Montreal ATTRACTIONS See all

Old Montreal (Vieux-Montréal)

On the edge of the St Lawrence River, Old Montreal (or Vieux Montréal) is the city’s birthplace with picturesque squares, grand old-world architecture, and a dense concentration of locals and visitors. The narrow Rue St-Paul, the old main ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 112 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michael G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Visiting Montreal was a last minute addition to our trip to Vermont. The night before I was researching things to do in Montreal and came across this tour. Our guide Louis was amazing, personable, and knowledgeable. We learned lots about Old Montreal.
We extended our stay one more day!

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Eliana Yanira J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was awesome!! I took the tour along east and west old Montreal. Frederic is really passionate and knew a lot of facts about everything we saw and the places we visited. After the tour I was able to walk on my own all along old Montreal. Thanks a lot!

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

ira g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

we took both the east and west tours. very informative tour of Old Montreal. learned a lot about the history of New France and it's early inhabitants. worth taking the tour.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

David P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Both guides were very knowledgeable and very friendly. Both tours were a great way to get a general overview of Old Montreal.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Tim O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide Pascoal did a great job of bringing Old Montreal to life. He was also the perfect guide for our family that include a 7 and 9 year old. Pascoal kept our children engaged while still giving a good tour for the adults.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Cathie M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Wear comfortable shoes, it is a lot of walking. The guides really know there stuff and are passionate about their jobs. We did both East and West in one day but you can split it up. We had time to grab a bite of lunch in Old Montreal in between the tours. Very interesting. We would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Steven H

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

It was ok especially if it's you're first time to Old Montreal. But I felt it needed a little more visual appeal or something of more interest. I found myself a little bored around the one hour mark. However it was a very hot day so I could have been just getting hot and thirsty ;-)

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Marylyn H

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

We did both the morning and afternoon walking tour of old Montreal with our two granddaughters. Unfornately they did not find it very interesting. I think if we had had a female guide it may have been better for them. We found during our trip that female guides tell more stories about people which made it more interesting for the girls. Where our male guide mainly just gave us the facts. However my husband and I enjoyed the tour. I went to school in Montreal in the sixties so I found the history interesting how much the city had changed.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Irma Q

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

we sign out for this tour as it read it night tour and casino well the tour start at 7pm we did not see the city at night, and they told us they do not go to the casino anymore. instead we did a tour of the old montreal... terrible we did not see what we ask for.

Doing what: Montreal by Night Tour and Casino Shuttle

Katrina R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I was only in two for about 24 hours and really decided to focus in on the Old Montreal neighborhood. I took both the East and West tour and both my tour guides, Pierre and Georges, were wonderful. They were very knowledgeable, personable and fun. I didn't realize that the ticket also gets you in to see the Basilica Notre Dame which was a wonderful and jaw-dropping surprise. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone who wants to get to know Old Montreal better.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Heather M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My husband and I went to Montreal for our first anniversary, and taking this tour was the highlight of our trip! Our tour guide, Martin, was absolutely fantastic. So fun, personable, and gave interesting facts and history about Old Montreal. This tour is a must!!

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Kirsten W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Rene was an excellent and enthusiastic tour guide. We started in the basilica which was incredibly beautiful. The history of the cathedral and of Old Montreal was interesting and well-communicated. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Julie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Loved everything about this tour! Our guide Stacy was wonderful. Her knowledge of Old Montreal history and beyond made this outing so interesting and enjoyable. It would not have been what is was without her depth of history. Appreciate her sweetness and love of history in general. 5 out of 5!

Doing what: Flavors of Old Montreal Walking Tour

Mary-Ellen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Wonderful tour of Old Montreal. Our tour guide, Christian provided such knowledgeable and informative information. We enjoyed the whole tour, starting of course with the Notre Dame Basilica, such history, Walking around the area, Christian was able to tell us all the facts and history of the places we visited. Highly recommend this tour for visitors to Montreal.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Adeline F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent choice for me and my friend. Stacey was enthusiastic and a fantastic tour guide. Lots of great information and we went back to two of the venues later. I would recommend this short, informative tour to anyone going old Montreal.

Doing what: Flavors of Old Montreal Walking Tour

Peter N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour of Old Montreal East. Notre Dame Basilica is a must see. Our Tour guide George is excellent and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Teena W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Enjoyed our tour with Peggy. She was very informative and answered any question anyone had. It was the first day in Montreal and the tour was very helpful in getting the layout of Old Montreal. Would definitely encourage anyone who is considering a walking tour to take it.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Frances E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our guide, Bruno, was knowledgeable and engaging. It was a very enjoyable 1.5 hours. Well worth the money. We toured the East side of Old Montreal, and we can't wait to go back and tour the west side on a warmer day.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Vivian Yang

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our tour guide George is excellent! I thought it's going to be boring because i book this tour for my mom, who's totally into history kind of things. But the tour is amazing! The tour guide is very resourceful and interesting. He gave a lot of historical information as well as some fun facts. He also mentioned architectural knowledges when it's possible. Very interesting way to learn about the Old Montreal. If possible, I'll give a lot more star than just 5.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Rizwana F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour! We did both the East and West Old Montreal Tours and it was a great time! Our tour guide Georges was knowledgeable, funny and engaging and learned so much about the area. Old Montreal is a quaint, European style town with a lot of character and history. Wear comfortable shoes and sunscreen as there is a lot of walking obviously!. Taking the tour will help you get to know the area much better and we found it very helpful. I absolutely recommend it to anyone going to Montreal!

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Carol L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Perfect way to see Old Montreal. We did the combination of East and West. Carole was our guide and she was fantastic. The walking tour was fast paced and covered a lot of ground. Could have used a little bit longer break between the two activities for lunch but it was a great time.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Daniele G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Nicole did a very good job showing us the western part of old Montreal. The tour was very interesting. We learnt a lot about the history of the town, in which we just arrived to live for three years.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Apollonia P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

My husband and I did the East and West tours of Old Montreal each 1.5 hours long - we did both on the same day with a break in between - and were exhausted! I'd recommend doing both but not on the same day. the East takes you into Notre-Dame nice start and def a major plus! and seems like the focus is really on the beginning/settling of the town lots of Catholic history versus the West which took us into a more 'modern' time and seemed to focus a lot on banking/bank buildings a bit odd. but in any event was a great way to see both parts of Old Montreal and our guide Justin was very knowledgeable although a bit scatter brained. I'd recommend the tour for sure.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Lindsay L

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Good tour. Gives the highlights of old Montreal, including history of how it came to be. Appreciate the 50 off museum coupon with our ticket.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Christine C

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Gave a good overview of Old Montreal, the city's history, and food offerings.

Doing what: Flavors of Old Montreal Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message