm proud to say these guys should be listed as the 1 thing to do in Montreal. Thanks Danny!!
-Adam and Laura New Hampshire

Doing what: Beyond the Market Food Tour in Montreal

Eric H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

AMMAZING Would highly recommend this tour. The owner was our guide, and he was very knowledgeable of the area because he lived there. He made you enjoy the restaurants and the food market, because he is so passionate about his neighbohood and the businesses he shows us.

Doing what: Beyond the Market Food Tour in Montreal

Christine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great to visit all the shops around the Jean Talon Market too! Loved the Jean Talon Market, made us want to live there just so we could shop there.

Doing what: Food Tour of Montreal's Little Italy Including Jean Talon Market

Alfred J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour was EXCELLENT. Our guides brought the tour alive by integrating the background history, culture, and economics into the foreground of the food tour. This background gave us an evolutionary perspective on the people, market, and food.

Doing what: Food Tour of Montreal's Little Italy Including Jean Talon Market

Nidale T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This was a 2 and 1/2 hour food tour taking place in the Montreal Jean Talon market with a bit of little Italy (the Madonna della Defesa (Our Lady of Protection) Church and Dante Park) . Lise our guide who was very nice took us around the market where we started first by tasting some Turkish delight , then some local made bread , after that we went to taste 2 different cheeses (black goat cheese and Charlevoix Hercule cheese) with Spruce beer . Next, we continued exploring and reached a sausage stand that had sausages made of : Bison , Deer , Duck , Boar , etc... We took Bison (excellent) and Boar (not bad). During the walk we were explained the history of the Madonna Della Defesa church and the Dante's Park. Last we reached the International cafe where we had a cannolli and a cappuccino (simply delicious).


Overall very interesting and Lise the guide was a delight.

Doing what: Food Tour of Montreal's Little Italy Including Jean Talon Market

Penelope F

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The tour was great, the guide was knowledgable about the neighborhoods we walked through and told us some of the history as well. Well paced tour, we especially enjoyed the Jean Talon market.

Doing what: Beyond the Market Food Tour in Montreal

Wendy H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Tour could have included more tastings. Our guide was very knowledgeable about both food and its history. Really liked the Jean-Talon market.

Doing what: Food Tour of Montreal's Little Italy Including Jean Talon Market

Marilyn G

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Food was excellent on the tour!!!! Nice variety!! Very impressed with Jean Talon Market, bought a lot of tasty fruit and veggies after tour.

Doing what: Food Tour of Montreal's Little Italy Including Jean Talon Market

Thomas C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

The food Tour was extremely informative-the samplings of food were like a Reward for choosing this tour. The walk was very comfortable, all locations were within easy access to the Jean Talon Market. The guide offered many historical highlights of the area as it evolved from just a bus terminal area. The Italian neighborhood was interesting.

Doing what: Food Tour of Montreal's Little Italy Including Jean Talon Market

Leslie b

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Very interesting and tasty tour of the jean talon market with Stacy, who was a ball of information and a very nice young woman too! And the last stop at the Internationale for real fresh cannoli was a fine touch. Only recommendation would be to add more of Little Italy which then would've ranked a 4th star

Doing what: Food Tour of Montreal's Little Italy Including Jean Talon Market

Michael G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2015

I believe that if you grew up in Europe and experienced the European markets, consider a different tour.

Doing what: Food Tour of Montreal's Little Italy Including Jean Talon Market

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message