Moscow ATTRACTIONS See all

Red Square (Krasnaya Ploschad)

Red Square is the central square in Moscow, sitting just northeast of the famous Kremlin. Once a marketplace, over the years it has been the sight of public ceremonies and proclamations, the occasional coronation and during Soviet times, military ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 112 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Nicky B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is a very good tour if you have a couple of hours to learn about the main sights in Moscow. The guide had excellent knowledge about all the building and the history. The tour was very informative and the walk was at a very leisurely pace. I definitely recommend this.

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

Delwyn N Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

We really enjoyed the trip...worth staying on for both routes and then hop off where u want to as the traffic is quite congested and takes a fair while to get around.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Moscow Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Christopher E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I had a fantastic experience with Anna M. from Viator. First let me say, I have been on other Viator tours, and the guides are so scripted and boring. Anna was the exact opposite she was very casual, laid back, knowledgeable, friendly and spoke excellent English shes also got this pretty fiery red hair absolutely beautiful it was like I was on a tour with a friend. She picked me up at my hotel and immediately we made small talk before starting the tour, which made me more comfortable. She asked if there was anything specific I wanted to see first and made sure to point things out along the way that we would see even if not immediately, but would give me a short description of anyway. We started by taking the underground metro where she did all the translation for me to get my tickets and immediately she talked about the metro trains why they are so deep and the history of the stations. We took the train to a stop right outside the Red Square and Kremlin and Anna showed immediately how informative and knowledgeable about Moscow she was by telling me the history of the Red Square. As an American, you truly cannot appreciate the Red Square and Kremlin until youve gained a bit about the history and what it means to Russia, and the relevance it has. I wish I could have recorded everything she told me because as I was going through my pictures, I realized how much she had shown me in such a short amount of time. Anna was so knowledgeable, whenever I asked questions, she would always share more. She would tell me later in the tour, that when she first started doing tours, she started to notice little things around Moscow and started to learn even more. Heres where the tour turned EXCELLENT: all throughout the tour we talked about places we had been, family, where I am from and at some point, I mentioned I have a daughter. she took the time to sort of customize the tour so I could get a gift for my daughter! Anna is the best!

Doing what: Private Moscow City Tour with Red Square and Kremlin

Tobias W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very knowledgeable guide. Took me for a great walk around. Make sure you have some time after the tour to stroll around on your own to reflect on things and let it all sink in....!

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

Beatrice D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

relaxing way to have a first view of the city - very friendly and skilful guide

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

laura

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We were able to board a bus almost immediately. Condition of bus was fine and the audio jacks worked and was easy to understand. Downside is that Moscow traffic around the Kremlin area is VERY congested and bus was caught in standstill traffic. Reasonable price for bus compared to other countries in Europe.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Moscow Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Tobias W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Good way to get around!

Doing what: City Sightseeing Moscow Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

david o

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Good young guide Irina?, lots of energy and enthusiasm.

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

Virginia W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Tour guide was good and thorough

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

billysremac

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The organization was excellent. A guide Elena and a driver were very pleasant. Elena was knowledgeable and ready to answer all my questions.

Doing what: Private Moscow City Tour with Red Square and Kremlin

Margie C USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It took me to all the sites I wanted to see in Moscow. It was a perfect way to get around.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Moscow Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

stalin80

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

it was a bit slow to get going, to many kids on board and moaning italians, but it was cheap and it showed me some interesting places,

Doing what: City Sightseeing Moscow Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Allyson W USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Take this tour!! My tour guide, Dasha was the best. She picked my up at 8am on time and she showed me what we were going to see. First the Metro then to the Red Square. Lenin's Mausoleum, St Basil's Cathedral, Gum Department store, stopping for lunch, taking a lot of pictures along the way. Next we walked to the Kremlin, checking out a hugh cannon and bell before going the the Kremlin Cathedrals. So much to see. Final the Armony, Faberge eggs!. Wear comfortable shoes and expect to see beautiful Moscow. Enjoy!!

Doing what: Private Moscow City Tour with Red Square and Kremlin

Alfred B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was extensive and just what we wanted. Our Guide Angelina was first class, giving great detail to all the sites, together with local and historical information. She was a pure delight. This tour is well worth a visit.

Doing what: Private Moscow City Tour with Red Square and Kremlin

Joanne A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was 10 out of 10. Our tour leader was Arkady who has been conducting tours for decades ... his English is superb and his knowledge of Russian history is outstanding. We saw and learned so much more doing this tour than what we could have seen on our own. Most tourists are only a short time in Russia my advice is don't waste any time here and take a tour. Its an investment!

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

Joanne A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I highly recommend this tour which was thoroughly enjoyed by our family of four. Our tour guide's name was Arkady who was extremely well-educated and seemed to possess sophisticated knowledge of Russian history and current economics. Arkady was very attentive and went well over the two hours allotted to our tour time. We could not have found all the famous churches and streets, and gleaned such rich insight into the incredible history of Moscow without the assistance of our amazing tour guide.

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

Erica C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Fantastic tour! The Guide was so nice!
I had a job problem and I advised on the last moment to change the day of the tour!
Everyone helped us to find a solution!
Moscow is a wonderful city and the guide is necessary!
I really suggest this tour!

Doing what: Private Moscow City Tour with Red Square and Kremlin

Vera T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour was fabulous. My guide Karina picked me up at my hotel in time and showed me around Moscow by foot and metro for about 5 hours. Karina spoke English very well and was wonderfully knowledgeable about Russian history, art, and religion and answered my many questions patiently and thoroughly while showing me around the main sights of Moscow. She also took me to a very traditional a little touristy... restaurant and picked authentic dishes for me this is very much unlike the bland lunches usually included in prebooked tours!. I highly recommend this tour, esp. when you are by yourself and for the first time in Moscow. expect a lot of walking :. the tour is totally worth the money. Many Thanks!

Doing what: Private Moscow City Tour with Red Square and Kremlin

Vero A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very practical if you want to go to tourist attractions.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Moscow Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Daniel N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very effective tour. It met our expectations.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Moscow Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Karim Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was an excellent tour. My guide knew a lot about Moscow. I had a great time walking around the city with him. It was a pleasant and instructive walk. Recommended !

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

raymond p

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Very good overview of the important sites within the city center. The ability to jump off and explore and then rejoin again made it very convenient. I would definitely recommend it for first time visitors or for travelers with a very limited time in Moscow as it covers all the must see sites

Doing what: City Sightseeing Moscow Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Nick

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This ended to be one on one walking tour so I got special attention. The guide was just amazing and got into the history of the Soviet Union etc. Moscow is one of the most amazing cities contrary to the media.

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message