One of the largest cities of the world and the heart of Russia for centuries, Moscow is a vibrant, eclectic city with a little something for everyone. A three-day visit to this historic city isn’t about relaxation, but about squeezing in as much ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 246 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

HU L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wing Han Jojo C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We enjoyed this metro tour very much and beautiful train stations.

Doing what: Moscow Metro Tour

Ian D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great introduction to Moscow. This was out first morning haveing arrived late into Moscow - so this was a wonderful orientation to the city. We covered quite a distance but had repeated stops to learn about the historical significance of the buildings. Some great anecdotes of life in Russia.

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

Emma M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Guide excellent! We would not be able to travel alone under the incomprehensive language.

Doing what: Moscow Metro Tour

Rachelle M H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was very exciting, informative, and personal. We had an AMAZING time with our guide and truly learned a lot from our experience. I would recommend this tour and this guide to anyone who plans to travel to this area of Europe. The tour was well-worth the money, and I will definitely book this tour or a similar tour the next time I travel!

Doing what: Communist Moscow: Evening Walking Tour

sarians

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour, informative guide Marina, good length of time, we had group of 10. On and off the metro, very interesting history.

Doing what: Moscow Metro Tour

Stephen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

was my first of many tours and loved it - thanks again

Doing what: Moscow at Night: Small-Group Walking Tour with Annushka Tram

Stephen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

great way to say hello to Moscow

Doing what: Moscow at Night: Small-Group Walking Tour with Annushka Tram

Ian D

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

A wonderful visit to the Kremlin - our guide Tatiana was extermely knowledgeable and gave us just the right amount of information for our 13 and 17 year old. Amazing to see all the Russian treasures in the Diamond fund and Armory and inside the beautiful churches. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Early-Admission Kremlin Tour in Moscow: Armory, Diamond Fund Exhibition and Assumption Cathedral

Robert P

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Interesting with enthusiastic knowledgeable guide

Doing what: Communist Moscow: Evening Walking Tour

Frederick B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

I had a Sunday evening to fill in Moscow before a morning train to St. Petersburg, and this was a nice way to get a feel for a different side of the city. The tour departed from a statue in the park outside the Kitay-Gorad metro, which was great since I had spent the afternoon nearby. About 8 people had signed up for a Sunday evening. Our guide, Vicky, was a fun and free-spirited young woman who spoke excellent colloquial English although I pointed out to her that hunky-dory is not a current expression, and I added awesomesauce to her vocabulary!

This tour explores the somewhat seedy underside of Moscow, which is quickly disappearing with the gentrification of the urban core. We saw a church where the KGB had executed prisoners, walked through the old Ukrainian ghetto that is quickly transforming, saw some former brothels and illicit distilleries, and then took the tram to the now-fashionable over the river neighborhood. Vicky pointed out a number of good and affordable restaurant options, and gave other suggestions of nice areas to explore in the city. It was a nice way to spend a few hours and I'd recommend this as a supplement to the typical cathedral and Kremlin tours.

Doing what: Moscow at Night: Small-Group Walking Tour with Annushka Tram

Michael M Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Tour just didn't happen. Directions for meeting guide very general - Biblioteka Lenina metro, Kutafia Tower of the Moscow Kremlin. Starting time 2pm. We were there at 1 30. Stayed till 2 30. Looked for guide, asked various tour leaders who assured us we were in the right place, walked round looking for someone identifying themselves as being from Viator. Back at hotel rang the company who told us guide was there from 2pm till 2 15. If she or he was then they made no effort to look for us and we were very disappointed and have paid for a tour that was supposed to happen and didn't. We couldn't do the tour the next day as we were leaving Moscow. Not happy!

Doing what: Moscow Metro Tour

Rafiq J

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Getting confused from losing track of which station to get and getting off the wrong stop, I was running late to the group at some white building with 3 brown doors at the Bibliotheca Lenin station.

