Once the site of the 1976 Olympic Games, Montreal’s Olympic Park is now known as Space for Life, the largest scientific complex in all of Canada. The stadium was used for baseball for many years following the Olympics, until the local team moved to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 25 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Laurie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

If this is your first time in Montreal, taking this tour will give you a perspective of differents sites and locations....and from there you can figure your new destinations. The Olympic Village is quite the visual and the different neighborhoods to see while be driven around.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Peter N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great views of the city from atop the Olympic Stadium. BioDome is always a treat and a great way to see some of the local wildlife. Kids and adults love it.

Doing what: Montreal Tower Observatory Admission plus Optional Ticket to the Biodome

Barbara S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This is not really a tour. I purchased the admission because is was a little cheaper than buying tickets on the day itself. It was also a better deal since we included the Biodome. The printed voucher has to be presented at the ticket office to obtain the actual tickets. All in all it saved us some money. The Observatory was interesting and since we are Olympic fans and the 2016 games were underway, it was fun to be at this Olympic site.

Doing what: Montreal Tower Observatory Admission plus Optional Ticket to the Biodome

Bill M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

If you drive into Montreal, my BIG TIP would be to park on the street nearby and pay the meter for a couple hours. We were there on a Saturday afternoon and it seemed that most side streets had plenty of spots to park, and the underground parking at the Observatory, while extremely convenient / protected / and great for anyone with mobility difficulty, is 17 CD. Not a real tour at the Observatory. You go up...you stay a while ...see things...you come down / all whenever you like. Views were definitely outstanding and worth it at the top. We did the Biodome also, and it was fun and interesting, but my daughter is a big swimmer and we spent our time looking at the Olympic pools and watching some water polo.

Doing what: Montreal Tower Observatory Admission plus Optional Ticket to the Biodome

Jim l

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

The tour of the Olympic stadium was much more enjoyed which can be purchased when you get to the stadium. The tower was not working the day we booked.

Doing what: Montreal Tower Observatory Admission plus Optional Ticket to the Biodome

Ravindra J

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very nice bus tour, which enabled us to see most of Montreal in a little over 3 hours. The tour guide, Jean or was it John, who also doubled as the bus driver explained all the sights in a droll and tongue in cheek manner. However, some of his wisecracks, especially those at the expense of the 'co-pilot' passenger sitting right in front became rather repetitive and not very funny after a while. 15 minute stops at some of the major sights such as the Notre Dame Basilica, St Joseph's Oratory and the Olympic Stadium gave us a chance to click good photos and also stretch our legs. Photos taken from inside the bus did not turn out so well, due to the rather reflective windows as also camera shake caused by some bumpy roads. But all in all, this is a good tour for those who are short of time, yet wish to see most of the major sights of Montreal during their visit.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Anne R

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Overall a great view of Montreal. Less of the old scrap heaps including the expo and Olympic sites. More of the shrines and the quaintness/charm of the city. Great guide.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Cathy J

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

The line was only moderately long we got there early. The ride up and down was thrilling. The top of the observatory offered great views looking back at the city of Montreal. My only disappointment was that the whole olympic village was so dated without any real effort to make it visually appealing. Best example were the pictures of the olympian athletes which were frayed and fading.

Doing what: Montreal Tower Observatory Admission plus Optional Ticket to the Biodome

Daniel S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Excellent Tour. Wonderful for the family. View from the tower is terrific, history of Olympics games always interesting and the biodome was great. Only minor downside was that they recommend the planetarium for 7yrs+

Doing what: Montreal Tower Observatory Admission plus Optional Ticket to the Biodome

Uwe S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The tour was great, however there are not enough stops and on the stops time is oo short to make photos. The tour is extensive and maybe some features should be cut to allow more time at special stops such as Notre Dame Cathedrale, although there was a 15 minute stop, but the line-ups were so long that we never made it inside, the same goes for the Olympic installations, a 5 minute stop is too short.
A suggestion: there should be an extra tour guide on board to explain things, the bus driver is trying his best but he also has to watch the road and cannot devote too much time for explanations.
Maybe you could consider this.
Irene Schmidt

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Daniel S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Montreal is a wonderful city. It was easy to navigate by foot or by subway. It is a young, vibrant place. The Botanical gardens and the Olympic park are must sees. Even though French prevails, it was easy to communicate needs in English.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Rosanne R

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Nice but Just like so many tours, I should have asked more questions. A big disappointment was getting all the way out to St Joseph 's Oratory and not being able to go inside. What is the point??? I would have rather just drive by Olympic Village with no stop and been able to go inside church

