Montreal ATTRACTIONS See all

Old Montreal (Vieux-Montréal)

On the edge of the St Lawrence River, Old Montreal (or Vieux Montréal) is the city’s birthplace with picturesque squares, grand old-world architecture, and a dense concentration of locals and visitors. The narrow Rue St-Paul, the old main ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 127 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Charles T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We loved the walking tour! It was made especially interesting and entertaining by our wonderful guide, Ann Marie! She was the best! It was perfect introduction to the old city and its history and prepared us for the rest of our stay in beautiful Old Montreal.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Helen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Even rain could not put a damper on the walking tour of old Montreal. My husband and I recently visited Montreal for an anniversary trip. I have participated in a number of historical walking tours in Europe, and this was certainly up to par with previous experiences. Our guides for both tours, morning and afternoon, were personable, knowledgeable, and conducted the tours with enthusiasm and genuine interest. Each had stories and personal insights which captivated our attention. Tips on where to eat, and other places to places to visit were appreciated. I highly recommend both tours, starting with the French period of the history of Montreal in the morning, and concluding with the English period in the afternoon.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Natalee R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I went on the afternoon tour of Old Montreal West. The guide, Joanne, was terrific. She was very knowledgeable and showed us several places that were not part of the original itinerary.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Moky United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This was a quick and easy tour on foot, and the guide was very knowledgeable. However, because of the pace and how little time you spend in any given place, I recommend that you use this as an intro to Old Montreal East at the START of your trip.

After the tour, you may want to revisit a few of the sites you passed through, including the Notre Dame Basilica. Thankfully, the Notre Dame ticket, which is included in the price of this tour, is valid for the rest of the day. So you can return to the site and explore it to your heart's content. Be sure to check the hours of the tour date, though, as the church can sometimes close early depending on holiday observances, special occasions and other factors.

Things to Note:
- This East tour is basically the French side of Old Montreal. West is the English side, in other words.
- The tour is offered in English or French for all times listed they depart from the same spot and time but with different guides you can select the option at the time of booking.
- While this is a very easy walking tour, note that there are a few instances in which you will be climbing or descending steps.
- Again, the Notre Dame Basilica admission ticket is included in the tour price and is valid for the rest of the day you're definitely going to want to return after the tour since you don't spend much time there.
- Depending on the guide, you may or may not pass by Délices boutique on St-Paul Street East. This is a great, higher-end brand of Canadian maple-flavored gifts and souvenirs candy, syrups, cookies, etc. however, you can also find a limited selection of this brand's goods in the Montreal airport if you don't get the chance to return here. Some of their syrup bottles, which are pretty collectibles in and of themselves, are sized to meet TSA approval.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Edward B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Generally a good tour, maybe a little long. Did not need to see the Formula One race track, would have preferred more time in Old Montreal.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Suzanne M

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

Old Montreal is a great part of Montreal, and this tour does show you a lot of the area. Our guide was knowledgeable of the area. However, this tour only had four small bites of food in one of the best food areas of Montreal. The title does so flavors and not food tour, so be forewarned. That is quite disapponting since there is such good food in this area. The Mile End Food Tour is far better for foodies!

Doing what: Flavors of Old Montreal Walking Tour

Janice K

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

Tour was long and we had trouble hearing/understanding the guide. I think next time I'd do a hop on, hop off tour and spend time in Old Montreal, if there is such a thing.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

TANIA M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We - a group of retired elementary teachers - took the combination East/West Tour of Old Montreal. We all thoroughly both parts. The pace was relaxing and we were able to go inside two very interesting buildings on the West Tour. We enjoyed Louis's sense of humor and Martin's willingness to stay after the tour and answer our questions. Both guides were very knowledgeable, interesting, obviously proud of their city, and willing to share restaurant suggestions!

