Montreal ATTRACTIONS See all

Notre Dame Basilica

One of Montreal's most enduring symbols, the Notre Dame Basilica occupies a site rich with three centuries of history. The massive, awe-inspiring interior alone is worth a visit, with its wealth of opulent details. Besides religious services, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 76 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

John L

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Overall very informative. I would like to have had notice,however, that the Mass schedule would prohibit us from going into the Notre Dame Basilica.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Kenneth B USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

Actually, I guess I was not very impressed with the tour as about the only thing I remember was the Notre-Dame Basilica. That was impressive. It's always good to tour around a city to get a taste of whats there, but Montreal didn't really impress me. Sorry for the average review, but that is being honest.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Cheryl B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We appreciated the opportunity to divide this tour over two separate days. This enabled us to fit in other activities we had planned and also to avoid getting caught in the rain. Our guide made sure we saw the inside of Notre Dame, and I am so glad he did: it is an amazing structure.

Both guides were engaging and offered interesting anecdotes. The pace was just right. The only downside: an unbelievable pastry shop was pointed out to us at the very end -- but we had to head out for our flight. Next time we will start there Maison Christian Faure!

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

William D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour, knowledgeable guide. Started with Notre Dame Basilica then we walked eastward. Our ticket allowed us to reenter the Basilica later in the day to hear the organ played.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Moky United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This was a quick and easy tour on foot, and the guide was very knowledgeable. However, because of the pace and how little time you spend in any given place, I recommend that you use this as an intro to Old Montreal East at the START of your trip.

After the tour, you may want to revisit a few of the sites you passed through, including the Notre Dame Basilica. Thankfully, the Notre Dame ticket, which is included in the price of this tour, is valid for the rest of the day. So you can return to the site and explore it to your heart's content. Be sure to check the hours of the tour date, though, as the church can sometimes close early depending on holiday observances, special occasions and other factors.

Things to Note:
- This East tour is basically the French side of Old Montreal. West is the English side, in other words.
- The tour is offered in English or French for all times listed they depart from the same spot and time but with different guides you can select the option at the time of booking.
- While this is a very easy walking tour, note that there are a few instances in which you will be climbing or descending steps.
- Again, the Notre Dame Basilica admission ticket is included in the tour price and is valid for the rest of the day you're definitely going to want to return after the tour since you don't spend much time there.
- Depending on the guide, you may or may not pass by Délices boutique on St-Paul Street East. This is a great, higher-end brand of Canadian maple-flavored gifts and souvenirs candy, syrups, cookies, etc. however, you can also find a limited selection of this brand's goods in the Montreal airport if you don't get the chance to return here. Some of their syrup bottles, which are pretty collectibles in and of themselves, are sized to meet TSA approval.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Debra D

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Basilica Notre Dame was beautiful, don't just see it from the outside, you have to go in, and it was included with this tour. Our tour guide was very informative.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Gina T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was very nice, Andre was very informative. He answered all our questions, and took us to interesting parts in the City. It took about 10 minutes to find them in front of Notre Dame Cathedral as it was very busy that day. I think if they had a sign that said the name of the tour company it would be much easier to find them.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Judith K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was really fun and interesting. It was hard to get around Montreal due to construction which caused us to be late for the tour. They waited for us because of the traffic problems. It was an all around great tour that took in the highlights of Montreal. What a clean and nice large city. People were very friendly and all we had to do is ask English to find someone who spoke the language. The only disappointment was we did not get to go inside Notre Dam Cathedral. Highly recommend Viator Tours.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Laura P

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We did the west and east tours of Montreal two separate tours booked back to back. Louis was our guide for both. He was very knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor. The Notre Dame Basilica is beautiful -- and walking through the beautiful residential street behind the church was so peaceful. The east tour was much more interesting and had a lot more to see so if you only have time for one direction -- go east. Other thing learned -- life evolves around Rue St. Paul. Definitely a good tour to get a sense of this part of the city.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

marionbuckley189

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Used the first day to make the complete circuit and become familiar with the city, ending the day with a stop a the Pointe-à-Callière Museum. The second day, went to the Notre Dame Basilica and Mont Royal stops. The Montreal Museum of Fine Arts was in walking distance of the hotel, so didn't need the bus.
It was valuable to have different guides on the various trips out and back, before and after stops - each had a unique perspective and emphasis on the city attractions.

Doing what: Montreal City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Melinda W

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

I've had better. Unfortunately, the major stop at Notre Dame Cathedral was a bust. There were weddings, so we were not able to see inside. The roads were all ripped up all over Montreal, which proved interesting for the driver, but wasted tour time and changed our route several times. These were not the driver's fault. The driver/tour guide was pleasant.
It was ok.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

MEL K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Other than Notre Dame, I found the Old Montreal West tour to be pretty bland and a waste of money.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Aaron F

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

Not even a simple map on the website showing the pick-up points for this tour?!?! Had a miserable experience! Bought these cost nearly 200 for our family! with only one day to spend in Montreal. Saw the list of drop-off/pick-up points on the site and in the confirmation email, but no map. So, we figured it would be obvious like in most cities, including Quebec City. Nope! Our hotel was right down the street from the Notre Dame Basilica listed as a pick-up point and so we walked over there and waited. And waited. And waited. We tried calling the office number, but no one answered. Finally, after wasting 45 minutes of our limited time buses were supposed to come every 15 min, we started asking around and eventually were told that the pick-up point was down the road, not even visible from the Basilica. Turns out, they were right. The pick-up was right by our hotel signified by an indistinguishable no parking type sign. UNBELIEVABLE. How simple it would have been to find had they at very least posted a picture of the map that they hand out on the bus showing the pick-up points. As for the rest of our day, by the time we got on the bus we had lost more than an hour. 20 minutes into our tour, it started pouring rain. Miserable. We've had great experiences in the past with hop-on / hop-off tours, but this one was a real let down.