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Anna Lorraine Philippines

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Almost perfect but there should be stops to the Olympic sites and atleast a 30min chance to go up the St. Joseph Oratory.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Lady Diane C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The grayhound bus was great, spacious and comfortable, complete with a bathroom! It was a terrific way to get an overview of the city and see all the hot spots! Very beneficial for first timers. We appreciated our driver Jean for his sense of humor. Stops at the Notre Dame Basilica (20 min to go inside, you must buy your own ticket), St Joseph's Oratory, Olympic Park and Mont Royal (5 min each for pictures only). Overall, my friends and I had a wonderful time.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Keri A

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Driver was fantastic. We loved the Notre Dame stop. Could have spent more time there and cut out bathroom stop across from Olympic stadium.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Jenron

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

This was a great way to see all of the city, our driver Angelo was great. He stopped several places including Notre Dame, which we had time to tour, other stops for photos and quick breaks wereSt. Joseph's Oratory, Olympic Tower, and the Montreal Overlook which was a great view!! Angelo also was a wealth of knowledge he included the metro station information for other big attractions like the Botanical Gardens and Bio Dome so we were able to revisit the next day with easy. Also recommended the best poutine in town a little hole in the wall name La Banquise which was out of this world wonderful and just a quick metro ride away from our hotel. This tour is well worth the money and great way to get your bearings and see the entire city :)

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Denise B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

My sons and I enjoyed the sightseeing tour. We had arranged pick up from our hotel but later learned we were within walking distance of the tour office. Pick up was prompt and the driver was courteous. The 3-hour tour was just enough to hold the interest of a 17- and 23-year-old. The only change I would suggest would be to allow time to actually walk around the Olympic Park rather than just view it from the distance (even though it was a great photo op). The tour was well worth the money.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Kelvin B United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

Good points - hotel pickup/drop off, we saw most of the main city centre attractions, plus the olympic stadium and other outskirts sights.

Less good - the driver/guide did not seem particularly enthusiastic.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Jeffrey L. M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

A very good bus tour that provided us with a good overview of Old and New Montreal. We really enjoyed the visit to the Olympic Stadium and nearby facilities. as with any bus tour of this type, you don't have much time to see anything in depth. However, we recommend it as a good introduction to the city and then you will have a better idea of where you want to spend your additional time in Montreal.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Michael O

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2011

It was very nice being picked up and dropped back at our hotel after the tour, and the guide was engaging and informative and funny. Once we were picked up we were brought to the ticket booth where we had to wait in line for tickets even though we had purchased them on line, which was bothersome. Although it was advertised as a 3 hour tour, it was only 2 1/2 hours; for $45 each we wanted a full 3 hours! We did see the major sights, like Mount Royal and the Olympic Stadium and Village, but the majority of time is spent navigating city traffic while the driver pointed out various office buildings. We'd recommend the walking tour of Old Montreal and using public transportation to see Mount Royal and Notre Dame and the botanical gardens instead of this bus tour.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

andresochoag

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

You definitely have to go to the observatory but the guided tour is not that interesting. You can buy tickets for the observatory tower and wonder around the Olympic pool. If you buy the guided tour you also gain access to see the Olympic park that is a very big empty space that is not very interesting. Outside the tower is the biodome, it’s not included in the tour but you can buy tickets and see animals and vegetation of 3 different climates.

Doing what: Montreal Tower Observatory Admission plus Optional Ticket to the Biodome

Dorian M USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2010

It gives you a good view of the city but it's a bit short. You should lump it with a tour to the Botanical Garden, Olympic Stadium and the Biodome next door.

Doing what: Montreal Tower Observatory Admission plus Optional Ticket to the Biodome

Anonymous

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2009

The tour is in a big bus with 50 or so people. The driver/tour guide was ok. They just drop you at four stops: Notre Dame, Olympic Park, Mont Royal and St. Joseph for 10 mins of picture taking. It was ok during this time because it was cold. However, skip this tour and just go to the tourist center, get a map, a metro card ticket and explore. The people at the tourist center are very helpful.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

It was good. They should have given us some time at the Olympic Park.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Cathy L Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2009

It was worth doing. It took you out side of the more touristy area and gave a face to regular everyday Montreal. The highlights such as Olympic Stadium, Mount Royal, etc were short photo opportunities but enjoyed them. An enjoyable 2 hours. Picked up at hotel was a big bonus as well.

Doing what: Montreal City Guided Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message