Montreal ATTRACTIONS See all

Montmorency Falls

Higher than the Niagara Falls, the impressive Montmorency Falls stand 83 meters (272 feet) tall. The falls form at the mouth of the Montmorency River, where it drops over a cliff into the St. Lawrence River. On summer nights, the plunging water is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 481 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

William C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Long day but well worth it, Visited wide variety of locations - Falls, Citadel, Old Town, Olympic park and waterfront, Time to explore on own. Great knowledgeable tour guides. Money well spent for the total Quebec City experience.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Michael G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This 1/2 day trip is a good way to see the Quebec countryside. Our tour guide Francois, a native of the village where the giant cathedral is located was funny and informative. The copper factory was interesting as well. We could have used some more time at the Montmorency Falls but it is a 1/2 day trip.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Pauline B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a great time on our bike trip to the falls! Francesco was a great guide. He was very informative and let us set the pace for our ride. I highly recommend this tour to everyone...you dont have to be an avid biker to do this tour.

Doing what: Bike Tour to Montmorency Falls from Quebec City

Homelyn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour was extremely good, it was a very wet day , something the tour guy could not possibly have a any say in.
That said the two guides reorganized our trip so that we went to the Falls first and then followed up with a bus tour of Quebec city.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

manny011

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A great day of sightseeing. The Montmorency Falls were great with brilliant views from both the bottom and the top after a ride up in the trolley. Chocolates, fresh baked goods, brilliant scenery. All part of a great day, topped off with a visit to Ste-Anne-de-Beaupre church, with beautiful statues and magnificent stain glass stories set in a very spiritual church.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Jorge R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The tour was good and the driver was very friendly. The visit to the Montmorency falls was very short and due to the short time not enjoyable. If possible, I would recommend to have the option to drop people at the top of the hill to explore and lunch instead of leaving them at the bottom.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Enjoyable and informative . Not enough time at falls

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Joseph C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This is a great introduction to the areas near but outside Quebec City. The areas covered and interesting stops are well worth the cost. The falls is more than we expected Montmorrensey is much narrower than Niagara but 100 feet taller. Certainly worth a half day.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

renabchin

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The only negative was that the 20 mins to visit Montmorency Falls did not provide enough time to even walk up to the falls.....

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Alba E

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

It was a peaceful tour of the harbor up to Montmorency Falls but because of the wind and water noise, it was impossible to hear what the narrator was saying. I love history and was disappointed that we missed so much of what he was saying.

Doing what: Quebec City Historic Discoverers Cruise

Barbara H

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

This trip was very enjoyable - we had a pleasant and informed tour guide. I would have liked more time at the falls, but other than that it was fun.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

genie w

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The trip to the Falls, Ste-Anne-de-Beaupre, and seeing a small portion of L'Ile d'Orleans were the best parts. The chocolate shop and the copper museum were not too interesting. The object of those places was to just get us to buy stuff.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Pervin V S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

