Montreal ATTRACTIONS See all

Montmorency Falls

Higher than the Niagara Falls, the impressive Montmorency Falls stand 83 meters (272 feet) tall. The falls form at the mouth of the Montmorency River, where it drops over a cliff into the St. Lawrence River. On summer nights, the plunging water is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 518 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Coreen J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I really enjoyed this trip, much better value than the river cruise. You get an up close of the falls, as well as a visit to a beautiful church and the Island.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Lisa H United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Had a great day on this tour although it rained heavily on the way back all the group were great sports and just got on with it!
The cycling was mainly on flat easy cycle routes and the scenery at Montmorency Falls is spectacular. The staff at the bike shop were very friendly and Dominique our guide was very knowledgeable about Quebec. We had plenty of free time at the falls to wander round and the falls colours were spectacular even in the rain. Its about 12km each way to the falls but no hills to navigate so most people of average fitness would be able to do this trip.

Doing what: Bike Tour to Montmorency Falls from Quebec City

Nadia G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was a great day trip to Quebec City and the falls. We had enough time in Quebec City to enjoy the walking tour and we still had time to enjoy a nice lunch on our own as well as some more exploring. And, the falls stop, while short, was enough to enjoy the beauty of the falls and get some great photos.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Kendra E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was excellent. We had the best tour guide ever (Katia). I highly recommend her. She made the trip soooooo pleasant despite the fact that we were traveling in the middle of the winter. Montmorency Falls is beautiful all year round and Quebec City is like a mini France.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Ondreya W

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The waterfalls were great, but they really rush on this tour. So you have to almost sprint up and back down to see them.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Voytek Poland

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Generally very interesting trip at the first week of October - but some organisation problems with bus departure from Montreal and during the travel to QC. Very good guide in QC helped to understand history of Quebec and appreciate this city. Cruse on St Lawrence river and view of Montmorency Falls make this one day long trip even more exiting.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Barbara W

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

They don't tell you that you will also visit a candy shop, copper shop and place to buy a slice of bread. Also have to pay additional for ride on gondola if you want to get close to falls, driver left someone at the falls, not much time at the Church and we got there so late they were turning out the lights.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Coreen J

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

It was pretty, but only really worth it for the views of the Chateau from the river. You don't get close enough to the waterfall to do it justice. I would say if you were only going to book one trip, book the Montmorency Falls trip. I learned much more on that trip.

Doing what: Quebec City Historic Discoverers Cruise

Barbara F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was our second tour with Viator having done one in Bordeaux last year and we expected to have a very good time. This tour surpassed our expectations! Francois was the tour guide and he was very patient with people who were late back to the bus, had very interesting stories to tell us and a wonderful sense of humour. Each place we went to see was interesting and this was a well planned tour. The highlights for us were the falls and the church, and, of course, Francois! We wouldn't hesitate to take this tour again.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Dee C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We thought we would just see the falls and Ste Anne --- but our wonderfully friendly tour guide also threw in a quick stop at a chocolate shop and a copper engraving/design shop. He also had plenty of friendly and informative talk during the ride. We were picked up efficiently at our hotel in vieux city, and dropped off there. Bus was super comfortable. We really enjoyed this and it was the perfect and relaxing way to cap off our two days of walking around Quebec City. Recommended highly.

This did involve a bunch of walking around the falls and climbing stairs -- so not recommended if you are not into that.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

ginas64

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Wonderful trip! Would rrecommend this to everyone! Breathtaking views of the falls, great fo picture taking and St. Anne's church is absolutely stunning. Our guide, Elaine was fantastic, friendly and very knowledgeable. It was great to see Quebec's surroundings that we normally wouldn't have seen if we didn't take this trip.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Sheila Godwin United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour, great experience, great view and a very entertaining driver and a tour guide. It's worth all the penny.
I'm sure Quebec and Montmorency falls is as pretty in the summer, but I love the view better in the winter. It was a lovely day:

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

pinedr2

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

A good one day trip to get a feel of the city. Montmorency Falls not necessary.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Michael H

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

I was somewhat disappointed with the trip. Quebec City and the falls were interesting but not outstanding and left me in no hurry to go back their again. The old city seemed to be not much more than a collection of souvenir shops and eateries of variable standard.

The trip to and back was very long and not that interesting but there's not much that can be done about that. What hopefully can be improved is the standard of the roadhouse we stopped at for a break. The food available was awful and was essentially nothing more than USA junk food, which has to be among the worst if not the worst in the world.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Hung L

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

Main trip to see Montmorency falls and Ste Anne. But tour spend too much time at Chocolate factory and home made break so have little time at Waterfalls and Ste. Anne

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Thomas J W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

I would be interested to see what this tour is like in the high tourist season June- August and whether or not larger crowds and having all parts of each stop open makes a difference. Our tour guide was excellent but even he could not help me get rid of the feeling that I had volunteered to accompany a friend while they ran errands around the Quebec Area.
With regards to Montmorency falls it reminded me of a hydro power station rather than a Beauty spot Marketing photos are very careful with their angles. I have not been to Niagara Falls but from what I have heard I feel it is a mistake for the Montmorency marketing spiel to even mention them as it puts an idea in your head. Whilst they are high I have seen more beautiful falls in Scotland and New Zealand where more effort has been put into repairing damage done by former industry.

