One of the largest cities of the world and the heart of Russia for centuries, Moscow is a vibrant, eclectic city with a little something for everyone. A three-day visit to this historic city isn’t about relaxation, but about squeezing in as much ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 244 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Amal C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very caring, showed us everything we wanted to see and more, amazing service and very freindly

Doing what: Kremlin Small-Group Tour

Leia V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tour guide was knowledgeable and engaging. She shared personal anecdotes and tied it to the way things are today and the differences. I learned a lot and the time flew on this tour. It also pointed out things I never would have seen or known had I not taken this tour. A must do tour!

Doing what: Communist Moscow: Evening Walking Tour

Tim M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour! I love history and I grew up in America during the 80s during the waning days of Communism, so this interested me from a personal historical standpoint. Our guide took us around Red Square and the area and discussed the uprising that brought down Russia's last tsar and ushered in Communism, Lenin and his views of Communism that were never quite realized and Stalin's terror that cost millions of lives. She pointed our several buildings that were central to Russia's Communist government, some still in existence in a government capacity, some now converted to other uses. This tour didn't bang the drum for Communism nor did it demonize it completely impartial. Just make sure you dress warmly for the winter because it's a night tour that takes place mostly outside!

Doing what: Communist Moscow: Evening Walking Tour

Leia V

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

This ended up being a one-on-one private tour and I learned a lot. The tour guide was very knowledgeable. The tour guide was older and pretty serious, so not very cheery or upbeat, and didn't seem to relate anything to me personally when I would make comments. Tour was ok but I would have preferred more interaction since it was just the two of us. But she did add an extra tour through St. Basil's Cathedral and got us in around the line, which she didn't have to do and was not part of the tour I paid separate for entrance.

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

jadasullivan7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fantastic tour! Faberge collection and coaches are amazing!

Doing what: Early-Admission Kremlin Tour in Moscow: Armory, Diamond Fund Exhibition and Assumption Cathedral

jadasullivan7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Loads of information about propaganda and showed us some unique historical spots!

Doing what: Communist Moscow: Evening Walking Tour

Sophie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great visit ! Our guide Irina was a real sunshine and she told us many exciting stories about the history of the Moscow metro. I truly recommend!

Doing what: Moscow Metro Tour

Francesca C

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide Irina was lovely and very knowledgeable. The tour is great, would definitely recommend, but it feels a little bit rushed as it only covers a small part of the interesting stations. Perhaps a longer tour would be a good idea. Spasiba, it was a really enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Moscow Metro Tour

Rachel M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This was a great way to see a part of Moscow that most tourists don't visit. We LOVED our guide she was knowledgeable and funny and helped everyone find a good place to eat after the tour. I only wish she told MORE stories we didn't hear about free masons and sorcerers, and sadly did not end at the Soviet era pub. Otherwise, my husband and I thought it was wonderful despite the cold!

Doing what: Moscow at Night: Small-Group Walking Tour with Annushka Tram

Andrew G

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

Worth doing, however lacked interesting stories. If I ever went back to Moscow, I'd try to find another tour company.

Doing what: Communist Moscow: Evening Walking Tour

HU L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wing Han Jojo C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We enjoyed this metro tour very much and beautiful train stations.

Doing what: Moscow Metro Tour

Ian D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great introduction to Moscow. This was out first morning haveing arrived late into Moscow - so this was a wonderful orientation to the city. We covered quite a distance but had repeated stops to learn about the historical significance of the buildings. Some great anecdotes of life in Russia.

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

Emma M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Guide excellent! We would not be able to travel alone under the incomprehensive language.

Doing what: Moscow Metro Tour

Rachelle M H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was very exciting, informative, and personal. We had an AMAZING time with our guide and truly learned a lot from our experience. I would recommend this tour and this guide to anyone who plans to travel to this area of Europe. The tour was well-worth the money, and I will definitely book this tour or a similar tour the next time I travel!

Doing what: Communist Moscow: Evening Walking Tour

sarians

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour, informative guide Marina, good length of time, we had group of 10. On and off the metro, very interesting history.

