Montreal ATTRACTIONS See all

Montmorency Falls

Higher than the Niagara Falls, the impressive Montmorency Falls stand 83 meters (272 feet) tall. The falls form at the mouth of the Montmorency River, where it drops over a cliff into the St. Lawrence River. On summer nights, the plunging water is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 441 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Robert C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Well worth the $45 cost of VIATOR to MONTMORENCY FALLS and the countryside of Côte de Beaupre and Ile d and #39;Orleans.

Our driver MARCEL was witty and informative. He made a stop at a Chocolate Shop, a copper gallery, and a Bakery, besides are scheduled stops .

Enjoyed the enclosed CABLE CAR ride for $14 per person. It was not scary at all as it carried us to the top of the falls. Walking across the suspension BRIDGE over the FALLS is optional.

Bring a windbreaker to wear; you will need it.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Liz T Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a great bike tour! Our guide was knowledgable and engaging, the bike path was in good shape and the falls are amazing!

Doing what: Bike Tour to Montmorency Falls from Quebec City

Alice K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour bus driver was very funny and told us all kinds of interesting facts. The scenery was beautiful. The kids loved climbing the stairs next to the falls. I enjoyed exploring Ste-Anne-de-Beaupre church.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

sdimitrakaki929

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a great time.Andre a very good guy!Although not so lucky with the weather nothing stopped us from having a good time! The guide was very informative.The falls worth a visit, but above all these Quebec is like you were in Europe, very picturesque! Thnx to both people for everything.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Thomas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Didn't think we could fit everything in with a day trip from Montreal. We did. A relaxing drive to Quebec City with our driver/guide, Andre. Very informative on the way. We picked up our guide for Quebec City, Katarina? who gave us a walking tour of the Old Town and told us the history of how the place was founded. Then a trip to the Montmorency Falls. A waterfall that is even higher than Niagara Falls, though it doesn't look it!
A relaxing boat cruise this was optional with more commentary and stories about the area. A good time to have lunch on the river since it was such a lovely day too. Had about 90 mintues back at the Old Town to explore, then the coach back to Montreal. Highly recommend it, especially if you're limited on time.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Robert H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Overall great trip! Could have spent more than 15 minutes at the falls. Glad we spent free time in the afternoon touring Quebec City on our own, instead of doing the river cruise.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Bob B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My wife and I took the bike tour to Montmorency Falls with Dominic our tour guide. Stepping into the bike shop we were greeted and fitted with bikes and helmets. Everyone made a great attempt to make sure that we had working bikes that fit. Dominic gave us a run down of his plan for the tour and since there were only two of us for this tour, I think we got a little special treatment.
Dominic found a pace that suited us older folks and we got started on a nice tour to the falls.

The tour was great and the falls were spectacular. Dominic was nice enough to take some pictures of us giving us some special memories. On the way back, Dominic showed us a few special spots and made some recommendations for breakfast.

The best part of the tour was that Dominic knew a lot about the area, the history and was able to give a great sense of the place. He also answered some of my questions about the current political situation and we learned a lot.

I would highly recommend this tour and Dominic in particular. I know that the next time we head to Quebec City, we are going again.

Doing what: Bike Tour to Montmorency Falls from Quebec City

Kris M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was fantastic. We were picked up on time, and arrived at our destination on time as well. The tour guide met us in Quebec City - she was very informative - historically very knowledgeable -The tour included a stop at the falls which was fine - not too long as there is not much to do here but take photos - The walk thru with the guide in Old Quebec City was great - you had the option of taking the cruise, but we had cruised the day before so we skipped it, which gave us more free time to dine, explore and shop. Well worth the price in my opinion.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Dorothy K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

As we were flying in and out of Montreal, it was so much easier to take the Grayline tour to Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal than renting a car and worrying about driving and parking. Relax and enjoy. Very impressed with the driver and the tour guide. Great trip

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Eric J

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour to Quebec was a great add on to our vacation. Make sure you call the day before to confirm your reservation and set up your pick up. The drive from Montreal is a bit boring and long. There is a stop about half way for restroom and food, better off bringing your own snacks. We picked up our tour guide once arriving in Quebec City and took a walk around town. Back on the bus afterwards and drove to the falls. Very short stop there, could have spent hours there but only had 20 mins. Then back to the city to check out more land marks and sights, but no leaving the bus. Return tour guide and set free for 3 hours to explore. We choose the optional boat tour and ate up about 1.5 hours of the free time. It was a nice ride, but would really suggest it again. We would have enjoyed walking around the city more. Got to shop and eat a little after the boat ride. Returned to the bus and the ride back. Traffic out of Quebec was slow paced, but once on the highway we were back to normal travel. I wouldn't plan anything right after the trip ahead of time. We ended up returning almost an hour later then thought. We would have missed any reservations made. Over all, great day and inspired us to try and return to Quebec City for a longer trip in the future.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

euree

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful guide! Wish we spent more time on ile d and #39;orleans taking in the scenery, get to pick strawberries (our guide bought us some which was such a treat), and more time at montmorency falls. You can take out the bakery and copper making store. More time enjoying places and less in the stores.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

D R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Would have liked more time at the falls. But overall it was a great way to see the city!