The reason I rate this tour a 2 is because when I made the reservations for it, I specifically asked if we would be getting off the bus and see the Parliament Building and Plains of Abraham and I was told yes but that is not the case. We just drove around in the bus and saw it them through the bus window. The only walking tour we had was of the Old Quebec City itself which was ok but again there was another misrepresentation. We booked ourselves on the English speaking tour but there were 4 people on our bus who spoke French so the guide had to repeat everything twice and hence we wasted a great deal of time standing in one place. The guide was knowledgeable, the bus, the driver were good. Also I wish we were given more time at Montmorency falls instead of the 20 minutes which included the restroom break.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Caroline S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My boyfriend and I went on this tour to get a taste of Quebec City, since we had never been previously. After this day trip, we're planning a trip back! The city is breathtaking. The tour was great. It starts in Montreal, with a bus ride up to Quebec City, followed by a walking tour of lower Quebec City, a quick stop at Montmorency Falls, and a driving tour of upper Quebec City. Following those tours, you get three hours of free time to explore. I don't suggest taking the cruise if you want to see the city, because an hour or an hour and a half is not near enough to see this city! Three hours was just enough for us to get a taste of the wonderful things this city has to offer, and we can't wait to go back! I highly recommend this tour for anyone wishing to take a quick trip up to see Quebec City.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Timothy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My wife and I are very glad we decided to take this day tour to Quebec City. When considering whether to book the tour, I was hesitant whether to spend a few hours traveling to and from Montreal and Quebec City and whether to take it as part of a tour or on our own. On both accounts I am happy to have followed through on the booking. We took the tour on a Monday in August and it was full so I am glad I booked in advance. Andrej was our driver and guide. He had a friendly personality and was enjoyable to listen to. He spoke in both English and French, providing commentary on the way out of Montreal, on the way in and on the way out of Quebec City and on the way back into Montreal. There is a travel stop each way at the halfway point. During the drive, we enjoyed looking at the countryside, resting, and reading. In Quebec City, we met our walking tour guide, Roch, who did a wonderful job guiding our group. He too was friendly and enjoyable to listen to. We toured both lower Quebec and upper Quebec as well as make a stop at the falls in between. Once we were dropped off in lower Quebec at about 1:30, we had 3.5 hours of free time. We are glad we did not sign up for the optional boat tour as the 3.5 hours time flew by eating lunch and walking around lower Quebec, upper Quebec, and the famous Fairmont hotel. We were able to get a good feel for the beauty and history of Quebec as well as life in Quebec and look forward to returning someday for an extended stay. It is an ideal city, with beautiful hilltop views of the St. Lawrence River, old stone forts and churches, clean streets, plenty of shops, and people watching.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Sandra D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great day well worth a visit would like more time in Quebec forget falls

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Fletcher P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Enjoyable
Mzarcel was our guide - He gave both the French and English version of the trip
Great view of the falls from the bottom

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Sandra P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was excellent. Our driver and tour guide was very informative. He was from St Anne de Beaupre so his knowledge of the area was extensive and we really appreciated his personal family stories which explained the history of the area. Montmorency Falls was also amazing. Again, excellent tour!!

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Rita A A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A 3 hours bus ride to Quebec, then a guided tour around the Lower Town, then 3 hours on our own for lunch and more walking, then another ride back to Montreal. We stopped at the beautiful, high Montmorency Falls and rode slowly through the history Plains of Abraham, scene of a decisive battle in the 18th century. Excellent day!.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Jessie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We booked a week's vacation in Montreal, but we also wanted to see QC. This is a good option for getting there, seeing a variety of places around the city, and getting back in a day. This is not the best way to see QC, but it is a great way to do it in a short time. The bus driver was friendly and talked to us during the drive. The guide was informative, professional, and congenial. The only thing I might change about the trip is the side trip to the Falls. It takes a while to get to the park, and then barely have enough time to walk to from the visitor center to the falls and back. In the end, it might have been more fun for our group to just stay in the city for a little longer. Tours like this always balance showing you a lot with giving you a chance to look around, so I certainly don't fault them for it, and if you want a lot of bang for your buck, you will get it.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Ruth O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A really enjoyable full day. The coach driver was excellent- friendly, fun and keen to please. The guide in Quebec City was very interesting and informative. Even though only 1 day I feel we saw a good deal of the city and enjoyed the falls. I would recommend this trip to others

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Xavier F

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

It was a good trip. However could have been better. We drove 6 hours back and forth to/from Montreal to Quebec city. However, the time spent in the Quebec city is too little. The guided tour was only about 3 hours. The Falls visit was also too short. I suggest making the trip longer. We could have left from Quebec city by 7 pm. The stay in the Falls should be at least for 45 minutes.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Steven K

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Good tour with good information provided - went by quick - if we hadn't done the cruise it would have been mostly a lunch and shopping tour with a quick view 10 min of the falls.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

susan f

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful day trip to this area from Montreal. The tour guide, Roch N., was very knowledgeable, outgoing, and helpful. He added lots of information and stories. Quebec City is so charming and has an old-world feeling. There was no time to take the tram up the cliff at Montmorency Falls, but at least there is a tourist stop nearby for refreshments and photos. It was a worthwhile excursion and one not to be missed.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Robin L

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Very good experience. Guide was very good and fluent in both French and English and gave lots of funny anecdotes and history. Highlights were the Falls and Basilica. The copper museum was also very interesting with beautiful works available to purchase in all price ranges. Chocolate shop was very rushed and I could have done without the bakery stop. Overall a wonderful trip and I would go again!

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message