Montreal ATTRACTIONS See all

Montmorency Falls

Higher than the Niagara Falls, the impressive Montmorency Falls stand 83 meters (272 feet) tall. The falls form at the mouth of the Montmorency River, where it drops over a cliff into the St. Lawrence River. On summer nights, the plunging water is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 506 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Barbara F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was our second tour with Viator having done one in Bordeaux last year and we expected to have a very good time. This tour surpassed our expectations! Francois was the tour guide and he was very patient with people who were late back to the bus, had very interesting stories to tell us and a wonderful sense of humour. Each place we went to see was interesting and this was a well planned tour. The highlights for us were the falls and the church, and, of course, Francois! We wouldn't hesitate to take this tour again.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Dee C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We thought we would just see the falls and Ste Anne --- but our wonderfully friendly tour guide also threw in a quick stop at a chocolate shop and a copper engraving/design shop. He also had plenty of friendly and informative talk during the ride. We were picked up efficiently at our hotel in vieux city, and dropped off there. Bus was super comfortable. We really enjoyed this and it was the perfect and relaxing way to cap off our two days of walking around Quebec City. Recommended highly.

This did involve a bunch of walking around the falls and climbing stairs -- so not recommended if you are not into that.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Hung L

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

Main trip to see Montmorency falls and Ste Anne. But tour spend too much time at Chocolate factory and home made break so have little time at Waterfalls and Ste. Anne

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Thomas J W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

I would be interested to see what this tour is like in the high tourist season June- August and whether or not larger crowds and having all parts of each stop open makes a difference. Our tour guide was excellent but even he could not help me get rid of the feeling that I had volunteered to accompany a friend while they ran errands around the Quebec Area.
With regards to Montmorency falls it reminded me of a hydro power station rather than a Beauty spot Marketing photos are very careful with their angles. I have not been to Niagara Falls but from what I have heard I feel it is a mistake for the Montmorency marketing spiel to even mention them as it puts an idea in your head. Whilst they are high I have seen more beautiful falls in Scotland and New Zealand where more effort has been put into repairing damage done by former industry.

As I said it may be much better in the summer or even in deepest winter when the snow is abundant but I wouldn't go out of your way to book in late October/November

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Cheryl B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We appreciated getting picked up at our hotel and returned there at the end of our long day 12hours. Our genial driver gave his commentary in both English and French, offering a chance to test our French comprehension. A second guide continued the tour in Quebec. Both of them managed to convey the plan for the day with good humor so that everyone paid attention, could explore on their own after the formal tour lower city and upper city Montmorency Falls via bus, find some supper and make it back to the bus on time for our return to Montreal. It was a dreary day outside, then rainy and quite cold in Quebec. Many in our group were caught without warm enough jackets and clothes. There were shops to explore, but my preference was to head up the funicular to the Frontenac Hotel for an elegant lunch high up in our lofty perch. A great introduction to Quebec.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

SALIM D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Outstanding...Absolutely wonderful...do not have any more words to describe it...Our driver Daniel picked us up on time at the Museum of Civilizationacross from the cruise port and then off we went to the Falls 1st and then onto to the beautiful countryside around Québec City and then to Basilica of Sainte-Anne-de-Beaupré what an exceptional Church. We then stopped at Chocolaterie de l'Ile d'Orléans, the Cuivres D'Art Albert Gilles copper art museum. I have not tasted a better Chocolate ice-cream than this one before and I am an ice-cream fanatic. So please do not hesitate, book this tour and you will be pleasantly surprised.

Thank you Viator for making this a memorable tour.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Helmut L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour. Bus driver and local tour guide was great. Lunch restaurant recommendation was great. The only thing lacking was to spend more time at Montmorency Falls by taking the cable car to the top and crossing the bridge over the falls.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Harold C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

tour guide was very knowledgeable, lots of interesting stops. only downside is that there was not really enough time at the falls. overall though fun and a definate must for first time quebec city visitors.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Charles P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

loved quebec and the falls wish had more time there. plan to go again

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

hoholowach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a 6-star tour from start to finish. All went smoothly. The day was exceptionally beautiful and the foliage was at peak. Best of all our guide, Jeffrey, had 25 years experience and was a native. He even took part of the route to the cathedral off the main highway. He drove through the village of Ste Anne de Beaupre and pointed out sights from his youth where he grew up. Our stop at Marie's Bakery was hit. The fresh bread topped with maple butter literally melted in my mouth. The huge cinnamon rolls were a huge hit. My husband particularly enjoyed seeing the outdoor brick oven where the baking was once done along with the coal stove used for cooking. It was a flash back to his youth. All this was topped off with a viewing of the Montmorency Falls, a visit to a coppersmith, and the chocolatier. Viator is the way to go.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Karen O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A very enjoyable trip that delivered what it said. Our driver Richard was competent and obviously experienced and managed to keep the tour on time after stops. He gave plcenty of relevant information in a friendly and humourous way. I was a little taken aback however that he recommended not using seatbelts that trussed you up like sausages. I would think a good driver would want his passengers to be as safe as possible! The guide, Roger who joined us in Quebec was also very personable, knowledgable and competent. Both men delivered their information in seamless English and French.