Doing what: Moscow Metro Tour

Stephen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

was my first of many tours and loved it - thanks again

Doing what: Moscow at Night: Small-Group Walking Tour with Annushka Tram

Stephen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

great way to say hello to Moscow

Doing what: Moscow at Night: Small-Group Walking Tour with Annushka Tram

Ian D

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

A wonderful visit to the Kremlin - our guide Tatiana was extermely knowledgeable and gave us just the right amount of information for our 13 and 17 year old. Amazing to see all the Russian treasures in the Diamond fund and Armory and inside the beautiful churches. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Early-Admission Kremlin Tour in Moscow: Armory, Diamond Fund Exhibition and Assumption Cathedral

Robert P

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Interesting with enthusiastic knowledgeable guide

Doing what: Communist Moscow: Evening Walking Tour

Frederick B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

I had a Sunday evening to fill in Moscow before a morning train to St. Petersburg, and this was a nice way to get a feel for a different side of the city. The tour departed from a statue in the park outside the Kitay-Gorad metro, which was great since I had spent the afternoon nearby. About 8 people had signed up for a Sunday evening. Our guide, Vicky, was a fun and free-spirited young woman who spoke excellent colloquial English although I pointed out to her that hunky-dory is not a current expression, and I added awesomesauce to her vocabulary!

This tour explores the somewhat seedy underside of Moscow, which is quickly disappearing with the gentrification of the urban core. We saw a church where the KGB had executed prisoners, walked through the old Ukrainian ghetto that is quickly transforming, saw some former brothels and illicit distilleries, and then took the tram to the now-fashionable over the river neighborhood. Vicky pointed out a number of good and affordable restaurant options, and gave other suggestions of nice areas to explore in the city. It was a nice way to spend a few hours and I'd recommend this as a supplement to the typical cathedral and Kremlin tours.

Doing what: Moscow at Night: Small-Group Walking Tour with Annushka Tram

Michael M Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Tour just didn't happen. Directions for meeting guide very general - Biblioteka Lenina metro, Kutafia Tower of the Moscow Kremlin. Starting time 2pm. We were there at 1 30. Stayed till 2 30. Looked for guide, asked various tour leaders who assured us we were in the right place, walked round looking for someone identifying themselves as being from Viator. Back at hotel rang the company who told us guide was there from 2pm till 2 15. If she or he was then they made no effort to look for us and we were very disappointed and have paid for a tour that was supposed to happen and didn't. We couldn't do the tour the next day as we were leaving Moscow. Not happy!

Doing what: Moscow Metro Tour

Rafiq J

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Getting confused from losing track of which station to get and getting off the wrong stop, I was running late to the group at some white building with 3 brown doors at the Bibliotheca Lenin station.

Wondering how I got confused on the Moscow metro, let me break it down for you, 1 if you don't know the Russian alphabet, you are screwed as the signs above aren't in English and if lucky, the signs on the ground are if present or if an English speaking Russian if there to help you. And 2 the metro station names are on walls where the trains are - meaning, you have to listen to the station announcements which is helpful if you know Russian as they are in the Russian alphabet, look at the metro map and countdown the station stops to your stop or look for the station name thru the window facing the tunnel walls which are photographer in Russian.

So, now that we all are clear on the challenges of navigating the Moscow Metro if not knowing Russian, now are the 1-star review. The office could not reached the tour guild at all. I called the phone number provided to informed them I'm running late. They told me the right building to go to at the Bibliotheca Lenin station I was at the library side going to strange groups of people thinking they are the tour group and the tour guide would wait 10 minutes. OK, fair enough, but they could not contact the tour guide. I was minutes away and it was nearing 2:10pm, so I had to hassle, but you cannot cross the street to from library side to the Red Square unless one has a death wish, not doing what to do, eventually, I discovered realized that they underground pedestrian tunnels. So, I take it to cross the street, but got off on the wrong side. So, its back underground again, to the ride side where the white building with 3 wooden doors is, looking for the tour guide while making my way thru some Chinese tourists acting like children at Disney world to a tour group for a different tour, but of the same company, wh

Doing what: Moscow Metro Tour

Rockwell K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great guide! Great art!

Doing what: Moscow Metro Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message