Montreal ATTRACTIONS See all

Montmorency Falls

Higher than the Niagara Falls, the impressive Montmorency Falls stand 83 meters (272 feet) tall. The falls form at the mouth of the Montmorency River, where it drops over a cliff into the St. Lawrence River. On summer nights, the plunging water is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 468 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Caroline S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My boyfriend and I went on this tour to get a taste of Quebec City, since we had never been previously. After this day trip, we're planning a trip back! The city is breathtaking. The tour was great. It starts in Montreal, with a bus ride up to Quebec City, followed by a walking tour of lower Quebec City, a quick stop at Montmorency Falls, and a driving tour of upper Quebec City. Following those tours, you get three hours of free time to explore. I don't suggest taking the cruise if you want to see the city, because an hour or an hour and a half is not near enough to see this city! Three hours was just enough for us to get a taste of the wonderful things this city has to offer, and we can't wait to go back! I highly recommend this tour for anyone wishing to take a quick trip up to see Quebec City.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Timothy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My wife and I are very glad we decided to take this day tour to Quebec City. When considering whether to book the tour, I was hesitant whether to spend a few hours traveling to and from Montreal and Quebec City and whether to take it as part of a tour or on our own. On both accounts I am happy to have followed through on the booking. We took the tour on a Monday in August and it was full so I am glad I booked in advance. Andrej was our driver and guide. He had a friendly personality and was enjoyable to listen to. He spoke in both English and French, providing commentary on the way out of Montreal, on the way in and on the way out of Quebec City and on the way back into Montreal. There is a travel stop each way at the halfway point. During the drive, we enjoyed looking at the countryside, resting, and reading. In Quebec City, we met our walking tour guide, Roch, who did a wonderful job guiding our group. He too was friendly and enjoyable to listen to. We toured both lower Quebec and upper Quebec as well as make a stop at the falls in between. Once we were dropped off in lower Quebec at about 1:30, we had 3.5 hours of free time. We are glad we did not sign up for the optional boat tour as the 3.5 hours time flew by eating lunch and walking around lower Quebec, upper Quebec, and the famous Fairmont hotel. We were able to get a good feel for the beauty and history of Quebec as well as life in Quebec and look forward to returning someday for an extended stay. It is an ideal city, with beautiful hilltop views of the St. Lawrence River, old stone forts and churches, clean streets, plenty of shops, and people watching.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Sandra D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great day well worth a visit would like more time in Quebec forget falls

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Fletcher P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Enjoyable
Mzarcel was our guide - He gave both the French and English version of the trip
Great view of the falls from the bottom

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Sandra P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was excellent. Our driver and tour guide was very informative. He was from St Anne de Beaupre so his knowledge of the area was extensive and we really appreciated his personal family stories which explained the history of the area. Montmorency Falls was also amazing. Again, excellent tour!!

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Rita A A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A 3 hours bus ride to Quebec, then a guided tour around the Lower Town, then 3 hours on our own for lunch and more walking, then another ride back to Montreal. We stopped at the beautiful, high Montmorency Falls and rode slowly through the history Plains of Abraham, scene of a decisive battle in the 18th century. Excellent day!.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Jessie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We booked a week's vacation in Montreal, but we also wanted to see QC. This is a good option for getting there, seeing a variety of places around the city, and getting back in a day. This is not the best way to see QC, but it is a great way to do it in a short time. The bus driver was friendly and talked to us during the drive. The guide was informative, professional, and congenial. The only thing I might change about the trip is the side trip to the Falls. It takes a while to get to the park, and then barely have enough time to walk to from the visitor center to the falls and back. In the end, it might have been more fun for our group to just stay in the city for a little longer. Tours like this always balance showing you a lot with giving you a chance to look around, so I certainly don't fault them for it, and if you want a lot of bang for your buck, you will get it.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Ruth O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A really enjoyable full day. The coach driver was excellent- friendly, fun and keen to please. The guide in Quebec City was very interesting and informative. Even though only 1 day I feel we saw a good deal of the city and enjoyed the falls. I would recommend this trip to others

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Xavier F

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

It was a good trip. However could have been better. We drove 6 hours back and forth to/from Montreal to Quebec city. However, the time spent in the Quebec city is too little. The guided tour was only about 3 hours. The Falls visit was also too short. I suggest making the trip longer. We could have left from Quebec city by 7 pm. The stay in the Falls should be at least for 45 minutes.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Steven K