Doing what: Montreal City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Katrina R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I was only in two for about 24 hours and really decided to focus in on the Old Montreal neighborhood. I took both the East and West tour and both my tour guides, Pierre and Georges, were wonderful. They were very knowledgeable, personable and fun. I didn't realize that the ticket also gets you in to see the Basilica Notre Dame which was a wonderful and jaw-dropping surprise. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone who wants to get to know Old Montreal better.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Kim P United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We enjoyed our tour of East Montreal with Nicole. Loved the Notre Dame Basilica worth going back later for more photos, to learn more in-depth. We learned a lot about various buildings and the city, as well as where to shop and eat lunch. We did this tour with our teenage daughters and were happy with it.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Marlene Goh A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Not worth the price we paid for. Only 2 stops at Notre-Dame Dame Basilica which we could have easily gone by metro and some lookout point at Mt Royal with not much nice views. We went on our own another day to the Beaver Lake and the real lookout point further up with amazing views.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Mary-Ellen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Wonderful tour of Old Montreal. Our tour guide, Christian provided such knowledgeable and informative information. We enjoyed the whole tour, starting of course with the Notre Dame Basilica, such history, Walking around the area, Christian was able to tell us all the facts and history of the places we visited. Highly recommend this tour for visitors to Montreal.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Ravindra J

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very nice bus tour, which enabled us to see most of Montreal in a little over 3 hours. The tour guide, Jean or was it John, who also doubled as the bus driver explained all the sights in a droll and tongue in cheek manner. However, some of his wisecracks, especially those at the expense of the 'co-pilot' passenger sitting right in front became rather repetitive and not very funny after a while. 15 minute stops at some of the major sights such as the Notre Dame Basilica, St Joseph's Oratory and the Olympic Stadium gave us a chance to click good photos and also stretch our legs. Photos taken from inside the bus did not turn out so well, due to the rather reflective windows as also camera shake caused by some bumpy roads. But all in all, this is a good tour for those who are short of time, yet wish to see most of the major sights of Montreal during their visit.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Gerald F

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Tour guide's English was spotty at best. Guide was also the driver so he was not able to attend to questions. Trip seemed rushed. We went into Notre Dame and nearly missed the departing bus. It was difficult to understand what we were looking at, how long we were allowed to stay and where to meet after each stop.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Phil R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This proved to be a very interesting, informative way to view the city of Montreal. We would never have seen half of the sites, if we had driven on our own. The 30 minutes stop at Notre Dame Basilica was especially interesting.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Peter N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour of Old Montreal East. Notre Dame Basilica is a must see. Our Tour guide George is excellent and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Svetoslava S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

It was very nice, the guide was very knolegable, very friendly. The dounside was the cold and rainy weather and the fact that we couldn't go in the Notre Dame due to mass going on.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

angelapmr United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Nice guide telling a lot of jokes on the way. Could see much more nice places compared to a tour just in the old town.
The big disappointment was that we had a 35 min stop at Notre Dame but could not go in: actually, you will never be able to do it before 1pm on Sundays, and most probably Saturdays unless you lie to the guards at the entrance... since no tourists are let in at times of a mess. Tourists are allowed to enter after 1 pm and AFTER paying 5.
Regardless that this seems to be a well known fact the guide advised us to not look like tourists to be able to go in and that all of us were back in 5 min we stayed there for the full 35 min BUT in a cafe which is officially announced as a restroom stop... We had to wait for the guide to have a breakfast and were forced to buy staff which you wouldn't as you cannot just stay in the cafe for half an hour. We wanted to have a sandwich but the grill would not have been ready for another 20 min so we had the sandwich cold. In summary, this seemed like a very questionable stop, esp. that the cafe is selling tickets for the local tour operator's tours.
Otherwise, the tour was nice. Wish we had more time to go in St. Joseph oratory, not just have a 5-min stop for pictures at the entrance. It might not have been possible due to bus parking restrictions but would have been a much better 1/2 h spent instead of in the cafe...

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Apollonia P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

My husband and I did the East and West tours of Old Montreal each 1.5 hours long - we did both on the same day with a break in between - and were exhausted! I'd recommend doing both but not on the same day. the East takes you into Notre-Dame nice start and def a major plus! and seems like the focus is really on the beginning/settling of the town lots of Catholic history versus the West which took us into a more 'modern' time and seemed to focus a lot on banking/bank buildings a bit odd. but in any event was a great way to see both parts of Old Montreal and our guide Justin was very knowledgeable although a bit scatter brained. I'd recommend the tour for sure.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Priscilla Q

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Very time efficient and cost effective way to see Montreal City. The driver/tour guide has a good knowledge of the interesting and historical sites and areas of Montreal City. My granddaughter and I timed our stop/hop off near the Basilica of Notre Dame to attend the midday Mass. It is all in the planning and using the touring time efficiently to see and learn about the sites in Montreal.

Doing what: Montreal City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message