Wondering how I got confused on the Moscow metro, let me break it down for you, 1 if you don't know the Russian alphabet, you are screwed as the signs above aren't in English and if lucky, the signs on the ground are if present or if an English speaking Russian if there to help you. And 2 the metro station names are on walls where the trains are - meaning, you have to listen to the station announcements which is helpful if you know Russian as they are in the Russian alphabet, look at the metro map and countdown the station stops to your stop or look for the station name thru the window facing the tunnel walls which are photographer in Russian.

So, now that we all are clear on the challenges of navigating the Moscow Metro if not knowing Russian, now are the 1-star review. The office could not reached the tour guild at all. I called the phone number provided to informed them I'm running late. They told me the right building to go to at the Bibliotheca Lenin station I was at the library side going to strange groups of people thinking they are the tour group and the tour guide would wait 10 minutes. OK, fair enough, but they could not contact the tour guide. I was minutes away and it was nearing 2:10pm, so I had to hassle, but you cannot cross the street to from library side to the Red Square unless one has a death wish, not doing what to do, eventually, I discovered realized that they underground pedestrian tunnels. So, I take it to cross the street, but got off on the wrong side. So, its back underground again, to the ride side where the white building with 3 wooden doors is, looking for the tour guide while making my way thru some Chinese tourists acting like children at Disney world to a tour group for a different tour, but of the same company, wh

Doing what: Moscow Metro Tour

Rockwell K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great guide! Great art!

Doing what: Moscow Metro Tour

Ruth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Loved this tour. We saw perhaps 8 different metro stations - all very different and interesting. It's a fascinating metro.

Doing what: Moscow Metro Tour

Kelly M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Elena is a wonderful guide. The metro is stunningly beautiful and an incredible feat of engineering that all should see. Was a very memorable experience!

Doing what: Moscow Metro Tour

Marilyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was excellent. The guide not only showed us the beautiful metro stations, she introduced us to the metro system so that we were not afraid to try to use it independently.

Doing what: Moscow Metro Tour

soterios a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very knowledgeable tour guide. Fabulous. However the Kremlin was not too nice, did not allow her in with us and she tried to get a ticket and also to give us some audio headsets and they did not allow her in a certain area. They then wanted her info. It was very upsetting. She did not do anything wrong, I hope this got resolved. She is a very kind and smart woman.

Doing what: Early-Admission Kremlin Tour in Moscow: Armory, Diamond Fund Exhibition and Assumption Cathedral

Margaret V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

As a solo female traveller, I opted for this private tour to help orientate myself on the first day in Moscow. Was so glad I did !
It gave me confidence to navigate the metro system alone and to get my bearings with a local who could give advice. It was great to get a feel for places and areas that I could return to afterwards but even if you did only one trip whilst in Moscow this would ensure you saw all the highlights. Perfect !

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Moscow Including the Kremlin

Josefina

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Irina, our guide was great, very knowlegeble and the tour is very interesting, dull of interesting facts.

Doing what: Moscow Metro Tour

Ken B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Guide was very good and personable. Level of knowledge/detail was about what I expected and all that I required.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Moscow Including the Kremlin

Ruth M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Very enjoyable tour. I anticipate people will have different expectations of it. The tour is not a chronology, rather the guide provided insights into communist times and contrasted these to the present day at times, prompted by the buildings we were passing. An eclectic mix of info.

Doing what: Communist Moscow: Evening Walking Tour

Margaret V

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The guide was very knowledgeable about the different stations and seeing how different they were and the reasons behind the designs was fascinating. Perfect length too, just right to fit in during the afternoon.

Doing what: Moscow Metro Tour

Barbara M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was very knowledgeable and gave us a very good overview of the Metro.

Doing what: Moscow Metro Tour

Delwyn N Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is a must do tour as it's very hard to navigate the subway but also the history info behind each subway station help make it even more amazingly. Informative guide with a great sense of humour.
Well worth doing...stunning artwork, statues and mosaic stain glass.

Doing what: Moscow Metro Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message