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Silvia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour is great, just make sure you have your walking shoes and plenty of battery on your phone or a good camera. So much to take pictures of. The guides are friendly and knowledgeable. They keep you engaged and give you recommendations of other things to do and where to eat in old Montreal. Make sure you take the morning tour. The Basilica is worth the price of the tour.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

JANICE O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a great time walking around Old Montreal and learning so much about the city. A good event for couples or families with older kids. Our guide was so interesting and fun to walk with.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

rtt81073

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Martine was an excellent tour guide on a lovely day made for a walk around Old Montreal. She was enthusiastic and knowledgeable in discussing variety of cultures which influence regional food. We tasted a small variety of appetizers which were very good and diverse including two kinds of pate', small tart, macaroon, small deli-type sandwich and gelato. Also gave us a historic background of different areas we walked and pointed out and discussed important monuments and places of interest.

Doing what: Flavors of Old Montreal Walking Tour

Les M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My wife REALLY enjoyed our walking tour of Old Montreal. Our tour director, Jo Ann, really was good and very informative. She was able not only to give us the history of what we saw, but she also provided a lot of tidbits that simply captured and held our interests. Thanks for providing a wonderful experience.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Robert C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic city to take a bike tour. Our guide Pam was a wealth of knowledge and showed us Old Montreal, Chinese and Italian sections, McGill University, and much, much more. We even got to keep the bikes till 7 p.m. though the tour was completed by 2:00! Bikes were as advertised and in good condition. Be prepared...you will be riding in a very busy city, but Pam was strict on safety while presenting this amazing place to us.

Doing what: 4-Hour Montreal Half-Day Bike Tour

Gladys T

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The walking tour was great. It was so informative and fun. I've been to Old Montreal on my own several times now and we went to places that were so significant in Montreal's history that I've missed on my other trips. Joanne was a great guide. She was very flexible and took us to some out of the beaten path sights. It was so worth going around with a knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Michael G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Visiting Montreal was a last minute addition to our trip to Vermont. The night before I was researching things to do in Montreal and came across this tour. Our guide Louis was amazing, personable, and knowledgeable. We learned lots about Old Montreal.
We extended our stay one more day!

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Eliana Yanira J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was awesome!! I took the tour along east and west old Montreal. Frederic is really passionate and knew a lot of facts about everything we saw and the places we visited. After the tour I was able to walk on my own all along old Montreal. Thanks a lot!

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

ira g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

we took both the east and west tours. very informative tour of Old Montreal. learned a lot about the history of New France and it's early inhabitants. worth taking the tour.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

David P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Both guides were very knowledgeable and very friendly. Both tours were a great way to get a general overview of Old Montreal.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Tim O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide Pascoal did a great job of bringing Old Montreal to life. He was also the perfect guide for our family that include a 7 and 9 year old. Pascoal kept our children engaged while still giving a good tour for the adults.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Cathie M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Wear comfortable shoes, it is a lot of walking. The guides really know there stuff and are passionate about their jobs. We did both East and West in one day but you can split it up. We had time to grab a bite of lunch in Old Montreal in between the tours. Very interesting. We would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Steven H

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

It was ok especially if it's you're first time to Old Montreal. But I felt it needed a little more visual appeal or something of more interest. I found myself a little bored around the one hour mark. However it was a very hot day so I could have been just getting hot and thirsty ;-)

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Marylyn H

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

We did both the morning and afternoon walking tour of old Montreal with our two granddaughters. Unfornately they did not find it very interesting. I think if we had had a female guide it may have been better for them. We found during our trip that female guides tell more stories about people which made it more interesting for the girls. Where our male guide mainly just gave us the facts. However my husband and I enjoyed the tour. I went to school in Montreal in the sixties so I found the history interesting how much the city had changed.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

MEL K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Other than Notre Dame, I found the Old Montreal West tour to be pretty bland and a waste of money.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Irma Q

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

we sign out for this tour as it read it night tour and casino well the tour start at 7pm we did not see the city at night, and they told us they do not go to the casino anymore. instead we did a tour of the old montreal... terrible we did not see what we ask for.

Doing what: Montreal by Night Tour

Katrina R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I was only in two for about 24 hours and really decided to focus in on the Old Montreal neighborhood. I took both the East and West tour and both my tour guides, Pierre and Georges, were wonderful. They were very knowledgeable, personable and fun. I didn't realize that the ticket also gets you in to see the Basilica Notre Dame which was a wonderful and jaw-dropping surprise. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone who wants to get to know Old Montreal better.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Old Montreal

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message