The walking tour was around 30 mins and not too strenuous and provided an excellent orientation for further independent exploration after lunch. The driving tour was a little rushed but given that time was tight, provided an adequate quick drive-by of sights such as Abrahams Plain, Parliament House and the upper commercial part of the city. Montmorency Falls was a very pretty if short stop but we were well warned in advance of time schedules and where washrooms and snacks were etc.,.

The recommended lunch restaurant was a very pleasant surprise and I heartily enjoyed the food and the chance to spend time with some of the other 'single' passengers. The free time segment after lunch was also welcome and both Richard and Roger gave us good suggestions on how to make the most of our time. In my case a lesuirely journey on the funiculaire railway up to explore the Fairmont Hotel, then afterwards a stroll through the shops in the old town and a delicious hot chocolate at Madam Gigi's. A note worth mentioning - many of the little shops offer genuine home crafted treasures so maybe go prepared to buy some great unique gifts for family and friends. I particularly liked the Huo 100 silk shop for scarves and neck ties. There is also a great craft shop for children and baby clothes.

All up a great day that I'm glad I did and would recommend to others who only have z day to spare to see Quebec City.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

lafuli

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This trip was phenomenal. At first I thought it was a trip to Montmorency Falls and St.Anne de Beaupre but quickly learned that we would be taking a scenic route through the countryside stopping at several places first. We were driven along a nearby island and stopped at a farm stand for apples, were taken to a bakery where we purchased the most delicious cinnamon rolls and went to a local copper artisan. The trip started at 10:30 and ended around 4PM. We spent about 45 minutes at the falls and 45 minutes at the church. My only regret is not having rented a car to visit St.Anne De Beaupre a separate day as I could have spent half a day wandering around that area. Overall a great trip.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Carol D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was an interesting tour on a beautiful day. The scenery was great, especially the waterfalls and the fall foliage. The tour of Ste-Anne-de-Beaupre was wonderful - it is an outstanding church. Our only regret was that we only had an hour at the church - we could easily have spent 3 hours there. We also enjoyed the stop at the copper factory and the bread making spot. The price for the tour was very reasonable - we had a good informative guide. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

john d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Highly recommend this tour. The Montmorency Falls were spectacular. The rains helped the water rush over the falls and in the river. This tour made several stops in various locations. The driver was very informative. We learned many different things on the tour, and hope to return to the area again in the future. We also appreciated that the tour picked us up at our hotel, and at the end of the tour, returned us to our hotel.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Gary L

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We really enjoyed seeing the falls and the basilica, and we would have liked to spend more time there. The drive through Isle de Orleans was also worth the rural sights and apple orchards. It was interesting to see the copper art, but I think the chocolate shop and bakery could be eliminated for more time at the falls and basilica.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Bart United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Overall a great trip...I would have preferred more time at the falls and skipping the marketing stop at the coppersmith. Driver Gabe did an outstanding job, knowledgeable and entertaining!

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Suzanne D

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Our guide was very knowledgeable of the area and this made the bus trip very enjoyable. The weather was perfect and the foliage was spectacular. This was a good time to travel. Our only criticism is that there were 3 shopping stops to local merchants scheduled into the trip which we were not expecting. I do not believe these stops were included in the tour description. We felt that the 3 stops cut short the time we could have spent at the Falls or St. Anne's.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Barbara G

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We didn't have a great day for weather which spoilt it but also we really needed more time at the falls it was pretty rushed if you went up in the cable car which we did , perhaps we could have missed out the bread or chocolate stop all in all a comfortable trip

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

gaylen l

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

Beautiful Falls
Beautiful sland
Beautiful Church
Excellent Driver/Guide
Worthless stops at Copper Factory, Chocolate Factory

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Susan Y

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

Loved the falls but did not enjoy the stop at the copper studio at all. The bakery was also underwhelming. Next time, I would just pay to see the falls and spend more time there.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

David L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

I was somewhat disappointed with the tour. There were too many stops that took time away from the main attractions. The stop at Montmorency falls was way too short. It should have been at least 2 hours. The chocolate shop and bread shop were not at all interesting and the time wasted there could have better used at the falls and the cathedral.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

William C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Long day but well worth it, Visited wide variety of locations - Falls, Citadel, Old Town, Olympic park and waterfront, Time to explore on own. Great knowledgeable tour guides. Money well spent for the total Quebec City experience.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Michael G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This 1/2 day trip is a good way to see the Quebec countryside. Our tour guide Francois, a native of the village where the giant cathedral is located was funny and informative. The copper factory was interesting as well. We could have used some more time at the Montmorency Falls but it is a 1/2 day trip.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Pauline B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a great time on our bike trip to the falls! Francesco was a great guide. He was very informative and let us set the pace for our ride. I highly recommend this tour to everyone...you dont have to be an avid biker to do this tour.

Doing what: Bike Tour to Montmorency Falls from Quebec City

Homelyn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour was extremely good, it was a very wet day , something the tour guy could not possibly have a any say in.
That said the two guides reorganized our trip so that we went to the Falls first and then followed up with a bus tour of Quebec city.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message