As I said it may be much better in the summer or even in deepest winter when the snow is abundant but I wouldn't go out of your way to book in late October/November

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Cheryl B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We appreciated getting picked up at our hotel and returned there at the end of our long day 12hours. Our genial driver gave his commentary in both English and French, offering a chance to test our French comprehension. A second guide continued the tour in Quebec. Both of them managed to convey the plan for the day with good humor so that everyone paid attention, could explore on their own after the formal tour lower city and upper city Montmorency Falls via bus, find some supper and make it back to the bus on time for our return to Montreal. It was a dreary day outside, then rainy and quite cold in Quebec. Many in our group were caught without warm enough jackets and clothes. There were shops to explore, but my preference was to head up the funicular to the Frontenac Hotel for an elegant lunch high up in our lofty perch. A great introduction to Quebec.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

SALIM D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Outstanding...Absolutely wonderful...do not have any more words to describe it...Our driver Daniel picked us up on time at the Museum of Civilizationacross from the cruise port and then off we went to the Falls 1st and then onto to the beautiful countryside around Québec City and then to Basilica of Sainte-Anne-de-Beaupré what an exceptional Church. We then stopped at Chocolaterie de l'Ile d'Orléans, the Cuivres D'Art Albert Gilles copper art museum. I have not tasted a better Chocolate ice-cream than this one before and I am an ice-cream fanatic. So please do not hesitate, book this tour and you will be pleasantly surprised.

Thank you Viator for making this a memorable tour.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Helmut L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour. Bus driver and local tour guide was great. Lunch restaurant recommendation was great. The only thing lacking was to spend more time at Montmorency Falls by taking the cable car to the top and crossing the bridge over the falls.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Harold C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

tour guide was very knowledgeable, lots of interesting stops. only downside is that there was not really enough time at the falls. overall though fun and a definate must for first time quebec city visitors.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Charles P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

loved quebec and the falls wish had more time there. plan to go again

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

hoholowach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a 6-star tour from start to finish. All went smoothly. The day was exceptionally beautiful and the foliage was at peak. Best of all our guide, Jeffrey, had 25 years experience and was a native. He even took part of the route to the cathedral off the main highway. He drove through the village of Ste Anne de Beaupre and pointed out sights from his youth where he grew up. Our stop at Marie's Bakery was hit. The fresh bread topped with maple butter literally melted in my mouth. The huge cinnamon rolls were a huge hit. My husband particularly enjoyed seeing the outdoor brick oven where the baking was once done along with the coal stove used for cooking. It was a flash back to his youth. All this was topped off with a viewing of the Montmorency Falls, a visit to a coppersmith, and the chocolatier. Viator is the way to go.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Karen O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A very enjoyable trip that delivered what it said. Our driver Richard was competent and obviously experienced and managed to keep the tour on time after stops. He gave plcenty of relevant information in a friendly and humourous way. I was a little taken aback however that he recommended not using seatbelts that trussed you up like sausages. I would think a good driver would want his passengers to be as safe as possible! The guide, Roger who joined us in Quebec was also very personable, knowledgable and competent. Both men delivered their information in seamless English and French.

The walking tour was around 30 mins and not too strenuous and provided an excellent orientation for further independent exploration after lunch. The driving tour was a little rushed but given that time was tight, provided an adequate quick drive-by of sights such as Abrahams Plain, Parliament House and the upper commercial part of the city. Montmorency Falls was a very pretty if short stop but we were well warned in advance of time schedules and where washrooms and snacks were etc.,.

The recommended lunch restaurant was a very pleasant surprise and I heartily enjoyed the food and the chance to spend time with some of the other 'single' passengers. The free time segment after lunch was also welcome and both Richard and Roger gave us good suggestions on how to make the most of our time. In my case a lesuirely journey on the funiculaire railway up to explore the Fairmont Hotel, then afterwards a stroll through the shops in the old town and a delicious hot chocolate at Madam Gigi's. A note worth mentioning - many of the little shops offer genuine home crafted treasures so maybe go prepared to buy some great unique gifts for family and friends. I particularly liked the Huo 100 silk shop for scarves and neck ties. There is also a great craft shop for children and baby clothes.

All up a great day that I'm glad I did and would recommend to others who only have z day to spare to see Quebec City.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

lafuli

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This trip was phenomenal. At first I thought it was a trip to Montmorency Falls and St.Anne de Beaupre but quickly learned that we would be taking a scenic route through the countryside stopping at several places first. We were driven along a nearby island and stopped at a farm stand for apples, were taken to a bakery where we purchased the most delicious cinnamon rolls and went to a local copper artisan. The trip started at 10:30 and ended around 4PM. We spent about 45 minutes at the falls and 45 minutes at the church. My only regret is not having rented a car to visit St.Anne De Beaupre a separate day as I could have spent half a day wandering around that area. Overall a great trip.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Carol D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was an interesting tour on a beautiful day. The scenery was great, especially the waterfalls and the fall foliage. The tour of Ste-Anne-de-Beaupre was wonderful - it is an outstanding church. Our only regret was that we only had an hour at the church - we could easily have spent 3 hours there. We also enjoyed the stop at the copper factory and the bread making spot. The price for the tour was very reasonable - we had a good informative guide. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message