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Good tour with good information provided - went by quick - if we hadn't done the cruise it would have been mostly a lunch and shopping tour with a quick view 10 min of the falls.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

susan f

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful day trip to this area from Montreal. The tour guide, Roch N., was very knowledgeable, outgoing, and helpful. He added lots of information and stories. Quebec City is so charming and has an old-world feeling. There was no time to take the tram up the cliff at Montmorency Falls, but at least there is a tourist stop nearby for refreshments and photos. It was a worthwhile excursion and one not to be missed.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Robin L

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Very good experience. Guide was very good and fluent in both French and English and gave lots of funny anecdotes and history. Highlights were the Falls and Basilica. The copper museum was also very interesting with beautiful works available to purchase in all price ranges. Chocolate shop was very rushed and I could have done without the bakery stop. Overall a wonderful trip and I would go again!

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Ellen V

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The trip was very pleasant. Everything was on time, the drive was friendly, and the guide was very nice. I wasn't that impressed with the Montmorency Falls part, the time would've been better spent in Quebec. Overall, the trip was both interesting and comfortable.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Amy B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The tour bus guide was incredible! Very informative and funny. There are four stops and you don't have a lot of time at each one. It's great if you don't like renting cars. If you're good with renting a car you can do the same trip very easily. When we return, we'll just rent a car. We only had 45 minutes at the falls and it's a race to see the top...just not enough time but all in all a great excursion.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

William C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Comfortable trip on the bus and the driver was very informative. Had ample time to explore Quebec City, but the Montmorency side trip was way too short 20 minutes as a result of traffic backup at the entrance. Wish there was time to walk back to the base of the falls, which we could see from the tracks behind the visitors center.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Bonnie P

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

this tour was a great way to get a look at the out skirts of Quebec City. Taking the tram up Montmerency falls and walking the bridge across the falls was very scenic. The Church of
Ste.Anne de Beaupre is the highlight of the trip. It is too bad we couldn't have spent more
time at the church, but, I understand this tour is just seeing highlights of the area. I would
recommend this tour

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

joynwh

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour just not enough time at the falls.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Douglas G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Bus driver was experienced and knowledgeable about area. Loved the stop at the copper museum, the falls and the basilica. We had a great ice cream stop and then a slice of bread from Marie's. A lot of history and information about seasons, crops, and family living. Enjoyed the excursion, especially the copper stop.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Sharon B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Great tour if you only have a day to spend in Quebec City with a side trip to the Montmorency Falls. Our driver, Andre was entertaining and great at pointing out some highlights during the drive. Roger, our guide in Quebec City was also informative and shared some funny stories. The stop at the Montmorency Falls was only 20 minutes--only enough time to take a few photos--not enough to get close up. Three hours of free time in Quebec City was enough to have lunch and get a taste of the city--you would have to go back if you want to take more time to explore the park, ride the funicular to the top and spend some time at the Fairmont Hotel.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

giorgio.cosmo

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The tour is perfect for visiting Montmorency Falls, also our guide gave us a lot information during our tour. Would have liked more time at Montmorency Falls and Ste Anne de Beauprè and less stops at bread and copper shops.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Hugo V

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Trip was to see falls. Really couldn't get close enough. If we went again, it would be by car or bus.

Doing what: Quebec City Historic Discoverers Cruise

Sandra G

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

I have done trips with other tour groups. This was expensive for what you got. I did like having the time to see the city but all the places we were mentioned but not admitted. Not enough time at the falls. We had 15 minutes.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Karen M

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The tour was pleasant, but long. The tour guide was a local and gave the tour in both French and English. I enjoyed the drive through Ile d'Orleans it wasn't crowded when we were there. The stop at Montmorency Falls was way too short and there was not enough time to get to the top and back. The stop at Albert Gilles coppersmith was very nice and a rare experience indeed. The stop to get buttered bread could have been eliminated. Overall, the tour covered a lot of territory - in fact, too much territory. There was not really enough time at any stop, and we were late getting back - within 15 minutes of missing the cruise ship departure.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Kathryn E

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

I really enjoyed the tour and my time in Quebec City. However there was not enough time at the falls and entirely too much time on the bus. It was supposed to take 2 1/2 hours each way. It took a bit over 3 and part of the tour around the city was on the bus. Plus time to the falls on the bus.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

MARIO L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

It's... ok. Not thrilling, not informational, just a boat short trip. The only beautiful thing to see is the Mont Morency Falls, but even that from afar. I would go straight in a Mont Morency tour instead of this one.

Doing what: Quebec City Historic Discoverers Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message