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Richard S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Loved the tour...it could have been longer with more time to stop at the falls and more time at the ice cream shop. The bread stop was a waste. It would have been nice to have a tour guide that was not driving so they could have engaged with us more

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Steven P

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Beautiful city, lots to see, was easy to navigate the city, the tour guide was OK, time was very hectic. Only 15 minutes at the falls. The travel time from Montreal was as long as the tour itself.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Scott T

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was a pleasant half-day bus tour to some of the nearby sites just outside Quebec City. Not much time at the falls not enough time to walk up to the bridge that spans it but still pretty nice. Stopped for some good ice cream, a little bakery, and visited a local copper artisan. I always wondered if tour companies get kickbacks from these places. Overall it was a nice excursion.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

James M

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Nice boat ride, very breezy which as enjoyable, nice and sunny on the top deck, comfortable chairs.

The MC provided lots of colorful details, both in French and in English. The MC spoke for 90 minutes straight, which was impressive, but a few minutes of silence during the trip say, when we were enjoying the view of the falls would have been welcomed.

Doing what: Quebec City Historic Discoverers Cruise

Judy Y

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

We really liked our guide, François..his local knowledge made trip more interesting.I wish the trip gave more time at Montmorency Falls (we barely had time to get to top, take pictures, and get back down). I would recommend skipping the copper factory and chocolate stop.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Margaret K

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Driver Richard was very good.Tour was a bit rushed.Needed more time at the Falls.The boat trip was a waste of time as it did the same route that we had done on the bus up to the Falls so just a repeat.Wish we had skipped this as we missed out on all the activities in the town.Although the local guide was good he did put pressure on about tips.Glad we saw Quebec but disappointed about the boat trip.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Sandra S

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

We enjoyed this trip. We got to go beyond OLD QUEBEC CITY where we were staying. It was nice to see the falls, but they are not spectacular.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Ilham G

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The tour was indeed OK, however, there is scarce time to explore Quebec City well, especially if you take a 1,5-hour-cruise. Everything was, in fact, done in a hurry as there are quite a lot to see and no time. The travelling time was even more than the pure time for Quebec City and the Montmorency Falls: total travelling time was 7 hours, 3 hours from Montreal to Quebec City and 4 hours back, 1 hour more due to the evening traffic, versus 6 hours for tours in the city and falls. Moreover, we had only 1 stop during travelling to Quebec City and 1 back and they were too short, 10-15min., and, given that the group was big and there was a second big bus with the same tour, which we always came across during our stops, there was no enough time and space in the stop points to rest and to recover well. Everything was under rush and stress. However, the bus driver and tour guide were good, well-informative and effective, especially the tour guide in Quebec City, who managed well the short time in the city and falls and took maximum of it having shown us as much as it was possible.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

David G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Nice tour but not enough time at the main attraction Montmorency Falls which was disappointing.
Stopped at a bakery which had little or no interest from the guests.
Driver did a great job!

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

ANDREW S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

The pickup from the hotel was late by about 45 minutes. The bus tour driver did not speak any English, so for more than two hours, we drove from Montreal to Quebec City in silence. Too bad because we passed by several interesting places and we missed an opportunity to learn more about them, Quebec or Canada. I guess since the tour organiser is the biggest in Montreal, they do not care about that.They know that they will fill in the tour bus. The tour guide in Quebec City was knowledgeable and professional. The Montmorency Falls trip is a trap and misleading. It is basically a 10-minute bus stop. I would not recommend the Grey Line tour organiser. Try to find another more reliable tour provider.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Judith V

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

We were rather disappointed. First, on a positive note, the actual walking tour of Québec City was very nice. Our tour guide was excellent, bubbly and full of information. She spoke several languages and took the time to find out where we were all from, giving us all information in our own language. We walked through the old section of the city and took a bus through the upper portion and the more modern section, with the guide giving us information along the way. Montmorency Falls were lovely, but we only stopped there for a very short time. We did not take the cruise, so I cannot speak to that part of the trip.

A few cautionary notes, however. First, the bus line sent a shuttle to pick us up in the morning, but there was no shuttle upon returning to Montréal...make sure you have your own way back to your hotel. We were not told this at all. The bus driver did drop a few folks off at their hotels that happened to be on the way. He did not speak English well, and our French is only fair so communication was challenging. When we asked if there would be a shuttle back, he said he would take us. However, he ended up driving us several miles in the opposite direction of our hotel and basically dropped us off to fend for ourselves...two women alone in a strange city at 9:30 at night. Luckily, we were able to find a metro station and get back safely, but it was very unnerving.

A second caution, the shuttle picked us up at 7 am, and the first opportunity we had to eat was at 2:30. We were extremely hungry. That, combined with the heat of the day and the motion of the bus, left us very ill. I would recommend that you choose another way to visit this lovely city.

Doing what: Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal

Christa D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic tour with wonderful guide Jean Pierre. The length of each stop was just right. I really liked the Falls but it does cost extra to take the Funicular up (you don and #39;t have time to walk it). Our guide was great in explaining what to do at each stop and provided wonderful history throughout

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Audrey J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

time enough to walk to the to of the falls. excellent touring experience on bus and with guide. St. Anne de Beaupre beautiful. This was the shortest trip I had taken but all my tours were with Viator and each one was excellent

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Montmorency Falls and Ste-Anne-de-Beaupré from Quebec

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message